(2008) Brides of year 2008

tinkybell

Hi Sue/Mei,
the pedi party is great and relaxing... thumbs up... we shall arrange and go again the next time round... and muz officially announce and let all the Oct 2008 brides know that we have our Shopping Queen (Meiling) & Singing Queen (Sue) here.. they are power....

btw Meiling, how's the 3rd episode of Princess Xiao Mei... i keep tinking of what would take place.. guess i will drop by the DVD stall n grap a copy of the disc too...

MAl/Polar/Koyoyo&Others,
Hope to have you all around for more fun the next time round...

Hi Chunchun,
MERRY XMAS & HAPPY NEW YEAR to u too.... thanks for the reminder, but the temptation is too hard to resist.., especially this festive season sure bound to gain weight cos of the many holidays and celebration...

Last but not least... we are slightly more than 9 months plus to our Wedding Day... how's everyone preparation going?? I am kinda stuck right now, seems like alot to follow up but just not too sure where to start...

jo_vin

My actual wedding day is on 27th Nov '08. Will be gg to J.B for my BS. Have decided Sheraton Towers for the dinner.

Still looking around for photographers and videographers. Any recommendations for VG?

~sblbee~

hi tinkybell,
hi hi, finally see u here....i must oso annouce dat u r oso a queen "dian yan - beauty queen" :p oh, i finished d whole show "romantic princess" via youtube n den bought d 2nd part of d show in dvd liao, can lend u if u r interested, like dat u no need to buy

im hooked unto 2 other shows now, "dou niu yao bu yao" n "they kiss again" :p sure hope dat their dvds n stuff will b released soon...:p wah, these actors really spoil d mkt for d man cos they always portray those cool cool n suave suave look, makes all d gals go ga-ga :p
hehehe...i havent been preparing cos im feasting my eyes on d shows...not even d solemnisation vows, love contract n emcee script, must jiayou b4 my fh comes back on sat :p

baipipi

hihi, merry x'mas in advance to all!

wow, the outing sounds fun, although i'm not a shopping person.

my preps kinda halted too... didn't even do anything for my ROM next Thur. so busy with house reno and year end workload

but i guess we are still on track since most of us have confirmed BS, hotel venue and PG/VG. we just need to stay pretty and slim till our PS in a few months' time.. hee

~sblbee~

hi nelle,
sorry, cant make it tis wkend...my fh coming back frm europe on sat, gotta do some last min shopping for xmas presents b4 a xmas gathering on sun wif my frens
do enjoy urselves, shall join u all another time

lois,
it must b fun to b going bs shopping when d rest r doing xmas shopping, haha...perhaps u can get ur bs to throw in some freebies due to tis festive period cos everybody shd b in a relaxed n generous mood :p

nec,
true, i agree wif u, i was really amazed when there r so many ppl shopping in town even during wkdays...guz mayb some places have late nite shopping...d trains n restaurants r always packed :p

princess_sue

hi mei, wah you better keep your eyes intact for your FH when he is back ah.. dun keep gluing them to the tv looking at those shuai ge... hehehe..

hi tinky, ya, we should arrange another session man... nice and relaxing...

it was really fun with your gals. we should do tt more often man.. and mei can go crazy in the ktv room... hahaha... when she sees.... her 'lover' being with another gal... :p ooops....

hi chun2, tinky is right, how to resist the food during christmas leh... all the sinful chocolates which i really really love... hm..... salivating now already . *tsk tsk*

hi pipi, dun worry, my preparation totally stopped! :p kinda lost the momentum already. oh ya.. btw, her world brides is out, those who wants to get it...do hurry down to the news stand.

hey koyoyo, i have taken pics of the bedsheets already but was not taken very well though, shall upload it later when i have the time k

lois

i avoid the town area as much as i can. so i went vivo instead. the place is bigger so the corridors are wider. and i tend to walk faster so can overtake easily :p

i hate jurong pt. everyday like xmas, now festive season the condition is worsened.

hi ryu, i love your area. too bad my last ballot was rejected by hdb due to income ceiling, else i could be getting my keys soon. with the current mkt situation i doubt we can get an ideal location.

hi nec, yuppers. hope to see most "western" brides popping up.

hi nelle, thanks for the headsup on theknot.com. sme of the designs really caught my eyes.

just got the herworld brides mag this morning. saw bob's pics featured inside, pretty good i would say. hope my big day would be happening for good shots to take place.

