(2008) Brides of year 2008

hi meiling,

i dun intend to do any ring pillow.... either use the 1 given by the wedding band shop or getting from my fred (cos they custom made their ring pillow so the 1 given by the jewellery shop wan they r not using)

hi koyoyo,
when u buy wedding bands from the shop, the shop doesnt give u any ring pillow ??? personally i feel that is not very "nice" to borrow... for my case, i am asking my fred to give it to me... hahhaa....

koyoyo, actually some ppl dun like d idea as it's like 2nd hand stuff frm other ppl, like not auspcious
if u want, i can pass u my lee hwa one...i didnt use b4, still nicely kept in a box :P u give me a coffee treat can liao...haha

hi polarwhite,
oic, i'll update u once i make my pillow ok?

sigh,
I went collect my rings yesterday... u know wat they almost dun have a box to hold the wedding band together.. i told the guyi dun care go find me a ring box tt can hold 2 rings tog ... hw can i keep my wedding band separaetly.. so after a while they found a small ring box.. but no pillow.. at first i abit angry... custom made till 2.5k no pillow or ring box... sigh...

nec, i thinking of having jie meis and xiong dis to march-in with me and my hubby.. they will be in front, follow by us.. the jie meis and xiong dis will be holding masquerade masks. haha.. i think i siao liaoz...

eh how come mine also not inside...?

Ami - 5 July 2008 / Furama Riverfront / No BS yet
Winwin - 6 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Bridal Zone
R&J - 6 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Sophia Wedding
Gloomybear - 6 July 2008 / Four Seasons Hotel / No BS yet.
MT - 12 July 2008 / Marriott Hotel / Thomson Wedding Design
qunqun - 13 July 2008 / Grand Copthrone Waterfront / Yvonne Creative
BBIguana - 14 & 19 July 2008 / Changi Village Hotel(ROM) & Marriott Hotel / No BS yet.
Nehoc - 18 July 2008 / Oriental / Julia Wedding News
S'rene - 19 July 2008 / Peony Jade Restaurant / Elegance Wedding Collection (JB)
Vividz - 20 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / Not BS yet
De_princess- 20 July 2008 /The Arts House/ Silverlining Bridal Couture
Jule - 25 July 2008 / Raffles the Plaza / Yvonne Creative / EmOti0nPix
berry_egg - 26 July 2008 / Peach Garden @thomson plaza / Di Gio
Stef - 26 & 27 July 2008 / Novotel Clarke Quay / French Bridal
Ling - 27 Jul 2008 / HIPV / My Bridal Room

hi meiling,
sure... once u upload to multiply, let me know, i will go see see....

hi koyoyo,
which shop did u go custom made ur rings ?? my fh says he wanna custom made wedding bands as he did not wan those normal wedding bands from known jewellery shop...

hi polarwhite
Je'taime in taka
there is aring making worship coming up soon u go check the BS mag....at je taime there is 1 guy very nice service the rest i dunno...

koyoyo,
i understand ur frustration...i spent so much money on my solitaire at Lee Hwa and yet they gave me a cheapo looking box....sian :P
dun worry, think out of d box...maybe place d rings on d bears' heads....or use a candle stand whereby there's hooks to hook on ur rings...can even tie on ur bouquet of ROM flowers...so unique *thick-skinned*

xinyi.. the idea very nice!!! i think it'll look very good.. and if you have a masquerade theme.. will be very interesting..

hi meiling,

fh wanna customise leh... he wanna design the rings himself... but then i think he got no time for them... hahaha... he so busy wif his work, where got time to design the rings....

polarwhite,
aiyo, ur fh so sweet...since he's so sincere abt it, let him have a go but if he really has got no time den tell d designer his idea so d designer can put down on sketch for him so it's faster...

Good idea xinyi_reiko.. i never seen such a march in before.. Most people have the normal march in..

Oh by the way.. may i just check with you gals if your AD date is selected by Shifu? Have you found out about the suitable timing for the morning ceremony? Or is it too early to find out now?

jingsjings, are you thinking of having a 'bubbly' march in??? haha.. i think HR will have dry-ice effect.. did you bargain for a 2nd night stay or a room for helpers?

