(2008) Brides of year 2008

Ooo thanks for the info Mage. Think if i were to use a penknife I might end up with more cuts on myself. Rather clumsy =P.

Maybe instead of buying one I can toy the idea of renting or borrowing from you =)That's if I want to do my own invites. I also got a quote of about $280 for 200 cards. Just wondering if its worth the effort or should I just get someone to print =)

Hi Fruittea

You are expecting to collect your keys by Mar 08, but I thot you would need to produce your marriage cert in order to collect the keys? So with the ROM in Nov, you going to delay the collection of your keys ah?

I have the same thots as you regarding the BS. But I seriously think we were too rash that day to sign up with the first BS. The new BS that we have intention to take up is Di Gio. The package is really very comprehensive and covers everything that I can think of. They also offered me MTM gowns (which I would seriously need due to my arms
) and even covered 2 gowns for my jie-meis.

You have even browsed through the wedding cards? I have yet to with Park Hotel. I thot would choose it somewhere nearer to the AD. You are sure fast and steady!

My AD is also 14th Sept at Marriot, Lunch. I din realised Sept is such a hot date !! My BS is Di Gio...Congrats to all Brides-to-Be !!

Hi Ic.didi,

I'm a 7 June bride oso...hehe...where's ur wedding dinner held at??

Hi apple_gal,

I suggested to my hubby to ask his sir whether we can go to his fire station to take our outdoor PS...haha...hopefully can...actually we wanted to "rent" the red rhino to come and pick me up on my AD, but that time got public complain, so we dropped the idea...must be those old people eat finish nothing to do, then whole day complain..

Welcome, Ic.didi and angel!

hi apple_gal, yup, probably have to start shopping ard now when there is a lot of sales going on... hee...

hi lara, thanks for the contact. i will ask my FH to take a look...

hi ^MeiLinG5^ (~sblbee~) & Flora
where can i get the mask ah? seems like u guys quite like that mask leh....think i also buy and try..

hi liting
both u and htb no need lose weight le lah...handsome and beautiful already.....

Polar, i wore their 5 inches platform shoes while trying the gown, still dragging on the floor. I shld be wearing 3-4 inches heels though i've never tried walking in them b4. Polar, my designer told me if the gown is mtm, there shld be abt 4 fittings in total, so im sure your gown will fit you perfectly on yr AD

I am also abt s-m size but bottom heavy. But i hv small hand and short fingers. My wedding band is size 9.

Mei, mrs kel, dont worry too much just enjoy the fitting process.

I'm abit irritated once again by my photographer. Just sms her on checking with the date to select pics and she told me she will let us know end of week. It's getting frustrated to the extend that i had to be very direct to her , emphasis that it's been 3 mths since the PS and we do not want to drag any further. She expect us to view in mid dec. Told us that she will select the pics and have us to view the final layout and print the album once it's approved. That's her practice for all her clients and told us she will have better judgements on what will be nice in the album. I have yet to answer her on that but i guess there isnt any choice now when she refused to meet us next week (told her i be out of town till 12th). My faith really plummer after this encounter though i do agree that her skills is good. She told us not to be too stress and worried over this. But how would she know the process of BTB where there are tonnes of things to do and not just wait for her photos. I wonder if she ever place priority to the sequence of her clients or just do what she think should be done. Sigh. Sorry got to grumble a bit..

Hi love xiao long bao,
26 Dec jus a day after Christmas! Wa...u sure pple work on tat day eh?
I not sure how Danny works but guess he shld b qite attentive lah, esp when he needs 2 serve ladies...haha once i saw him helping a lady adjust her gown...she seemed rather pleased...(",)

I don mind seeing u face 2 face but prob another day lah...perhaps during Jan 2008, we shld b able 2 meet since my PS in end Jan...u confirm ur PS day yet? Wld look forward 2 meet up w u! (",) Jus let me noe k?

