(2008) Brides of year 2008

luvz17

all qns are consolidated. =)

cutephinphin, she is at ang mo kio. it is actually her mum who do the sewing..n been doing for mediacorp as well. if we cfm soon, dec is not a problem for her. she did mentioned that she can tell us the length of cloth needed based on the design. that's y must show her the design for accurate $ and cloth length.

Jac, i am not too sure yet. must see her work. cloth either i buy fm chinatown or else will get my mum to buy fm jkt.

flora, i duno if practise will help coz we din try that..hahaha..hubby publicly declare he can't drink, though i think he can drink quite a bit.

providencia, xinglin did ask for quotation @ my multiply. n i did request one too...i have fixed appoinment with them already. will meet them next sat.

ermmm

Hi Keer, is the shop at IP leaping lizards? I have heard of them. Do you know the price range?

BTW, when do I need to have my shoes already? 2nd fitting?

cyc

koyoyo, AJ.. tks for your listening ears and words of advice regarding my job. i was so frustrated with work this week that i quarrelled with my FH a couple of times.. i know it was mean of me.. sighs. Guess the closest people often sees the worst in you. Thank God he was "patient" despite the nonsense.. haha.. well, took up this job issue with him yesterday. he was ok with me leaving job.. will think through carefully.

Meiling, tks for info on CS. its a good gauge. where can i see pix of yours?

lex and tinky, i've gone to this PA resort at ubin 2 yrs back. you can consider. cheap and relaxing. u can go for short weekend break. but be prepared with insect repellent! on 2nd thoughts, you might want to go after wedding.. if not all the insect bites.. not nice. i'm also trying to stay out of the sun.. so that i don't get tan lines! hee...

queenie10

gals....
i would like to strongly recommend Kyo cake house for their great services & freshness of their cake. Most of the relatives feedback that their cake is nice....i order Mixed Cakes Tarlets & marble sponge cake,the sponge cake is nice & not too dry. They got 10% disc for $200 & above for new BTB

providencia

nec, the discussion is so random that many topics can be discussed over a few hours.

ya, i can drink way better than my HTB, but dun fancy getting drunk on AD, dun want to spend whole night squatting over the toilet bowl. ha ha

flora, dun need to learn then, nothing great abt drinking anyway - will grow old faster

luvz, thks, will u be able to give me the seamstress's contact? my jiemeis all want to lose some weight, so I need to check if she can tailor in 3 months.

cutiephinphin

hi luvz

pls keep us posted on your reviews especially after u've checked it out. I did mtm gowns for my sister's wedding but it didn't turn out nice at all so really felt like wasted all the $$. It wasn't cheap too.

I will be need to find seamstress as my sisters are gonna be my jiemeis & I have 3 sisters to do for day & night + my mum as well. Also, if u can provide the contact too. Thanks in adv...

bunnyhop

Sounds like some of us r a bit under e weather.
Take care k...in a while, our weddings will b over. Hang in there k. For those who seem to have lotsa stuff not done, don fret k...im one of those. heehee!
Will b full speed ahead after next Mon.

[email protected].
Thanks for adding me, Crispy...May ur mood now b as crispy as loveletters too!

emilyteo

Hi Crispy/ Queenie and PSH, pls add me to your contact list.. i've send invite liao.

Crirspy> sorry to hear about what you experienced during yoru GDL. Well, most importantly, now it is over and you can be ready for your big day!

With the helpf of my parent, I've finally sent out my invites. I agreed that organising the guest list is the biggest headache. Till now, some of the guests still tell us it is still earlier to confirm... how come these people cen't understand the stress we are under???? Moreoever, for my case, I'm trying to organise it miles away from Singapore.... Hmm! Worst still my DJ friend just told me that he might be in reserved during my wedding day so not sure still can be my Emcee....

I'm so stress that pimples keep breaking out!

I'll be having my second fitting of wedding gown and cheing sum this Friday. will take some pics this time... hoepfully will be the final fitting. I was very disappointed with the outcome of my cheong sum during my first fitting... it seems like I have chosen the wrong material + colour - looks dull and unattractive! Well, will see how it looks like this Friday.

