(2007) Brides of year 2007

Good morning piglet.

Here's the thread by dolphine.
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/36737/384749.html?1155114751#POST1909810

Hope this is useful.
There are a lot of resources for wedding available in Singapore. It really takes quite a bit of effort to search for the 'best' to create the 'dream wedding' at a cost efficient way.

BTW, I really like your concept of the hair tie. I'm learning how to do a crochet or choker for my jie mei. Hope I can get it done.

Hi cactus
Agree on what you say abt the loss..
its really true that nowadays, we cannot afford to make wrong strategic decisions..
Minimising losses in the only way out..

If I do rent, then i will probably rent for a couple of years, until we have saved enough after the wedding, then we will probably buy a pte apt.
And that, will probably be my final home...

Hi Kenshare, we have almost the same mentality as you. We plan to rent for at most 5 years, see how many kids we have and the gender of our kids, then buy a private aprt near our kids' schools, then when kids start work,to sell off private apartment, and take the $30k or $40k grant from Govt.. to buy a 3-room HDB flat after kids get married. Cos we can benefit from grant if stay near married children.. and since never take the grant before, might as well do it when we are retired and no income... can free up cash from selling private apartment for retirement or repayment of children's uni study loan so they will be less burdened.

Good morning babes,

I got this link from one of my friend's blog: www.lavendaz.com

It's an online website selling shoes. Though they are not really suitable for weddings, I think they make great casual wear shoes. Very unique

hey gals... ive already booked my AD's PG... hehe... Gideon Koh... haha... yeah... so happy... nw only left AD's VG n ROM's PG to headache liao

summerice

If you go to spain must definitely go Barcelona... actually schnauzie if you're only going to one city in Spain I'd also recommend Barcelona against Madrid. It's got amazing Gaudi architecture and more stuff to do. More of a relaxed atmosphere too. I went to both, and definitely enjoyed Barcelona more. Of course, your FH might want to visit Madrid if he's a Real Madrid fan haha.

huiz

The shoes are cute. But more exp than the usual charles and keith eh? i like the suede Juliet slingback.

Hi twinkle,

Ya lor, average cost is about $45 isn't it? Wonder where they got their stock from. It's still justifiable if the supplier is a good quality one

Btw gals, the latest Sept 06- Feb 07 Style Weddings is out. Still considering whether to buy or not... since I already have settled most of my stuff, so what for read more... sekali regret my choices hahaha!

but knowing me, prob end up buying still. guess amongst the few mags, I found that style has the most useful info. i once bought this blissful brides mag, and it only had info on the 'second tier' type of bridal studios. wondered if the first-tier ones decided to cut their advertising costs and concentrate on providing articles and shoots for the more reputable mags.

Have you guys stopped buying bridal mags or going to get every single one out there till AD? *wink*

Hi twinkle,

Yes, I used to buy either the Style or her World Brides mag. Have stopped buying eversince all my gown stuff have been confirmed. Haha, I am sure fickle me will want to make more changes to my designs when I see more pics! Better not take the risk man ;-P

Hi schnauzie & Twinkle ya am thinking of going to Barcelona got to know its a nice place after watching the F4 show. hehehe can go Madrid to meet the players hor n get them to sign.

I only buy one bridal mag and got another 4 from my sis coz she just got married this yr. so i think with the 5 mag it should have enough info for me. Dont think i will buy the latest one....coz with 5 mag i did not c any gowns that i must have.

Hey gal,

Thanks for the information. I will still buy them even I have confirmed my gowns. Style mag do provide great funky idea for AD, honeymoon and PS as well. Love the part where they featured real life wedding story.. I do agree, for some mags, it's full of advertisment.

Hi schnauzie,

We can exchange resources. Planning to go Europe as well. Most likely, London, Ireland, Swiss and Italy.. My FH is a big fan of Italian stuff.. He speaks some Italian as well. So hope things will be easier.

Hi Hubbit,

Where is the heart shape ring from? I'm also looking for wedding band but seems to can't find one i really like. Any recommandation?

Hi Jess,

So far have heard good review about HIPV. My friend actually have his wedding there but i did not attend. His feedback was the food is quite nice and big portion. I do agree that the package was very attractive but i still have not finalize which hotel to book. So confused and lost ;(

Jonic,

I'm going for the wedding show hold on 16 Sept at Novotel Phoenix Ballroom. Will go take a look. I'm actually looking at around 35tables.
I intend to make an appt with Plaza park Royal also cos feedback was quite good from the forum.

