(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi snowie,
nope, i have not decided which hotel yet. Was thinking of oriental too like JuJu, but just checked the rates. We cant afford it. So me and HTB compromise, since our's a thursday we are looking at Hyatt or Pan Pac or even inter Con. Actualli HTB likes Mertitus mandarin, but I haven't got the quote yet. But i'm popping by Hyatt this sat to view one of their wedding decorations.

I think u can consider Furama. Fren using there i heard its getting better with good perks! Or even M-Hotel or Amara. Shd be okie you know. M-Hotel and Amara are newer! I think price shd be abt the same.

Hi Juju,
Yup, HTB is okie with his work but i am impressed with Tuckys. My HTB is that type "anything, as long as not too "abstract"/sexy then go with something I like." But he will give comments if he thinks is really unsuitable.

He just scared that if the pictures didnt turn out i wanted I will ask for a re-shoot. hahaha so as long as its not too wild/bold he is fine. I hope tuckys not too ex.

You saw wat i posted on the divine thread? It has a VG package. quite reasonable.

hi coco,

oic, when u intend to take PS? My package allows me to MTM either EG or WG. We plan to take PS in Jan, hope to hv it b4 CNY. So the BS ask me to go select gown in Sep.

Do u know which website where i can do research on the design on gowns? How abt the rest, any recommendation?

hiyah,mine is at tiong bahru.i also love punggol and sengkang,the hses structure there are very nice.

where u plann 2 buy ur furnitures leh?

My venue is hol inn.urs?
:P

Hi SnOwie,

actually, a thought came to my mind. If there is a budget for wedding, would it be better to go for the most minimum for the bridal package/PG & VG package, and instead have a nicer venue for the wedding? Cos, guests who agree to attend your wedding will probably give a certain amount of ang pao... and that will cover cost, or would cover a substantial amount of your table cost.. but no one will help "cover cost" for bridal package/PG & VC package... just my 2 cents' worth. Like, there's no point buying top notch red wine for wedding dinners cos people often only pay the dinner price. They seldom factor in wine cost, unless of course the wedding venue gives free flow wine and beer.

hi babystarlet,

oic.. then y u dun get ur lovenest there?

my hubby say OM at Liang Court sell sofas quite cheap.. u can try the reno forum, my hubby say that side can find cheap places to buy furniture..
I bought my dining table from a shop at Furniture Mall.. its a love at 1st sight.. haha..

my venue is at Marina Mandarin Ballroom..
besides ur BS and venue what have u done for ur preparation?

hi happyface,

ya.. i agree with babystarlet..
magazines help alot..

hi xy,

just wanna share my experience....

my fiance and i went to pan pac and hyatt last sat...

the co-ordinator who met us doesnt sound very keen and enthusiastic..... my fiance doesnt really like it....
ballroom wise, the one we saw was ocean.... it's very long.... no pillars... but im afraid guests seated in front wont be able to see the projector at the end of the ballroom (though according to the co-ordinator, that's not a problem....)

the lady who met us @ hyatt was very nice... and very attentive.... we both like her.... but package wise, a bit out of our budget....
i kinda like the stamford ballroom... very cosy... and pillar-less.... she showed us another ballroom (magnolia/vanda).... that i really cannot accept... the pillars are not small... really not small....
kao_dizzy.gif

but if you're looking at less than 30 tables, and your budget allows, then i think hyatt stamford is nice....

just my 2 cents.....

hi melody,

thanks!!!!! actualli me and HTB are thinking of hyatt looking at the budget. Its cheaper than pan pac u know! and more perks.

but i am not so sure abt the ballroom of stamford or mgnolia/vanda. I am going down to see this sat
so excited.

But i heard both good and bad reviews on Hyatt. Some say food sucks! some say food nice! i duno.. and some say service sucks.. but my mum says hyatt food is nice!

hi babystarlet,
welcome too

hi happyface,
My PS will be about the same as yours. Will be taking on Jan too. I got a few websites cache in my office PC and I let you know later when I am back to office again.

Hi everafter,

Welcome!
I just PM you..

so when is ur AD?
prepare anything yet?

Oh ya, u also doing ur reno?
where is ur lovenest?

hi xy,

personally i've been to hyatt for a couple of colleagues' weddings.... kinda like the food.... i think it's nice...

my fiance and i shortlisted that as one of our "favourite".... but due to the "not small" pillars and the budget, we decided that it's out....

tell them the number of tables you need and they'll bring you to the different ballrooms to take a look....

enjoy the viewing....