Finally, I;ll be coming home end of this month!
Well gals, do take care and rest well!

jyiah

hi gals,do u all intend to use small fresh flowers on ur hair on AD? any ideas what type of flowers and where can we get them?do we buy them the day b4 our AD?

me_jules

Hi Erlina, yah I know what you mean. I know 2 people whose feet is size 3.5-4 depending on brand. Seems like Americaya carries shoes in small sizes.
Understand Leapin Lizard price range is 100 and up. There's another place that does custom make as well, I think. Think its called Loe and behold. They have website, I think

mary_poppins

Hi jac, not too sure if you are on my facebook ([email protected]). Better if you can add me in your multiply cos I have problem uploading photos into my facebook.

Think I am quite lucky cos ppl know I don't drink and my HTB should be able to take a few glasses of beer and wine, just that he will become a cooked lobster after that. Won't look nice in the photos when his face turns red
Nevermind, I look nice can already

I wanted to get something OTR for my jiemeis but they want to save money for me, so they will try to get something off-white from their wardrobe.

mary_poppins

I think I will be getting 2-4 pairs of shoes in total. Already bought the AD WG shoes at Takashimaya. Will need at least one pair for the PS (cheap and nice ones) and another 1-2 pairs for AD.

Hi deedee, full of envies... Not many ladies have a chance to look nicer by trying to fatten up...

fumiko_neko

are u ppl bringin ur partner? pls state too..keke need to order food.. :p

Sep Brides Gathering
Date: 12th April 2008 - Saturday
Venue: Meeting 6pm at Yishun MRT

1)rach
2)soyabeans
3) msbean ( TBA next week , 90% No problem )
4) green
5)
6)

keer13

Hi Erlina,

Yes, it's Leaping Lizards. I think about $100 onwards. Can customise size, pattern & height.. They have more covered shoes compared to the open toe ones. Personally, I find their design slighted dated.. But, if you are looking for a simple design, they should be fine. I have not got my shoes too..

Sorry, I'm not sure when should we get out shoes ready too. But, I think PS & AD shoes can be different. So, still have time. Haha

keer13

Anyone getting OTR gowns? Can I check if you have selected your gowns? My BS ask me to do my selection on Jun as there will be new gowns coming in but I find it too late. I feel that there should be new gowns now & then as some of the brides who does MTM gowns. But never keep it. Hence, I hope it's not a delay tatic by the BS. I'm also worried that I might not be able to find a gown I like if I selected too late as the nice ones may be selected & reserve by others who's holding their wedding in Nov & Dec. Can anyone advise if the date is ok?

lsntyl

I've Mr Chia as my JP too. First time I see his pic. Thanks, Rach. :p

Sweetclare>can switch on your pm? I want to ask you questions about PS in Taiwan.

shybride

hee hee.. i also can't drink.. vomitted after 1 sip of champagne
i tried to have alcohol-free banquet but fiance said cannot..

went for classes at fitness first yesterday & just now. arms aching like mad now

koyoyo

haha gers,
wan a good rest at ubin.. why the suddn interest in going back to nature... seem so long ago i used to go ubin to cycle .. wonder how it is now... the last time i went there is practically cyclist everywhere made me wanna scream .. every junction u see cyclist.. some cyclist just so transparent stop at the middle of the end of a steep slope testing my cycling skill of not knocking into them..
lex, thanks for the shield spell .. seem to work.. haha thanks now may the power be stronger .. sister pray for me lol..Didnt hear from u for a while hw have u been?? Busy??
Meilin seem to be the 2nd mia recently... haha where are u ?

raragal

YL> you are welcome!
hehehe.. so happen my PG took 2 ROM also Mr Chia.. now he knows him liaoz.. hahaha.. Mr Chia knows my PG's name also.. heheh.. :p Pity I'm not using Mr Chia.. I'm engaging Mr Chan as JP..

