(2008) Brides of year 2008

hatemenot

hi jojo,

i think digio's gowns are nice.. =)didnt managed to go there.. but i saw one gown at a wedding show.. it's pretty

brightstar

purple - if the photographer u called is not free, ask him or her to recommend...so ur link wont be broken..and u may get cheaper cos it is thru referral

purple_rose

oh is it?? ok i will try to ask for referal...thanks brightstar

blur_queenie

Hi tete,

Yes, i agree. I was there yesterday to check out the gowns and package and i have shortlisted three gowns but yet to try it on. Will bring my FH down to see too.

joenbby

Hi Kel..

oh dear...i was telling my FH how lucky you are and indirectly telling him i'm doing all the planning..haha..

it's hard i can understand. He gave a budget too and i'll just have to solve everything with it. Good thing is the budget is for wedding rings, gowns and photography and I'm settling it in Aus except the ring which i think it's a good steal to wait for Great Singapore Sale.

As for my banquet and wedding, there's no one in charge yet cos it's gonna be in SIN. There's nothing much we can do here except looking at the threads on pple's comments on hotels. However my future inlaws are quite picky abt hotels so i dun think i'll have much involvement in it.

well if you need someone to share your problems buzz me anytime.. most impt thing is you have to be the prettiest and happiest person on the big day. i reckon you just put all your effort on yourself and leave the admin stuff aside. good luck for your planning.

email: [email protected]

jtaime

Hi joenbby

At least yours is settled. I have nothing yet and I just simply refused to confirm anything until I see the BIG rock. Can you believe it? He has yet to propose!!! He promised me a "melt butter melt ice" proposal but I have yet to see it. All he did now was to tell his mum and his friends that we'll be getting married at the end of the year and just reminding me EVERY single day that we'll be getting married in Dec! Frustrating!!!!

Yes, all agreed. We will definitely be the prettiest and happiest person on the big day. Actually, we will be the 2nd happiest cos our husbands will be the first!!! Lucky for them to find wives like us.. Hahahahahahaha...

snowypooh

Joenbby, just rec'd email from NETS infm they've promotion with a few Jellery outlets such as Goldheart & Lee Hwa with discounts up to 50% off storewide if paying by Nets. Can check it out. Not sure whether it applies to the wedding bands & diamonds though.

missy54

Hi Girls!!

i'm also a late 08 bride! =)
was initially going for June 08, but then have to change to Sept 08 cos my mom said that the person whom she went to to get the dates said June wasn't a good month for us.
It's going to be really hectic cos I'm currently in UK and going to plan a wedding ceremony here and a banquet in Sg... luckily don't have too many tables! =)

I'm still lost as to whether to get my wedding dress here or in sg....

joenbby

very true
Kel...lucky for them to get wives like us...

u should put ur foot down on the proposal before you do anything to show his sincerity. How can he not propose and inform everyone abt the wedding. nah...better push him kel...it's ur only chance now to get wat u want. once in a lifetime..no more surprises after tat...maybe he's coming up with something spectacular.

confirming other things are easy...confirming your marriage is the top priority, tell this to ur FH...

good luck!

~sblbee~

After looking at all of you, I feel so lost as all of you are so well-prepared. I duno where to start. I'm actually planning my ROM early 08 and my AD in late 08. Havent got d chance to check any date as my major concern is not to crash with d sch holis as my guests will not b available. Have not found my ideal flat, havent go to search for BS and banquet venues. Will try to do everything in Jun cos FH and me will have more time to do planning. Care to share some pointers, badly need some advice as I feel so overwhelmed. Can email me at [email protected]

picogy

I'm also a late 08 bride.
Planning to have my AD in either Oct to Nov.
But all still pending cos have to wait for the geomancer's green light to pick a date.
cos he said its too early to pick a date for late 08.
So i can't book the venue yet.

Hi Meilin,
don't feel lost. we are here to help one another.
i may not be a good adviser myself, but i think the most impt thing u need to settle is ur ROM date. once it's confirmed, by june u can start to source for ur BS for both ur ROM dress and WG.
And u can start looking out for your venue.
as for photoshoots u can arrange to have it jun of 08 if ur AD falls end of 08.
and thereafter ur ROM u can slowly source for your photographer & videographer.
Hope the abv info is of use to you.

picogy

Hi missy54,

if u were to rent a gown frm SG, u have to fly in here to try on and alteration and u need someone to bring it over to you.
Also what if you have someone who cna bring the gown over to you, but left out something like accessories or veil, you can't fly back to pick it up and fly to UK again.

Wouldn't be a hassle free if u get a gown in UK itself? I think plus airticket and time and possibilites of hiccups, it's cheaper to get it in UK.

