(2007) Brides of year 2007

jazol, upgrade to another package.. Got burn hole in your pocket or not?

My personal preference, I prefer noodles over rice... During wedding banquet, i see glutinous rice.. I faint.. coz its super filling and difficult to digest.. If its normal friend rice etc.. I still dun mind!

Anyway, like Mei i also kena unconstructive comments during food tasting but its from BIL & SIL. So, it got me super upset... ended up quarrelling with husband...
Nevertheless, i learnt a lesson.. Just IGNORE & IGNORE!

Piglet, dun stress yourself too much! For my relatives' side, my parents will settle the invitations themselves. U can just tell your mum that too!

jazol, I would go for noodles too. Generally people do not like to have too many changes, especially the elders. My view is that glutinous rice may be special but may not be 'welcomed' by many. Moreover, as Mei as mentioned, glutinous rice is quite filling so it may not be appetizing when one is almost full. BTW, traditionally, noodles represent "chang chang jiu jiu".

The choice is yours.

i found the place i was asking about! It's National Service Resort & COuntry Club - the South Changi Restaurant which is by the beach...looks nice from the photos on the website.
going to check it out next week!

hi wheee
welcome here

when is ur AD?

i dont want gift registry also... ANG POWS only please... haha

junie, how much is sealy?

ooohhh weee!!! there is vveeerrrryyy nice!! I had my dinner there..and it was there my FH proposed! Very good choice a lil out of the way but really nice! =P

Oh, guess what? FFIL gave the green light for ROM!woo hoo!!!! *happy dance*

haha..i guessed as much u guys would say that, which is why i dun understand why ppl say gift registry quite popular...hmm..maybe among the ang mohs ba?

congrats drea!!
carry on with ur searching...

gift registry is give presents isit??
if is.. I also only want ang pows!!
if not no $$ to pay my banquet..

drea!! Keke, see? U worry too much liao lar. *dance together with you* Think only ang mohs will give gifts...coz they dun need to throw banquet.

ROM that time, Franz's side all gave ang pows lor. I rather have the money than gifts....no $$, sure broke after banquet.

Can I check for the BS itself, is there anything which i have to take note eg. cost, design? I aven select my gown yet, i tot it too early to choose now. I actually book my BS last year during a wedding show. kindly assist me.

Many Thanks!

thank u thank u!! =P *sheepish grin*

Jas, I most probably will go Carlton lor..*fingers cross tt we can get it* Then can treat my FH watch "Phantom of the Opera" *grins* I told him I got pressie for him and keep bugging me to tell him...muahaha....

Pei lin, yeah ang moh they all give gifts. That's why my ang mohs friends, when I first told them I was getting married, I told them over here we normally don't give gifts but they give money to help offset the dinner damage...One was so cute..she said that it was an awesome idea and they should start doing taht there in Aust. HAHA..and she said she'll implement it for her own...*faint*

wow...so many brides, read until i also gong gong. Left 3 weeks before my ROM, start to stress. looks like alot of things for me to do.
Anyone did DIY the place where is have your ROM?

drea, congrats!!!

when i ROM, got nothing except gifts fm my frens & ex-colleagues. hubby side got nothing.

drea, ur Aust fren so cute.

snowiee: Hi! AD not confirmed, waiting for church to give us a date... hopefully it can be as early as possible, like Dec 1 =)

andrea: that place is really nice ah?? yeah, it's quite ulu... so if we decide to have it there, must charter buses.

congrats DREA!!! Yippeee!!

snowiee>> the sealy one, king size is now $2,699 (UP: $3,949), queen size is now $2,399 (UP: $3,649)

aiyo..just rec'd news from my agent friend, the unit me & my FH really liked (our top choice at the moment) got ppl offer liao.

i scare wait taken liao, then me & my FH back to square one again.

tonite viewing another 2 more units. hopefully by tonite, we can settle on our choice liao.

and oh talking abt ROM,

I think for mine, we will get neither angpao or gifts leh

my friends asked me, i just said u all come and attend & makan can liao.

expect me to say "ya, pls come with gifts" meh...haha.

but think those "zhi dong" one will at least get a small gift lah hor, hahaha.

yeah!!! wheee it's really nice. Inside is kinda cosy...got that resort kinda feel to it. Outside is sandy so better warn ur female guests wearing heels =P then it's right by the waters...and it's just so peaceful and it's very nice for a dinner....at first u gave me the idea of having my solemnisation there since my FH proposed to me there but then we were worried about transport so we decided to look for some place more convenient.

