(2008) Brides of year 2008

b_n_l

Hello PSH,
I'm also having church+banquet on same day.. will be getting friends to help out as co-ordinator but mostly planning the things by oursleves.. helpers juz help to execute on day itself and ensure all things run smoothly.

Think it's the little details that take up the most time. Like guestlist, seating etc etc. I prefer to have more control over these things than to dump them to a coordinator.

b_n_l

BTW...My AD also on 31st May

crayongal

hmmm.... hey gals.. thanks for all the replies. keke...
well, i intend to hv mine in Jan.. kiasu abit la..
but i saw on my BS thread that they need some time to get the photos done..layout etc... so , i reckon i dun wanna keep pushing the BS also.. so, go earlier and leave it to 'em to do.. more than enuff time.

i tend to leave stuff to last min. but .. i guess can't play ard wif the wedding stuff la.. heh.. if its late.. den sians le.. =)

hmmm... princess, i hv not been to Traders hotel but i think peony jade and mm are both pretty gd.. in fact, i'll be gg for a fren's din at MM tmr.. shall come back n gif u some feedback.

erms, if im not wrong MM is givin' out pretty gd perks.. so, it may be gd for u to go nego wif them.. n den compare the perks wif traders too!

mage

Stnov, doc's prescription works but have to becareful when you stop taking it.

If can find nice cloth at Ikea, the curtain sewing service there is quite cheap. Can check it out first.

So happy! I save quite a bit by printing my own invites. Pro looking at less than $1 per card!

Anyone knows where can I get jordan almonds aka sugared almonds in SG?

xinyi_reiko

Last time, my hubby's colleague's wedding dinner, they had some dancers to perfrom before the dinner starts. And again no one pay much attention.

I feel guests will still prefer the couple to interact with them more.

I actually got an interesting idea. If you and your hubby dont mind not to interact with the guests during reception, can try this:

Missing in action...

Dont appear infront of the guests during reception. Pre record a video showing that both of you are away from the hotel, maybe shopping or still sleeping at home. Then play the video before 1st march-in. Let the guests to think that the couple is missing in action. Then after that, surprise the guests by standing at the ballroom main door.. hehehe..

sorry, abit long winded. :p

chrysallisph

Hi xinyi,

Good choice on favours! The choc almond pills not only look good, they taste yummy too. Attended a wedding there just on Mon, 1 Oct and the couple used that. Decor was very very sophisticated too... think same theme as the same you chose. =)

I think I will be wearing kua.. not good enough figure to wear CS... =(

Yes, I'm thinking of a live band or maybe, a harpist.. either one.. still undecided...

Wah, I feel like there's so much to do and I'm so slow at it...

necrosis

anyone here contemplating overseas PS ?

i saw some overseas PS in the forum, now heart very itchy even tho i've technically got an overseas ps in JB... :p

hi gals! woah so many posts! see until blur haha... ok i will call the ring pillow gal and ask if she has new lambs coming in from her supplier haha.

wow sue marathon for almost 8 years! impressive!! i think i belong to the same category as polarwhite, snowypooh, meiling... cos we all started to plan shortly after getting into the r/s.

for me, i just got to know my fh in March this year. we got together officially as an item in May then after that sometime in Jun/July we were talking abt flats, marriage and our future. In Aug we apply for the HDB balloting exercise and managed to get a flat, then after that went to see geomancer for dates and tada!... that's how we got here today. All within 5mths, we had so much stuff planned. we were going to ROM on 18th Oct next year. I also like 18 Oct 08 date very much, too bad cant get venue i want. but can't bear to give up the date also, so decide to ROM first on 18th Oct
At least 18th Oct is on my marriage cert haha :p

So i calculated from the day we start holding hands till the day we walk down the aisle next year to say 'I do' will be able abt 18 months (1.5years) just nice keke... but, still havent get my proposal also... waiting waiting...

nicdar

I'm also a bide to be in 12 june 08.. But really need some advice... Me and my FH is quite busy as both in retail line so really abit lost on wat to do first (bridal package or banquet package)
how to bargain on the banquet or bridal package.. And what else need to be done...

