(2007) Brides of year 2007

hi cactus,

from what i know occupier dun mean much.. it'll probably help on ur parent's income tax declarations under relief column..

to benefit from ur parent's ownership of the current property, it's either u buy resale or new flat near or within same zone with ur parents. if u & ur FH bought resale near ur parent's place, u will be granted a grant off the cost of the resale flat.. if i'm not wrong, the grant is ranged from $30-40K.. however, once u do a 2nd purchase outta the zone, u'll need to pay for the grant.. for new flat, it's more on priorities.. when i applied for my BTO near Buangkok MRT, i quoted my parent's address under the same zone and was given the priority for selections. this is applicable for 1st-time buyer only.. tat means neither u nor ur FH has ur name in a property under "owner" column before...

if u join names with ur parent as owner, they will be a 2nd-time owner, which result to CPF deductions for both current flat + ur new flat.. this adds on financial burder to ur parents but lightened ur CPF contribution amt... hope these info are what u're looking for..

woo.. wow.. Coolz...jimmy choo.. that will cost a bomb..?? the mention of choos remind me of sarah jessica parker. They featured nice shoes in her hit TV show - Sex and The CIty.

Think Aldo seems more affordable in comparison.. *LOL*

Hope your dream come true! Go for it!

Hey Twinkle,

I see...
1 vote for NZ..

Huiz,
Yeah. me too.. I don't why as well.
Now my MUA changed to Jerlyn.

welcome welcome summerice, provide us with ur detail si i can update the table...

Honeymoon.. dun know where to go, want to go Paris n London, but i think we have no budhet for that so maybe go australia.

Shoe... I only have one shoe for ROM, PS and AD. Get from leaping lizard coz quite difficult to find 4" heel shoe.

Am thinking of going spain for honeymoon....but hubby say if we go there we might have language problem....so he is suggesting that we go america or places where they speak english. Thinking of maldives also....heard its a nice place if you like to just go n relax. Haiz dont know which place to go....me this woman very ma fun...hehehe

Just saw the heart shape soap wedding favours very nice....hehehe still cannot stop myself from thinking of the nice wedding favours, but must control if not pocket will have a hole.

As for shoes, not sure what i want yet, coz i think if the gown is so long no one can c my legs let alone the shoes....and i dont really like to wear the slender high heels kind. May go for something simple n easy n can be use again.

Twinkle...me also very chatty hor....

hi Mona,

My AD date not fixed yet....wedding in church only....lovenest in bk merah. BS, PG all not confirm yet...will let u know when i confirm more things.

jus my opinion on house selection..

there's no win-win situation esp when both parents are staying far apart.. u'll hv to upfront discuss with ur partner on where ur wanna stay to convenient both of ur.. like accessible transport to workplace & either home.. eg.. for barney, both parents are in Jurong n Hougang.. to centralise, it's gonna be town area, which is expensive.. if can afford, ok la.. if can't, then gotta find a solutions with the following citerias:
* Which location is accessible to both workplace with minimum travelling time?
* Can both compromise to make out a day weekly to visit the parent who is stay further?
* Can ur afford the selected locations' housing (incl. reno)?

Once these citerias are more or less syn, both of ur will hv to "work" together to convince both parents.. one party must give-in.. ie. if the further location belongs to the him-side, ask FH to talk to the parents first then both of ur do it again.. dun let the parents feel it's the gal's decisions.. for the nearly parent, they should be easiler to convince.. am sure all parents love their child n are reasonable.. so long as there's valid reason(s), they will understand..

Hi Jenn, thanks for the information. It was interesting but not quite what I was looking for. I'm wondering how come some singles have joint names with their parents in their parents' own HDB flats.. and if there is any benefit.. cos I only see the downside - which is the singles cannot buy HDB flat with their spouses in the future. Hope to understand the pros.
I posed my question to Barney cos Barney shared that her name is with her parents in her current flat.

Just to add to Jenn's insightful post -
Sometimes, it could be a win-win situation for both families.
1) Where the guy's parents cook dinner every day and the guy's mother is a housewife, and where the gal's parents still work and spend weekends at home, it may make more sense to spend weekday evenings with the guy's family and 1 weekend weekly with the gal's family, and therefore, to stay near the guy's family, esp since the guy's mother doesn't work and can help look after grandkids in the future.
2) If work place is at the same location, like central, then move to central. Parents cannot complain cos it helps to cut down on travelling time and cost cos we work 5 or 6 days a week.

hi all, here's a pic of the angpow box I made for a friend last weekend. They have a pink theme. It is not as elaborate as Huiz's though..hehe..made simply of a cardboard box..heh
399269.jpg

Mona: The bears are actually wedding favours from another friend's wedding a few years ago! The girl bear has a pink dress so I thought it would match nicely..hehe

Hehe, luckily the geomancer said our lucky timing is between 9am to one pm...

