(2008) Brides of year 2008

ezvy

For those last min brides who want to buy wrist corsages and feather pen, bought mine at Bugis push cart (near Singtel), they can make for you on the spot with your own selection of flowers...I did mine there yesterday at $6.50/pc...

Also saw very nice feather pen at Mini Toons at only $3.95..check it out.......

fruittea80

Wah Lost...you are super fast! My parents and parents-in-law to be still discussing what to get for GDL, I'm hearing different versions *headache*

Charma & Jane, thanks a bunch for your recommendations! I'll take a look at all and place orders once the quantity is settled.

Sorry ladies, I have one more question to consult all. On the AD, does the bride go through tea ceremony at her place before going over to her HTB's place or make a trip back to her place for the tea ceremony after doing so at the groom's place?

eunicet

Hey, if you girls are meeting up, do try on the gowns and take photos k!!
Hehe, we're all eager to seeeeee... :D

euanterence

hi fruittea, for most practices, the groom will fetch the bride to his parent's house for the tea ceremony, spend some time there with the family and relatives before proceeding back to the bride's hse for tea ceremony.

necrosis

lsntyl,
yes pls, do send me the WLMJ on taiwan...
hoping to venture out of taipei, but time is quite limited as i've some work to do there and that's the price of my air ticket. :p

mmm....whitelink michael jackson (WLMJ)?
Women like mahjong?
wait late, must jump?
when lost, make jokes?
lol.
going crazy.

lsntyl,
2 weeks more!!! stock up on masks etc and all the stuff for your big day?

yay, 26th sept outing!!
nelle, completely slipped my mind, lucky you're here to organize us.
meiling, remember to come feel my bah bah.
i'll sit down, and you can slowly feel the spare tyres all ard my trunk.

ok, since everyone knows everyone else and i'm like a first timer, you all carry black roses in between your teeth, so i'll know it's you guys. ;D

lsntyl

Nec>WLMJ=wulingmiji. :p What's your email address? Can't put attachments in the pm.

I've got lots of masks left over from my last Taipei trip. Slowly using them.

babyjj

yap, fruittea, normally after tea ceremony at HTB's place, bride change into teadress and go back her hse for tea ceremony..

captain_piglet

hi fellow sep brides...guess wat? i'm down w chicken pox haha...just got it 2 days ago...but gd tt discovered early..took the suppressant n it's v much under control!

pinky81

Fruittea (fruittea80): My parents are not even sure how many boxes of cakes they need! Sigh... I think they need me to remind them. I am thinking of typing out a check list for them to follow.

gingerbread_gal

Wow, so many posts in a day!!

nec,
i'll recommended Shida night market..its near one of the uni in taipei..its a small market but i find it cosy.
I miss the Big wanton in taipei..Nec, i can't rem the road name where this yummy wanton soup and dessert shop can be found...maybe that's for the better...less temptations :p

Nelle,
thanks for the gathering reminder...i also nearly forgot!

hmm, the talk is abt the ang paos ppl pack these days?? I wonder if i'll get one (or worse more than one) of those 'ugly s'poreans' too esp if they know that our reception is a lunch reception (high tea to be more accurate)...but I told my fiance that we should just be prepared to make like 100% loss (I'm too dramatic)...maybe the fact that i have lesser tables made it easier for me to visualise how much we have to pay for the reception....just keeping fingers crossed!

ice_cool

Hi Viv,

Celia charges are cheaper... I bought from someone else initially and it cost me $12.90 but she only charge me for $8.90. You may try asking her again if u are just orering a few. A few pens she may be able to do it for u.. Just tell her u really like it very much.

leely

Erlina, pity you can't make it.. It would have been fun to go together.. You have fun meeting your PG yah? keke..

Eunice, you didn't buy any gown this time round..? Thought you wanted to get gowns for your bridesmaids..?

eunicet

Leely: I did get in the 2nd round!!!
Hehe! But won't get them so soon lah...So for now, I'm just really excited for you gals! Are you intending to do your own PS with your new gown??

fruittea80

Thanks bubu and jojo. Has this got to do with dialect group? I'm a hokkien, what about both of you?

My mum seems to think otherwise, she said it should be tea ceremony before leaving for groom's place. Another piece to be sorted out. =)

pinky81, don't worry things will work out well eventually. My HTB and myself are sorting out bit by bit too. Can start to prompt your parents more and set them into discussion. Eg, who they intend to give the cakes to, is it to both paternal and maternal side, any for other relatives and friends?

fruittea80

Jane, can I check how much does one box of cake costs from sweetestmoments? You getting the customised wedding package with photo/card? Nice...hehe

leely

Eunice> I'll probably just take a few photos using my own digi cam when I try it on.. Anyway I don't intend to show it to my hubby until AD.. keke.. Shall ask my AD PG to take more photos on AD.. =P

nlimm> Some of us bought gowns during a shopping spree back in July.. and the gowns just arrived!

