(2008) Brides of year 2008

shyantiffy

wah.... I seems to have missed out so much leh..
anyway.. think u guys are talking about photography... Juz wanna mention my photography for my coming solemnisation, pre-wedding & AD... I'm taking Lance Lee frm OFFSTONE. can check out his website @ www.offstone.com den into fashion & click on the bridal fashion pic...

I'm looking so forward too all these big events of my life!

berry_egg

i have shortlisted a few restaurants for the banquet and would be visiting the list today.

things are getting excited for me, especially after getting the white dress for ROM. Already daydreaming about the bridal dress
sighh.. the feeling of being a princess

pinky81

blurz_ger (blurz_ger)

I have already chases after my SO. My SO has also been chasing after his mom and then the geomancer also.

Sigh.. what to do? I told my SO that if the geomancer does not get back to us, we are going to let the geomancer bear all the opportunity cost. Fancy he forgot to calculate our dates! And his family respect this geomancer so much that they dun dare to hurry him too much. #$#@!

us_mei

heh, i kaypoh.. yesterday went with SO to view bridal gowns here in US. kekeke. people here buy their gowns leh.. was thinking maybe holding a simple ceremony here then go back again (can wear twice!)

as for restaurant, just making preliminary views from online. anyone has die-hard recommendations? i think we're looking at 20-25 tables? *maybe*

berry_egg

Hi us mei,

for 20 to 25 tables, u can try peony jade.

anyone got BS recommendations that cater to big-sized brides like me? sighhh.. really stressed to know if i can't find anything from the shop after i signed up with them.

stnov

no prob Jojo..... =)

anyway I recd another 'offer' fm tis forum for french ampoule for 35 bucks....uncertain abt total btls per box.....end day will leave decision up to u gers.....

stnov

noreen....not too sure on dat aspect....so cant help....if u need d seller email to clarify wif her....let mi noe ya =)

hatemenot

hi stnov and gals,

i tried both the french ampoule and german ones. german ones can recap back.. so at least one ampoule can use 2 times.

french kind is those glass "break neck" kind, once opened have to use.

personally find both about the same, but german one can be more hydrating, so more sticky consistency. french one more watery.. hee

hope this helps

de_princess

Hi Anabelle,

Wow ur gown confirm already? Hmm I have not decided on my WG & EG... its MTM so supposed to meet designer these 2 wks. When are u taking ur PS? I actually tot of Oct but now abit rush so maybe Nov or Jan.

I have cfm PG for PS but not AD yet. VG still looking...Since u got negotiate think its quite gd deal. Eh I think I only confirmed venue other than that like all havent haha.

stnov

thks tete for sharing....sure useful for a lot of us......can i safely say dat german one has got beta staying on power / more lasting???

jule

berry_egg, why dont you go around the BS to look before making a decision, and request to try on their gowns?

Bring a gf along.. not your bf. So that if they psycho you to sign up, you can give excuse your bf not ard :p

us_mei, I think some of the restaurants under Tunglok is not bad, such as Noble House, but I hear they relocating. Others include Shanghai ShangHai in Orchard Parade Hotel

us_mei

thanks berry egg. where is peony jade?

anyway, fret not. how big-sized are you? (how to PM someone ah? if you know, maybe you can PM me your size) i had this church brother who married a bigger-sized girl too. i can try to ask for the BS shop contacts if you want (she looked nice in her gown)

applemuffin

hi Anabelle and de_princess,

I have also confirmed my gowns and will be going for my PS in sept. Cos i'm afraid nov/dec will be raining season so I decided to bring it forward in sept. ( :

I'm trying to confirm my AD photographer now too.

jacq23

hi us mei, i'm living in aust so not as far away from SG as you
i've booked the venue in SG already as we would only be having the one ceremony in SG. in terms of budget we are expecting the majority of the costs to go to the dinner, bridal package, air tickets, church wedding. i tink once the venue has been booked, you would feel more relieved.

us_mei

thank you jule. the prices seems pretty ok. the room seems long-ish tho. what's yours gonna be like? i'm wondering if it's too far to see for the pple at the back. i'm thinking more squarish? yeah, i heard abt the tunglok group restuarants. my dad say his co host annual dinner there before, food quite nice. my parents are concerned abt accessibility though so i'll have to keep that in mind when choosing.

hatemenot

the french ones have more variety... like collagen, or for sensitive skin,

i prefer the french one actually.. cos not so sticky.. watery ones absorb better i feel =) but it may be individual preference.

jule

I have not been to Peony Jade inside, so can't advice on the layout. Maybe you can ask in PeonyJade Thread.

I will be having mine at Raffles the Plaza.

anabellegirl

Hi De-princess & Muffin,

I have more or less confirm my gown liao... but hopefully still got newer one.. so that i can choose.. hahaha.. I will be taking my outdoor PS in Oct and indoor in Nov.. By the way, have u all confirm yr JP yet... cus I have not even started sourcing..

simplyserene

Hi us_mei,

We'll be holding ours at Peony Jade. Just signed with them recently. Their website gives you a pretty good idea of the place. It's long and each table can hold a max of 12 persons. Maximum capacity is 22 tables and 250 persons.