So meaning 9am to 1pm must reach his house or i must step out of my mother's place??

Venusian, I think it is to step out of the mother's hse...

Mine is also after 9... lucky, if not think I have to wake up super early for makeup... But i guess I will be very excited, dun think i will sleep well.. hee hee

Ya ya corsage, me also think the bears v v sweet! Hee, did u use those boxes that hold the A4 white paper? Me used those too

Huiz: Thanks
Yes, I took the box from office! heh... Had to first wrap it with white paper though coz the pink paper is translucent =p Yours is a lot more elaborate, PLUS you have self-made bears!

wah so many days no log in liaoz ..

hahah me went shopping at Paragon Metro yesterday and saw another shoes from Vivie (about $30+). Wanted to buy to add on to my other 3 pairs of shoes i bought for the Wedding .. BUT dun have my size already ..

Have u gals actually source for wines for ur AD Dinner yet?

Me found 1 and quite reasonable ...
Had Bargained for 1 FOC bottle of wine for every confirmed Carton ...
Free Delivery and Collection (for those on consignment)
But minimum Order have to be 2 cartons...

U gals got any recommendations as to which kind of wine is nice?

Thanks gals for all the advise...

I thk its better to stay in central in case ny side of the family not happy if we decided to stay closer to the other family... but of cos it also means the flat will be more ex... so i will leave my options open first and decide later...

Cactus, I dun thk there is ny benefits... just tat my parents are old so with my name, can get a longer period to repay n also i can use my cpf

thanks janf for the mail! Check ur mail too~

Hey tokyodreams, what a coincidence.

I've collected some pics and also tried some gowns. So far, I realised I really love mermaid cut but I cannot wear that AT ALL. So sad... I'm more suitable for those empire cut? Bustiers? Those normal kind.
I also love low V-backs and romantic flowers and frills. So I think my EG is going to be something like that, probably similar to WG, but a simpler version? But i wonder how the front will be.. no ideas for the front yet!

So what have u prepared so far?

Hi Hui,

Thanks for being so helpful!
Really appreciate your advice. Hmm, Im not too sure what exactly I signed when I made the deposit. Mainly stated the date, room, price and deposit amount.

It's Raffles Hotel. Had some issues with their followup previously. Therefore not too sure if they are again slow this time round or they are only supposed to get back to me sometime next year. Agnes the coordinator did say that she would get back to us, but didnt say when.

Oh well, no rush I guess as my AD is only in July 07

THANKS for all the advises and personal experience!! after hearing from u gals, i realise i am not the only one hving such feelings.. think we both got to learn to give n take and to listen n talk to each other without gettingg into quarrels.. hehe.. ANYWAY THANKS SO MUCH!! lets work hard in our relationship!!

i hv tot abt it just now and hv decided to go korea for HM... so now i will find out more abt the packages for korea n then book during NASTA...

Just now i was talking to my hubby and we were talking abt engaging Wedding Planner but he only allow me a budget of $500... any idea if i can get the wedding planner at that rate?

hi Chick,thanks for the reco,but pro for VG i will take my uncle's friends
paiseh,i think i typed wrongly,me lookn for PG,heee

gals:better sleep e night b4 e wedding,but dun oversleep woh.
if ur "sisters" staying over ur place,dun tink can sleep liao,haha.all busy chit-chattn hw 2 tekan e groom ma

I had wrapped up my ang bao box liaoz .. the completed box looks like tat ...

Used UHU Glue to stick the flowers on and double-side tape to stick the papers onto the box... hope it wun drop off ...

399328.jpg

399329.jpg

399330.jpg

Hi piglet,

I understand how u feel.... I also have the same issues with my hubby in terms of wedding, home stuff. Plus i just joined my current co, I m even more stressed up with things.

Plus the fact that I m picky cum demanding on certain aspects of the preparation. Its a strain on our relationship at times. Sometimes, I wished i had never signed on the dotted line.

Guys in general are more particular abt the $$ issue and pretty bo chap. So, just talk to him and see where he is coming from. Use logic to reason with him.... And tell him abt your expectations and check with him on his opinions etcc..... Then everything will be resolved.

U take care! Remember all the preparation will test your love and after all these are over... U will appreciate each other more!

hi barney
in that case, can i clarify what you mean?
it means that even though u r staying with your parents, the house in under your parents name but you are paying thru CPF?
Cos i was thinking under that line too....

thanks clueless... hehe... rec liao...

ya... i oso agree wif babystarlet... so i cant let my jie mei stay over... cos nxt day sure nt pretty liao haha

hi cactus
Which area are you looking for?
Cos i found a couple of units at Serangoon/Yio Chu Kang area....
It depends on how much is your budget..
Central will be too ex, dun u think so?

