(2008) Brides of year 2008

chun_chun

Hi girls! just popping by to say hi before i start work proper. haven't drop any entry for the longest time already! hope you girls are all doing great! gosh. i'm just so busy with my life with all the work & misc stuff! and i think my face is turning yellow (huang lian por) with all the cleaning and wiping of the house. haha! oh! just a reminder for myself and everyone here! remember to watch what you eat this period ah! with all the gathering and feasting, we are bound to grow fat if we are not careful! okie! this may be a bit too early but...

MERRY X'MAS & A HAPPY NEW YEAR!~

antakusuma

hi psh, yes coming back soon. 22nd dec! yay!

no my wedding is indoors. My solemnisation is semi-indoor.

Haven't gotten down to flowers yet. But as i mentioned, i am going for a classic look. I thot normally the decor can be covered by the caterer?

I already have an invite vendor, she's a friend. Carde Blanche, dunno if u've heard of it. she can customise prints and colours, so it'll be quite unique.

witch

Another one I heard is that the bride is on the groom's left because she is the closest to his heart (our heart is on the left). And the groom is on the bride's right so that he is her right hand man.

luvz17

Nec, I went down to Swissotel the Stamford yesterday. the ballroom has high ceiling and pilarless. The food pictures looked good. But the ballroom shape is rather funny, kinda diamond shape. Anyway, it is under waiting list for my date. I got my mum to check for more dates.. Why not you check with geomancer, instead of website? Like that more accurate mah..

mage

so sweet all these sayings

Aiyoh I went to custom make my shoes last night. It cost a big bomb man! Luckily Mummy dearest says she will sponsor my shoes as part of my dowry.

gingerbread_gal

good morning! So the latest issue of her world brides is out?? I'm going to get a copy....Have been constantly on the lookout for new issues...

Alright, I'll give Bob a call. Hopefully he can give a good rate....

Finally, my wedding planning is progressing...

nelle

heehee..if the meetup consists of coffee and cakes, I will be extremely extremely happy... wahahahaha.....

AMKhub is good to meetup if you all are ok. But for non-AMK girls, quite inconvenient. We can always meet in town area.

ling27

hi lara!! I went to the Art Museum around 4+!! Maybe we have seen each other there.. there were at least 2 couples there when i went.. not surprising to see couples taking photos there as it was raining!! To think there was sun in the morning leh!

ling27

hi apple_gal.. ya it was raining yesterday and i think it was islandwide.. but i managed to take some photos at upper pierce in the drizzle (went to hide at the shelter when the rain got heavier)..romantic sia..

Next stop was Art Museum as it was still raining. The last stop was Sentosa.. by then the rain has stopped (a blessing in disguise).. but din managed to capture sunset as there was no SUN!

I love Sentosa.. taking photos at the beach makes me feel very relaxed and happy.. Going to view my photos on Thurs!! Looking forward to it!

ling27

hi kittyng, ya it was raining yesterday afternoon but the sky wasnt dark and gloomy so we could still proceed with the shooting.. and heng the rain stopped at 5+ so i managed to go Sentosa to take photos!!

lois

Hi Jac
Bob does prewedding PS too. not sure of his rates for that.

i think a handful of us has engage his service for AD.

bunnyhop

oki...welcome u...
ya, e caterer will take care of ur deco.
gd 2 hear u making progress...
do share wat kind of WG/EG u hav selected when u visit Sattine.
They do hav qite nice gowns but muz b patient 2 plough thru a wide selection. U may let them noe wat u hav in mind 2 quicken e search...
Enjoy looking @ urself in e WG/EG...itz an indescribable feeling...! (",)

vysweetapple

Hi Truff,
Thanks for the information. It was really helpful. I am really looking forward to the PS.
I am on leave for the rest of the week, thus will be free to start planning for our wedding.

luxelass

For those who are still looking for a place for 7 Dec 08, Hyatt is still available. Send mail to and look for Brenda. Her email is [email protected]. Beaufort The Sentosa is also available for 7 Dec, but they charge $30 extra per pax for this date. For Beaufort, look for Cathy, email her at [email protected].

Good luck girls!

ryu

Hi Nelle,
i'm one of those non-AMK btb lol, maybe you guys can have a gathering 1st then a major gathering in Jan with us non-AMK btbs?

ya i've engaged bob as AD photograper as well
luckily engaged him before he increased his price phew....

lara

hi Selina, i was there abt 5 i think =) mayb we saw each other! hahah... i also saw another 2 couples taking pics!

ling27

Maybe leh!!! I did smiled at one bride though.. skally it was you!!

