(2008) Brides of year 2008

Hi tinkybell....welcome here....

IMHO......once u have ur ideal date in mind it may be tough to see a shifu cos most probably he might come up wif totally diff dates for u however no harm trying if u are receptive to a change of date eventually.....

i went to a geomancer in Tanjong Katong Complex so if u r keen, i could pass u d contact....

share wif us ur experience wif ur BS....wat happen dat made u regret.......cheer up!!!

Stnov, can pass me your contact on the shifu, u can email me at [email protected]

As for my BS. Alot to say ler... You girls dun get bore ok...

I am not sure if i will get sue for putting the entire name out.. let me call it S Bridal at Tanjong Katong Complex... (check out the directory if you wanna find out is which 1)

I was at a exhibition in expo in 2004 and the several BS were doing road show. S bridal approach us and start telling us all abt their service, so hubby (bf then) n I decided to chat wif them for awhile and see what they can offer. not having much idea of the market rates and all, we find the package quite a gd deal and signed up for the $4388 package, which include either free ROM package, $500 rebate or free overseas shoting.

After signing, when hubby n i did more reseach earlier this year, we found that other BS were offering a better package at the same rate.. hence, Feel quite cheated, but as i said. i cant complain much now, cos i made decision to take the package.

At my recent ROM preparation, had afew quite terrible experience with the BS.

(1) I cant find any suitable dress from their ROM collection. In other words, very limited choices and the dresses are pretty old fashion. BS staff got the cheek to tell me i cant appreciate their dress, some was event feature in magazines. (After few hours of hunting high n low and browsing thr all the dresses, i managed to find a simple dress, but that was meant for bridemates. i suppose nobodi knows and decided to take that dress)

(2)Fitting of Dresses & Drawing open of curtains.
During one of the fittings, the BS staff draw open the curtains when i was in there trying on my dress, and mani other couples saw me half naked in the midst of fitting, this is totali annoying and all the BS staff does was apologise and claim that she thought nobody was in it.

This is totally unacceptable to me.. Embrassing too.

(3) Attitude of BS Staff: The dress I tried on wasn't my size, so BS ask me to go back n return 2 weeks later to try on it again. When i return 2 wks later, the alteration was nt done and BS insisted that alteration was done and make remarks such as "u have GROWN FAT over the 14 days." (it was only until i request to take the measurement of the dress and compare it with my own measuremt that they are convince that alteration was nt made)

As the final fitting is 2 days away from ROM, i had no choice but to wait for alteration on the spot while i wasted 45min waiting.

(3)Rushing for Payment
As mentioned earlier in the post, my package is $4388 and i had made a deposit of $888 at the point of confirmation. During the recent fitting, the BS requested for hubby to top up another $1000 but we onli agreeed to top up $200, making the total payment to be $1088 to date.

During the 2 weeks which we are frequening the BS due to fitting and all, i think they request for us to make payment to the remaining sum several times. And keep putting it that it is for our good, then next time nearer to wedding, wont be so tight.

Oh my god, I have made $1088 already, isn;t that enough for the time being.. I m paying much more than the service i received.

I wasn;t sure they wanted us to pay is for our good or they need the $$ to fund their business.

(4) Overseas Shotting
As included in the package is free overseas shotting where the couple pay for our airfare and the BS team foot their own bills. Instead of korea which is a popular country to take bridal shots, hubby and i enquired on overseas shotting in bintan.

To our surprise, normal 2 person going 2 bintan for 2D1N, the charges is abt $300+ max for 2 person (myself n hubby) but the BS say will make arrangment for us and the total bill is $500+++ nearing to $600. And i have to foot an addition $400 to cater for the resort/hotel stay of the BS staff, cos i wanted the sunset and they say, by then too late to go travel back to Sg.

Base on simple calculation, if i wan overseas shot, i would need to fork out another $1k minimum. this is totally unacceptable.

hey tinky, will send u an email shortly.....in fact my geomancer's unit is directly opp to ur BS (quite sure i din 'guess' ur BS wrongly).....give them a call and ask wat u have on ur mind 1st b4 making a trip down....anyway they charge $120 for abt 3 dates for AD then GDL & AC date based on ur selected AD date.

However currently they can onli select date up to CNY 2008, any others will have to wait till AUg 2007, hope I have help.

regards to ur BS, tis my opinion: -

1) ROM - can't expect alot from ROM but glad dat since all is done wif, put it bhind u but sure they r not veri professional abt d whole issue.

2) Fitting of gowns - tis is absolutely unacceptable for mi in concern....for goodness sake they shd have protect d modesty of their customer esp d bride....hw could a stupid remark solve d whole thingy....guess u r being nice...for mi I would have kicked a great big fuss over it cos it's definitely too much!!!