Anyone have feedback on Plaza Park Royal and Holiday Atrium?

All the best to you all who have started planning for your honeymoons!

I have a confession, I inherited quite a number of mags from a friend. Later, I was told that all I really need is the InStyle Weddings and Martha Steward Weddings, so I went ahead to buy a couple, they are ex though, but really had such beautiful ideas! The designs and ideas are really much more varied an exciting than local mags. However, we still need the local mags for contacts and context
So I also bought Her World, Female and Style!

But after confirming my stuff, now I only read online mags
hehe

To share some wedding sites:
http://www.theknot.com/
http://www.brides.com/
http://www.theweddingchannel.com/
http://manolobrides.com/
http://www.confetti.co.uk/

Oh if you want ideas for wedding favours:
http://www.weddingfavorites.com/

hi mymelody, I guess I don't want to find myself caught in unexpected financial situations in the future... so need to plan ahead...

Yes, I depend more on the online wedding sites too. I feel that their gown designs are much nicer

I swear by Wedding Channel and The Knot! Found my gown design from the latter too!

no worries, mymelody. it's just my fiance and my way of doing things. We don't want to live to work off our pants to pay off our housing loans.. keeping fingers crossed for early retirement by maintaining simple lifestyle.

cactus, i get what you mean...
that was what my insurance agent told me when i met up with her recently....
she did some calculations based on my savings and expenses.... then she showed me a chart.... and i realised, im too poor to live till even 50!!! haha!!!

Originbaby,

U don't have a flat yet right? Which area are u looking at? Did you join the hunting team in another thread?

summerice - yes, tts wat my fren told me also..so think i will go barcelona instead.

compassrose - u r covering so many countries? how many days r u goin?
i am plannin to go for 2 weeks and tot tt 3 countries may sound too ambitious..wat u think?

think for mag, nowadays i will browse it at kino first, if i see something i like..say a flora design, invite or accessories then i will buy it so tt i can show the vendors keke

I think apart from meeting up with financial advisors and insurance agents, it will help to speak with peers and relatives to learn from their experience. Sometimes, financial advisors and insurance agents may have a "vested interest" in getting us to buy into financial/insurance products to gain commission... just my opinion.

My coll ask me will i be going to Italy, Paris, France, since its on the way. I am thinking of 3weeks there but dont think i will move to other country...HB say too rush and Spain itself is very big already.

hehehe i am too lazy to read mag...only browse from the net when i am in the office....once i go home i will be doing my curtain and sometimes read the 5 mag that i have.

hi piglet,

tink dun need do anymore things to ur corsage... nice & useful...

anyone going to diy crystal jewellery?

Hi guys :

it has been awhile since i dropped by... so much unhappy things happened after i decided to hold my customary/ROM next year.. and i cudnt continue with my wedding research then.. oki.. sad things aside.... now, i am pleased to inform u guys that i have booked amara hotel for my outdoor solemnisation. garden cum pool side ... no doubt traders hotel has very nice backdrop, but d location is a little off.. thats why i have decided on amara hotel.

ROM date : 070707 (also my birthdate)
ROM Venue : Amara hotel (6th level, garden cum poolside)
AD Date: 070707
AD venue: Amara hotel
BS: Mr & Miss Wedding Club
PS Photographer: Prof Tan
AD Photographer: in-house by M&M
AD Videographer: nt decided as i do not want to be filmed on video. i limped after my operation this year
(( so sad
Make-up artist: dunno yet
love nest: yishun ave 3

Hi SummerIce/Schnauzie,

Ya, 2 weeks may be kinda rush.. I planing about 3 weeks plus. I need a big break.. haha.. Wanted to go Paris, but will be too rush.. Anyway we will past by in the train. Does that count? haha..

I will start off from either London/Ireland then over to either Geneva or Zurich.. Maybe take a flight to Milan. Leaving the planing to my FH cuz his sense of direction is so much better than mine. Maybe I will source out the hotels and places of interest..

Compassrose so nice of your FH. As for me i will be reading all the info about spain now (i free HB not free), where to go what to look out for then tell my HB c in the end what is our plan. If go paris must go shopping lor, then will have big hole in pocket, if not no point go there see cannot buy. haha

Me plan to quit job then have AD then honeymoon, hahaha. if not how to go for long holiday

Wah - quit job! Summerice you going to be lady of leisure? Or just short term and resume job search after honeymoon?

A friend of mine quit her job cos it wasn't challenging and she'd worked there for a while. So she's been travelling, visiting friends... rethinking her life goals... very cool.