There is a lady that customise the ring pillow with name and ROM date. I think 26 only. Let me go home and find the mail and forward you gals..

otherwise, you gals can get the pillow from St michael giftshop at $6 and get the ribbons DIY. That's the price that the lady quoted me. Just plain square satin pillow in various colour. Just tell her that Marilyn gave the contact lor.. If she quote you gals another price..

Hi Korice,

Can you help me change my love nest to Jalan Membina? Thanks!! I just found out yun11 and I are staying in the same area :D

Im still deciding on AD photography and videography. I have in mind O studio, daniel beh some free lancers. Any feedback on them??

xinyi_reiko, my cousins' kids are all too old oredi.. n not so close to my colleagues now as im still new in the company. their kids r either too old (16/17) or too young (<1yr) too.. ur idea of the masquerade masks is v interesting!

korice, yah..n such cakes r not cheap! at least few hundreds..

the most interesting march-in i've seen was at my fren's wedding at marriott. before the 1st course presentation, a group of 5 or 6 dancers (dressed in chef uniforms) actually came out and did a dance! they managed to make the atmosphere very high n i thot it was quite good!

Hi Korices,

Thanks for including me in the list.
Reason for choosing Grand Shanghai bcos i love Live music esp the oldies and so are my parents.
I also agree to Xinyi's saying as in a feeling of it's a Special Place.

Actually the Max that Grand Shanghai can hold is about 29 tables which has to include the function Room.

<font color="aa00aa">opps, I nvr notice, sorry. So everyone in the list now, then we sure use this list, if not later miss out again.

Thanks korice, but I dont have masquerade theme.. haha.. I should be selecting victorian theme for banquet.. not sure if masquerade masks suit the theme.. hmm.. and also my hotel won't have red carpet, so I will be putting flower petals at both sides of the march-in lane..

Selina, thanks.. I not sure got ppl do it or not.. haha.. i know my friend sing song when march-in.. hehe..

Selina, tong shu for 2008 is out, so should be able to find out the auspicious timing for AD. My AD date is selected by shifu.

korice, I think cakes not very popular in sg leh.. It will be wasteful if no one eats plus after the 8-course dinner.. everyone will be very full liao..

Hi luvluvlux
Welcome to this thread.

Hi Meiling
I want to see yr proposal too but i got no multiply. Ha ha, actually i hinted to my hubby before saying so and so did this when he propose but in the end, he didnt do anything special but still it was memorable

Tinkybell, yr proposal should come soon. Actually im curious, didnt yr hubby propose before you ROM?

I also have a ring pillow from lee wah but i didnt use it so i donated it to someone else. I used the one provided by the hotel.

Hi Korice,

Thanks for adding my details. I've heard of some really beautiful cakes at The Pattisier but it's also really exp. I'm thinking of doing a cupcakes thingy but still unsure...

Selina, yes, tong shu out. You should get a shifu to decide on timing. I thought the auspicious timing was more for when the bride should arrive at the groom's place. The tea session not so important. But I think this arrangement is subjective and better consult with parents, right?

Korice,

Btw, my friend used Bridal Concept too. And I was her bridesmaid last year. Her coordinator is May. Is May yours too? She's a nice lady. =)

My friend was most pleased with Bridal Concept.. so you must be in good hands.

haha i didnt consult shifu for my AD date.. my mum also not sure if i can consult timing when i didnt consult date.. Nvm.. i will check with my MIL..

A friend of mine was in the same situation as you. She placed her booking with hotel for AD then realise haven't consult tong shu. So in the end, they fetched bride on auspicious day and left AD as it is.

I would also probably skip the cake-cutting part. But i'm trying to think of how to make the wedding different from the usual one. Haha.

By the way, any of you intend to wear a kua during your wedding?

Hi Babes!

Hmmm.. I bought Brides magazine and realised that they do not have much evening gowns design for us to refer too. Their coloured dresses are mainly made for bridesmaid! I really love their maids' dresses as they really make the whole event look grand and coordinated. I would want mine to be like that also. =P

I want embroidery for my EG but my designer told me embriodery can only be done on Thai Silk. Don't they have coloured duchess satin?

