(2007) Brides of year 2007

iViED
I hv not heard those names of MUA tat u mentioned. heehee I hv not done enough homework I guess. Can email me? We compare notes.

piglet
I can totally understand how u r feeling! For FH, it's always "huh so ex ar" after I tell him my shortlisted choices. First he expects me to do all the research, then he'll think I only choose the ex ones. Argh. So frustrating rite! I keep telling him "there are always cheaper ones but I dun like lah, how?"

Hi Kenshare,

Thanks for sharing your story. It was a good read. Maybe his parents didn't want him to stay over at your place cos it may look like he is "marrying in" to your family... some older people tend to be more conservative..

Yeah.. I think best not to stay with in-laws.. in case of future problems. My fiance and I think it's better to stay out alone.

We are also looking at studio apartments. But studio apartments tend to be in the central area... and could even be cheaper than 2-bedroom apartments in areas further from central.... so our options are open for the moment.

Piglet,

Can understand how u feel. Agree with Jhoo too.
I always have problems with my bf to the extent I felt I made a wrong choice choosing him. I was feeling regretful few months back. Actually, it's nothing serious but it's my expectations of him. I get stress very easily, and am busy with work, researching for wedding stuffs, encourages and supports him for new job, my study and projects. Almost same situations as Jhoo. I was really stressed and he always seems so insensitive and uncaring. He's not the romantic and expressive type of guy. All the time, I didn't feel the support from him and was really upset. I cried a lot and told him our problems many times.

For the past few months, he's been very helpful and supportive. Took up all the renovation details. During our photo shots, I was very clusmy and almost fell down for a few times. He was really very nice and gentle and keep holding onto me throughout the shots. I was amazed by his transformation but only during the photo shots. haha.. Still, I can sense he's trying very hard.

Maybe you can try talking to him peacefully. I realize women are usually oversensitive and more emotional than men. our expectations are so high sometimes men find it overwhelming to adjust. I suggest at yr end, you can adjust your expectation a bit and try to think from his perspective. It might help.

I hope i dun have to spend more than $1k for PG... I am thinking of Gideon Koh also, I think he style is really nice.. hee hee But i will be meeting up with my ROM photographer... I think he's not bad also.. but have yet to meet up with him to look through his other kind of pix and his package.. will be calling him soon, since 7th mth not much pple get married he shld be quite free... hee hee

I'm a hokkien and hubby cantonese.. shld be okay bah.. but teochew bride very early have to set off leh, i think the tradditional one require u to leave the hse before 430 right?? gosh, that means not sleeping the night before...

Huiz - er...I've not officially move in..so the string curtain is there untouched...hehee..so haven't wash it yet also :P..don't think it tangle easily.

Summerice - welcome...come n share your ideas on wed preparation..let u know if need help..all here are helpful gang!

Compassrose - TV...now haven't put tv at the room yet..tot of having it opposite bed on the wall. But we've got 2 TVs at home now (one in living n the other in study room), so still thinking if we should get one for bedroom.

Hi Summerice,

Welcome *waves*!
kao_welcome2.gif
Yar this thread is active, cos we're very chatty. hahaha. It's great to have fellow btb-s to share the excitement with, what more some with the same AD!

Btw, have you gals seen today's Today newspaper? Lots of articles about honeymoon destinations, and funky special things they can do for you. I'm particularly taken by the idea that they send a photographer on some of teh trips to take photos and make a 10 piece 4R album for you. They say FOC but I'm sure the price of the PG has been factored into the package. Other 'perks' include a vow renewal ceremony in Wakiki (Hawaii) or a Japan symbolic ceremony of three sips of sake (charming!).

Apparently there's a chan bros fair this weekend. Again, the departure dates are more in Oct Nov so guess we have to wait for another fair, hopefully they have one in Dec/Jan which would be just nice for us to book!

