(2008) Brides of year 2008

lsntyl

Nec>added you le. Think you better edit your post. Wait got strange peeps msn u how? :p I thought you will send me in a pm.

sportyangel

im so happy that i got my invitation card just now .. so satisfied with it

now just to wait 4 my FH 2 make his GL

n lucky, my father will figure something out bout my dress in jakarta. hope can be ready when im going there this weekend
cross fingers

ct_jo

wow.. it's so nice to have your own gown! Wonder if there will be a next spree.

Erlina, my PS is on end of Sep but I did not make any arrangement to meet up with my PG. Was wondering what to talk when we meet up. Can share some tips?

fruittea80

Ladies, thanks for all the clarifications. This puts me more at ease that the draft AD schedule we have for now is on the right track.

I like the idea of including a photo with the cakes but have always feel apprehensive about what people would do with it after the occasion...I'm still considering if I should give out the 'wedding photo bookmarks' which my BS has printed for me.

koyoyo

hi lsntyl
i saw in an old post you mentioned something about "city sq" is that place in singapore? Is it nearer kitchner road???

Msclaire,
The idea of kidnapping FH to bintan sound fun and memorable.. Good luck and enjoy!!

Dear Meiling ,
Sorry for the late post. I believe like many other brides. As our Big day approaches.. we get more panic .. I read about your post on old AP rates. unfortunately given Singapore culture, this will always be the case. Rem i told u one young guy fren put only $10 saying it a wkday dinner and he cant rem so he forget to prepare cash.. (super lame) anyway try not to think too much on thing that you cant control on. As for the ps i agree w the rest you should consider it through.. no doubt the photos are nice but if u will develop the feeling of been conned and feel sore then you should just give up the thoughts.. slowly take some time to think it ...

Hhaha nelle,
I agree totally with you on the Kiam Ap ppl... haha i worry about my lunch recep too.. i even heard some ppl say no need to pack AP for church.. Now i feel like a fool pack 58 for the last church wedding... wat the mkt rate for church AP anyway??
Sorry gers,
Cant make it to this meeting will join the next one.. Have fun..

Yes Fiona,
Do show us some photo.. been waiting to see ur fitting.. and nec too.. how your coming?

lsntyl

koyoyo>city sq is in JB. Where I printed my invites and got some stuff for GDL.

koyoyo

i see, i thought the city sq in singapore is open.. it suppose to be open this dec.. Anyway i bought a few nice looking AP on my last trip to JB. How is ur GDL stuff ? Got photos? HOw much you spend???

vernwyen

gosh... i lost my voice!!! and i gotta take our vows in one weeks time! Praying hard that i can speak by next week... geez, wat a timing!

Finally, An chuang is done, tomorrow is GDL.. yipeee!!!

piglet:
oh dear, are you feeling alright? when's your AD? I had my chicken pox but heard from others tat i might get it the 2nd time coz the previous one was very mild. You take care ya!

jo_vin

Hey gals, have u all heard of some ways to pray to heaven to prevent raining on the AD? I've heard using chillis and what else? Anyone knows or heard of it before? I really hope it wouldnt rain on my AD...

~sblbee~

koyoyo,
it's ok....we understand u r busy....after lsntyl, it'll b ur wedding le....den after dat is me n den nelle :p all d best to ur prep, will save my well wishes for u when we meet up

well well, now my only worry is d d loss i'll make....d youngsters shd b aware of d AP rates but it's juz d more senior ppl cos they r always living in dat era :p
as for d pics, i try not to think abt it 1st, perhaps after my AD den consider if i wana get back d softcopies back....my $ kept on flowing out dat i felt so sad dat im gona b poor :p
i met my VG yest n i was really impressed wif his works, im so glad dat i engaged him last yr cos d price diff was nearly $1K....phew! my colleague got his partner to do his AD VG as well....i chose my theme n will b passing him d song n pics for my childhood montage

fionachua,
i saw ur beautiful gown le! it's so pretty n red suits u alot
d design is nice n d gown is so flowy
im sure u r happy wif d gown as well, so wat other things will they b adding to ur gown? so happy dat u finally can fix d date for ur PS, have u decided on ur locations for ur PS?

fionachua83

meiling, will not be adding anymore thing to my gown the lady got ask me whether i wan to put some more shimmer thing on it but my hubby say will not look nice no choice la he is the designer ma haha have to listen to wat he say.I have decided to go hort park and labrador park for my PS.