Hi xy,

Just fyi, I came across some threads in our forum abt MM (Mertius Mandarin) quite bad comments posted.. But of course dunno how true la.. Can just check it out

Hi Tarea,

You mentioned Novotel Clarke Quay, the one that you have booked? How's the rate? and their ballroom nice? Can share your comments so that we can consider also.. hehe.

Hi cactus,

Actually, we are not that extreme but its just that he only restricted our choices to those $500 odds per table for hotel, which is quite miserable to me. And it really makes our selection tougher when he wants a nicer ballroom. Kind of like - cheap and nice buy, where to find?

I have yet to sign on with any bridal pkge cos I have seen silverlining and I love Jit's desgn but considering the price, I drop the idea. Instead, during our last friday's visit with Ritz I told him we'll go for Ritz cos at least for the price that I pay for Silverling (w/o photography)I can get a Ritz offer that includes PS & AD PS and best of all a wedding car (red beatle).

For wedding banquet, I don't need a posh hotel just one with nice ambience. Hotel that we went yesterday was ok, just that for 20 tables we were only given is those function room like of ballroom but the other room that was nicer requires 30 tables.. so we'll keep on looking..

hi everyone, so happy to see so many sept 2007 bride! I am a 22 sept 2007 bride. I have booked Yishun Lake Garden Resturant for my AD. Haven book the bridal package yet.

As i was reading through this thread, I saw some of the path i took b4...hahah... i also have been seeing hotel ballrooms, to country club to in the end i choose a resturant.

Would like to share my experience, hope it would helps some of you who are off by the idea of resturant but left with no choice.

Initally i wanted a hotel ballroom because of the grandness... but considering nowaday the ang bao can be quite miserable. Even if u have dinner in a hotel, it would not be surprising to recive a $60 ang bao. Per table cost of a simple hotel can easily cost $600+ (before adding alchol and beer cost). Initally i almost sign up with HIPV because of their attractive rates and free flow beer.

My family side is quite hugh in no, relative alone is abt 30 tables, if i insist on cutting the no, my family might not be happy, and moreover the purpose of having a customary is more for the elderly.

So i give up the idea of HIPV as i might have more than 35 tables which would be so cramp in that ballroom. So we proceed to look for bigger ballroom. I send out numerous email and enquires abt the rates, none of them fall below $700 range. A married fred once advise me that i should set aside 20% of the entire dinner cost in case the ang bao is not enough. So after i work out the sum, per table $700 is really too costly.

My next alternative would be either resturant or country club. of course i choose to look at country club first. So the same process repeat and to my dismay, country is not much cheaper than hotel. if the hotel charge abt $700 per table, country club can cost abt $600 per table and all these is b4 including the alchol and beer charge. And better still ang bao would also suffer for country club.

I look around for resturant as well, although they are much cheaper but most of them do not have hotel stay. My flat is BTO and wont be ready by sept 2007 so tentative we would be staying with parents. I do not want to spend my wedding nite at home!!! so if we choose a resturant we would have to book a hotel room, and that would mean traveling time. its a very tedious job..

My search for resturant is not any easy task. Nicer resturant which meet my budget would not have big area for 35 tables. Bigger venue resturants are not nice enough.

My experience with country club is not good neither. Although they have big ballroom and provide 1 nite stay in the resort but they are not flexible enough. I will be doing my solemisation and customary on the same day. But i want it a separate event. Meaning mid day or evening time for solemsation and dinner is separated. But i realise both hotel and country club will make u pay for that extra slot. I work out my sum, for that few minutes (solemisation), we would need to fork out extra few more k. Standing in the woman point its is a very impt few minutes in her life, but standing from a man point of view, its a waste of money.

In additional to all the above on monentary aspect, the deco is another consideration. Country club and resturant dun use real flowers. We wanted very much the deco to be all real flowers, somehow we feel its really nice to have the real flower.

So in the end, very luckily we came across this resturant inside the orchid country club (venue passable). Although they are not very big, at least they are the same kitchen that supplied the country club ballroom (food passable). Most importantly i feel comfortable and at ease arranging my special day with them. They are very flexible and frank in how much they can do. Of course we as consumer should also understand that we cant possibility ask for hotel standard in a resturant. Most and most importantly, they provide 1 nite stay in the resort!