Hi Ngjoan,

Oh, we saw that HDB has withdrawn SK, Punggol & Hougang for last quarter of WIS in June/July but I was hoping that more towns could be involved so we can have more choice of towns. Thanks for the info, I'll check out more in the thread.

Hi Kenshare,

Seems like your FMIL is a typical one.. BTW, my bf also comes to stay over at my place during weekends, at first his mum may grumbled at him being not always at home. But few months later, she has already stopped. Think she also tired of nagging.. haha..

hi ngjoan,

yes yes... from what the officer told us when we booked our unit, will only be getting our keys 6 months from date of booking... so it'll be like end of dec.... really looking forward to it....
very excited.... though im not in a rush to move in.... since AD's in sept 07....

hi snowie,

yes, generally hdb will say 3months... unless they specifically stated otherwise....
wow!! your colleague's really very lucky... everything went according to her plans... hope my plans will go smoothly too....

hi xy,

you're hoping to get keys later??

heehee.... a number of my future neighbours wanna collect keys earlier... they're hoping for oct/nov... maybe cos for some of them, their AD's end of the year.... they wanna move in after AD....
but from the looks of it, like will have to wait at least a few more months before we can collect our keys....

hey clueless... care to intro mi ur ROM photographer?? im lookin for one for my ROM oso... headache leh... hw much is he charging u??

for PG we dun mind spending more den 1k but nt for VG... cos mi n hubby love to take alot of pix... haha...

anyway i hope i wont need to get up so early for my wedding day ba... hehe

Hi Huiz, i am thinking of a sat (10/17) will be having a church wedding.

Compassrose i have look around some BS but still want to look more coz havent decide what gown i want....very fussy lor.

ask for wedding favour at first i wanted but HB say nobody will want. so after thinking i think better save some cost lor...as most of the ppl i invite will be relatives so wont be like us young ppl mind all these. As for color more or less i decided already maybe having 2 or 3 colors. The rest of the things not yet decided. Nothing confirm yet.

Hi Stacy thanks.

Now i am doing curtain for the house....think after this i may want to do a ring pillow myself, depends how creative n how much time i have....haha

Ya i saw many of u are so good with handicraft, very envy. I think even if they allow us to book, i wont feel safe leh...what if the company close down how? So i will book it maybe end of this yr or early next yr.

Hi Kenshare,

I totally understand how u thk.. my bf also 35! n as the eldest son, he wants to stay with his parents... but i am a person with zero tolerance n thus told him there will definitely be conflicts if i stay with them.. he thought abt it n finally agreed to look for a place of our own... now comes the problem where should we be looking at? His parents stay in Jurong n my family stay in hougang....

Hi Barney, Maybe stay near both your work place? Or stay near both your old primary schools so next time easier on your kids? SOme couples prefer to stay nearer to one set of parents... cos easier to spilt time between both sets of parents - meaning, meet one set of parents every weekday evening at dinners, weekends reserved for the other set of parents? Or if you are restrained by budget like me, choose an area with cheaper flats.. I read yesterday's papers... 3 room HDB flats at Yishun and Woodlands and Jurong only going at $112k-$138k.

To add to Snowie's post, if you buy a resale HDB within 2km from one of your parents' place, or within the same HDB town, you get a $40k grant. The condition is you and parents must not move out from the flat for 5 years.

Hi Cactus / Hi Snowie,

Thanks for ur ideas... however, we cant get the grant cos my name is stuck in my current apartment with my parents... both of our primary schools all not around nymore... n my bf does not wan a 3 room flat, he thinks its too small... looks like i might have to try sengkang

Summerice - Think u can look ard some bridal shop n see if u like the designer style n photographer style...u can get MTM gowns to design the gown that u like.

I will be using wedding favour provided by hotel...tot its interesting to have special favours initially, but have collected so many n are left in my cupboard, untouched

Hi twinkle ya can compare notes to c how far is the preparation.

Hi Stacy hahaha ya thats why Hubby say no one will care even if we dont have wedding favours, and to save cost i wont be having it.