We plan for a outdoor poolside wedding dinner with abt 20 tables... was told by my colleagues should loss lots of $$ cos no aircon ppl might gif $50 - $60 only.. Any comments..

Thank you very much

~sblbee~

gerbera gal,
let me know after u have contacted her, im curious if there'll b new lambs coming too...wah u even earlier than me...for me, i got to know my fh last jul n offically got tgr in oct...so it's our 12 mth tgr...when we walk down the aisle to say i do nxt oct...chun chun 24 mths tgr...dun worry, i was like u a few mths back waiting for my proposal so b patient n u'll b rewarded wif a pleasant surprise!

princess_sue

hi gerbera,
long or short nvm, most importantly, both you n your HTB mus be loving and caring towards each other and walk through your life together right.. hehe.. :p

hey gals, i just went to OCC ytd, hm.. disappointed leh.. the place look kinda 'old' and the ceiling is low.. just doesnt look pleasing leh.. but of coz its much cheaper la.. so i think OCC Is out for me.. today i m viewing conrad and tm Le meridian... i muz really find a place and venue fast :p

Ring pillow?i got one small one from the goodie bag from raffles town club.. haha ... but i think too small to use also. :p

polarwhite80

hi gerbera_gal,

u very lucky.... apply 1 time at HDB n got it already... my fred applied 3 times, got none... i same as u... wan the date 18th Oct to appear on my marriage cert... hahaha... actually the date hor (181008) is the exactly same number as my birthdate, juz that the last 4 numbers need to swap position....

stnov

mage....am aware of dat....now I have stopped & trying my best to maintain....hopefully it does not yoyo dat fast.....=)

thinking of taking up yoga to maintain anyway.....

lara

hi xinyi_reiko, i'm attending a wedding at oriental this friday!

nicole, i think u shld faster settle the banquet part first coz it's oredi oct so it'll b quite difficult to find a venue..

de_princess

Tks nehoc & stef for ur replies. Ya actually we are quite keen on MM but if we gonna have dinner is gonna be on a Mon as we alr have our Arts Hse reception on sun aftn so not too sure abt guests attendance. The perks are gd too ...just that have banquet abit sian..do for the sake of doing. Stef can let me know after that how's the wedding?

Btw those looking for caterers. last wk i attended my fren's church wedding and they use Stamford Catering... food and set up quite nice. quite yummy too so can consider.

korice

morning girls..

erina.. added to friendster!

xinyi..! u're amazing.. your ideas are really interesting leh!!!

nicole.. i guess it really depens also.. but for the banquet, it might be more impt as there are a lot of BS out there.. but there will only be 1 or 2 venues which you like, and they may or may not be available for your date..
my 2-cents..

koyoyo

yo meilng hi 5
i want 20080808 too but it 7th mth.... sigh
but geomancer say it good day just whether u dare or not to get marry on tt day... haha

koyoyo

wow (gerbera_gal) so envy u
everythg like just made for u the timing so perfect. i am now trouble by dates again who ask me itchy bnackside go ask geomancer now trouble trouble

polarwhite80

hi meiling,

ya lor... is still the 3 numbers (018) swapped here n there for my bd n wedding date... hahaha... so meaning to say when i got married on 18th Oct 08, i am exactly 28yrs n 9mths old.... oh no, moving forward to the big "3".... faintz....

korice

hmm.. i dare to.. let me suggest to hubby.. u not gonna do it?

and hor.. oriental has this really really good soup.. not shark's fin.. something like 5 treasures or sth.. super good..

necrosis

wah...talking abt food makes me hungry!!!!

xinyi, you going down to the show this sun?
i hope i can persuade my FH to go also.. :p
cos i wanna go to the regent one also..
haha...too ambitious, wanna go for 2 in a day..

