(2008) Brides of year 2008

cacky

meiling5: I actually have only tried balloting once for the bedok flats. But it didn't quite work out coz' our queue number was very far behind. Recently, got more Bedok flats, but the available units are very low floor. They were like leftovers from en-bloc. My hubby and I were worried if we ballot and get a queue number and don't want it, we might get blacklisted, that's why we didn't try. I am also hoping to try for the AMK one. We both prefer mature estates.

cyc: Yeah think really hard about staying with in-laws. No matter how good your r/s with them are, ultimately, it's their house. You really cannot have much say in how you want things to be, out of respect for them also. There's a saying that women are territorial creatures and that can be quite true.

tinkybell: It's very sad lor ... hard to get flats these days. I don't understand why can't they just build more new ones instead of having them en-bloc. I know lah, there are some flats that are really old. But the immediate need now is to satisfy those new home-owners, isn't it???

~sblbee~

cyc,
same here, i always take pics w/o my body in them....hehe or like to hide bhind other ppl or use them as shield :p
yah lor, though i'll b living wif my mum for d time being but i feel strange for my fh n furthermore she's like nagging at us to find a place soon so im kinda stressed

tinkybell,
hehehe....u har, i dun have dat many bags lah, wait all not nice ones....i'll b getting rid of my old bags which r not branded to make way for my new bags :p
hehe...im eyeing for a 1 carat in d future but must b destinee n have gd spec...he's v stressed cos he knows dat he cant lie to me abt diamonds :p i was telling him dat a bb for a diamond ring is really out...cos it's too easy n cheap for him liao...

cacky,
oh, at least urs is still ok, it's my 5th attempt n still didnt manage to get...hope dat lady luck will shine on me soon n i can get a flat on my own like iris

yah i prefer mature estates in d north east n these areas r really hot so it's kinda difficult to get an unit there

lexilicious

How come you know tinky got proposal.. wah.. so sweet.. hehe tinky must be feelin' top of the world right now.. when is it my turn.. I'm still waiting le...

cacky/cyc
yah we can't really get a flat either - and yeah I agree with the MIL thingy. We're going to move in with his parents, and I'm looking forward to getting our place soon too. Firstly my MIL is nice but she's not very "home" one.. she's the first woman I know who don't even want matching bedsheets, anything also can. Plus my FH is her youngest, so she really baby him a lot.. I cannot tahan it to see her treat him like little kid.. the FH like not so man if the mother keep fussing... :p

meiling
aiya you see everyone all say you got a lot of bags! hahahha, diamond in exchange for bb... I think you must tell him min. 2 carat!

poopa

ashley, congrats and enjoy urself...

Jojo, i'm going with tour... hmm.. not much thick clothing... but i thought it will be super cold...lol.. and wat kind of shoes u wore there?? i've got a prob on tat..

bren_han

Hi nec
my Ad is on 9/12/08. so sad...cos I just had bad arguement with my bf re hotel searching. told him tt we are very late and have to speed up...very stressed stressed...

luxelass

Dear Bren Han, to share with you, I had the same problem at first as well. I was so kiasu last year that I started sourcing for hotels even before our AD was fixed. FH did not believe we couldn't get a venue, and felt that everthing could be settled with money. So true enough, all hotels we wanted were already booked. And I had to negotiate, plead, whatever, to get the venue I wanted in the end. It was a very stressful period for me.

My suggestion is that you can go ahead to book your idea venue first. After all, tentative booking doesn't cost any. You don't have to let him know first.. just reserve on standby. To quote my gf "it's the BRIDE'S wedding. The Groom happend to be our FH". Haha.

*Smile*

luxelass

By the way, anyone knows Jacqueline Law? I paid $880 for AD morning and night make-up, excluding trial make-up and make-up on AD for the mothers. Is it the market price? Includes hairdo as well.

luxelass

Pin&Jie: Impressed with the effort you put in to source and compare? Maybe cos I'm an old bride.. so no time and energy to do all these liao...

ahnetsan

>mentos, i cant find the rose hip oil at guardian leh.

>4placesbride, im a catholic, but im not holding my wedding in church.....sigh....

eh who is kc ar? he does PG or VG? how much ar?

>rach, ur cousin-in-law is the melvin ho is it? you emailed me once, dat's him is it? or is it jerly tan? sorry ar, i a bit blur liao.

btw, u knw, today i heard that the PG/VG will be increasing their prices!!! i was like OMG!!!!!

i quite like jonathan ho leh, but then hor, he so expensive, $4500 leh!!! my bf says NO NO NO lor.... sianz...