As 4 mua, does it mean u don wish 2 take up Sattine MUA? How come? Does it mean u take up an a-la-carte package?
Personally, i do noe of Brides who hire top notch MUA for e AD...guess itz a matter of preference n budget lah...mebe some of e Brides noe these MUA personally...
Wat abt u? How did u get 2 noe abt this $700 MUA?

Apologies if i ask a bit 2 many Qs...(",)

I asked, danny coming back on 26th. After holiday.. shd be recharged.

I don have PS. I don have a full package with Sattine. Only took up the MTM WG and OTR EG and flowers and Make up...

So bascially now i want to hire my own MUA, one recommended by friend. She looked really good, of course it helped tht she was pretty. I am worried abt make up because i have done those professional make-up before, i find i look more terrible after tht. so i guess i just want to make sure tt i dun look worse than my normal self on AD.

See finding excuses to spend $$.

Anyway, my spending strategy for wedding is quite atypical, i spend on the things tht matter to me, go for top quality if i can afford, but alot of other things i dont have. Like no PS, no VG, no special flowers, no wedding cake, no expensive shoes, no wedding photomontage. My honeymoon also chinchai... got beach can already. Anyway there's a lifetime to travel together.

But at the rate i'm gg, i'm like adding extra costs here n there... =P
anyway, no sweat abt meeting up. whenever la.

Hello beautiful ladies esp apple_gal & Lara,

I have been MIA for quite some time.. Blogged down with work and have been unwell since last week!! Now slowly recovering... So here i am!!

Ok just a short update for those who are new.. my AD is on 6 Jun.. selected my PG and VG already.. Going for PS next Wed, 5 Dec.
*excited*

Cordie,
sure, but do b careful, can b quite stubborn when it comes to peeling off....not recommended for those who got thin skin...my personal opinion...:P

hey bridies.. wah after seeing the fitting scenario makes me feel that i must really go for crash diet leh...

shoes shopping... ya i also wan to go.. can have some ideas to kiv first. Coz shoes cannot keep too long ..

today i will be on 50% ... appt with HDB for flat selection.. but i doubt i will get it... q number is 510 but only 300 flats available...

ytd i went into the website which mel intro, its quite nice.... click a few items and ready for check out only to rec their email that i have to purchase a min of HKD 1500 for first timers and subsequent purchase to be HKD1000. ... :P

Hi, Valerie

Very unquie ideas you have. Hehe.
Pardon me, i saw your outdoor WG at your multiply, the gown not suitable you, not nice. Please re-select your outdoor WG afterall is once a life time.. Sorry if i'm too straightforward. :P

Hi, Catz
Yes, go around & see, sales going on. Me now also shopping for my wedding shoe as well as my Hubby shirt.

Hi, Selina
Wah, Long time no see. Guess you must be very busy.. Hehe. Thanks for your compliment! Aiyo, must take care of your health.. Have you bought your wedding shoe? How about the PS location? Who is your PG & VG? Let pray together that your PS day is a sunny DAY!!

Morning BTBs,
Hey jojo, IMO 3 months is rather long for the PS to show you the photos. However if she is showing you photos + album lay out maybe at most 2+ months? With my own photos, they were out within 1+ months for me to select. After the selection, we are now waiting another 3-4 weeks before we can view album layout.

What confuses me about your photographer is shouldn't the client be the ones picking the photos? Take for example if you are given 28 photos does that mean that she'll pick only the 28 photos for the album? What if she picks more for the album and tells you its nice? Are you then meant to purchase all?

Dun be too stress. Stress only gets us down and weary. It doesn't improve the situation.

Photos only need your selection and approval. As for printing and designing your BS should worry about that part for you.