That's my opinion la....

brightstar

to kel - he must propose!!!...cos the courage to propose is very impt..im a guy and i agree totally with joenbaby..guys must propose..it is like a passport...to get this passport takes effort!!!

skywu

initially i m planning to hold my wedding in May 08, but i m worried tat my hse is not ready by then (hdb say it will only be ready in 1 qtr 08), as there is still renovation work to be done. So tot of holding it in July.

But again, my relatives said tat july is not a gd month as in lunar calendar it is june, n it means half, so not gd...

So again i thinking of June, but in june there are no dates for weekend which is suitable for us.... nw the last resort will be in Oct... but i feel tat it is a bit too late... really dun noe hw... been thinking abt this :<

mentos

Hi <font color="ff6000">picogy,skywu, ~sblbee~ , missy54</font>
Yeah , we have more ppl in this thread

~sblbee~
Fret not. 1 thing @ a time.

House - Need to depend if u want to get a HDB (resale / WIS or new flat) or a private property ?
Resale &amp; WIS- Need to start to look for it actively if not dun think will be intime.
Remember to factor in time for search of ID and Renovation

ROM: Need to 1st decide on a date.
<font color="0000ff">Outdoor</font> - need to book location, register and book online 3mths (earliest) before and start looking for dress and JP. Hot JPs need to be booked 6mths in advance.
<font color="0000ff">Indoor</font>: Need to decide on date/dress and book online 3mths (earliest) for the date that u want

Wedding - Set ur date and Need to book Banquet at least 1 yr in advance if it's hot date. Rest can slowly do le since it's end 2008

<font color="119911">Sky,
Why not consult a geomancer instead
If Geomancer says it's good date that dun have to worry abt wat anyone says

1st Q 2008. Hmm.. is ur hse @ Buangkok?</font>

~sblbee~

Hi all BTBs,
Thanks for all the advice! I gathered that I must choose a date for my ROM first, actually FH wana do that on V-day next yr but I was thinking it's so conventional. Will work out something
As for my AD, will confirm that during the June holidays with my FH. He's keen to seek some kind of consultation but I'm ok with any dates that's convenient. Was planning for my AD in Sep or Oct 2008 wkend.
Furthermore, I've missed the WIS for Feb, looking at the units available at AMK, don't think I'll stand a chance cos I heard the queue number was 1300+ during lunch-time yesterday. No hope liao. Juz have to wait for the new flats to be launched in AMK and cross my fingers that I'll get a flat.
As for the JP, I hope that my choice is still a JP as he was the JP for my colleague 2 yrs back, was thinking to look for him as I know him personally. Will be actively searching for my BS and wedding banquet venue in June. Hopefully still in time.

candyprincess

Hihi feb 08 bride checking in for now... am actually hopin to hold our dinner on 16th feb but nt sure if cn get or not.. havent dicussed formally with our parents yet... heh...

have shortlisted peony jade, grand shanghai, club chinois, 88 restaurant, qianxi at bktbatok... heh..

have booked my BS olredi... santiago... =)

henyve

Hi Josey,

Hehe I'm 7 June. Have you gotten everything prepared for? I'm rather excited with it hehe...but yet to get my house...

josey

Hi henyve,

I've settled most of the things except for BS. Still dun have a clear idea what kind of WG I want. My dinner is at Sheraton Tower, solemnisation on the same day, AD PG and VG confirmed. What about you??

skywu

hi strawberry

alreadi consult a geomancer, n he said july is okie, but my aunt still said better not to chose tat date... then my bf mother also dun like july too.

nope, my new hse at toa payoh

henyve

Hi Joesy,

I have settled my banquet at Novotel and also the BS with Santiago. AD VG will be my friend as he is freelance in this as for the PG waiting for his recomendation. I'm having my ROM together on the same day too =)

mentos

Sky:Then i thin it depends if u're prepared to stay with in-laws after marriage. If yes then doesn't matter which mth i guess rite ?

hatemenot

hi Vivienne (vbutter),

welcome to the thread... feel free to ask or share any information you have =)

happy preparations!

josey

Wow...you are even faster than me!! lots of friends has been telling me I start my preperation work too early!!

henyve

Hi Josey,

Ya my fren say me a little KS...but since I'm free now better start doing...else when I want to plan that time suddenly busy then worst...I oso wanna take my time planning so wont be so rush. =)

josey

yup. I share the same thoughts too. My flat will comes a couple of months before my wedding so better start doing the preps early. Have you gotten your house yet?

henyve

HI Josey,

No not yet...the WIS recently for Jurong is not good most level 2 if not EA. So I have to wait...now is a little worry that I cant get a house in time for marry...Where did you get your house? Through WIS? The WIS is rather scarily...i duno how now...