Anyone buying wedding bands from Love & Co.?

x1aozhu

Hi providencia,

I am new to this thread. Pls include mine k

AD: 12/11/08
BS: Thomson Wedding Design
Venue: Novotel

I'm still sourcing for PG & VG.

zhuoen

hi bren han...
i guess we just have to go and source, if u want to view the venue... fix an appt and check with ur htb if he is available and go down tog... it's your wedding... so two of you must make a trip down to see if u guys like the place and of cos negotiation!!!

my huby also didnt want to view so many venues cos he is tired of going to different hotels... but it's once in a lifetime thingy, so have to go the extra mile no matter wat...

~sblbee~

lex,
i got to know in tinkybell's multiply n den i told sue n koyoyo...hehe :p dun worry, u'll get it soon cos tinkybell was complaining dat she didnt get hers a couple of mths ago n den she got hers liao...b patient :p
no lah...as compared to d bag fanatics, im still far behind, im so happy wif 2 burberry's bags i bought...it's so pretty...yah lor, i was telling my fh when we met up for dinner juz now dat if he wants a bb den he has to giv me a 1 carat gd spec destinee ring or cash in equivalent :p

~sblbee~

nelle,
no lah, u r not terrible cos u r busy wif ur flat mah, unlike me, i havent been doing much for my wedding prep even though i do not have a flat...even worse than u :p
thanks, sure hope to have better luck at my nxt round of application cos my 5th attempt at application failed, got a terrible queue no. for d bto in nov results

providencia

Hey Brenda, checked that French bridal is listed, so u prob can take part. No need to be in bridal outfits, look good can already.

Hello to all, requests for updates have been noted. Will load table on Sunday.

sweet_lady

i haven't gotten my card yet. kinda stress coz my date is 7 march 08..sob. yah, i m going to give out the card during CNY else where got time to give them ....

haiz Poopy. i have the same sentiments as you. I m also very piss w my in law. my in law is likes to play with 'power'. i also told my hubby that i dont want to kneel down to them, coz my parents who was the one who gave birth to me does not even ask me to kneel down, then why must i kneel down to in law..

haiz i see how. if i must kneel then i would have to give in. have to make everyone happy right. ....

guadali is also another headache... That MIL of mine is asking a lot of nonsense item. does anyone here knows what is 'wu chen gao'? any idea where to get?

gingerbread_gal

Hi Valerie,
I heard of Jac Law..she is one of the MUA recommended by my BS but she was taken up on AD. I heard and read reviews that she's quite good. Not quite sure what's the market rate. How did you decide to engage her services?

shi40lin

Jacquelyn Law? I've just attended my friend's wedding and her MUA is Jacquelyn Law. If you are refering to the same person, then i would say she is very good! Her BS is Ted Wu.

My friend's makeup and hairdo very very nice. I like it myself too.

I can share with you her pix if you want. Let me know ya.

simplyserene

*sob sob* last time to collect ang pao... a sudden rude awakening... someone at work also reminded me of it a few days back. haiz... makes me feel a little sad...

I posted a couple of shots that we took during the indoor PS... It's on my Multiply site...

bunnyhop

Hi so blur...
Hopefully ur pils not so niao in their affections towards u...more will come when they look forward 2 hav grandchildren...boy or gal...
Now jus grit it thru n enjoy ur blisshood w ur htb in ur wedding prep...
Jus got my wedding band w htb @ GH Celestal series...viewing my pre wedding bridal fotoshots in Mid Feb...

Wat r e May btbs planning to accomplish in Feb?
Lez pace one another so tat we can finish e good race ahead!

Share share!

tinkybell

Hi Meiling, 1 carat for Destinee is really expensive... Hubby ask me to tried one the other day and i almost fainted when i look at the price.... really really expensive lor... nonetheless, i hope u get urs without having to trade it in with ur bb. kekeke....

Lex, r you on multiply??? if u do, maybe can give me your id, then i add u in??? and as Meiling say, i post my so-call proposal on multiply for all my contacts... so kinda latest update...

oh yes, just wanna let u knw that my proposal came after a long long wait... cos i have ROMed in Oct 2006, hence this so-call proposal is abit back-dated de.. hahaha... but still i am over the moon....