Many things to look out for already...so better to have one thing less. I am thinking of having a real cake and have to print my own invites since i am only having the church wedding. Wont be having PS only AD shoot so have to look for own PG also. Oh ya also caterer since i dont have the dinner will have to do the lunch thing.

Luckily lately i am rather free at work so can use the time to find all these things.

teochew bride marries off very early .. my fren who got married on may sets off at 5.30am but her hubby is a hokkien..

clueless im same as u.. m hokkie n hubby is a cantonese..

wow all most of u stays near one another.. guess next yr june really flooded wif bridal cars.. that's really a very nice sight..

Hi Barney, is there any benefit in joining names with parents to buy a HDB flat? I'm presently listed as an occupier but not owner.. but I'm wondering if there is any benefit to my parents or for me to join names with my parents as an owner?

Hi everyone, I am also a Aug 07 bride but I have not done any preparation yet. Our AD is on 11 Aug 06. Can I join you gals in this discussion cos I have no idea how to go about preparing for my wedding. Any ideas? Due to budget constraints, we are going to hold our wedding dinner in a restuarant for approx 30 tables. Any suggestions?

summerice - welcome!
all - dunno if the excitement of weddin preps died out but now all i care abt is my honeymoon! i have no interest in flowers, themes and stuff *HELP* even find it a chore to find wedding shoes..and i am a die hard shoe lover!

annabelle - give me ur email addy i will email u back coz not convenient to divulge here.. biz ethics lah.. keke.

Hi Moon, can email me Gideon's contacts (email) + package please? my email is [email protected]. Thanks.

Babystarlet - would u consider VG for $700? Went to see Derrick from Pistis last weekend, seems ok leh. Honestly cant tell the difference between what is good and not for VG.

muffin - not nec one lah! some brides who hv more budget wld like to give somethg for their JMs as appreciation so can mtm their day-dresses. if u on shoe string budget, wrap an angpow will do ya. coz the gate-crash angpow will eventually be divided by ur JMs as well..

Hi piglet and diaodu,

I empathize with both of you coz I'm in the same shoes too! I have the same argument with him about the wedding dinner and throughout to the wedding preparations. His first question is always "How much?" Things get worse when his mum gave me an over $2k worth of si dian jin. He said everything is always me.

But I have learnt to overcome this stage. He is never the romantic type and he is not articulate. So I have to be the patient one, explaining and reassured him about the cost, the details. I always bear in mind to keep him updated, converse to him in 'his language' and get him opinion on certain stuff.

Do not worry too much about the planning. I'm doing it myself also. If possible, I will make decision on those minor stuff. If you want, we can share notes and who knows, we can reduce our budget with our combined resources. '-)

Just keep in mind. Marriage is a lifetime, u have to keep communicating. Things will never get going if only one party is talking and the other is not listening.

Hi originbaby,

Not a prob. I shall email to you in a while. I can even send you their website so that you can take a look at their works.

BTW, what is your budget? Do you include makeup for mother and MIL?

Hello Miracle

Dun need to be scared by Tanjong Pagar bridal shops :p Just walk as per normal lor...if u see those display gowns that attract u, then walk-in lar ;)

At style weddings forum, some BTBs mentioned a new BS called My Bridal Shop. Apparently package price quite reasonable + new gowns + ppl quite accomodating and not pushy
maybe u might wanna go there have a look ;) btw, I not advertising for this BS hor....coz I already signed up with one liao

hmm babystarlet, i noe the tradition when picking up the bride is follow bride tradition..cuz my fren was like tat

im oso looking fer VG, do u have more infos, chick?

hi happygal, when's ur AD??

i think which customs to follow depends on whether the parents..

I have girlfriends who are teochew and marry other dialet grps and still their parents insist on the before dawn tradition... so i guess it pretty much up to the bride parents if they insist.. erm if u ask me, it not just our parents, it our relatives and parents' friends who tends to comment alot as well..

