(2008) Brides of year 2008

~sblbee~

cyc,
u can try chking d table for our VGs, yah i heard ave 8 is rather steep, my whole package doesnt even exceed $1.5K including wat u mentioned n montage as well as my solemnisation ceremony b4 my banquet but well, d prices may change as i got mine last yr...think d VGs increase their prices periodically...however u may want to pay more for better quality as different ppl have different preferences, tt's y my personal opinion

tinkybell,
at least u got a car, for me n koyoyo n those w/o cars, wonder how r we gona do dat...guz i've to rely on my bro to help out...as for d pig trotters, hopefully d stock will b sufficient when it's nearer our GDL *pray hard*
d lunar 7th mth tis yr is frm 1st aug to 30th aug...virtually d whole mth of aug...hehe, im a lunar 7th mth bb :p

~sblbee~

flora bliss,
so glad to know dat u r feeling ok now...do frequent here n we can share our joy n woes here ok? u applied for tis mth's balloting exercise? gd luck n hope dat u can get an ideal unit ok?

cacky

Meiling, I understand what you mean by tradition. Like if my other cousins also did the same thing, then it wouldn't be nice that I did otherwise, should follow tradition after all. But from what I observe, no leh, my cousins also don't deliver cakes over personally. Hhahaha.

plasterbride

hi gals...wow, the tread is moving fast...

read that you all are discussing about BS and MUA ??

guess for BS, it is important to look at the gowns. no point if the package is worthwhile, but in the end, you cannot find the gown that suits you / your style / your dream gown. and afterall different brides has different figures/ standards, so sometimes we have to judge for ourselves ;) that's just my opinion.

actually i am also in search of MUA to help my parents / future in-law and my sisters to makeup/stylist....but so far the quotation i get is quite expensive...any recommendation ???

I been busy meeting with videography past few days....have shortlist mirage and forest production...any feedback anyone???
I have booked my AD PG - from AmPm Leslie

serene swee - i have email you the AD PG comparison list.

foodietravel

hi xlb,

nope. not hokkien. but GDL is for all chinese.. maybe you can let the exchange of betrothal gifts take place earlier in the day but you don't look lor. just stay in hiding then once your HTB steps out of your house for a while, you can proceed wif your ROM?

mui_yoh

I'm new to this forum...I'm cynthia btb in dec 08..still sourcing for photography/videography, any good recommendations?

mui_yoh

hey saw that you all have a list of dec 08 btb list, care to add me in as well as keep me updated for any recommendations and topics..cheers

tinkybell

Hi Meiling, having a car does ease a little when it comes to cake distribution... but bet my hubby will grumble lots cos he will be gg around Sg

sairalinde

hey Oct btbs...can ask if u gers believed in checking the chinese book if 2008 is a good year to get married under both u and ur FH horoscope??

just asking...

princess_sue

morning gals.

mei, how come you say you lunar 7th month bride... you oct right? so wont hit 7th month ma..

tinky, if your throat feels itchy, try the robittson( whatever the spelling is.. ) sweet. It has cough drops too. But i think you should go and c a dr. tell the dr you need a stronger medicine so that you can at least tide through these CVNY period...

welcome addy. personally i believe in checking the chinese calender.. in fact we got a chinese 'geomancer' to look at our 8 characters and ensure that it does not clash . well.. once in a lifetime thgy, rather be safe then sorry ...

sleepycat_2

Wow, ashley, you are really lucky, I only covered the cost of the event, including AD photography and wedding planner... We paid the HM and bridal package ourselves

wendily

Finally.. everyone's wedding is over.

Ashely, glad that you had fun during your wedding! I was also very touched during my wedding, wanted to cry, but i think i'm vain-er. I was so afraid to ruin my make up! LOL... But at the end of the day, my jie mei threw me a birthday surprised, i couldn't hold back my tears and i just cried! Imagine having a long day from morning till night, yet they make the effort to prepare the cake and all... really touched...