~sblbee~

fionachua,
wah so gd wor, ur hubby can decide for me on all these things, i think my fh will juz go ok ok, up to me :p wah, gd choice, i went to labrador park but skipped hort park due to time constraint, had always wanted to go there cos it's a popular spot for PS

ermmm

Christina : We wanted to talk to our photographer before hand as we didn't have much idea on where exactly to go or if they are suitable. We also want to let him know the mood and kinda pictures we want taken.. ;) After yesterday's appt, we are quite happy with the selection of locations.

ladies, my PS is next week, so when for final fitting yesterday.. sigh.. still need amendments.. dunno is I keep putting on weight or she has never loosen the dresses for me yet..
She supposed to have loosen at least 3 times liao..

clareliu

vernwyen, try drink more warm honey water.

my an chuang is next wed morning. my mum said after an chuang, the room cannot enter til the wedding day. is it true?

lsntyl

koyoyo>you mean the city sq in Little India? But not yet open mah.
Didn't calculate the total cost for the GDL stuff as most of it was taken care of by the 2 moms. Never got around to take photos. :p My GDL is this Sun. If can, I'll take some photos and post them up. But mine is v simplified.

fiona>your EG is lovely and the shade really looks good on you.

uk_fung

really good news for Fri morning~ hee hee me also going to meet my cord.... hope can work out all the details and fix the menu.

Just send out invitation card to my office ppl... going to buy stamp and send out the rest of the card overweekend :p yuppY~

necrosis

hey hey,
why don't you gals join us in the 2008 Jun-Dec thread.
there's a outing on 26th sept, can show off our spree bought dresses then!! (photos!, not to wear :p )

necrosis

fiona,
your EG is great the way it is, no need additional stuff liao, your hubby got good yen3 guang1.

nelle,
where is the great conveneing of the BTBs fr this thread? have no idea where the last one was. :p

mmm....do you gals think little india on a sunday is a good place for PS...?
a bit chaotic and right now, off hand, can't think of nice areas w good brackgrds ----bright colors, indiany feel.

captain_piglet

hi vernwyen, mine is on 20th sep! yours??
think mine is like your previous case, v mild only...maybe cos i took the medicine fast enough.
GDL is when your bf's side bring stuff over to our side rite? then tmr will be mine too haha...his parents bringing a basket of things here...

~sblbee~

nec,
i think u shd go for it....like praisey....cos she did her PS on a sunday at little india too, do it in d afternn whereby u can capture d rich colours n cultures in ur pics

lilacbliss07

haha jo_vin.. yeah i heard abt using chilli.. the NDP they used it every year i heard.. i tin can try le.. hahaha... but where to put the chilli?

ct_jo

Sotong, I have not decide on my gowns yet. Maybe because I'm too fussy. Will be making another appt (last appt before my PS) to confirm on all the gowns and hopefully I can speak to my PG (Dawn) as well.

Erlina, Thanks for sharing. I will try to talk to my PG and see what she offers.
Dun worry too much abt your gowns as I think they will do the best for you so that you can top up more photos.

nlimm, I tried to PM you a few times asking for the contact on NuBRa, but I guess there's some problem sending out. Do you still have it? Can you kindly email me at [email protected]. Thanks!

nelle

nec, we were at raffles city the last time, at 3rd floor. I think it is coffee club.

koyoyo, if the bride/groom is just so-so friends/acquaintance/other dept's colleague/not so close neighbour to me, maybe I will just give a $38-$50 angpao. Yes, I have also heard of people saying no need to give.

sportyangel

for my invitation, i dont i will send it thru post
coz for my side, i will just give to them directly when im going to jakarta this weekend

for my FH fam just give to MIL who will corrdnate n distributing them, so can invite whoever they want

for my FH's friend just give to them directly while they're meet up

how bout the others bride ? r u gonna send d invitaion thru mail or give directly ?

eunicet

Leely: Your HTB cannot see but we can see or not?? Hehe!! Email me the photos or what if he visits your Multiply site lor!

Happy Girl: TBC = To Be Confirmed!