So in the end you went to Art Museum and Supreme Court only? Was it still early when you have finished the shooting? I ended my ps before 630pm.

lara

eh.. i remembered i passed by a bride who was posing along the corridor outside the main entrance to the ticketing counter n the groom was sitting n resting near the pillars along the corridor (those small ledges), was it u?

ling27

errr.. me and hubby took photos at the corridor near the entrance (towards right hand side of entrance)!! But there were other couples taking shots there too.. so maybe yes maybe no.. hee

wendily

Hi brides,

I can only get my wedding card on the 9th Jan leh, then my wedding is only 19th Jan.

Think i'm the last minute bride who pass everyone their invitation. LOL

No choice now.. Pengz..

I am really feeling tense now..

necrosis

mmm...yeah...me looking for an online feng shui shifu.
pre got a contact from a forummer, but i find it too mah fan to go down lah.. :p
so will try those online kind..

i saw swissotel stamford too...didnt like the lights so the grand ballroom (not that i'm eligible anyway, was just KPO!!! hahaha)

cordie

hi meiling...
yah i agree. thats y wanted amk flats... but think maybe have to give that up liao...i stay 17X, i have a fren stay 12X also...amk has a lot of good food meh? hmm, why didnt i know? the only good food i like is the rasa sayang western food at s-11.

hi nelle
how much is yr membership ah? i prefer fresh air so i always prefer morng jog but lazy wake up lor...u also like coffee and cakes? hee me too... but i alway share with htb, sometimes the slice so big i cant finish...yah maybe we can meet at amk hub...

hi jac
just tell bob u are a btb from this thread, he will charge u a good price lah...

hi flora
u very lucky.. 188/yr is very cheap for gym memdership...

nelle

depends on your budget.
To me, if I have a choice, I will even do away with the photographer. After the wedding, how many times do you look at the pics? If you ask friends who have been married for 1-2 years, they will tell you they have tuck away the photos in some obscure shelves, some even in store rooms!

So we only spend on the essentials. Engaging a AD photographer, a MUA for morning & evening, a WG, a tea dress, a dinner gown (optional, if tea dress is flashy enough), angpows (for helpers), dinner banquet (unforeseen low angpow collection) & other expenses for tea ceremony. Partner already has a business suit (his work requires, so he has a few).
We are borrowing a friend's merc so deco is DIY.

Come to think of it, my partner should thank the heavens that he has a thrifty woman like me! hahahahaha..

Self praise is such a national disgrace!!!! hahahaha

ryu

Hi nec,
I prefer 2 photographer, 1 capture the morning at htb's place, the other capture the morning at my place. during the luncheon 1 can concentrate on the wedding couple and the 2nd one take candid shots of guests

nelle

hi cordie,
I spend about $1300 for a 12mth unlimited membership. You can go to the website to see if you like the classes. Thomson Plaza is the latest outlet.

sleepycat_2

Wendily, you can start calling ur guests now and get their rsvp. the cards can be sent once you receive them...no worries, it will be alright...

apple_gal

Hi, Selina

Glad that you have enjoy your PS at sentosa.. Now wait for the photos to be ready for selection. Do share with us once ready.

Hi, Lara
Hope everything went well in your PS too.
Hope you

~sblbee~

jac,
yah i juz got my copy of her world brides...actually i juz buy to browse at d latest designs for d wedding gowns :p
yah u shd give bob a call cos he's v friendly one
hope dat he can quote u a gd rate...

nelle,
i dun mind as long as there's fun, food n laughter :p im fine wif amk hub cos it's q near to my home :p
true, i agree wif u, my frens who got married scolded me for spending too much $ on photos cos they said they hardly even look at it n it's a waste of $ :p

lois,
u r rite, i think at least 3-4 of us engaged bob's services...he does pre-wedding as well, see whether he can include in ur AD package for u :p

ryu,
u engaged bob alrdy? dat's fast....tot u juz asked me for his email add a few days back, wah really work fast :p same here, dat's wat i did, 2 PGs at 2 different places...

nec,
for me, i got 2 PGs as well but frm 2 different companies, i wanted more coverage on d event for things dat i failed to notice on my AD, guz it'll b better to engage 2 PGs frm d same company

