(2007) Brides of year 2007

hi macjoe,my mum's friend is a dentist,his clinic is at jurong west.if u dun mind e
distance,i can give u his address.

so sad,plan everything and yet everything changed

i can bring my digital camera,but not so good 1 hoh,hee

Hi Shirley

I always tot chinatown is a good place for getting the GDL items. Hmm if u noe the location of the JB shop it'll be good! cos we will hardly ever use those items, they r jus for tradition sake.

I also din noe the bride is not supposed to go buy GDL items!

Corsage,

www.fascinating.com.sg has some nice beach resort recommendations for honeymoon. wow -you're fast with the furniture! where did you shop? i'm still looking for furniture. only bought bed so far.

schnauzie,

dun like korean food there, cos always so many cold dishes and only one main hot one. e.g. black boar, and more black boar, and only black boar! the only thing i liked was ginseng chicken. but i do like korean ramen in singapore though! haha.

cutie_gal,

I'm checking out rasel and angeli's for buffet... heard good reviews. figured if tea reception already costs quite a lot might as well get lunch reception, and my guests save on a meal.

Blurzsotong: yeap.. i bo bian have to book oriental coz most of the hotels taken liaoz.. it is indeed exp.. dunno if can cover the dinner or not... but yup i just attended wedding dinner at meritus! the service and the food was good

Rene: there's an exodus at bugis first floor. if memory didn't fail me think plaza sing basement has one too. can go take a look.. i saw the slippers.. if not wrong, got a heel or two..

rene,

yes , leaping lizard is at IP, it's a one corner of IP. i went by before. frankly speaking it does not attract me with their outlook. keke... probably u can drop by have a look.

hi gals, I'm back too!

Me honeymoon at home.
I managed to get some days off but my hubby has to report back to work so I shall just rest and relax at home.

Wedding is great too.
Had such a wonderful time with my experienced JMs and XDs.

Yes yes! We shall meet up when the rest of the gals are back from HM. Let me know ah.

Mei, I saw your pic! Nice nice. Love your tea dress. Both of you are 'shuai ge mei nv'.

what else do we need for GDL.

Actually I did aske my mum b4. she only mentioned cakes and canned Pig legs. I initated the PJ and 2 btl of liquor. But she never mentioned about 4DJ b4.. But I think will get lor.. So that my HB don't lose face as well..

Other than these..anything else. Howabout the Long feng candle. Is it also one of the things to exchange during GDL?

i think GDL is also quite dependent on your custom (i.e. hokkien, teochew, etc)

my HB quite bo chup...and I also dunno if I should ask my PIL when is a good time to meet up with my mom to discuss the GDL & PJ, etc.

maochong,

enjoy your PS! remember to bring your digicam to snap some photos as well, hee.
btw, do remind your FH to bring 2 pairs of socks and also shirts for exchange.

it will be whole lot of fun!

hello gals

Agnes, no prob. Yeah, most IDs will tell u that they using solid plywood. If wan solid wood hor, sure charge more lar (and u can bet it will be more than 1.2k lor...). So, if u wan solid wood furniture, best to do a little shopping yourself. but no harm asking ur ID to quote

Janice, wah, your company suck ppl's blood? O.o I think I will insist the doc to give me MC lor. Tell him I having headache/giddiness/wanna vomit.

Welcome ice latted and jmi

oh...GDL?? err, my mum only briefly mentioned she wan those teochew cakes. Her fav...other than that, nothing is done. Not even PJ. I find it hard to open my mouth and ask leh.

Shirley, i'll take care...

Chinatown sell GDL items more expensive meh? too troublesome for mi to get the GDL items in JB coz we dun haf own transport. tink the bride side got to buy some GDL items like potty, bathtub, tea-set, bedsheet (already bought), etc

Ya lor.. Shirley.. If cnnot go together.. Then I think my HB will only come with the Long feng zhu. He very stingy one...I guess that is the cheapest thing among the GDL list.

pink, don't be too sad.

i think frequent washing of hair does help in growing longer at a faster speed, as we tend to massage the scalp.

ur MUA should be able to help you style your hair as they use a lot of hair spray, so dont worry too much.