What you can do in the mean time is to plan for other things such as your banquet list, AD schedule, Guo Da Li, Montage, Song List for the night. These are all within your control =)

hi koyoyo,
thanks for the words.... apply some antiseptic cream or aloe vera gel to the wounds... helps in healing faster....

hi melody,
my wedding shoes will be ard 2inches... i tried the different heights at leaping lizard.... 4inches, i sure fall... 3inches, 85% will fall... 2inches, the best liao... hahhaa.... i have prob balancing... majam like walking on sticks like that....

haha..Selina.. early in the morning u make me very happy oredi.. take care of urself n drink more water! muz b mei mei for PS~

btw gals, i think centrepoint robinson, aldo, metro paragon, nine west, taka n CK tangs all got nice wedding shoes.. esp now got sale!

sue,
u r so slim alrdy....if u lose some more weight, den dat area u r worried abt will b affected 1st leh :P
gd luck for ur flat selection....do update us after ur selection ok?
wah....so did u buy d clothes eventually? perhaps those who r interested can pool d orders tgr n den can hit d min amt

Oic...okie
Will let u noe when 2 meet 2 say hi...(",)
Going down this week 2 look out 4 suitable gowns 4 PS and oso deciding if 2 mtm or get otr EG.
Tink they hav some bare back design gowns, if u fancy this type...jus as u go 4 less frill (based on e NOs u listed...im sure u will enjoy urself eh?)

As 4 e MUA, jus go where ur heart directs u...i agree w u tat a good make up will certainly make ur day...actually i a no foundation gal as my skin can b a bit sensitive...esp during special time of e month...oso heard frm my beautician tat our faces will b layered with much foundation on e AD...Yeeks...certainly not me loh...moreover, goodness knows how many faces they hav touched up w using e same foundation pack...makes me wonder whether i shld invest some on my own jus 4 hygiene purposes...

Imagine some clients w skin maladjustment n e MUA uses similar pdts... Yeeks... u get my drift?
Hope not scaring e BTB out there but i tink theres certain truth abt it...
Sorrie...guess i can get a bit paranoid n hysterical on tis topic...
certainly don wish 2 go on a honeymoon w a 'less than lovely post wedding appearance' (",)

As 4 honeymoon, my htb n i prob going 2 HK/Japan? U?

No problemz.. we are all beautiful ladies.. haha (thick skinned).. All my gowns cover my toes so no need to worry about shoes.. so i'm wearing back my ROM shoes.. As for outdoor gown, i need to buy a white/grey flat shoes for easy walking. Now there is sales everywhere.. good timing! Will be highlighting my hair today.

Should be going to Sentosa and Kent Ridge Park for PS. Will be discussing with photographer on PS day.

Hi Kymmie,

Thanks for the concern. What get me worked up is the way she handle the situation. We just felt "cheated", it gave us an impression on the priority of our photos as compare to those other clients that have engaged her through those BS that she has tied up with. I do not see any difficulty in showing us the raw photos when it has been taken so long ago. Futhermore she has not even touch up on anything yet that's why she offer to select for us instead of us pushing to view the pics.

Sorry for the rattling. Actually i am almost done with 80% of my AD stuff except for the ballroom deco & the album. Corsages, programs and angbao box have been handled by my cousin who is my coordinator. So basically im not too stress up on the AD. But this PS incident just left me flabbergasted.

mei, alamak.. you should feel my pillow fats.. haha. i read from mag, they have this new lipo thgy which is almost painless and you can return to work the next day . Wonder how much hor... haha

suck the fats out and put the area i am worried about... ? hm...

ya i will let you guys know if i am successful for the flat selection later today..

no leh... could not buy the clothes, they sent me email notification saying i not meeting their min. so no choice.. ya... see who wan to buy then we can all buy together.. :P

hey i got a good buy for Sportshoe... FILA at 39.90.. haha... now i must really find time to start my regime with amore liao...

psh, dunno wht kind of gown i want for evening. see how la... but i wanna look like hollywood star. he he...

I think i gonna sign up with my MUA. I agree abt the foundation pack, i think i gonna buy also.