sleepycat1

I got so many gatherings these days and all at nice restaurants with yummy food....So hard to resist! Need to watch wat I eat now so that I can slim down in time for wedding...

ednamode

feilinc - 1/3/2008 - Traders Hotel - Di Gio
moomooland - 4/3/2008 - Orchard Hotel - French Bridal
caramel980 - 8/3/2008 - Wesley Methodist Church & One Rochester - Dang Bridal
muffin - 8/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - French Bridal
purpleclouds - 8/3/2008 - Swissotel The Stamford - Bliss Bridal
tummykitten - 8/3/2008 - Raffles Town Club -SeletarBraodway
090308bride - 9/3/2008 AD - 10/3/2008 - Intercon - Ala carte
laura_yaya-09/03/2008-Carlton Hotel-French Bridal
elmo - 15/3/2008 - Hilton - Sophia Weddings
Snow - 16/3/2008 - Orential - My Bridal Room
Meepley - 22/3/2008 - Club Chinois - ala carte for gowns
sealy me - 22/03/08 - S'pore Expo - Bridal concept
Junjun - 29/3/2008 - Carlton - White Link
Anabelle - 30/3/2008 - Hotel Rendezvous - Whitelink
Jen - 30/3/2008 - The Regent - J& M Design
serlz - 30/3/2008 - Intercontinental - Silverlining
Mine - 30/3/2008 - Holiday Inn Atrium -Di Gio

anyone who engaged Mr Phang as their solemniser? can share the procedures to go about when dealing with him? cos when i called him ,he said just faxed the letter for him to sign and put in his license no will do. i thought normally solemniser will meet up? but Mr Phang dont.

pinkcupcake

hi nec, no i don't think i am doing PS overseas... very $$...my fiance will kill me... he already thinks having PS is a waste of time and money

xinyi_reiko

Korice, dun want lah. I like to interact with my guests during reception. Haha.
The soup sounds yummy. Haha. Will shortlist for my food tasting.

nicdar

Hi lara & korice,

thank you for ur infor...

Me and my FH is goin to the Furama wedding show next sat... quite like the place there.. planning for poolside dinner don't koe will cost a bomb on the decor part anot... haiz...

ipziee

I've just confirmed my venue!! My wedding would be on 16th Feb 08, anyone on the same day as well?

Just finished my PS yesterday .. went to Botanical garden and i see at least 5-6 other couples on same area!! Ha haha ha ..

xinyi_reiko

Nec, ya i will be going oriental wedding show. Have recieved their invitation. Will be going down with my sis. My hubby is not free.

xinyi_reiko

Hi Nicole, realised your AD date same as mine.

Have to settle your venue asap. Good dates will get snatch up very fast. Furama is one of the popular venue. You can always settle your BS after your venue has settled.

decor part, maybe you can call up some florist and ar ga find out their price range??

koyoyo

i need to change my ROM as it clash w my mama zodic.. but i engrave my ring and did a model with the planed ROM date..,. n planned ROM date is my annversiary.. so now in dilimea to change or now...
really itchy backside go n ask geomancer.. now full of dilimena... *sob *sob
sue i am getting back the depression n stress..

stnov

sleepycat....same here lor....for d whole of last mth...got weddg dinner la...anniversary dinner la....entertain client dinner la.....fainted!!!

necrosis

usually during the cocktail part, it's when the guests get a chance to take pics n mingle with the guests...
if the bride is hidden away...then....after that, no real chance to mingle and chat liao...
how?
i also wanna chat and take pics with the guests...
wear the EG/CS then, then after a while run up and change to WG for march in!!!

~sblbee~

koyoyo, dun b stressed...sayang sayang...we'll b here for u...like wat i've told u thru msn, u have a few options, it depends on wat's impt to u
everything can b resolved one

pearlpearl

Hi there, a little off option. While i was browsing through Sept & Nov 08 brides. I got a shock that they have more then 20++ brides yet their posts not even half of ours. haha