sportyangel

stil havent take my invitation cards, my FH busy busy ... waliao...

will get my ap box next week
n stil fiuring it out about my dress..

sigh

sportyangel

melody n mrs.chiew : i just saw my multiply, thats why i just approve ur add ...
sorry , i never check my multiply..usualy just check my facebook..
sigh sory girls

~sblbee~

nelle,
thanks for organising again! i dun mind anywhere in d central now cos i cant carry out my secret mission liao :p
i oso duno wat to do for wedding prep nxt cos seems like still got lotsa unfinished biz :p

sotonglet,
r u coming to d gathering? i know koyoyo cant make it cos it's juz 1 week b4 her AD....wat abt u?

jac,
dun worry, u'll still have ur APs unless some of ur frens decided to give u gifts....actually d fewer d tables, it's easier to gauge....im positive dat mine will suffer at least 20-30% loss :p

nec,
im sure to b there, but not juz feel ur bah bah n oso let u feel mine....hehehe, we can sit beside each other n use our spare tyres as arm-rest....

annabella

MIA for some time, took 3 days to distribute and send out my wedding invitation cards to confirmed guests, left with abt 10pcs to pass to my friends personally. Done with the table arrangement for friends too. Will left with mum's realtives and husband side. Cool, finally at least completed 70% of the most tedious task. Best thing is, I manage to fill up the 10/12 persons per table and only 1 table is 9persons. Cross my fingers the relatives side won't be so empty per table.

Next up the list, would be food tasting, get the wine, try out my MTM EG and photo montage which will be done by my husbnd AND HOUSE CLEANING. My house is in a big mess with all the wedding stuff preparation. It's going to take a few days to clear up the whole house.

zephyrine

Hi Ice,

i checked with Lovely Lacey too, but was told that she's unable to take in anymore orders.

May I ask from whom did you buy the $12.90 pens from???

fionachua83

hi morning gals, yesterday nite i receive a call from my BS inform me tat my MTM EG is ready and i can go down for fitting today. So later after work i will go down to BS for fitting i also bring along my heels. Finally can arrange a date for my PS but seeing these few days weather not so gd afraid take PS tat day raining hav to pray hard on my PS tat day wont rain.

dodolet

mei, i think at dis point still okie can attend the 26 sept meeting.. ^^"

Fiona, remember to take pic of ur mtm gown ah...your long awaited 1 ... ^^;

nec, yeah i heard shida not bad.. i recommend long shan shi night market. ^^

Jac, Mei dun need to worry so much lah.. will work out 1..

gingerbread_gal

Fiona,
take pics of your MTM EG ok? I'm going for trial makeup later and will see my finished EG as well

so when did you fix your PS date as?

Meiling,
wat else do you have to do at this stage?

pinjie8275

Wow... seems like getting own gowns is the latest trend now... no need for MTM le... hehehe...

I am still fussing my MTM gown... Left with 3 mths yet I have not give any design to my BS...
-_-!!!

necrosis

fiona,
yay! take pics and let us the long awaited gown!!
mm...your PG is easily available for booking for PS?
I had to book like months in advance to get hold of my PG from my BS.
and then also had to re-schedule cos some of the gowns i selected are also used by other brides for their PS.

lsntyl,
do send over the WLMJ!!! ;) THANKS!

and all those places with chinese names...shi da, long shan shi...
wah cow, my chinese is like %$^## like that. :p
go there can peng san.

eelin77

Hi Brides,
Usually when does the hotel contact you again to confirm details such as table setting, favours, etc?

uk_fung

No prob
angelina .. don;t be upset la... maybe just give a few more call to the shop to ask for status lor

by the way.. was gai gai at AMK hub the other day.. at 3rd level the side just below cinema there got one art and craft stall hmm open concept one.. there got sell bear bear and flower pen.. but I din ask how much... they also got sell material to make those.. just incase any lady is interested..

annabella: hee hee we have 30more days to go !!! so fast hor... wa good u send out invitation liao.. I write most of it liao haven't send out... still waiting some of them to pass me the address.. tonite go home must try to finish it.. maybe call them direct to get the address is faster :p and of coz the most uncontrollable part relative and parent's friends... got to keep pushing them to ask... same like you the guest table grouping is roughly done coz I lazy I do together with the invitaion card list.. 1 stone kill 2 bird hee hee

oh still got to continue my montage too argh... tired hahaha

wa talking about clean house... ho ho ho... I also don't know how to START hahaha coz too much things to pack... I think must get big big card box to pack man hahaha... too much things...

fionachua83

sotonglet/nec/jac, this time confirm i will take pic of my gown i thinking of bringing my hp into the changing room to take pic liao. hehe

jac, haven fix cos hav to see whether which day they are available think will confirm by tonite ba after my fitting.

nelle, agree this month the weather veri bad keep raining really got to pray hard for those taking PS in sep.

annabella

Hi Porsche,
My hotel have abt 10 big tables (meant for 12 persons seating).