3) Attitude - If im not wrong most probably u belong to d 'quiet' personality cos so far im concern, i pay for all tis services & im sure i dun deserves all tis attitude. My suggestion will b to ask to speak to d higher mgmt they have thr & 'expose' their unbearable deed once & for all. Show them dat u mean business & stop fooling ard wif mi.

as for ur overseas photoshoot, chk to see if u can arrange for accommodation on ur own & wen they say 'free' overseas photoshoot wat does it includes. U may have to do sum homework in order to be tough on them based on facts.

another option would b dat take it as a '$1088' lesson learnt and make a painful decision to go for another BS dats if ur 'black & white' allows u to do so. Thou easier said than done but in order to have a good experience on ur AD, find one dat u can work wif together happily wen wedding is a once in a lifetime affair. im pretty sure u dun wish to have tis silly BS to jeopardise ur AB isn' it?

sorrie for d long windedness....sit down wif ur hubby and discuss d few options on hw u can try & resolves all tis unhappiness wif ur BS....cheerios~~~~

Hi Stnov,

I am not the quiet type. I was quite angry abt the entire incident n pack up n went off immediately. The BS had to call to apologise and arrange for another fitting again...

We had paid so much alreadi, hence dun think will change to another BS.

AS for the overseas shot, i have checked with them on making my own arrangemt but the BS turn us down the moment we initial the idea. They say they have some internal arrangemt which we dun have.. Din reali ask much...

Thanks for listening to all these sorrows of mine..

no prob tinky....next option u might wish to consider in tis case will b to make noise to d boss or higher mgmt.....at d very least ur concerns r heard in turn hopefully d attitude of d staff will improve cos end of d day we juz wish to have an enjoyable process of wedding planning......

Hello tinky,
I feel that if you can afford it, go to another BS instead. It may make your whole wedding a better experience.

Just think: If overseas shoot that was supposed to be free become very ex cos of a lot of top ups, you can forgo it. But what about other things that are supposed to be included. Will they ask you to top up cos your gown design is "very detailed embroidery", etc?

Yours is a $4388 package that you have paid $1088. If you have $3300 more to pay. If you take this amount to other studios, you can get a whole wedding package (normally 1 MTM gown package - about $3388). Only thing is make sure they don't make you pay more money to "cancel".

Thanks for the many suggestion and advise,really appreciate all the concern given. I will talk to my hubby on the matter again... I am seriously considering a change if need to be.

As for Stnov, I am not sure what went wrong but can u try sending me again at [email protected]

Btw, Are you girls on MSN?? My msn is normali on during office hours, so if possible, can chat with u girls. Let me know okay..

Cheers...

Depends on whether your price is nett or with +++. If nett then no problem. If +++ then will be affected. Cos your actual day will be after the increase.

thank u fifi

Hi!!

I'm a Feb bride. I have already booked my bidal boutique and it's not really considered early. cos i believe that if u book early,you will have greater bargaining power. Just my own views. I have also booked my banquet as my AD is calculated by a geomancer and won't want to be disappointed if I can;t get the date.

Np. Try getting those hotels with nett price lor. That way whatever price you "lock in" will be the amount you pay. Not affected by anything.

But I think since GST increasing, 2008 pricing for nett hotels also will increase more.

me new here.. me also a 2008 brides.
anyone here know wt is the procedure of going thru GDL?? My HTB is a hokkien and I am a techeow.
need advise from all of u.

I think that best you check with your grandparents/parents about GDL. Cos everyone does it differently. Some simplify a lot also. Best is you see wad your Mum and MIL want.

hey tinky...tried again but failed to deliver wif tis msg -----> This user doesn't have a yahoo.com.sg account ([email protected]) perhaps u can enable ur PM so i could PM u ya.....

hey fifi....mine will definitely b affected by d GST adjustment....so sianz.....2% can add up to quite a substantial amount......=(

Stnov, where you book?

Try to talk to the coordinator & see if you can convert to nett? Dunno if got such thing anot but no harm trying. Say that when you book was that amount... then if gst increase, it will be out of your budget, etc etc... see if they kindhearted will change for you anot.

ya, for those ppl who wants to book the venue better do so within this year or better still before the announcement of the 7% GST, cos' for $10K, $700 is for GST even those with nett price will also more or less increase their prices later.

want to postphoned my AD to a later date after when we just purchase a new place, when i heard abt the increase of GST, we changed our mind.

fifi....im wif FRF....actualli i anticipate tis prob b4 they release news of increasing GST but unable to work wif nett so no choice now......sad case!!!! have u booked urs???