I also know of a few brides who quit their jobs soon after marriage cos they got pregnant... so now all looking after babies. I guess life for a woman changes drastically after motherhood.

Hi schnauzie,

Which line are u in? I guess olders folks tend to feel very insecure about being out of a job and left with no income, even for a short period of time.

no problem all

anyone on the lookout for VG or have already signed up for any VG for their bigday yet?

everyone's VG field still remains empty... hehe

I told my boss if they dun allow me to take the long leave then i will quit.. haha... Cuz beginning of the year is very hectic for us.. Somehow, need to plan work work schedule according.

Maybe take a break and work on temp assignments if you find your current work is boring. Many MNC normally hired contract staff before offering them a perm position.

Ya, I heard it's cheaper to buy designer stuff there.. I am gona save up... Maybe can get the birkin bag.. or LV, Gucci.. haha.. The price is about 10 - 15% (maybe more) cheaper at retail price and we can request for tax refund at the airport..

SummerIce,

Haha.. At least u are in control..Plan more shopping trips.. :P

Hi Barney,

Just something to share, I am also the co-owner of my current flat with my mum. As my mum is widow and no CPF contribution, I have to fork out my CPF to help out. So right now, I can apply flat with my BF, on condition that -my name must be withdrawn from my current flat 6 months after we got the new flat. This is the info as what I got from the HDB.

I presume things should also work out the same if you're getting a 2nd hand/ new flat near his parents grant will be approved. If you are uncertain, do make a trip to HDB hub for their advise. Just one last thing to worry abt is your parent's flat cos when you draw out your ownership, the next successor has to pay back all the CPF contribution that you have paid for this house. For my case, my mum is unable to pay so we got to sell away the house. 3-rm flat in Yishun, but my CPF will suffer a big cut of 10K or maybe more.

My boss and colleagues are very understanding... feel very blessed to work with them.

Even after clearing quite a lot of leave this year, will still start next year with 42 days of leave. So I'm going to take at least 3 weeks leave - 1 week before and 2 weeks after. Even though it's a busy time they kinda understand it's once in a lifetime thing... plus i did give them super long notice.

But my FH just changed jobs, so hopefully they are similarly understanding. He did tell them he was tying the knot so hopefully they read that as "long leave application akan datang"!

Twinkle me like your friend (but she more fortunate can dont work n still travel), my job not challenging enough and boss is lousy, want face only but everytime got problem will push it to us and die...except for his pet he will stand up for him. Will find a job after the honeymoon...HB say dont care how much i earn just want me to work
so that i wont feel bored. Told my mum about this she is not against it.

Schnauzie maybe ur parents are more conservative type...they think it is safer to have both working just in case (touchshoot) one lose job still can survive. Or r u the only child?

This happen to my friend...she is the only child so she have to support her parent.

If the company and job is o.k, i wont want to quit too.

Hmm...I not looking for VG
FH and I felt that there wasn't a need since most likely we'll just watched it once then put it at one corner of the house to lay dust :p

Additional info:
Lovenest - Punggol
PG for PS - Jazz Bridal

snowie,

i wish to haf a VG but due to budget constraint, i'm still in a dilemma. hubby is against it coz we spend too much on AD PG... lol

Hi schnauzie,

I am in the healthcare line. As u know, public healthcare in Sg is semi government, so here I am, a semi public staff... heehee

Wa twinkle,

Your are blessed with such good bosses and a good u r happy with

annabelle,
Nope.. it's either WG / EG mtm. I choose to mtm EG coz the EG at my BS not really fantastic. Their WG are very nice so I'm ok with that!

I can only take during holidays coz of my work so since december is a rainy season (even my coordinator say take earlier), so i'm taking in end nov.
I think it's better to take earlier too.. in case of any hiccups. Don't forget there's the lunar new yr period as well.. the sales people wld be going on leave etc!

hmm i also dunno wat my parents r thinking..my FH is in healthcare line too..but he will only have 21 days leave keke so we cant go to europe for more than 2 weeks else we will need to shelve the hokkaido trip.

FH is actualli much more than me..but i also think tt watever i am earning now is up to me to spend..watever is left after giving allowance t my parents. but if i don work and wholly dependent on hubby then i will need to ask him for monie whenever i wan to buy something or when i want to give my parents monie. maybe tts y..

Hi snowiee,

I m looking around for VG..
but all seems so ex..
the cheapest I have seen is Image Garden..
think for AD PG and VG is $1800..
u looking for one too?