Hi Mrs.Chiew,
I really dun know how to clean up the whole house.... 5room with full-length windows on living rm and 2 bedrooms. The last time I clean is before CNY, just the windows alone took me 2 full days to clean... The whole house is really in a big mess, every corner is scattered with things and tools. Aiyo, everyday me and husband see the mess, we got so upset.. but no choice, too manys thing to take care. We intend to finish up all the wedding stuff preparation before we start house cleaning.

next sunday is my GDL... will be driving ard to deliver wedding cards to relatives... then the week next have to go JB to deliver cards too.. not much time left...

lilacbliss07

Hi Fruittea.. ur hubby will go fetch u at ur hse.. den go ur hubby's hse for the tea ceremony.. den go back ur hse for tea ceremony.. i tin its the norm.. not according to dialect...

for the cake.. u can see from their website.. they have diff prices for diff package.. depending on wat u wan.. i ordered the L.O.V.E package $10.90 each.. yes the card comes with it FOC.. =D

hi eelin.. my hotel already contacted me to confirm the details by mid sep.. but the final confirmation will be 1 week before the AD...

pinky81

Fruittea (fruittea80): Huh... I think asking them bit by bit not a good idea. They always side track. So far, I gave them deadlines.

Jane: The cards are really a very nice idea! Usually they would demand photos from us and if the cake shop provides, it will be good. I quite like the whole concept.. but I prefer giving cake slices to my relatives. Not too sure if they can customize. Shall contact them and ask.

gingerbread_gal

sotong,
i've been very busy these days and no time to go shop around...think will very likely just do it at Silhouette as my designer say they can rush for me to get it ready by PS...if only i have more time to go shop around, i'll know better what's available and might not have to spend so much....

nec,
when u go taipei, do try the guo tie (fried dumplings) for breakfast in the morning...i like taipei's guo tie alot! so much good food in taipei - u must resist the temptation to eat and eat...and i'm not helping, keep suggesting places you can go..i shall stop here :p

fiona,
ya, jus take hp into fitting room..hehe
ya, i'm starting to worry abt the weather already!!

lsntyl

Fionachua>hope your fitting goes well!

Jac>your short wedding dress might not be too ex. My friend actually got quite a good discount when she made an additional CS, on top of her WG and EG at her BS. Keep the taipei tips coming. They're useful for me too. :p

Nec>sent le. But gmail a bit strange today. Tell me if you don't receive it and I'll use a different email to send to you.

uk_fung

hmm just suggestion... packing of house of coz u need to pack it yourself coz is your stuff.. but maybe can hire those $10/hr kind of cleaning aunty to help u CLEAN the house at least got one more man power to do part of the work

For me I pack my parent house le... the house is full of stuff hahahah hard to really CLEAR the things unless I Throw everything hahaha but can't la... so I also don't know how to get started... same like u I think I will want to finish the wedding stuff 1st.. save the cleaning last... hahahahha :p

euanterence

fruittea..the rationale (tradition) is that you are married off to the other family hence the groom will fetch u to his parent's hse first rather than vice versa. Have heard of some couples whose parents (bride) insist on doing it the other way.Guess its all negotiation on you and ur hubby.

necrosis

lsntyl,
pls send again, didnt receive leh.
;)

mmm...i just had a huge lunch after a huge b'fast.
so much for dieting.
very sleepy now....

lilacbliss07

pinky81.. yeah i tin its nice too.. but i will still give some photos to my relatives le.. coz i got some from the BS.. hehe...

my hubby's side they say prefer voucher.. so my MIL will buy the voucher from Bengawan solo.. keke... but i dun like voucher.. like not presentable.. nvm le they like can already... anyway not for me.. keke...

lynnqi

wah. seems like thats lots for me to do.

Both side parents are rather easy, have yet to state all the details for GDL. They shall have to discuss when they meet during the food tasting.

Yet to get the auspicious timing for the AD, as the previous master is no longer around.

lsntyl

Nec>realised why cannot send through le. Cos the file is too big for the email. :p You got msn? Maybe can transfer the file to you that you.

lilacbliss07

tanlee... both of our parents let us decide wat to buy.. den they just pass us the money.. keke.. easier le.. they met during our food tasting also.. in the end nothing was discussed as both dunno wat to buy.. haha..

~sblbee~

fionachua,
oh great, finally u can go for ur fitting n arrange for ur PS date :p do remember to take pics of ur gowns when u go for ur fitting later, look forward to see ur pretty gown

either u have backup plans for ur PS location else u can go ard sg to search for d dryer places cos not d whole sg is raining at d same time :p

sotonglet,
great to hear dat u r tentatively able to make it for d gathering! hope to meet up wif u again

jac,
i havent meet up my VG to pass him d pics for my montage, i only got abt 1 mth's time....den i havent burn my music for my banquet
n i havent finish printing my guest cards....