I would also want Frills from Organza for my EG but my designer said using coloured organza will make the dress looked very Taiwanese.

Sigh... Feel so restricted.

Btw, any good videographers to recommend?

<font color="aa00aa">hmm, not sure. I'm still sourcing for BS. Maybe during March or April can have PS, depending whether we are busy at work a not. How abt u?</font>

hi melody,
hehe...no problem, i will pm u d details of my proposal ok? hehe..do share wif me how ur hubby proposed to u leh...q curious how other guys do it too :P

tinkybell,
yah i think ur special proposal will come soon...must update us on ur juicy details ok...u going for ur BKK trip on thu rite? happy holidays...

jesl,
after dat shd b ur turn hor, if i didnt remember wrongly shd b after d 10th rite?...must let me know b4 u leave ok? hehe...abit confused liao :P

mal, u always full of gd lobangs one...must thk u for all d things u've shared wif us
wat a hardworking bride...must look up to u liao :P

Hi Melody,

thanks for the consoling... n yes, hubby and i ROM as per our plan and i was waiting for the proposal but it never came...

talking abt wedding band, mine was not custom-make, but on the inner side of the ring, i have the ROM Date n our NAme engrave inside...

i also din bought ring pillow, use the 1 that was given by Soo Kee when i bought the ring...

Kymmie....it's not an easy task to DIY wallpaper...not done properly causes bubbles &amp; creases....consider the repercussion....

if meet for breakfast then can onli b sat morning....mi can't make it d next 2 sats...paiseh...

tinkybell, it's like dat for most couples nowadays cos wedding planning needs to b done earlier so usually preparation comes 1st n den proposal later

i heard of a few cases like ours too, dun worry, he'll make it a memorable one for u cos u deserve d best

Hi PolarWhite!
Thanks for sharing the website. so many cute designs! keke... really very very sweet. I like the pic u put up with the 'little lambs' design but seems like its not on the website liao. wondering if that design is still available cos i like that one to be specific. anyway thanks ger!

hi Meiling, very happy for you! can imagine how excited you are, cos it's a big thing to us gals, and it finally came! it's every gal's dream that the guy shd do the proposal first before planning the wedding. but at least he got propose, so nevermind the sequence :P i still waiting for mine also... haha anyway bet you must still be feeling that tinge of happiness and sweetness lingering from yesterday's proposal? hehe... good for you gal

Hi all BTBs! Just confirm my AD recently (in Oct08) and now sourcing out for bridal packages etc. Oh yes, and wedding bands too! Any bridal packages or gd shops for wedding bands to reccommend?

hey gals, saw alot of you here getting married on 18th Oct 08. Actually i'm supposed to be on this date too. I only got the date from the geomancer abt 2 weeks ago. never expect 18th Oct is an "auspicious date", so by the time i started to call the hotels to check on availability, every place is almost all fully booked on that date. no kidding! In the end, decided to ROM on 18th Oct 08 first then hold my AD customary on 03 Jan 09. keke... so am I still considered as 'part' of Oct 08 bride-to-be? :P

hey xinyi,

i like your masquerade idea...

your wedding favors can also be simpler masks for the guests..
or you can decorate the table number with feathers like those on the masks..

or your jiemeixiongdi could march in before you and sort of line both sides of the aisle...then as you pass them, then sorta courtsey/bow...like to royalty

gerbera gal, welcome again, i like dat same design too cos both fh n me born in d yr of d goat, was told it's no longer available as there's no stock frm d supplier. i managed to get d same lambs, d last pair in fact...n i intend to get her to dress up my lambs for me :P
thanks for ur well-wishes! yah im still feeling happy n felt dat it's too gd to b true :P

whaleywilly, finally invited u over frm MM thread...u got any details forme to update aprt frm 5 Oct 2008? i'll do dupdate when i reach my office tm ok? wat's ur budget n expectations for those things so we can better recommend?