~sblbee~

hi pipi,
merry xmas n a happy new yr in advance to u too! same here, my wedding prep halted for some time while im in a festive mood :p yah luckily i started early in my prep, else i'll b panicking rite now :p

hi sue,
oppsss....u let out a secret liao *lol* hope my fh dun see tis else he'll cry :p yah yah, we shd arrange another session b4 cny, wat do u think? yah lor, i nearly wana murder all d gals who's intimate wif my idol leh...

~sblbee~

hi lois,
wah u got a copy of d bridal magazine alrdy? d pics look really gd...yah, i told him dat i told all d gals here abt his feature...hehe, free advert for him :p
d orchard crowd is even worse but many ppl like to meet n dine there

lois

i guess its the best place to feel the festivities. but i wont wanna soak up in the crowd. hardly movable as i see ppl with prams, people taking pics. etc.

i think bob already booked for at least 3 ADs for next sept, the last i met him. anyone's who looking for a PG better be quick. :p

muddpie

hv u all done up ur AD program? Was thinking of not having the yum seng session. Anyone is doing away with this? Cos my hb seem to say withou yum seng...at least a toast....but how ah?
any ideas? help...!!!

peachypeach

thanks psh!
haha.. my AD will be on 2 May, doing both ROM and Dinner. the truth is i haven't really started planning very much. only recently decided on a BS but have yet to discuss more with the designer. =P
now in the midst of looking for PG and VG... tight budget... keke..

just realised my earlier posting has a spelling error *oops!* it should read "hope to get to know and learn from you ladies here"

~sblbee~

lois,
hehe, speaking abt dat, d streets r so crowded dat i cant even see d xmas deco put up by d shopping centres clearly :p
yah he's oso booked for ard 4 weddings in oct 2008 too....

bunnyhop

wow peachy peach,
jus curious which bs / banquet u hav booked 4 ur wedding.
i guess u r doing up ur new hse, so there4 a bit on tight budget ah...?
since u new in this forum, mebe u can check out the thread on PG/VG n source ard...in e end i chose someone not found in e forum...alternatively u can oso check out e list of professional PG/VG via a Google search...
R u into foto journalistic style? I AM...so i kinda ask a lot of qs 2 e PG n view closely their portfolio. There r no gd/bad PG/VG...we simply choose e ones tat r closest 2 our preferred style. Of course payment terms count 2! E one i chose allow me a more flexible payment plan...

Last but not least, feel free 2 share ur comments here...tink all BTBs here qite friendly 2 chat w lah... relak k... (",)

karenchansecret

Hi,I have so many things to ask.....
What should i do for my wedding on dec 08? am i still early??
when should i confirm a videography and photography for actual day?
I am cantonese what i should get from the male side?What is the maket rate for pin jin. and Where to order cakes?Who are the cakes given to?
What are do and not do... Aiyo so many things to think...My AD on 12 dec 08

raragal

icy> try Stefine.. so far seen a few of their products at fren's wedding... else u can try coffee n tea dreamworks ba.....

Also.. anyone printing invitation card inserts?
got good lobang recomm from my friend to print inserts for invitation...
City Square at JB.
Printing of inserts:
T&T Printing (City Square, JB)
~1st 200 piece, RM$80. (Sing: 34.70)
every 100 cards, add rm20.
~Add Graphics: no extra charge
Can add as many graphics as you want.
~Add Map $RM20 (one time off. Can be provided by you. if dont have, they will get from internet)
Available inserts: off white and pink. (no rice paper)
Their contacts: Just in case anyone really wants to make an effort to go there:
T&T Instant Printing services:
Lot J4.04 Johor Bahru City Square, Jalan wong Ah Fook. Tel: 07-222 8862 Fax: 07-223 8862 Email: [email protected]

I dont know if they have a template. Didnt ask cos i had my template from my hotel. but most templates are the same leh.. just use a template from previous wedding dinner cards that you've received lor.