Hey Moon, I took a ROM package so I dont really know how much he charge for ROM photgraphy.. i can email u his contact if u want to contact him and ask him abt his rates and look thru his pix.. =)

Haven't been in here for quite a while. But it's good to see that this thread is becoming more active. I've been so busy with the farewells and packing for Dubai. Landed on Monday, and am so happy to see hubby. We really miss one another.

As for my wedding, Since I know that it'd be difficult to plan my wedding from here in DUbai, I've gotten some things handed before coming here. So far, I've:

a) Wedding Gown and evening gown currently being tailored. Went down for first fitting... quite happy with what I saw but to my horror, I loss by an inch all over... must be the stress of coming here. Will be collecting it in Dec when I'm back in Singapore for 2 weeks. Hopefully we can do our pre-wedding photoshoot here in Dubai...

b) Videographer - booked! Happy.

c) Photographer - Most likely would be with Wayne from Jon Keng..So tired of scouting around. Cos' tend to forget the style after a while when I'm viewing too many photographers.

Have you girls thought of the programme for your wedding banquet? Are you going to get friends to plan your programme or doing it all by yourselves?

Janf: Thanks for the jiemei dresses details. Very useful. Will check it out when I'm back in Dec. Wonder how much I should set aside for this.... $60 each?

Tokyodreams: If your heels are those strappy champagn ones, I believe should match quite well...If covered.. then must see. Maybe you can take a pic to show us when you have your gown out...

Annabelle,
don't know if i saw your msg to me here? I can't seem to find it now.

Anyway, i've just gone down to my BS to look for EGs for my PS. Will be taking PS in end nov instead of dec. What about u?

I'm Hokkien and my Fiance is Teochew. We see the timing according to Tong Shu, supposedly 5am - 7am is the best time and I have to reach his home before 7am. Poor him have to wake up so early. But guess we can't sleep much that night too cos perhaps too excited. Hee...

hey chick : ive send u the email liao...

im a hakka but my hubby is teochew... but heard most of the time is follow the hubby side?? haha... dunno lah... so many things to follow... ;P

clueless : okok... u email mi his email add ba... my emial [email protected]

Hi-5 schnauzie! I am big shoe fan as well. Have u decide when to go?

On wedding favors, I might get special wedding favors just for VIP tables.

Hi Twinkle,

U refering to which portion of the papers? I didn't any.

Hi-10!! Me also lurrrvvee shoes. But I try not to buy too exp ones coz I wear them out very fast. Haha, think I walk like an elephant!

It's the mediacorp free newspaper "Today". They should have come up with a less confusing name, hah!

I think my hotel won't reduce the price even if I don't want wedding favours, so just take lah!

I'm also looking forward to honeymoon - Japan or NZ, Japan or NZ..... my fiance just said today that he dun care which oredi, so long as I'm happy -- smart chap, hee hee!

compassrose, huiz - my shoes last me for real long so im thinking of getting just 1 good pair for my wedding gown and evening gown. think will storm to the shoes lover heaven at ngee ann city and make 1 solid indulgence there! have managed to get my FH's "approval" for a jimmy choo or cavali if 'the one' appears *ke ke*

can finally fulfill my choo/ cavali dream without burning a hole in my pocket *grinz*

Wow, looks like I'm late..hehe..

Welcome, Summerice!

I haven't decided if I want to do wedding favours for church. Will be nice, but it is true that people may find them useless =p unless I give something like photo frames - which would cost a bomb! I may get something extra for dinner guests though, since my dinner will be small
Just for fun. Will see how the budget goes!

schnauzie, huiz
I have noticed that more expensive shoes (esp leather ones) DO last longer..esp the heels. These days heels are tiny and many of the heels on my shoes wear out super quickly! With exception of my Nine West and Aldo ones =p

Schnauzie..oh! *drool* You have to post pics if you get jimmy choos or a cavali!!