Halo Piglet, YES, enjoyed our trip alot.
Just need to sleep, eat n spend money. Shiok Shiok!!
Plus i dun have 3G phone so is totally uncontactable. hee~
How abt u? Bet its fun as well. Wonder where has yuki disappear too

iVied, So happy tat every1 of us had a dream wedding

Ice Latte: Not sure where is the shop. I asked my fren for it, k?

Janice: I think different dialects will asked for different things. If you have elderly at home, might want to ask them what they want coz they might know what are the standard items.

Jas: This is what my fren told me. Her mom helped me check with the nuns what are needed the GDL, so they mentioned that if we really follow the authentic traditions, by right cannot. By nowadays, no one follow the traditions 100%. So shouldnt be a prob. But we shouldnt fork out the $ to buy the items lor.

Any cantonese or hokkien here? Usually need a suckling pig to signify that the bride is a chaste lady. Might want to take note coz initially, my MIL said want to give the suckling pig, but my mom dun want (coz no one eat). After checking with my grandma, then realise that it is a very impt item.

Janice, tink my mum mentioned abt the same as ur mum, nt 4getting the PJ (my mum said she'll use to buy things for mi). she dun mind nt having liqour at all though. my mum bought mi 2 yellow gold bracelet n also a yellow gold ring for hubby. although i prefer white gold, i told my mum to get yellow gold coz got more value mah. tot SDJ should be fm groom side? but hubby said MIL wun give mi anything jewellery coz she no $$. in order to save some face for both our side, i've prepared my own SDJ liao.

i told my mum dat my MIL always dressed up beri modern (can u imagine even the hp strap is fm billabong!!!), wear diamonds and even put on make up at home. so my mum also bought some diamonds to counter-fight back my MIL. lol

shirley, during my sis's GDL, my BIL gave canned pig legs instead. my mum also nt interested in suckling pig for GSL, oni wanted it for banquet. strange!

if really wan to follow dialect customs tink abit troublesome for my hubby. he's hainanese, mi too! but dunno how to speak the dialect. instead, he followed MIL side and speaks hokkien n bahasa melayu. maybe i tell my mum to ask for the two big sesame balls (hainanese tradition).

my MIL told hubby dat she wanted the tea ceremony to be at our lovenest instead of her place. dunno can anot leh. hmm, maybe she wan my FIL to step inside her house??? dunno how to arrange her n PIL to sit in the same table, maybe a few seats apart.

junie, i can confirm my MIL really havoc lor. got one time i saw her fingernails painted black. hair dyed reddish behind n blond in front. *peng* skincare product use clarins somemore. i can't even afford dat, oni used laneige. my mum used Olay!!!

my hubby is those bo chap and blur type too. his mom is also not familiar w the customs. Remind him 100x he also can gabra type. If they really gabra i dun wish to be at the receiving end of my mom's unhappiness mann. To be safe i better follow him and definitely won't pay for those items tt they're supposed to buy! heehee!

Yay.. nearly everyone is back.. this thread has been so quiet!

smilez.. welcome back!!

iVied.. thanks for your compliments!

Share your wedding & HM pictures when they are ready ok?

janice, mi already plus size leh, dun wan to really look like a pig.

esther, after CNY already March liao.. which means oni left 8mths. still got other things to do mah.

for mi, i still to juggle my part-time diploma until aug, dun even koe need to repeat any module anot also. in mar, i got reno starting n also gown designing. jun/jul got PS. tink sept/oct i wan to print the invitation, etc. in between got to slowly buy furniture for my nest, move some things there also.. things can come up unexpectedly now n then...

most importantly, i muz exercise more to shed off my excess baggage!!!