Lalala, all this talk about gowns galore! I've enjoyed surfing Multiply and looking at everyone's gowns and all!!
I think only the brides enjoy this kind of thing lorr...The guys will probably think we're bo liao!

sportyangel

can i have some advice for wedding bands ? actually i dont want to get a wedding bands from singapore, d idea is to order from US coz i want a titanium ring

but end up my PIL want (insist) to pay for our wedding bands. so they want us to go together , we pick our own wedding bands n they pay for it

but d problem is, i dont want to buy it from some shops that not 2 special for me. sorry, i prefer to buy it from maybe like tiffany, cartier or bulgari.

any of u, buy wedding bands from them ? may i know how is it n how much is d price ?
which 1 shall i choose, gold, white gold or platinum ?

i read d thread about wedding bands but i would like to know all of u girls opinion about this

thank u n appreciate ur comments

porsche

for us, we got a pair of white gold...simple design, reason being that we are wearing this forever and would not like the rings to go "out of trend" or anything...we also went for a comfort fit...supposed to be more comfortable la...not sure how true this is... hee

the place u listed wld probably cost 5k a pair? not very sure as I have not really been into those places...

sportyangel

porsche : mind if i ask, is there any reason why u said that white gold wont out of trend ? is it because of d colour ? coz platinum similar with white gold right ?

what is d different between gold, white gold n platinum ? which 1 is cheaper/expensive compare to d others ?

glass

Hi all, I just want to find out whether it is normal not to meet your photographer before the PS. My PS is tomorrow and the bs says we can discuss the locations tomorrow.
I'm quite displeased with my bs because we had one makeup artiste but someone else is taking over her even though we had booked up earlier.
Thank goodness I have taken my photos overseas already, and so I don't need to depend on this current bs that much.

pinky81

Er.. what is the procedure with the chilli to prevent rain? I might want to know too and I think all of us have to pray hard that the weather is nice so that our photos will turn out nicely.

Fruittea (fruittea80); Dun think so much about what pple would do to your photo.. most prob you would have forgotten whom you have given to as well. As the most they throw away. Yup. I would intend to give the photos to my relatives and close friends only.

babyjj

just put some PS pics up.. heehee... gimme ur comments on which hairstyle is nice kk.. i cant decide which to use for AD... It's been raining practically the whole week, sooo happy when it didn't rain on my PS day... heehee....

pinky81

jojo: Shall go in and take a look. =) You are so lucky that it did not rain on your PS day. Sure pictures turn out to be very vibrant and vivid.

To all: DO you know where to get guys' pjyamas for Guo Da Li? I want something that is practical and not those ah pek blue coloured pyjamas set. If it comes as a couple set, it will be sweet!

jo_vin

Hi pinky81, i think dont necessarily have to b pyjamas. Can get a new T-shirt and jeans.. Thats what my da sao did..

porsche

hi, i din meant that white gold wont be out of trend...i mean the design of the ring was kept simple in the hope that it wont be out of trend...

based on my limited knowledge, i think platinum is the most exp of the 3...

fruittea80

Hi pinky81, I shall not think too much. We prefer the modern types and will choose either choz or sweetestmoments...hehe

For the pyjamas, you may like to try OG, John Little or the heartland malls such as kovan or toa payoh. They usually have little lingerie shops that sells the cotton material pyjamas.

Btw, your parents will be sending most of the bride's items such as bedsheets, pillows, basin, pyjamas, tea set, bedside lamps over on the GDL day itself? My mum felt that since we're staying on our own, some of the stuff we can bring to our place on another day for convenience.

cacky

Meiling & Cheryl: Glad to know you gals had fun celebrating. Mine's coming soon too. =)

I more or less have completed my invitation cards but haven't sent it out yet. But in my case, it's mostly relatives, so the parents will have to do the reminder. As for my guo da li, it's coming soon. I have bought most of the stuff also already, now looking forward to it. But I still have so many things on my list that I cannot seem to strike off yet leh ... ... hmmmmmm For those, it's more like closer to the day then can do one.

koyoyo

LSntyl
Thanks .. all the best to your GDL.. Seriously i dont know what do you need to do other then my hb bring the stuff over.. Do enlighten me when yours over . Mine will be on 20th..

Nec,
I saw one bride went Little India to take ps .. you may feel uncorfomtable a bit but the effect is very rich and colourful.. So you can consider..

Fiona,
Agree with the rest the EG is as pretty as it is now... Lucky you Bf got such detail on things..