Jas I also wanna check fast but then need to wait for FFIL to say the date ok or not. So far they say can I think. *finger crossed*

junie, good luck for your house viewing tonight! Aiyo...wait ur agent act act so that can push u all to close deal? Hope u won't so suay, kenna tekan.

Jas, Agnes>> I only got 3 ang pows from Franz's side lar. My side is the best, NOTHING. But colleagues and ex-colleagues gave me gifts lor.

drea>> I won't be surprised if your Aus fren does implement it :p It's a more practical way lor...at least ur guests know that the money is gonna be used for ur wedding, rather than gifts lying in dust in the storage :X

peilin>> tks. oh not to worry, the agent is quite a good friend of mine. and he's not pushy @ all...in fact, he was also skeptical when the agent of the other flat called him, haha.

but lucky, my agent is also my friend, so i know won't kenna "bluff" lor

heh heh...thanks junie!! Hope u have luck with your flat too! =)

Pei lin, very true lor...now I've unwittingly created a cultural shift in aust liao. HAHA =P

gd luck junie...

wheee... choose 1st Dec k..
then same as me..
alamak.. I like so desperate want ppl to have the same date as me..haha..

oic.. drea.. think date should be ok lah.. since
he already gave green lights..

Pei Lin.. I only got 1 ang pow..
at least u got 3..
my parents and my grandma gave me jewellery..
my MIL and my hubby's grandma.. also never give me anything.. only his aunties give presents..

think its not common to give isit huh??

jas, that one i also not sure. That time my fren's ROM we bought her some crystal thing for her house lah. But not sure what the rest got for her.

Jas, u uber cute leh. hahaha....Too bad now I abandon nic...*sob sob*

I agree that glutinous rice is too filling... hee. i love noodles.. hee.

kaye, i cant... my mum is abit slow she take her own sweet time to do things... some more she tell me no need to confirm the no. of pax.. later i too much empty seats.. i lugi...

oh true.. its actuali è·å¶å and tis dish is nt common lor... so still a headache.... i oso prefer noodles to rice bt usually i dun eat all these during dinner....

thanks gals... will discuss wif my FH again.

kaye, we topped another 2K from what we booked earlier. thk God tat we r nice to the mgr so she helped us to change to another pkg bt the old price...

Jas, I suppose ba....ROM to the older generation is not considered as "married". You still got jewellery. Anyway, I never invite any friends. ROM, makan then balik kampong. Next day work again. muahahaha.

Jas, u consider lucky liao, got jewellery leh. my mum bought mi jewellery but is for my AD one lor.

Pei lin, my ROM abt the same like urs. makan, ROM, take picture, KTV, go home.

drea.. thought u say maybe can continue with ur wedding?

Pei Lin... u so steady.. haha..
me on leave the next day.. cos got one nite stay mah.. hehe
I also surprise my grandma gave me..
but for my dad he even bought the ring that I need to use for my ROM..
then my mum say wedding ring must husband buy..
then he say "huh like that ah.. ok lor.. then give u as a gift for ur ROM".. *faint*

agnes.. as Pei Lin say old ppl..
u also another steady one..

jas, ur dad uber cute lor...
yeah i know i said maybe, but the chances are very slim so i rather focus on the ROM for now =P N now FINALLY i can go ring shopping with him...sighz

Kaye, u pay extra for ur MUA to stay throughout dinner?

Piglet, actually u can still have 1 flower gal. Need not have two

Wah long story to read today.. Miss out quite a few things.

Piglet, Relax, great!! HM more or less settled =)
This wkend sure is bz, but once u cross this wkend.
Majority of the things shd have been settled.

Jhoo, thks for the contact.

Mei, now tat I realized. 1 MORE MONTH. Alamak.. things are getting exciting.
Soon one-by-one we can count down to our BIG day. Esp u.. since u r the 1st in line. hee
Dun 'chup' ur MIL, anyway wat she do will not make u happy. Somemore, she is quite '2-face' ha!!
Now we must always be HAPPY so we can all radiate happiness.

iViED, I intending to give invites to relatives. Just feel its more sincere.

Jazol, not ez to please every1. As long as u n ur hubby happy can liao. Try not to tink too much abt how other pple's comments. Cos every1 taste r different

I might be too late 'I also prefer the Ee-fu noodles'.

hi hazel,

welcome welcome! me hv not done any powerpt slide... my bf fren is trying to do animation but dunno is successful or not. If not, then we will fall back on powerpt slides. Getting excited, 6mths + left oni... anyone good at diy ang pow boxes, wrist corsages to share some tips etc? or maybe we can do it together??? I wanted to do, but no clue... oops! heehee

haha.. ya lor..
when I heard what he say.. I want to laugh.. but cannot. so I went into my room.. then burst out.. haha..

oic..ya lor.. concentrate on ur ROM 1st..