Anyone else having Mr Chan Kai Yau as JP??

princessxiaomei

[rach]
Hmm... your GDL so early hor... GDL we givin out what exactly?? i'm kinda confuse... -_-

[waxie24]
yah loh.. my FIL say 3rd mth is qing ming loh so cannot do... -_- i also giving out card in july liao le... then whole of 7th lunar mth do paper work kind?? hmmm....

bunnyhop

Hi ET,
Happy for u tat u r sending ur invites...Don stress stress k...no point having lovely gowns but our mien (faces) look jaded...push e stress 2 ur htb loh...now muz really take care of our faces hor...otherwise we will not b able to smile radiantly in front of camera.

Hi wiwi, itz a great idea to use fresh/silk flowers as a decorative hairpiece for ur AD! Do u hav a mua? Matb she/he can give u some tips. Better not get it on ur own as it may not go well w ur WG. Do seek professional advice before u decorate ur hair. I think placing flowers is a lovely idea. Usually, depending on the choice of colours, e flowers used shld brighten ur look n give u a wow! impression.

Personally, my frienz like my look w flowers on my hair. Still, i will discuss w my mua n see if e hairdo requires flowers or crystal pins. E main thing is these decorative pieces shld enhance e hairdo...

Eustoma* (correct spelling) seems a good choice for some brides... (flowers tat look a bit flat flat with rich colours)

Stay cool k ladies...

jo_vin

I've bought a pair from Metro Paragon for my PS and another pair from Paradox for my AD. Even thou Paradox shoes might be more expensive, but i thought its worth investing cos I'll have to wear it for the whole day during AD. Wouldn't want to buy a pair which would make me feel uncomfortable on that day. I think this is very impt...

jo_vin

Gals, if u all looking for nice shoes, maybe can try to go Metro and and look around. Some of them have rather nice bridal shoes and also with lots of bling bling. Their prices will range from abt $100 onwards..

providencia

Hee flora, both the cats are real cute, i'm not one for real animals (they scare the hell out of me), but I'm all keen on stuffed ones. Hmm, i like the santa one better, what abt u?

shybride, 2 days in a row? u are gd! type slowly today and rest ur arms.

princess_sue

morning gals.

Wah lex you have a personal trainer... ( thunbs up for you ) i dont need fats to be off from my butt just my tummy haha.

hi cyc, good that your fh is able to understand and feels that it is ok for you to leave your job so at least you dun have to worry about that issue for now.
cheer up.

Hey tinky, yes i fully concur with you.. some pp take salary but dun work and you end up clearing their shit for them... and i hate that.

hi koyoyo, mei is at pulau ubin and went for facial after tt ytd.. that is why mia. she should be back here with us today hehe.

hi mei, how is your Ubin trip and facial ytd? good? i have not been there at all... dunno how the place look like at all...

pinjie8275

Hi Keer,

I think June is fine... Cos as u said, now and then new gowns will arrived... Imagine if u spot another nice gown after your selection, how would u feel? Btw, ur BS allows u to change gowns after selection? I know a few who does not allow unless u pay extra 'admin fee'...

Check with ur BS, if they allow then no need to worry liao... U can choose anything u are more comfortable...

For me, I will be having my photoshoot gown selection on 7 June. PS on 27 and 28 June. Selection for Actual Day gowns will probably be sometimes in Sep. =)

flora_bliss

providencia, ya the santa one is my favourite. He has a more stupid and innocent look. Whereas the smaller one looks smart and cheeky. They never fail to cheer me up when I get home. Got chance I intro them to you. :p

strawbsc

LSnTYL>i switch on my pm liao. I haven't choose a BS in taiwan yet leh.will go there 1 week later and scot ard with my FH.I m not very excited lor, the taiwanese gals there very skinny!4 years ago, I did a portfolio there myself and tried the dresses there,the dresses were so tight!!(they had to loosen the dresses quite abit)I felt so damn fat.So depressing. now 4 year later,I think I am even fatter liao.haha~~ U goin to taiwan to do PS also?which area??

rach> thank u for pic! so sweet of u~ (^-^).

princessxiaomei> my mom oso says cannot give xi bing on the 7th lunar mth.