~sblbee~

sue,
hehehe...it was really fun, i enjoyed myself a lot too...frm d pedi party, shopping to d singing...it's really v fulfilling as d day was really well-spent dat times flies so fast when we were having fun

koyoyo, mal, polarwhite, melody n jesl,
though u all cant make it d last 2 times, but make sure u all join us d nxt time ok? no more excuse liao, those who cant make it oso have to contribute to our fund...hehe, like dat we can use d $ to dine :p

hi chunchun,
thanks for ur well-wishes! guz everybody's busy wif xmas prep so d forum is not so active these days :p thanks for d reminder! i'll keep in mind not to indulge too much though i know it's hard to resist d temptation...merry xmas n a happy new yr to u too!

ryu

hihi meiling,
hehe actually i engaged bob some time back liao, just wanted to see see his new works that's why asked for the email ;)

~sblbee~

ryu, no wonder lah, i tot u can decide so fast....hehe, perhaps u can get a copy of her world brides oso to see some of his works, wonder if our pics will b featured in d future but i doubt so unless it's special :p

nelle

gals, if you are thinking of MTM gowns and want some ideas, go to theknot.com. But must register (v. fast, no need to pay :p) to access the pics. There are many, many designs, not just for dress, also for hair, flowers, etc.

nelle

oh ya, I would enjoy to meeting up.
Let me suggest, of course, this does NOT limit to AMK/Central gals only, how about this weekend? Sat/Sun? late afternoon e.g. 4-5pm?

fishoutofwater

oh gosh... think i'm really going to faint alridi.
I've also chosen 7th Dec cause of it being auspicious & not to clash with my future sister in law whose AD is like in oct.
& u all have alridi book this & book that...
now really gotta hunt for hotel to hold
ROM liao...

necrosis

meet up sounds fun...but this sat i've to rush christmas shopping...:p
and concert in the evening...
and sun: housewarming and christmas party...;)

mm....i still cant decide if 1 or 2 AD PG...
each generally costs 1k ++ , say 1.5k, means abt 3k..
quite substantial, plus VG another 1k++...!!

lois

hi Meiling,
yet to confirm BS so PS will have to wait and see.
tmr got another appt with a BS. hope things go well and end of BS shopping.

meetup sounds fun. but me is in the faraway town Jurong. anyone in the west?

necrosis

lois!
ryu!
me in west too. :D
haha..we have a "branch" in jurong and another one in AMK ....

nowadays, town is super crowded with last minute shoppers like me...looking for a place to sit for dinner is crazy!!!

lovebytemi

Yeap, Wendily,
I totally agee with geraldine. As there is no time to RSVP, you don't want to be left with lots of empty seats. So the best thing to go is to ring or sms who will be able to attend your wedding and get the address so that you can send the card to them. =)

Here is what u can write in your sms:

"Hi XXX, I'm getting married on the 19th of Jan and will be honoured with your presence. Please rsvp with a postal add so that I may send you the card at a nearer date."

If they dun reply after 2 days you can write

"Hi XXX, we have yet to receive your rsvp for our invite. Please do let us know if you are able to join us in our celebration."

Something along these lines... =)

wendily

Thanks Kymmie, you know exactly what i'll ask next! haha..

I shall copy and paste exactly!

Thanks geraldine for your advice too!

CLS2008

Hi Wendily,

My wedding date is same as yours. I start mass smsing yesterday. Actually want to start end of this week but in consideration of the holidays period, i am glad i did so a few days earlier.

Most important is to get their address (if you are posting). And get the full names of the guests compiled. You can also start to organize group gathering after 9 Jan so that you can mass pass cards to your friends.

If you leave all these essential details till you get the cards to do, then you definitely have to be panicking. Hope it helps.

peachypeach

i'm new here, hope i can hope you ladies here.. juz confirmed to be a May 08 btb... =)

been following other threads as i was sourcing for a BS and glad to find a lot of invaluable experience and sharing from others..

lovebytemi

Just another tip of invitation planning.

This is something i did which i found terribly useful.

What I did with my guest invitations is I left the intial relatives one to my parents. So the tables that I have for my own friends, I arranged them into tables of 10 or 11 (*this depends if u have hala friend and you can kind of like slot them in =P ). From there I started SMS and email. If someone replied that they canould not make it then I would slot someone in.

Seems to me like there are alot of weddings going on in Jan. I guess everyone is rushing before the year of the rat. =P

icyxiaozhu

hi gals, i'm thinking of engaging someone to do the animation flash for my AD. Still thinking... any comments? or recommendation? Thanks!

bunnyhop

hi peachypeach,
welcome!
care 2 share when is ur AD?
mebe u can share a bit of ur ad schedule 2 noe u better. (watever comfy 4 u 2 share)
cheers! (",)