HI!!

I am also a 2008 Bride! But AD not confirmed yet since I need to consult a geomancer. Have hotel bookings for 2008 started? Sally, where is your banquet held?

I'm also a 2008 bride.
AD not confirmed yet must most prob 2nd half of 2008.
Venue wise, shld be novotel
their 2008 packages are out.
Becos of the rise in GST, my partner and I thinking to book the package this year or early next year. so sian..everything goes up but not our pay

Hi all ,

I m also another 2008 bride.
AD will be 30 march 2008, as for venue should be grand hyatt , still waiting for the price list to be out.

welcome cheryl, picogy & silent.....looks like thr's more & more 2008 btbs oreadi.....try to book ur venue early first to avoid disappointment.....

picogy... if the package is not nett price (i.e. it's those +++ kind), it makes no difference whether you book before the GST increase or not. Because the GST will be counted on your wedding day, not on the day that you book.

Hi Fong Lin,

Mine is at Shangri La. Better go various hotels to view their ballrooms soon for the banquet if yours is a hot date chosen by the geomancer.

Hi Sally,

Thanks for your info. Was told by a geomancer that this year is too early to know my auspicious date.....not sure whether to book hotel now or next year *sigh*..... not mind telling me who is your geomancer? thought tong shu will not be out so soon?

I am also a 2008 BTB. Hmm..novotelpackages for 2008 are out. Are there any hotels releasing their 2008 packages? think need to book early since more ppl getting married in 2008, somemore 2008 is a good year

The thread seems more alive now, maybe it's just 1yr plus more to 2008. I'm deciding mine in 2008 too but have not really got a date. Have a date in mind which is Lunar 2007 end (Jan). BF ask me to think of a date & venue and let him know. I'm keen on checking dates with Fengshui master but he's not cos he dun believe in this. How do go about checking if i only have his original birthdates and not the chinese dates? Is it ok for 1 person (or with my friend) to check dates with shifu?

hi jojo....u would require both of ur DOB & time (doesn't matter if it's not chinese, they can chk for u) and oso both parent's zodiac signs.....if ur realli concern abt date selection, why dun u try to talk to ur BF nicely cos it will makes more sense if both agree instead of u having to do it bhind his back....dat no issue if u consult d shifu alone or wif ur spouse.....hope I have help....cheers~~~

Hi Fifi,

does it mean even if it's a nett price, on the day of my wedding i still need to incur the 7% GST? No right? Cos it's already Nett.
To me i would think that if it's a nett price, then i'm sure not to incurr the extra 2% GST.
Please advise.

My FIL just mentioned that we can't pick a date until May 07, cos we planned to marry 2nd half of 2008 so the fengshui master cannot see so far...don't know how long have to wait.

Hi Kitty,

The auspicious date can be calculated out based on yr FH and yr 'ba zi' which is more tedious than using tong shu. For us, it's a process called 'he hun'. It's at a geomancer at Fu Lu Shou complex. If you want more info, can e-mail me at [email protected].

Ya picogy. What I meant is if it's nett, you dun have to worry about the gst increase. But if your package is those +++ kind (e.g. $888+++), then your gst will be counted on the day of banquet and not on the day of booking. In the case of the +++ kind of package, if your date is after 1st April 2007, you will incur the extra 2% even if you book early (like now).

Some fengshui masters can pick date without the tong shu. Just that the auspicious times they cannot give you yet.

HI all....

Me got my date for AD on 6th Jan 2008. But as I read through, it's seems that alot of pple already start booking...oh my goodness...I am still taking my own sweet time.....
428841.gif

yes aliko.....i had d same mentality as u too...mine a few days earlier than urs nia....untill i break out in cold sweat wen i realised ppl start booking so long ago....heng i managed to book my venue......dun wait liaoz.....quick go book.....

For those getting marry in lunar yr 2008. HOw you manage to get a date without the tong shu? Any idea when will the tong shu for 2008 be out?

Hui Ting,

there are some masters that are able to count without the Tong Shu. Tong Shu for lunar 2008 will be our middle of 2007.

hi hui ting......one way to get dates would b like wat Fifi advise.....the other will be if ur looking at dates before 2008 chinese new year....the current Tong Shu can be used. Dats hw i got my date.

hihi ladies, i'm new to this thread, also planning for my AD to be in beginning of 2008. Date to be confirmed. Not sure how to go abt to get the dates, i.e. who to ask to calculate the dates... gosh, looks like i have to book fast!
stnov: May I know when is CNY for 2008?