Cacky, if i dun recall wrongly, those Bedok flat are for SERS scheme and there are many left over units available for walk in selection now... my fren have applied and hope she get it too... for ur case, u might wanna consider walk-in selection at your choice of estate, cos usually the chances are higher... all the best.........

lovebytemi

Hey Noreen,
I saw you while I was checking out of Rasa but didn't go over to say hi as was afraid that we may CHEONG. Anyway the wedding at Rasa was great and fantastic. I had an absolutely wonderful time. Loved it to bits

~sblbee~

tinkybell,
yah yah i tried on d destinee bling bling when we went ring shopping....when i looked at d price, i nearly freaked out....but i guz it'll b worse cos i want a better spec so it'll definitely b more ex...i oso hope dat i can get a destinee w/o having a bb....but hor, v difficult to say as things may change...later on, he'll change his mind abt his promise *aha, i better put it as 1 of my 10 commandments* :p

princess_sue

morning bridies.. wah.. took
a while for me to finish reading through the posts.

Mei/cacky/tinky/lex/cyc
ya... getting a flat nowadays seems difficult. I have no idea how they come to a conclusion on who gets the queue or watsoever... so complicated. I only know got letter then just go and q up and see what we have haha.

yishun coming up with Condo.. this is the latets news i got from HDB e alert. but sigh.

mei, 1 carat for a bb, its like giving you 20k for bb. hahaha.. hey... you all good liao.. mine is only 0.33 i think.. hahaha.. for my proposal ring. but guess i have to contented,.. coz he got me a solitare for christmas present 2 years back already... wah 1 of your 10 commandments ah.. hahah.. poor FH.. hehehe :p

josfoo

i didnt noe tat only teochew will gv si dian jing... my MIL whom is a hokkien gave me the set last yr le..

I hv choosen my PS photos and will be looking at the layout of album end of Feb...

Still got alot of things not done..
cards, ang bao box, AD schedule, etc...
but hor.. we 2 totally still relaxing...

cacky

tinkybell: The one that I went to was near Bedok central and it's for balloting, not walk-in. These days, from what I understand, a lot of flats are up for balloting already. No longer walk-ins. Coz' just too limited.

sue: Yishun coming up with condo? EC type or DBSS type?

^Meiling5^: Yeah, I also think that it should be something that he gives you not in exchange for the baby lah. I mean ... the baby is a gift for the both of you. And not like barter trade for diamond. But I always feel that the size should be within his means. If he earns like 100K month and he gives you a 2 carat, then that's stingy, but if he earns 10K a month and tries to get you a 2 carat, then that means a lot, isn't it? Ultimately, the sincerity level also is dependent on his income.

blur_queenie

Elaine,

I wore leather shoe but wasnt very good as the water (snow melted) seep in after walking for a while. My HB wore timberland and he felt that it's good , comfy and waterproof. Try looking out for timberland (if it's within your budget) or columbia (waterproof type) for cheaper range.
I think you will be fine with tour as you will be on the bus most of the time, not much of walking beside ard the attractions area. The temp is ard -2 to -4, we just had therma, long sleeve and jacket. I can't really tahan cold so i had ear muffle and head beanie on. Think you will be fine. Enjoy urself there!Be sure to try everything. I regret not trying their sushimi and crab as my HB dun eat them. And our time were too tight for onsen as day time is pretty short (sunrise at 7am, sunset at 4.30pm)

koyoyo

there are so many new friends here i am kinda of lost.. First of all lex and cyc when u request for facebook or multipy can include ur nick in ? i really dunno who i am adding when it just pure name . thanks so much.. i am using koyoyo for all FB/multpiy/friendster.
as for the flat unless u book n reject then u will gt blacklisted. As for better chance if u are stayin near your parent that system stop a couple year ago as i went down and ask .

~sblbee~

sue,
true true, i duno how d system works....i everytime kena lousy queue no, while some ppl have d luxury of having a few choices, damn heng man :p if u know got any hdb e-alert, do let me know ok? thanks!
no lah, i might not b getting d solitaire destinee diamond ring later on, he said might as well give me cash n den i can buy branded bags n watch :p but hor, guys lah, cannot believe them completely, wait give me lip service only :p

cacky,
^5....for me, im not really keen into having a bb cos it's a heavy responsibility, but my fh volunteered dat he'll take care of all d stuff but smhow i doubt so n im not convinced :p so it's a NO for me at d moment...
hehehe....i guz at d stage he's going, he's not even able to afford a 1 carat diamond ring given d wedding expenses, so it'll b after our wedding, mayb many many yrs :p

uksportgal

argh so tired in the morning...
Hmmm really tough to get house hor.. alot of my friends also getting married either without a house (stay with MIL) or got to get resale...I guess coz of the up raise price of the resale.. ppl rush for new house application PLUS... aiyo.. those STUDENT!!!! can you imagine for the few time then I go down to BS with my friend.. all kids!... all still student.. so fast wanna get married.. "well planning" for them but xin ku le those really trying to get house one...

