(2007) Brides of year 2007

saro>> Me & my HB pure Hainanese!

agnes also...hehee.

wa.. then both of u can speak Hainanese lor, a pity i can oni understand cant speak cos young time not exposed to it... been to Hainan island ? i went before (10yrs ago) nice plc, heard that now even nicer.. hehe they say hainanese guys very *teng* lao po one.. hehe.. n the head behind is flat one, is it true? my bro one is flat though.. hahahhaha...

ello everyone!

welcome angelyn!! Can I ask which church u using? coz so far the only brides here having church wedding are catholics so I KP to see got other denominations or not.

Whee...urs leh?

saro: I'm Shanghainese mixed with Haka and Teochew (and peranakan smewhere I think..which is supposed to explain why I suck at Chinese =P) and my FH is Cantonese....

Oh yeah, went to Fairys Inc yest and Mark was quite keen on it. Coz he say for tt price and can get customised he rather that. YAY!!! But now got to come up with design. Nic, I didn't get to see your design but from what I hear, it's UBER nice...=)

morning ladies, pai seh. Yesterday was busy in the afternoon, trying to rush my work so that I can knock off before 7pm :p

sora, I'm cantonese, Franz is Teochew. Si Dian Jin is a custom belonging to Teochew/Hokkien (from MIL to DIL). Cantonese have something similar but it's called dowry (from mother to daughter).

Hmm, Jas, no leh, I didn't ask the sofa price :p My auntie say might be sponsoring me the sofa (muahahha). Hmm..so far, my mum says will give me 5k cash. That's all lor...so basically we still have to fork out the money on our own

and Jas ah....what u doing at the wee hours of 5am????

29k a lot hor....sigh. Coz that Franz thinking of using Systemind for the study room lor. That one alone cost 6k+!! The Brandt wash/dryer that he wants is almost 1.5k. I wanna faint liao. Gonna build up a wishlist for my friends and colleagues. See who can sponsor what :X *desperate*

banquet wise, we planning to fork out everything lor. At least, nobody will be unhappy regarding the ang pow distribution. Unless my mum....I also dunno how many tables she's gonna ask. sigh. Hope it's not a lot, else both of us jialat.

hehe kitcat
Ya i think too many similar nicks man

Which school you teaching at?
me also a secondary school, actualy from the east but now moving to the center?

Morning everyone...

Welcome Angelyn...

I wun be online tat often compared to past wks cos I'm on leave tis whole wk so wun be 'stuck' to the pc fr 8.30am-6pm fr Mon-Fri...hehe...

haha.. junie.. my memory short ah...

oic.. of course will not happy.. my hubby also..
and of course wont make profit unless ur table is super cheap.. last time my SIL wedding think she make $8000 cos per table is only $400+..

jing cha depends on ur relatives..
cos some ppl may just give the couple and not to the parents..

saro.. I also dun noe about the procedure.. I m hokkien and my hubby is teochew..

saro...my fh's Hainanese but nv really go n notice if the back of his head's flat though...will go n check it out when i c him...hehe...

For pin jin, my mum only emphasizes on si dian jin as I'm a Teochew n she says she wun keep any ang baos, as for the rest of the items I'm nt sure...haven't really tok bout it yet...it's only casual tok way b4 we plan for marriage...my mum's nt asking for any tables n the wedding's fully financed by fh n myself...

saro>> my HB is very fluent in Hainanese but not me. Last time when I was a kid, got speak but as I get older, it sort of got lost liao.

jas>> confirm mine won't make profit one. Can break-even I happy liao. Think if have a loss, not more than $5,000 shld be still alright.

drea>> good for you!! at least you know you'll have one-of-a-kind WB

Gers, wat's the minimum 'presentable' amt of pin jin for the guy to present to the ger's side even if the ger's side has stated they'll only be taking a small significant amt?

My fh's handling all the stuff by himself so he got no idea at all...

Good morning Everyone!!

Jas, I'm looking for flats in the East - preferably at Bedok Reservoir (with reservoir view).. or Bedok South (with sea view). So hard to find.. sob sob..

Junie.. ya.. here's my details:
AD Venue - the Regent on 2nd Dec 2007(I notice it's at the same place and on the same day as Ai Hui!!)
BS - U-style
PG - Golden from U-style
PG (AD) - haven't decided yet
VG - not intending to have one
Lovenest - haven't found yet
Wedding Bands - Most likely Fairy's Inc
ROM Date - 1st Dec
JP - erm.. my church's pastor?
ROM Venue - St. Andrew's Cathedral

Andrea - I'm using St Andrew's Cathedral, an Anglican church. You also getting married in a church?

elch:how's yr discussion on banquet with yr FH?
hello to angelyn too! welcome.

hey gals i am pure cantonese...hehe mum from HK cantonese and my dad spore cantonese....hehe

drea: did you mention my name to sandra or evelyn? they did not show u my design?

saro>> I also heard of pple saying Hainanese husband very "teng" laopo one..haha. Hmm..so far quite true lah.