josey

Hi henyve,

Oh you are looking at Jurong area? I'm staying there now, but my new house is at Bangkok as it is closer to my FH's parents. I got it during Nov WIS. I was quite lucky then, checked my email for HDB alert when I got up in the morning before getting ready for work. Saw the WIS news and rush down to HDB immediately.

henyve

Hi Josey,

Yup Jurong West area cos my FIL stay there. So I have to get house near the area. I'm also looking out for Future Jurong West WIS. Hoping to have all the luck to get the house my FH wants =) So you doing ur renovation already?

blur_queenie

Hi Cheryl,

Welcome to the group! Anyone went to check if 6th Jan is an auspicious day? I'm not very happy with my mum when she does not agree as she is not sure if it's a good day and yet she does nothing to check it out. Have been filtering out her "nonsense" ever since i told her im getting married.

Anyone went to check on the dates for An Chuan? Is it a custom for the guy to pay for the bed? My mum said that it must be a guy to pay for it, ger cannot pay for it,will be laff by people.

Think i will stick to GHA or Di Gio , both fall under the same management.Have cnfm GCW.

hatemenot

hi cheryl, congrats and welcome to this thread. =)

actually i checked with geomancer, 6th jan is a good day =)

i booked my bridal studio at julia wedding news. Going for fitting in March and will take photos in Taiwan.

jojo, havnt check an chuang day yet though.. hmm i guess if your mum is particular, better discuss with ya future husband.

blur_queenie

Hi tete,

Thanks for the info.
Wow, PS in taiwan, something special. I got a budget, will stick to singapore then. Maybe might consider taking at Macdonalds..hah..so unglam..

m00n

I'm also planning for my wedding around sept.Also dun noe how what to start planning.

Josey- Do you have the banquet packages for sheraton T to share?Will like to find out more what they have to offer.Thanks

allanyvonne

Hi to all Jan2008 Brides =P

Keep guessing all initials what it means =P, not a really thread follower, i'm sorry! will work hard to follow advice and suggestions!

AD? 1st Jan 2008
WD? Wedding Dinner - 1st Jan 2008
ROM - 1st Jan 2008 too =P

Good date or not, well, got someone close who is keen on geomancing, said the date is neither good nor bad. Since it means something to us, so we decided to go ahead with this date.

FH (Future Husband?) and I had made a deposit for Ballroom B at Expo (BlissGarden) for 1st Jan.

For our ROM. We are thinking of having it at Fullerton Hotel or having it in our Secondary School. Still undergoing discussion.

Now looking through forums for recommended JP and wedding favour. Oh, WIS too. Going to select a flat on the 15th. Hope that we can have our love nest.

Regards!

allanyvonne

Oh yar, forgot to add. We may go in JB to look for BS (Bridal Studio?).

Still in discussion whether it is worth or not. Any advice on this too?

Regards!

muddpie

Hi....i not sure abt 6th Jan is a good date...but hubby went to check &amp; the geomancer say is a good date for us...cos initially we wanted dec...but claimed dec there is no gd dates for both of us...so we chose 6th Jan...

Jo...is tat an chuang thinggy very impt? we oredi bought a new bed leh...&amp; hubby sleeping on the new bed leh...does it matter? i very blur abt all these things de....

Wah...tele...envy u leh...can go taiwan shoot...i oso plan to go overseas shoot leh...but limited budget...think can oni go thailand to shoot....hehe....well...i signed wif yvonne creative...but hvn call them to book appt...seems like u so early shoot liao...i better call my BS up right after CNY...

beegeok

hi Allan&amp;Yvonne...

wow 1st Jan, holiday and its a new yr...

We took JB BS, there r pros and cons.
pros - Cheap la, more item... (as compare to sing BS)
Cons - Travelling time, no make up artist...
(we engage one at the city square, nearer compare to inside JB.
but of course the more further in the more cheaper)

hatemenot

hi allan&amp;Yvonne, congrats and welcome!

to cheryl &amp; jojo,
actually their HQ is in taiwan, so instead of shooting in singapore, they let me shoot free in taiwan.. but air tics i pay. i thought quite good deal cos of different scenery so took it up =)

allanyvonne

Hi Mrs C,

ya. but next day is a working day. so my poor guests and jiemeis and brothers will be very tired next day le.

make u artist have to find for AD. and the car decoration? really no idea if it is worth or not. but FH seems really keen to go there though.

--------------------------------------------------

Hi tete,

so good. it is definitely a good offer. special too. make sure u got all nice shots capture.

shirleylow

I'm also planning for my wedding late 2008 ard Oct to dec. Still haven decide the date coz haven consult a geomancer yet. (Can anyone tell me which geomancer is good n price is reasonable.)

I just got the banquet packages from holiday Inn( last time it was called Concorde hotel). Saw a package cost ard 688 or 668 nett.