But then again ... HDB did have new houses coming out.. then who get all those houses le?? then keep on having ballot after the 1st launch... think HDB got to revise their system man... so lousy... maybe make it alittle harder to apply.. so only those serious buyer will get the chance.. or those who got ROMed/ wedding date prove one... get higher chance! hahahahaha

sleepycat_2

Elaine,

For Korea, I wore a pair of Reebok cross trainers and it was fine. I made sure that there was no fabric covered parts on the shoe. Bot them for abt $70 from Queensway before the trip...

koyoyo

Aiyo Meling i heard balloting for 5 to 6 times ur chances will be high.. the reason i guess u cant get is properly there arent many new house in mature estates like AMK or bedok probably only 2 block per period of 4 years.. Not much space to build new ones too. talking about getting flat in sg is really tough.. best stil alot of place the land is rather bare (punggol) instead of building bigger hse to attract ppl , they are building smaller n smaller flat.. feel really cramp staying only have rm for 1 wardrobe n bed.. sigh... designers seem to allocate all the extra space to pillar. if u ger went see the showflat u will know all small and many many wall..toiliets look bigger than study room.. n no room for study table...
on the other hand living w MIL create fears as everyone has diff habit .. u will be living in to accommodate a group of other people instead of just ur hubby..

antakusuma

hi!

Updates, i have booked my honeymoon to Maldives. Heee... only for 5 days.

my wedding card design from Carde Blance came out already, very nice.

I am tailoring my sister's dresses at this place in Bishan. Workmanship is approx 100 per dress. So must add fabric cost. call grace at 63543520.

lexilicious

Morning everyone

Hahah, i was watching MTV yesterday at the gym (don't ask me why I'm not doing things but watching TV there!) and nw i'm so in love with the idea of a candy buffet reception. It was lovely to see themed candy and the guests helping themselves! Wah.. I adore it..

BTW anyone doing real wedding cakes/cupcakes? Someone recommended http://lydiaoven.multiply.com/ to me... Thought of doing one at recption too.. give my guests something to talk about

pinjie8275

I m sourcing for my AD MUA too cos' my bridal package in JB does not include for AD.

Have asked for a few quotes and the average price for AD MUA (usually include hairdo and trial makeup) is between $400 to $500 bah.

If I am unable to find someone suitable, the I will be using my BS which is $480 for day and night. Have seen her actual work during my friend's wedding. Quite satisfied. =)

Hi bren han and zhuoen, I also had this problem with my FH when sourcing for the venue. We ended up having a big fight! I think guys simply don't feel the urgency of booking the venue in advance. They dun feel the stress at all... haiz... Luckily, I have my dad to help in making the decision.

Hi Bren han, I still feel that it unreasonable to charge $30 for setting of hair on actual day. Click this link and see the bride's hairdo: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=445698&id=609517801. It's not worth. Try to bargain for complimentary if possible.

Hi Valerie, dun say that you r old bride. Women are never to old to be bride! It's ur day! U r the star! (^_^)

My multiply ID is swee11 and msn is [email protected]

eunicet

Hi bren_han...
With regard to the banquet venue, maybe if it's weekday there are venues still available...Do you mind restaurants or must they be hotels? Places like Suntec and all that try already?
And as for my bridal studio, I'm going down on Sunday, haven't signed with them yet...But going to Bridal Elegance...

gingerbread_gal

Bren han,
Don't be too distressed over the arguments...
I think, you can try emailing many hotels, ask abt the availability of the venue on your date. Then short-list those that are still available and quickly make appt to go down to view the venue. I think in the process, your HTB will realise that planning never starts too early esp when hotels inform that the date's taken. Rem to cc the emails to your HTB.

Do you have any idea if your date is a 'hot' date? Then when you have been to the hotel, you can always tentatively book the date first...they can give you a couple of weeks to confirm. Until you confirm, you don't have to pay any deposit.

I agree that guys don't get the urgency of the venue booking. In fact, when I first started planning, I myself was stunned as to how much way in advance that ppl book their venue. What I did to impress upon my HTB that have to book the venue fast is, I'll pass comments like "wow, you know, Marriott is fully booked on our wedding day leh. Ppl are acting fast, so we must be fast also". I gave quite a few examples like that, then in the end, HTB realised that its no joke and got onto the bandwagon with me.