And as for the flat head, think maybe certain angle bah haha but my HB is balding & I think it's a trait of Hainanese men cuz his dad is also bald and my dad was too.

welcome elchwong!
for me I will let them decide... too stress for me.. haha..

Angelyn.. maybe u can see Ai Hui.. hehe..
then u must be looking for condo lor..

For the Pin Jin and Table thingy right... Last time my BIL didn't give my parents pin jing but gave 10 tables (upon my parent's request) and then my parents kept the ang bao for all 10 tables.

So for my wedding, because I'm only having 10-12 tables, my parents may only ask for 3 tables and my FH will give $5000 of Pin jin wor.. (My dad mentioned he wants to be fair to my sis but later he said never mind la.. just "yi si yi si" can already) I know my parents quite chin chai but I think better give roughly same amount la..

drea>> I'm done with my mass booklet already! haaha.

also did up my church wedding invites! Just need to show Mic the copy & if he also likes it, then most likely, I can print them out already *kiasu*

Jaslyn.. not looking for condo la.. no $$. Already majority of savings go to the flat and cannot use my CPF le..

Nicole.. my parents stay at Bedok REservoir.. very nice place. From my parents' flat, can see the reservoir. Beautiful view every morning..

junie...I oso heard many ppl saying tat Hainanese hubby v.sayang their wives...my fh only at times leh...he only do 'practical' things like cook for me but nt things like giving me small gifts n flowers to surprise me...my fh nt balding but he got lots of grey hair..his dad n bro too...it runs in his genes...

hi angelyn, junie, cecilia and I are all catholics =) St Andrews cathedral is a beautiful church to get married in...=)

Junie so good!!!! =P I finished my ROM invites. Just waiting for confirmation from the hotel then I will go print liao also. Exciting!! =P

Nic, I was talking to Sandra...I think she can't remember which file she put ur stuff in. Haha...plus she wanted to show me designs more towards wat mark would like. Now we sourcing for designs...I got an idea on wat to engrave inside the band..dunno if Mark will like though but it's an idea...

Junie.. you did your church booklet already?!

I tot I'm already very kiasu because I'm already designing my church invites (going to DIY).. and looking at church reception.. Phew..

Actually to confess I almost wanted to go and see my pastor and ask for the church proceedings so that I can do my church booklet too.. hehe.. but my friends say I am so kan cheong..so I decided not to lor..

Nicole- not sure if pin jin is a must but my parents ever mention that they dun mind if no pin jin but our (my sis and mine) FH must treat us well.. But my FH says cannot dun give bcos my parents spend a lot of money and effort to raise me up.. so must show some appreciation to them.

junie: HAHAHAHAHA....actually, it's mainly Fr Ho lah...for the readings n the mass parts. Btw, did we all do the Gloria during Advent? I sing in choir but I sing whatever they play so i forgot liao =P I know 4th week they didn't...but I can't remember the other wks =P I think Phillip should be ok with the songs...I guess it's only if the songs is not approporiate then he'll tell u...

nicole.. forgot your question about the rings.. ya my engagement ring from Fairy's Inc.. love the wedding bands.. actually i saw one on display that I liked.. may just buy that instead of designing my own.

Jaslyn - no la.. majority are flats.. hehe

Cecilia, Junie and Andrea, where are you going to print the church booklet?

I am thinking of DIY-ing.. print at home to save costs.. how many you printing?

angelyn: cos my parents no longer ard so only my grandma with me...no one mention anything yet heheh...

is it the one with their logo embossed on that you like?

Angelyn>> haha..yup, done already!

my church invite also done (total 2 designs, see which one my HB likes).

drea>> I thought you shld know better since you're more active in church. I can't really remember leh cuz sometimes I just follow blindly also..haha.

I'm printing the mass booklet & church wedding invite using my office resources (photocopying machine) and I just need to buy the papers & stuff, ehhee.

That is provided I'm still with the company lah.

Nicole.. oh.. sorry to hear tat.. not sure about pin jin then..

No no.. I like the thin wedding band with 12- 15 small diamonds around it.. but have to see our budget.. everything else so ex!!

Junie.. haha.. so where you get the paper? I went to popular and Fancy paper. Popular - price ok but choice limited. Fancy paper - choice ok but price a bit higher..

Thinking of buying from BKK since I;ll be going in Feb or mar

Morning ladies...

Thanks for all your concern... Back to work already...

trying to login my MSN the whole morning but can't..

Still having holiday mood.. Can't wait till Sat. another 4 days rest.. Haha..

Ya.. think i need to speak to my mum soon.. Building up the courage to talk to her.

But my HB and I think we'll give her more pin jin lor. and after the wedding if we earn.. we'll give her an angbao.. hope this is acceptable.

The thought of having to talk to my mum about this.. I want to faint, like lack of oxygen..

Haiz... If I strike 4D today.. then will be different.. Whahaha

Morning ladies!!!

kaye, i agree wif you that nowadays parents dun noe how to discipline their kids. anyway, we jus pray that we will know how to discipline our own kids.