So just when is our brides meet up? Must bring all the photos to share ok!

bunnyhop

Hi love xlb,
Im jus lucky...Fotowerke e one n only VG co. I approach...tink video editing is oso qite crucial in e final pdn of e video clips. Do u hav e express video highlight 4 e morning?
Hopefully itz not 2 crowded 4 e PG (i hav 2) + VG...tat makes 3!
Aniwae 4 ur mommy...give her some time...4 her 2 feel strongly over ur htb's gesture...u muz b veri dear 2 her. Muz sayang her whenever u can...

lexilicious

Morning babes

cyc: you looking for VG too? Heh I haven't found one too.. lemme know if you find one that's reasonable or maybe we can compare who we find

FH and me headed down to Chinatown over the weekend to look at GDL things, and they look so nice
Quite uexpected.. very modern and very kitchsy cute looking! I might change my mind after all about a more traditional GDL cuz they're soooo nice!

uksport - oh yah.. I saw the ang baos in CHinatown! Including the ones I like.. but they sell them in very small sizes... like the kind that people give at tea ceremony. But I couldn't resist buying a small one I liked - pink with a gold double happiness word. If you see in HK the bigger one - can help me get? Very ex here le, the small ones are $1.80 for 8 pcs... heartpain

heheh.. on a sidenote, I'm on top of the world today :D I got my bling bling last night!

doca

HALLO...

how is everyone? i am uber sleepy heehee...
Meiling: thanks so much for the recomendations on shoes hunting
I will definitely pay those places a visit.

Babyface: it still a long way to go till your Dec, dont stress out ok! you are in a right place.the btb(s) here are very experience heee..i think you can get lots of ideas from them..Yeah!!
Flora: glad to know that you are up and happy now
keep it up dear

ok..gotta get back to work..

HAPPY CNY to ya all

lexilicious

Polar: just go to People's Park Complex (the green building) 2nd or 3rd floor, there's a very nice shop there.. I muz go find the namecard. This shop I found to be more modern... not so "cheena" the stuff...

Also, People's Park hawker centre - the second and third floor, there's about 2-3 shops there also. You should just go take a look-look see-see... It's quite interesting to see the all kinds of stuff. I saw a lady buying her "jia zhuang" while I was there but FH and I decided, no way was i going to carry a spitton and a basin over...

sue/polar:
hehe... my FH isn't romantic.. but he also quite sway. I found out about the ring cuz the jeweller called me by accident (she's a friend of my mom's). So he got it yesterday, and just basically made a simple proposal in my house... LoL.. so sweet :p

moments0442

Good morning to all!!

apple_gal >>> oh ya... yesterday rained... woo... you must be very upset... haiz..so you gonna book another day for ur PS... =/

Gal... you have multiply? can add ?? Perhaps we can share more cos we both same BS.. keke

necrosis

<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
Dec 08 btb list
Dec_2008_BTB.xls (24.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

ALL RIGHT!!!
i've added my details.
what little of it there is.
LOL..

and recommendation on VG? prefer starting price less than 1k (cos i gotta add split day charges blah blah, then will be 1k+++++ already )

~sblbee~

cacky,
hope dat i can break away wif d tradition but must see my in-laws n my mum 1st if they r agreeable to it....d elders can b q fussy n particular abt such things :p

tinkybell,
it's ok lah, ur hubby wont make dat much noise one, at least better than ppl who does not have a car like me....have to rely on others to fetch us ard :p

addy,
we did chk on d yr n dates based on my in-laws' recommendation...for me, both my fh n i born in d same yr so it's ok for us in 2008

sue,
yah yah, polarwhite is rite, im a 7th lunar mth bb not bride :p

lex,
congrats on ur proposal n getting ur bling bling!!! show us ur bling bling...i think d store u r toking abt shd b called amanda weavers...sth like dat rite, got lotsa wedding stuff but hor, i still cant find my way there :p

~sblbee~

nec,
no prob....

flora_bliss,
it's on every 10th bi-mthly rite? happy cny too n may u get a flat of ur dreams soon...

hi doca,
no prob, hope dat u can find ur ideal shoes at these places

lexilicious

meiling
Maybe after CNY we go down and look at the shop ba.. now so crowded, getting there is like fighting a war against tangerines....