Rem, try not to stress each other out with this...have to tread very carefully here. So start emailing yeah?

gingerbread_gal

Oh Meiling,
Sorry to hear abt that. I think if you try for the Feb's bi-monthly, might have a higher chance becos alot of ppl applied for the balloting exercise. So if cannot apply for both at the same time, then you should have a much higher chance. Because around 8000plus ppl applied for the BE, so most compeition gone for the bi-monthly.

Having said that, I've applied for BE. Think I can apply for bi-monthly as well?

necrosis

hey,
you're not alone!!!
my FH also don't think that ALL the hotels will be booked on the SAME day that we'll behaving our wedding.
HAHAHA.
guys are so naive.

somehow, thru God's grace, we were able to find a nice ballroom for our date and faster faster book.
but before that, i was really stressed with the lack of hotels, FH complancy, everything!!
even booking church was a problem...had to get church and hotel on the same day (impossible)
so on adjacnet days...that too was a lot of emailing and phone-calling on my part.
trying to get 2 separate venues on adjacent dates is very difficult!!!
but again, theu God's grace, everything fell into place after a week.

so don't stress, keep your cool, the wedding preps should be fun too (after all the stress)...and after all, a wedding is a day, a marriage is a lifetime.

oh, did i mention ebfore, my BS is venus, fr JB, so need actual day MUA.

~sblbee~

koyoyo,
i hope so too....hope dat i can get a flat real soon in d mature estate, my fh finds it a chore to travel frm my home to yishun as it's rather inconvenient :p
i realised dat d flats r shrinking in size nowadays...it's so small dat hardly have spaces to move ard, looks more like prison :p dat's y i prefer 5 rm n above :p

lex,
^5...i intend to get some cupcakes/pastries during d reception too, gona get frm pine gardens whereby im getting my gdl cakes frm there too :p

cyc

Tinkybell, I agree that pi pa gao doesn't really cure the cough.. it just gives relief to the sore sore throat. Hmm.. I'm still coughing too. Haven't been sleeping well lately because of the silly cough. Thankfully I'm still alone now.. can just imagine, next time, sleep with hubby.. and cough until so jialat, he sure cannot sleep. Yea, me too shall try to go get some cough mixture to stop the incessant coughs. Praying that we will both be well by CNY!!

Hmm.. abt the chances for HDB flat balloting, heard from my colleague that if they offered u left over flats to choose, and u decide not to, it actually means u forfeited your chance. The next time u ballot, got lesser chance. sighs..

Sue, you got flat recently through balloting? which area are u in? on another note, I couldn't identify you in FB.. got a several hits with Susan Chong.

Koyoyo, if I add u on FB, I would attach a note to identify my self as "cyc from Singapore Brides forum". Hee.. I understand the confusion with nicks. I don't have multiply though..

get rewards for having babies. I like that! have thought abt it in the past, but afraid FH might see me as materialistic. haha..

gera78

hi eve, remember me? my AD was same as you
i saw yr photo montage..very touching...^_^
how was yr wedding? do u have multiply?

princess_sue

hi cacky, yup from what i saw yishun coming up with condo.. as for which type.. eh... have to check again.. i think its EC... otherwise.. HDB will not advise.

hi mei, ya lor.. the system really sucks.. but then again.. no choice.. wan to buy house still have to go through them.. Koyoyo is right... since yorus already so many times... your q number should be faster already for the next round. dun worry.

hi cyc... yup.. i got a q number for the ponggol vista.. but could not get the unit i wanted so i had to forgo that. now waiting to see what is the up and coming ones which i am interested in... :p

hahaha...oh you can find me through emai.. [email protected] in FB. if you cannot find me through the name.

eunicet

I agree with Jac! She sounds so calm and collected!! Hehe...But I guess it helps to tell them what's happening (cos my FH thinks sometimes guys are dense, so hinting is no use...) but gently lorr...

bren_han>>> What places have you tried? Do you have any budget or certain types of venues (e.g. how many star hotels?)...Emailing might take a longer response, so you might want to call for immediate response so you can move on to others...

nec>>> Indeed, God's grace is sufficient! And I'm glad everything fell into place...I'm reminded that He is the Master Wedding Planner!

CLS2008

Hi Geraldine,

How's your wedding? You had it a Paramount Restaurant right? I booked table there for CNY Family Dinner.

The actual day ran by so fast there isn't time to stop and feel. Bugt i am glad that everything is organized and rum smoothly.

I have a multiply at evelynchye. Pls add me ok? I just had this account. Will try to upload as much as i can. But i do have a blog at www.zorpia.com/evelynchye.

I like the montage too. Had a diff feel but pity it can't be ready on actual day to show during dinner.

Do msg about your wedding experience ok?