We were lucky to be able to see a wedding setup for that night and fell in love with what we saw. It's totally unlike our original plan (outdoor buffet dinner & solemnization) but due to budget constraints and feedback from others on outdoor parties, we reviewed our selection. Heard the food is good too, which is important to us.

mentos

Mine also 7 Sep 2008
Same as Daphne Wong and Seacool

House and banquet settled. only PG, VG and BS to dussed about

mentos

01 Sep 08 - green (green_tranquility)
07 Sep 08 - Seacool
07 Sep 08 - Daphne Wong
07 Sep 08 - jess_liang
07 Sep 08 - mentos
13 Sep 08 - Winniethepooh
13 Sep 08 - Crown
13 Sep 08 - Groombride
14 Sep 08 - truefaith
14 Sep 08 - peach
20 Sep 08 - Gina Ng
21 Sep 08 - Sweetbeng
26 Sep 08 - MrsYap

serlz

I am looking for a bridal shop that can provide me with just a CS. Can someone advise me whether Ted collection or Amanda Lee is better?

berry_egg

Hi us mei,
can't private message you. but it's fine i will just reply here. I'm between UK 12 & 14, depending on the cutting.
I would be having peony for my ROM, the food is good and so is the setting. And accessibility is really no issue at all. There's NEL and it's quite a good walk along Clarke Quay to the restaurant with all the construction works almost done. I have to give up Peony for my banquet cos they can't have 30 tables.

Hi Jule,
yeah.. i figure out it's better for me to do the homework myself. after i shortlist one or two then bring bf along. So far, i have visited Bridal elegance, Precious Moment, Bridal Concept.

blurz_ger

hi pinky81,

my friend holding her dinner at qianxi hilltop. the ballroom have no problem for 60 tables and food is good. you might want to consider.

xiaolubao

Hi there Sept brides to be!

My wedding's set for 14 Sept..hehe..booked Oriental Hotel, holding a lunch at the Garden Suite and a dinner at the Atrium. I'm really lucky actually..booked the venue early this year during the wedding workshop

jule

berry_egg, dont worry abt the sizes. Everyone will have certain cutting they look good in.. some better in bustier, some better in halter..

simplyserene

Hi berry egg,

I'm also round abt UK size 10-12. So far haven't had a problem with clothes in SG. Our BS is in JB and I reckon they must have seen I can fit into the gowns else they wouldn't sign me up. My assumption is that they can alter those OFR gowns to fit me.

I'm sure you'll be able to find something that will make you look gorgeous.

winniethepooh07

07 Sep 08 - Seacool
07 Sep 08 - Daphne Wong
07 Sep 08 - jess_liang
07 Sep 08 - mentos
13 Sep 08 - Crown
13 Sep 08 - Groombride
14 Sep 08 - truefaith
14 Sep 08 - peach
14 Sep 08 - xiaolubao
20 Sep 08 - Gina Ng
21 Sep 08 - Sweetbeng
26 Sep 08 - MrsYap

crayongal

hey gals..
suddenly, everyone's so active in here. keke =P

hmmm.. berry_egg.. dun worry.... shld be fine.. most bs have many variety of gowns.. n also, they do mtm... so u can still hv your fav. design done for u.... i've seen some of the gowns in my bs.. not too bad.. but if i really dun see one dat is similar to wat i want.. i may request for mtm.. hee =)

erms.. as for the restaurants.. sorry mei, hv not been to peony jade.. so cant comment..

us_mei

yeah, though i think in US have quite a # of bigger-sized folks, i'm sure you'll still be able to find a nice gown in sg. i think i am too small sized. haha. the lady had to use 4 clips to hold my dress up!! i have not fallen in love with any dress (i tried 5 or 6 i think) so will continue to look around. think i'll settle the BS here. photography i still considering bah.

thanks for the input of peony jade girls. i think need to be there to like it or not coz cant seem to make decision via their website, but hais.. guess i wont be able to see anything until dec, or jan. dunno if the dates will be taken up alrdy by then. sob sob.

s'rene: would u happen to have like a layout of the room? i cant pic the table layouts either..

anyone know how to sit people at the dinner?

sleepydopeey

so how is all ur preparation on going? Me and my hubby are now sourcing for the venue. Getting abit headache coz some of the ballroom too small whereas others are too big can't meet their min tables..haiz =)

yippee_choong

Hi there, mine is 28 May! No dinner but tea reception. So less hassle thou. Settled my BS at Precious Moment Bridal. Impressed by their service and simply love their gowns and photos. Now planning when to do my PS already.

Hmmm...hope to get it done by either end this year or by jan 08:D

sleepycat1

uhm..so how wat are we getting?

I have oily and sensitive skin so I need something that can be asborbed easily. It looks like the french ampoules are more suitable.

I also rem that the ampoule that my MUA used on me is very liquid. Almost like putting on a toner...

mentos

07 Sep 08 - Seacool
07 Sep 08 - Daphne Wong
07 Sep 08 - jess_liang
07 Sep 08 - mentos
13 Sep 08 - Crown
13 Sep 08 - Groombride
14 Sep 08 - truefaith
14 Sep 08 - peach
14 Sep 08 - xiaolubao
20 Sep 08 - Gina Ng
21 Sep 08 - Sweetbeng
26 Sep 08 - MrsYap
26 Sep 08 - teekel

beegeok

I got the France one also. Got it less then 35bucks for 10 btl.
Will be using it for my photoshoot. Save $$ as MUA usually charging about $25 per btl.

de_princess

Hi Muffin,
Do u have any budget for AD PG? I saw a few that I like but they are too ex like $2k abv so I have to forgo.

Hi Anabelle,
I juz had my solemnisation in Jul... JP was Mr Phang. My fren's JP was more zai I think.. female JP forgot her name.

Hi serlz,
I thought Jit can do CS for u also? I think Ted collection has a nice range of CS... I went to see before but I didn't realy like their service.

berry_egg

have u guys work out some form of a budget or checklist for wedding?
just realised that it's pretty scary to buy this and that without having a clearer picture of the overall.
Wana discuss?