hahah the ring a bit too big, so got to take back to the shop and resize. And the final design migh get tweaked a little too, because he designed it himself but it's very uncomfortable at the moment due to a design flaw he overlooked... but right now it looks like ... ignore the fat fingers ya
610263.jpg

addy
I didn't even do anything related to that LoL... completely untraditional.. I know

~sblbee~

lex,
ok sure...jio me along when u wana go...wah, ur bling bling is so BIG....n somemore only 1 pc in tis world....designed by ur fh, so envious :p if u say ur fingers r fat...hehe, den d stone must b super BIG :p

pinjie8275

Hi Nec,

My package is RM5888. Managed to get all the things I wanted. But I think I never really bargained hard hence a bit lugi cos' pple who took the cheaper package seems to get almost the same things except for a smaller album. =(

Hi plasterbride,

Thanks for the info! I dun think we can use the same AD PG/VG cos I just noticed that we are becoming MRS on the same day ~ 12 Dec 08!

tinkybell

Hi Lex, congrats on ur proposal and bling bling...

i mus agree with Meiling that ur bling bling is really big if u say ur fingers r fat.... anyway, ur hubby is very sweet to design a bling bling for u...

Meiling/Lex, gg chinatown?? dun forget me... remember to ask me along okay... my hubby have got "chinatown phobia" and hate that place alot... so not too easy to make him go with him... unless i have got the agenda ready, we arrive, go direct to the shop, buy and go... otherwise, if need to hunt around, i bet he will not wanna go...

so with that... remember to ask me for ur hunt together...

Sue, i bought Robitussin le... taste horrible but kinda feel the smoothe effect as it goes down my throat... but guess i need to see a Dr like what u have suggested....

koyoyo

tinkybell
how is your cough does the syrup help..
I am down w sever throat pain.. hope it go away fast.. dun take too m,any cough syrup the bactieria can build up resistance fast if u tried too much...

nelle

Found another shop that tailor made cheongsam. Whether you choose the cloth they have (they have many) or you buy yourself, the cost for a short one is $180. The two chinese ladies are very nice and friendly.
Gold Scissor, Blk 32 New Market Rd #02-1126 People's Park.

tinkybell

Koyoyo, the cough syrup is not too bad... make my cough go away slowly.. .hope i will recover soon...

n i will note down not to take too much.... i scare Sue n Meiling the other day from the way i take my cough mixture...

u remember to drink more water okay... if possible, grap a bottle of herbal tea to help cool down ur system.... wishing u a speedy recovery...

princess_sue

lex.. ur bling bling is so big... wah... so envious. how many carts is tt?... and its the one and only in the world.. for you.

wah.... he is already very sweet and romantic in doing that already.

tinky, ya better go c dr .. and drink lotsa lotsa water.

shybride

orrr i see.. good idea.. very good idea.. my dinner is at fullerton and i have heard many horror stories about the stairs in the ballroom..eg groom steps on bride's gown during march-in.. gown comes off.. bride is exposed in her birthday suit... i must go buy silicon bra too..

moments &amp; apple_gal, which BS are you 2 from?

cyc

Tks Meiling on your views on VG. Will look around a little more.. Yep Lex, if I find a better and more budget one, will share with ya. Btw, congrats on your proposal! yep.. got to agree with the rest your bling is gorgeous.. ;p

Tinkybell, so Robitussin works? Goodness me, think I'll have to cough thru CNY..
Koyoyo.. u take care and drink LOTS of water. The sore throat might just lead to bad cough. Like what Tinkybell and I have been having..

Still, I'm so looking forward to CNY! my last year to collect ANGBAOS... hee..

On another note, do u girls all know how to cook? Will u need to cook after marriage? Got a little argument with FH over the weekend on this issue of cooking. He wants me to learn to cook. But I hate cooking and don't see the point of paying money to learn to do sth I detest. haha.. Anyway, the final conclusion is that I will learn only if he pays. AND no guarantee that I'll cook. Personally I think cooking no need to learn one.. just do it. But only if I REALLY have to. hee...