Hi piglet,

There is a freelance wedding planner engaged by one gal called dOlPhInE (dolphine) in another thread. I was very amazed by what this wedding planner had worked out for her, making her wedding memorable and cost efficient. Perhaps you can try contacting her for more details?

haha aiya, the jie meis also wan to mei mei mah...sure will sleep early with you... hehe, last time me as jie mei i also wan to sleep early, haha.

thanks janf for ur e-mail

muffin, urs both WG and EG mtm? wah ur PS quite early... mine think will either be in end december or january...

piglet
I have met up with a few wedding planners... their charges range from $2K onwards. The price also depends on the scope of work you want them to do, whether you want them to do the planning of your wedding right from the start to conceptualising your wedding theme, coordinating the entire day's event.. all these factors will determine the cost.
But I do agree.. having a planner helps a lot. For me, I have less things to worry about.

I saw your corsages in BKK when I was there too... it's actually hair ties right? It's so innovative you can think of using it as corsages. Anyway.. I think it looks tropical so adding furry strips or ribbons won't blend in well with it. I suggest leave it as it is as it looks lovely enough on its own.

piglet, im searching for that hair tie too but im looking at pure white orchid and now i know its from bangkok, haha..

yup, as mei said, its nice enough and don't add anything to it liao

Current Statistics:

<table border=1><tr><td>Date</TD><TD>No. of ppl </TD></TR><TR><TD>1.12.2007</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2.12.2007</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8.12.2007</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9.12.2007</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10.12.2007</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15.12.2007</TD><TD>6 </TD></TR><TR><TD>21.12.2007</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>22.12.2007</TD><TD>4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>23.12.2007</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>24.12.2007</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>25.12.2007</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>30.12.2007</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

mei, morning... thansk for ur help.. today, i will try to call some wedding planner and source for quotes.. as i hv found my BS, Photographer, AD venue.. so hopfully they can charge me cheaper.. hehe..

For the corsages, i tot if i get the hair tie, after the wedding the jiemeis can keep it to tie their own hair.. at least there are some use it wont be thrown away or kept inside the cupboard...

jhoo, if u wan to get it, try to ask if anyone is going bangkok.. I bought it at chatuchak market.. i bought a dozen so that she charge cheaper... initally, it has only the flower on a hair clip instead of a hair tie.. i asked the aunty if it can be on rubber band and she made them for me..

Morning, dear piglet!

Yup, do call for quotes.. but just to let you know most planners would want to meet up with you to show you their portfolios &amp; most importantly.. you &amp; your hubby must feel comfortable with him/her as you'll be working really closely.

That's a great idea your jiemeis can use it after your wedding to tie their hair.

Hi Kenshare, I think Barney mentioned that her name is with her parents in her current flat.. that's why she can pay through CPF. That's quite a good benefit since she can help her parents pay without needing to use the cash at hand since CPF $ cannot take out anyway...downside is I think cannot buy another HDB flat in Barney's name.. so either buy private or rent.

ladies - u guys are so talented! i have totally no artistic talent..i drew a teddy bear on a card for my FH when we were dating and he asked me if i drew a dog or a pig!!!!

compass - yup i love SATC..think it was tt show tt fueled my love for shoes also

summerice - i think spain is lovely..last night was just tokin to my hubby and we decided to go europe..was actualli only goin to paris, rome, milan and florence plus a pepper of small hilly tuscany towns along the way then he said his fren who just went to spain for honeymoon so love the country tt they r planning for a repeat trip..so now we also addedin MADRID. so if u want to go to spain we can share resources ;) don worry..europe is an easy place to venture, most european speaks english..at least smattering and are very helpful..

once we were lost in Zurich and pop into a random shop, the SA couldnt speak english but she drew a little map to guide us..pple there are realli helpful!

ok better stop here before i continue to blabber non-stop..shoes and travel can keep me tokin all night long *ZIP*

Hi Kenshare, at the moment we're looking at 3-room flats below $185k. But even if we manage to find a unit that cheap, not sure if we will buy... cos at the moment, we don't qualify for the CPF grant cos of the income ceiling restriction. Our thinking is, most singaporean young couples would go for the grant, and get $30k or $40k discuont off the resale purchase price. That is alot of savings. These couples can afford to sell their flat subsequently at a lower price and perhaps not suffer much losses... but if we were to purchase a 3room flat now without the grant, we would certainly lose $ cos we would have lost $ in agents' commission, renovation, furniture... of course, no one hopes to stay in a home for free... but we do hope to limit our losses... so if our combined income does not dip or if housing prices don't dip substantially, we are unlikely to buy a flat...Also, we don't plan to stay in our first flat for long.. perhaps for 5 years or so... so it doesn't make sense to us to buy for short term.