Honeymoon now between Manado and philippines i think. Just go somewhere to relax by the beach. initially was also thinking maldives, but then not enough leave.

how about other brides?? Wht u all doing for honeymoon?

sue,
i really cant see ur fat pillow dat day leh...if have, den it's so well-hidden...aiyo, u r alrdy v slim liao...like dat i lagi worse :P
hehehe....yah if can suck all my fats n transfer to dat area, i dun mind too cos im a tai-ping gong zhu as well :P
gd luck for ur selection again...hope u can get a unit of ur choice
think mayb can chk wif d rest of d gals if they r buying n den pool tgr
for me, i cant buy cos i scared wait cannot fit :P

sleepycat, you managed to cut with scissors ah? Good leh you... I use penknife till my arms ache too cause got to press hard down and also card is pretty thick. Got to cut few times before its really cut. With the cutter, its much better but still got to press down and not let the paper run.

Kymmie, if timing is right, lending to you is no problem.
As I still have my Thank You card to do too!

I have some wines leftover from my wedding this month...Selling them away...Interested pls email me @ [email protected]

1) 15 bottles of Wolf blass Eaglehawk 2006 -Cabernet Sauvignon @ $18 each.

2) 5 bottles of Wolfblass bilyara Shiraz 2006 @ $18 each.

Self-collect @ west area.

Hey Ladies,

Glad to see these familiar names again. Haha... been so busy with work & everything else that Kymmie told me I seemed to have disappeared from the thread. Haha...

Well... preparation work is killing me. Dad complained bout my dishes, saying cannot serve duck & cod fish during the dinner coz its inauspicious but hubby & I insisted on it. Hence, created lots of unhappiness. Now, he is still trying to get over it, saying we arent listening to him. Making it worst, he even complained to my aunt that we dint ask for his approval of our dinner venue. Arrgh... how unreasonable is that?

Jojo, saw what you wrote. I tink you should go down & talk to her personally. Worse come to worse, insist on viewing the photos on the spot & say that you want to select them yourself. Seriously, no one needs to wait so long just to view the raw photos. Personally, I viewed my photos from PMB wthin the same wk of the shoot & for signoria, it was bout 1-2wks after. Hence, I dont know why does your PG takes so long? Moreover, its going to be Dec soon. 1 look @ the layout may not be enough. You may have to go down a few times & processing of the album requires 2-3weeks, fastest. Hence, I would suggest you to be more firm with her.

Jo....aren't u lucky to have ur cousin as coordinator....=)

agree wif most of the gers here that album need immd attn NOW....there's 2 ways to handle her now which is either hard or soft approach...u decide. let her noe ur concern & it's seriously out of d norm to take dat long a time.....if it were to be mi...I would have insisted on selection of photos myself as it's OUR album so WE select what we love to see.....=) hope dat things gets beta for u.....=)

mage....wat kind of concept are u toying wif for thank you cards.....inspiring mi to do mine shd time allows.....kekeke

say if we were to print photo on it wif a thank you message....wat kind paper quality is advisable....wat program used??

Hi Cabbage & Stnov,

Me & FH have decided to let her conceptualise the album. It has come to a point where we are not given any alternative at all. Our main concern: we do not want to sour the relationship as our photos are still with her and do not wish any "harm" (sloppy work) or unnecesssary "publicity" (we have some pics meant for pte viewing) if she get unreasonable. She is very confident that the pics she selects will be what we want and that's her usual practice for all her clients. Not that i do not trust her skills, something is just not right with this process. Therefore the final agreement is to have my album out by 21st. Sigh. I just have to bear with it. Thanks for the advise.

This sms war with my photographer nearly make me tear..sigh..no point getting angry over it. I'm just trying to deal with it as politely as possible so not to rock the relationship. Thanks for the advise everyone. Just hope that no one will go through this , can make you pull your hair out!

ryu, I tink the guys can use it too. It was highly rated by one of the local magazine for its whitening effect. Cost is around 30+ bucks.

Can be fun peeling the mask off. But do apply something like moisturising cream or toner after peeling to "cool" the skin.

no prob jo....understand ur concern...so long as eventually u rec'd ur album which is to ur satisfaction....perhaps can give her a ring from time to time on updates....=)