Hi to everyone,

I am new to this thread too. My AD is 2nd June and venue is at Grand Plaza Park Royal. Anyone got good MUA to recommend for the AD?

Hui : Yah, only for the important day, just pay extra of $40 .... ops... just tinking of the AD PS whether also need to pay extra since he may need to reach 1 hour later than the MUA? I will have to find out from ADPS liao...

Jess : Actually it depends whether when you will be taking the PS? As for mine, as I will only be choosing my gowns for the PS, not the AD yet... Tats why I have to choose it early cos my PS is early as my FH will be having reservist in Jan, so cannot go ahead with PS in Jan. And the BS will be closed in Feb becos of the CNY. I have got a close friend of my FH, chose the same BS as mine, will be taking PS in Mar as their AD is on 10 Aug. So it voiced down to how comfortable and the practice of the BS loh....
Remember your PS has to be taken at least 3 months time in order not to be too rushed for you.
By the way, are you taking the Off the Shelf package or Made to Measure package? If made to measure package, you would have to start early. Else, for the Off the Shelf package, can do it in Jan/Feb next yr, not too late. But if you wan to book the gowns first, better to book it fast... in case other brides have selected it....
And another thing, for the items that you dont want, you can always checked with them whether they can replace the items with you, in terms of additional photos. Better dont just leave out any items without any replacement.....

Pris : Huh? Need to reimburse their cab fare? They din mention about this, only mentioned about the extra charge.
I think you better check out whether your package states so, and confirm with them if possible.

Hi Jen

Glad to see someone using the same hotel as me! Hehe. When did you book the hotel? Did you book during the wedding show in March this year?

Hi Xiaopei

I think I saw you in the Merchant Court Thread. Thought you were considering that Hotel?

Jules : No worries for the PS if you are taking by Mar next yr... Just remember that you need to give ample time for the BS to get it ready for you in time...

wow seems like most ppl prefer Ee-fu noodles even my sis oso tell me the same tin... thanks gals.. its great to hv frens like you... thou we hvnt met each other bt tink onli the few of us reali know wat each other is facing...

Hi Doreen

I'm still thinking whether to take OTR or MTM. The package i sign last time is OTR, the sales person told me if i upgrade to MTM still can entitle for wedding show discount. I find no worth it leh! additional about 1k. wat do u think?
My BS also closed in Feb due to CNY so they say dec & jan are booked for PS. SIAN! should have booked them earlier. Think i can only choose my gown in March.

hi HL,

haha.. me abit kiasu... heard alot of stories that ppl are reali quick to book their dinner. as i hv small no of tables, hv to be fast i supposed. =P

jus want to check does anyone has any contractor to recommend? i m supposed to start reno soon but i hv no idea where to start... =<

HI jaspire,I plan to DIY my ang pao boxes and corsages,probably gg down arab street to buy those ribbons etc.shall we arrange 1 day,we can all go down together and we can DIY together,heee

yes piglet, i know tat bt my FH was quite mad whn my SIL kept commenting abt the restaurant and our invitation card.... almost like mei's MIL

Hi snowbells,

I'm also looking for ID/contractor too! Have you started looking for one? I've been to IMM a few times to show some ID my floor plan and got some quotes but then, I've not decided which one to engage. Coz some of the quotes are a bit high. I'm waiting to see Fuse Concept's quotes now..

Your hse is new or resale one? How many room? And how much do you intend to reno?

smilez... I am one of the first few in line.. when I go for my HM, some of you will still be busy with last minute preparations.. keke.

jazol.. yup.. though we have all not met each other.. but we are all like friends already.. we'll be organising a meet-up after our weddings &amp; HMs.. so we can all finally meet then.

jazol.. for me.. initially I can't tahan all the nonsense.. but I think most of the girls here know that after long, I become immune to all those nonsense antics already.. so like kaye says.. the best is IGNORE!

yupz... the best is we met up during CNY at smone's hse or dinner gathering...

ya tats wat i m learning nw... initially i dun hv all these nonsense cos onli my mum n sis is involved thn subsequently as date draws closer and tins start floating got alot of comments aldy... cos most of the time my FH and I are the ones who make the decision.

jazol.. it's like this.. at some point or other.. some people will want to poke their nose in &amp; make comments.. this is inevitable.. so we got to learn how to deal with it in the best way possible.

Time to knock off.. have a great weekend everyone!