The pricing was as of June 2007.
Not sure if there has been any revision since then.. but its still much cheaper. almost 1/2 price. According to my friend, there's some shops ard there selling all the wedding stuffs.. so you just need to print ur wedding card there, while they prepare the sample for u to see.. (1hour+) u can shop ard for wedding stuffs before going back to see. They take abt a week to print.. (in fact they called my friend in 3 days to pick it up) so u can always go back there to pick it up a week later or when u are available.

bunnyhop

Jus checked under e thread of wedding cards n found e shop's address which offers tools for embossing.
(as previously mentioned by me... e one with ink stamp)

picture.picture connexion
420 North Bridge Road #01-02 North Bridge Centre S188727
tel no. is 63376265

opposite the new National Library and near Bras Basah complex

gingerbread_gal

Finally, we've signed up with our BS! Yay, one thing down!!
Btw, I got the Her World Brides too...think am spending too much $$$ on bridal magazines...but can't help myself.
besides Bob, does anyone have any recommendations for AD PG?

xinyi_reiko

hello gals

was pretty busy recently. with work and some wedding prep. i settled my SDZ, GDL and an chuan dates. and also starting to do my photo montage. =)

selina & lara, glad you enjoyed PS. do share photos with us ah.

peachypeach

wahhh psh, u very prompt in your reply!! =D
i'll be going with silverlining bridal couture and the dinner will be at oriental hotel. rom will be done before the dinner.

u r so smart! actually, we've completed the house reno but that's what making us poorer. haha...

oh, i also like journalistic style, something more candid, to capture the moments. perhaps you can PM me to share your contacts, if you don't mind of course!

haha.. i do hope i have things to share, more like learning from you gals... coz u'all so ahead in your planning already...

lara

hi apple_gal, thanks.

xinyi_reiko, didnt manage to take many pics coz not allowed... only managed to sneak in a few snapshots using hp.

simplyserene

I went for my first gown fitting for indoor photo shoot on Monday! Felt pretty nervous at first... Scared that the gowns cannot fit me... Really happy that I managed to find some really gorgeous gowns off the rack that will be able to fit me

Happy Holidays everyone!

antakusuma

hi peachypeach, welcome to the forum and congratulations on ur engagement! U're a day before me. My AD is 3rd May.

Check http://www.wpn.sg/, the links in this very are good/well regarded photographers. Better book asap, cos usually the good ones get snapped up real quick.

All the Best.

PSH- u very many lobang...

gingerbread_gal

Hi Karen,
I was like you, thought that starting to plan now will be too early. But seriously, you should start planning now. First things first, is to settle the venue. You will realise that for weddings on auspicious dates, many hotels are booked already. Have you started on that already? Then I suppose, next thing is to start on the bridal shop. Now being the festive season, seems to be a good time to visit BS. I just got mine settled yesterday.

The advice given by other Dec08 brides was to settle AD PG and VG asap in case someone else has booked your ideal PG/VG already.

Fish,
Yep, shld start looking for hotel already....

I think this forum is great cos so many ppl are sharing their experience and good deals around, so do come to this forum to get more info

blur_queenie

Muddpie,

I'm also planning to do away with it. Think of getting the emcee to say "let's all toast the couple blah blah blah..Cheers! "

Im having my GDL this xmas...have not finish getting my baby basin and spiton..got to shop at Kiddy Palace to get one..hope can get it in time. Dun think i have the time to head to Chinatown to get the traditional set.

Getting my album and photos later..finally!!!
Btw, anyone got their bedsheet for AD? I have been shopping around but yet to confirm on the design.

wendily

All of you seems to got a lot of things to do.. mUahah...

I sometimes get into the panic mode.. sometimes i very relax. LOL!

When its time for my GDL, i will start to spam in this thread again.. ahha.. Normally what kind of cakes do you all go for? Those to give your relatives.

My MIL request my mom to buy a big biscuit for the grandmother, know where to get it?

nelle

last evening, ring shopping start! hahaha....
When I try on the one of the rings, I know it is very expensive, he (no, now must call him the 'better' half..hahahahah....) just look at me & say get it if I really like it.

Unfortnately they didn't have the band setting I am looking for (I want the cathedral setting) so they ask me to go to another outlet which has it.

kitty_ng

hi lara and selina, glad your PS went well

Looking forward to see your pics...

xinyi_reiko,wat's SDZ and GDL? sorry not familiar with all these terms..hee

babyfifi

I am intending to skip the yum seng... just pour champagne, the 2 of us drink, then move on le.

Bedsheet I got the little boy & girl one... ex but cute.

Cakes, I bought from bengawan solo cos i got some vouchers. BS got lots of outlets so its easy for relatives.

My GDL is this Saturday. :p

flora_bliss

I later then go get the Her Word Bride mag. Too busy studying for my exam. Fimally it's over this morning. Don't think I've done very well. Hopefully can pass.

mage

muddpie, I'm doing away with yum seng. Hubby find it too chin cheong. hehe!
Same like Jojo, we will just get my emcee say something then a word "Cheers" that's all.