Thank u gals for reminding me about the invitation cards!I totally forgot that cannot give out cards on the lunar 7th month.I wanted to give out in aug!!

Gals, I have a question to ask.Do u invite your whole company or dept to your ROM or Banquet? My dept very big leh,about 80+ pple and I will invite all of them (coz'we know each other very well),but I know about an estimate of 30 will come only.So shod I still send them each a card or text them 1st to rsvp dan send them a card if they coming. Might cost a bomb to print out so many cards leh.

thanks a million!

sori ah,my message abit long winded ah~ ("p)

blur_queenie

My gynae is Dr Ho frm the women's clinic at my area, he shuttle between the clinic and Gleneagle.

My colleague was complaining that she needs to cut down on her expenses cos all her money have been spent on her kid (less than 3yr). Asked her casually how much did she allocate for her kid, average around 500-800 a month inclusive of insurance but excluding her maid fee. It will be more if she send her to nursery next year. She told me that she is just going to stop at one cos she can't afford another one. Not too sure if it's a good idea, cos i come from the only child family and it's very loney and boring. I m hoping for two at least but of cos if i can afford it..

tinkybell

Gd Morning Brides,

high five to Sue... thanks for sharing the same thoughts... btw, jus realise that our Bdays are days apart only ley... Advance Happy Birthday to u...

Meiling/Lex, wow.... our frequency almost there huh... Meiling is in Ubin n i was talking to Lex abt a RnR at ubin... kekeke.... anyway, really tot of getting away but no chance at all...

Hi Cyc, i have been to that PA chalet before... quite a gd place to get away to but a big crowd will definitely be good...

cyc

tks sue.

Oh yah, besides that PA chalet, for you ladies thinking of a short break nearby, you can consider Sebana Cove. That one is DEFINITELY better than PA chalet. The room is big, cheap and nice.

Just to share, I had a nightmare last night. That on my AD, MUA turned up only in evening! Everything was delayed and I was so stressed and upset! *haha... with 6 more mths to go, I'm alr having nightmares abt the wedding. I can imagine when the date draws nearer! haha..

dodolet

flora, the reindeer horns 1 i like!!! It looks like it has done something notti!!! Also update us on ur trip to M&M ^^

shy, wah... me starting to be guilty liao!

cute, I did MTM for my sis wedding, and posted it on FB. Need to get your JMs to check out what type of cut goes well on them and get them to memorise and draw it.

Who is trying out zhuoen's seamstress ah???

hm.. my FH has gotten his drinker XDs to be his helpers in drinking, so they will not tua him ah.

I also got my drinker friend (gal) to be my JM to help too. ^^;;

~sblbee~

lex,
will try to do some improvement to it to make it look better...d end pdt shd b ready by end apr, n den have to wk on my guest card box alrdy :p
yah i think d CS is a gd buy...hope to b able to post up d pics of my other 2 CS cos i really hope to b able to see d end pdt after alteration :p
yah it's v close, i chose 19 apr cos i wanted d wkend, u wana go tgr?...hmm, i'll b collecting my shoes on 3 may...

aj wech,
basically im a glutton who likes to pig out, dat's y i cant seem to lose weight for my AD, everytime i go for fitting, i'll suffer frm panick attack :p
hehehe...i'll go to hot spring once i lose some weight, now still so fat :p

tinkybell,
yah lor, it wld b fun to see how our partners interact...my fh is full of nonsense one, smtimes even more wayang than me, cannot tahan, wait ur hubby sure faint one :p
yah i tot u got d wrong person when u mentioned to lex abt ubin, tot ti shd b addresssed to me :p

sue,
thanks for ur compliment! hahah...i need to lose some weight b4 i dare to put on in front of a camera, i look so horrible now :p
my ubin trip was fun as it's my 1st time there, d rate for d chalet is cheap but it's only suitable if u wana relax cos d place is not as modern as bintan...

cyc,
no prob, u can view my CS pic in my multiply, my user id is sblbee

koyoyo,
im out of sch these few days...ubin was ok, but didnt managed to cover d whole place as it was scrotching hot yest....hehehe, scared kena sunburnt...i had my facial yest n finally felt my skin breathe again...

princess_sue

hi tinky thanks... happy birthday to you too.. when is your exact date?

cyc, i think you are super stressed up to be having dreams and nightmares on the wedding.. hehe.. relax and get yourself a breather sometimes this weekedn ok.. otherwise you will be so tensed up ... not good for you ya

nelle

sotonglet, tell the brothers don't bedek. Usually they will promise, then end up on AD, all of them will somehow disappear/can't be found in the middle of the dinner, then turn up at the end to make your husband drunk.

dodolet

Erlina, can try pedalworks ah, their shoes pretty comfy but some looks like auntie...I know they got some size 3.5 cos my boss also same size and got her shoes from there.

keer, are you just doing OTR or maybe an MTM??? Usually BS will get new stocks/rotating some other brides' MTM with more details on a regular 1 to 3 mths basis. They will tell you to do it nearer to your photo shoot so that you will be able to get a gown that is more uptodate in trend.

~sblbee~

nelle,
thanks for ur advice! it was scrotching hot yest, luckily i brought my brolly...hehehe, only kena a few insect bites while i was there....my stay was q short but at least i have an idea how's ubin like...

xinglin,
yah im a shoe fanatic, bought another 2 pairs of bling shoes for my own use at $39.90 each when i was wif my mum at toa payoh...yah i need to control myself as most of d time, im out of control :p
oh my thumbdrive has been declared dead alrdy, all my icons r all gone, do remember to back up all ur stuff ok? hey, do try to join us on 25 apr for out gathering too

luvz17,
for d catering part, i think as long as it's abt 1 mth b4 out AD, we r still able to confirm so dun worry abt it....im starting to look at d smaller items as i've got d tendency to overlook such things closer to d date of d AD

flora bliss,
yah im waiting for d misse to come back too, she's supposed to do some magic to my long CS which i sent for alteration tgr wif my short CS, hope dat nichole can do lotsa magic to my CS n transform it to sth i like

thanks for introducing ur kitties to us! they r really cute...

abt d drinking part, im still an ok drinker but i cant drink much, but my fh is worse off than me so i cant rely on him...

praisey

My field-report:
i was horrified by the photoshoot. Super duper tiring! Dying and 'pom-chek' at outdoor shoot. Was drizzling at 5pm, so some of the outdoor shots were with umbrella. Ha.

Started at 10am, bad move that i went with empty stomach. Make up was delayed as i kept sneezing from the make up products. Indoor started at 12pm, went out at 4pm. Ended at 7+pm.

Outdoor: 1. Secondary school to take canteen, water fountain, classroom, hallways. Went in w/o permission so had to take and run!
2. Seletar Air Base, got chased out by security so went Sunset Grill and Airport wire fences.
3. Old Kopitiam - closed! So wrapped up and went back.

In the end at home, i used 1 box of tissue to remove make up and washed my hair many many times.

Tips: 1. Bring assistants, my sis went along, useful for outdoor to change clothes. Carry stuff. Give suggestions for poses.
2. Lots of water and munchies.
3. Roti..convenient to eat along the way.
4. Big car, to stuff all things inside.
5. Special places, please call or ask for permission.
6. And do rain-dance, so it won't rain.

waxie24

strawclare> i inviting my whole company becos only 20+ people nia.. the fire spread very fast.. i worried later got colls say "why u invite the who who who, never invite me?".. wah..
for my HB, his department already very big, we holding a high-tea recept at his office's staff lounge. Closer colls will be invited to our banquet.
you can try: asking them verbally if they will come, if they ok, then tell them u will pass the official invite when its ready..

my xiong-dis, n jie-meis gathering shld be in august ba.. jus let them get to know each other and pass them the itinerary n duties.