My X'mas mood seems to be interfering with my wedding preparation mood... decided to put the wedding preps stuff aside till after X'mas! Need a tiny break!

~sblbee~

nelle,
where r u gona get ur rings? u mean ur wedding bands or proposal ring? wah, ur fh so nice wor, really pamper u alot

flora_bliss,
dun worry...im sure u'll do well for ur exams! gd luck for ur paper ok?

nelle

hi MeiLinG, I was at Goldheart last evening.
The proposal ring must be zhong4 liang4 ji2, shiny shiny one...hahaha....
Now you know why I scrimp on the wedding...hahaha... cos people (and us) will not remem my wedding/food/gowns for the years (even after one mth for that matter)to come. But the Ring is on the finger everyday.

We plan to get wedding bands at those not so popular goldsmith shops as we just want plain (no deco) bands. To me, it means after all this while, we must remem to go back to the basics should we encounter all happiness & sorrows: why we are together in the 1st place.

gingerbread_gal

Flora Bliss,
I'm sure you did put in your best efforts already. So to quote my friend 'don't worry about what you cannot control'. All the best. Now after exams, its time to prepare for wedding??
For me, that's the best part!

Nelle,
that's a great thought!!
I guess we'll be doing our ring shopping soon...any suggestions as to where to start. In the mag, saw Love & Co. Anyone been there? Most likely will be going to custom make wedding bands based on designer designs...save $$$

Meiling,
Yep, Silhouette is good...only grouse i had was that I had to more or less choose my WG yesterday upon signing up (OTR). So will be going for fitting sessions to see what else can be done to make the gown even lovelier. I guess the good thing is that the OTR gowns are new pieces and they are very lovely to begin with.

witch

We are going ahead with yum seng cos we think it's fun and one of the highlights in wedding dinners! LOL! I think my ang moh colleagues will be shocked at this! hhahaha...

I'm almost done with my GDL shopping. Only left this 5-item thing which I am supposed to give to the groom. Anyone knows what this 5-item thing is?

Initially i wanted to order cupcakes for my GDL but in the end we ordered traditional chinese wedding pastries from Tong Heng instead. Not cheap too... but my hubby reckons they are better choice that the cupcakes and their sacharine-sweet sugar icings.

~sblbee~

hi nelle,
wah, den u must b planning to spend ard $10K for ur proposal heavy-weight super shiny diamond ring...hehe, so nice :p envy envy :p it's true, i agree wif u, dat's y i rather spend more on photos n rings

wah...every little thing signify sth to u, u r such a thoughtful gal

hi jac,
dat's great to hear ur wonderful experience, frm d way u described, d gown must really look gd else u wont have set ur eyes on d WG during d 1st visit...really gd leh, unlike me, i dun dare to try on d gowns cos im still not in gd shape...sigh, n i wana wait for newer gowns to arrive b4 i select

nelle

wow, jac, then you better chose a WG that's not too fanciful cos when your AD comes, you might feel you don't like the design anymore.

MeiLinG, I am not thoughtful.. I am 'stingy'...hahahahaha...

wendily

U know my wedding right, i'm skipping all the Cutting cake, all the champange pouring, video show...

Will they find it boring to come my wedding? LOL

They just come, give AP, eat and go...

miss_ariel

Hiya, am getting married in june too, when's the latest must I go for my bridal gown selection. Did book bridal package already. Every thing seems to be going really slowly for me. How about the rest of you guys?

luxelass

Hi Karen.
I guess the best person to advise you on the ceremonial stuff are the seniors. For dowry, I think it's dependent on how much your future MIL is giving. My parents told mine up to her. But they take 10 tables for the banquet.

My future MIL is arranging for the cake stuff. I can give you the number once I get it.

Jac is right about nothing is too early. Start early and you can be less stress about it cos you have the time to think things through.

gingerbread_gal

Hi Meiling,
have you seen the silhouette ad in whereby the model was wearing this really fluffy gown? with her head slightly bowed down? that's an idea of the gown that I've chosen, except that the design of the bodice is different. Really love the tulle bottom. Its from the Beautiful range. Sorry, I kept going on abt it...

Hi nelle,
ya, actually I have this worry that I'll change my mind in the course of the next year. And ya, my gown is not very fanciful, dun like too much lace and embroidery. But I really love the outline of the gown so hopefully the feeling will last until next year. *fingers crossed*