So sometimes it really take some tough road in the beginning to realise the good ones awaiting for you!

Although my ultimate choice of resturant might not be a great choice to some, at least it meet my 3 main requirements, venue(at least in a country club), food and 1 nite stay. So most importantly is to understand wat you really want and in the path of searching, some compromises have to be done.

Eversince i booked my venue and start telling freds. I heard comments like why you choose a resturant, hotel isnt that expensive wat. U worry too much liao.. wont lose money with hotel one... But i choose to ignore these remarks, because i know in the end, we are the one footing the bill. If i have to set aside 10k for hotel and 5k for resturant. Of course i choose the safer side.

After all it really depends on one piority and wat is most important. No one is wrong in insisting what they want as long as one get the piority right.

snowie,

There are 2 ballrooms in NCQ.
min table is 30 for the bigger one, for the smaller ballroom is min 18 (if I'm not wrong)
big ballroom pillarless, small one wif one stupid pillar.
Both are on different level, so dun need to worry abt guests going to wrong ballroom if there are 2 weddings at the same day!

Big and private reception area. ;P
Bridal suite not that big, but good view and have jacuzzi bathtub ;P
Price abt $700 for weekend. However there's no free wine. so got to factor the wine cost into it if you intend to serve wine.
Can ask for cockage waiver.
Think my cost per table will be higher as I may not be able to meet the min 30 tables. My co-ordinator told me that if my table is 27 or 28, she will still charge me at 30 tables. After working out the price, we feel that it's still worth it, so we go ahead to book.

And we actually happened to have a distance relative who held their wedding at NCQ in May, so we got to taste their food too! hee.

(this one I copied from what I wrote in another forum)
My comments are:
the sound and light system is ok, no problem.
food is not that bad, the usual stuff.
Not piping hot when they serve, but still warm.
They change plates after every course.
New deco seems nice, especially with the tea lights.

Hope that helps!

cheers,
taRea

Hi SnOwie, I've heard more bad things about BSs than good things... Sometimes, BSs cannot deliver up to the couple's expectations, or sometimes photos are so well taken, the couple actually ends up topping up extra for the photos to be developed. To cut costs and to avoid unexpected spending or heartbreak, my fiance and I decided to source for our own gowns, photoshoot photographer, etc. Actually, part of the reason is also cos I have a mental image of the tea dress that I would like to wear for the customary tea session and most BSs don't have it, so I need to rent from other places.

Hello Jaslyn,

Saw ur PM liao..haiz...having prob with funiture shop frm Furniture Mall. Didnt turn up during 1st delivery, 2nd delivery delivered the wrong thing...dunno wats next manz!

my AD Jun'07. Will b stayin with in-laws at SengKang

Just to add, Fiance and I spent less than $2.4k and we have the following in lieu of a bridal package taken at a BS:

1) Outdoor photoshoot (2hrs) with images returned.
2) AD photography over 2 days (tea ceremony and wedding dinner on 2 different days for us)
3) Makeup for 2 days (tea ceremony and wedding dinner)
4) get to own 1 satin white wedding gown with beading and silver outlined lace applique (OTR with extra beading)detailing with sweep train
5) get to own 1 satin ivory evening gown with full french lace for upper bodice and chapel train (OTR)
6) Rental of hair accessories and can-can and bridal veil.
7) bouquet of bridal flowers
8) rental of car and car decoration
9) 2 suits for fiance
10) rental of tea dress (made to measure but not for keeps)
11) get to own evening gown (OTR)

Although it is not much savings, I feel my fiance and I have more control over how we spend the money. For example, we sourced for the gowns separately and were not restricted to the same shop. We reviewed freelancers' portfolio before deciding on the photoshoot photographer and the actual day photographer that we intend to us. The makeup artist is also a freelancer.

It wasn't difficult putting together our own bridal package and it makes us feel like the wedding is truly ours. You can PM me if you want more details k.

Hi everafter,

opps..
will my delivery be like this???
getting scared now..
so they have not deliver to u yet?

oic.. u staying with ur in-laws..
me staying quite near u.. at Punggol..

Hi Snowie , Melody and Puroland,

Thanks for your comments! Coz mine is weekday hopefully its cheaper. I also quite cheapo, i am waiting for their wedding show so hoping to get more perks and better prices!

BUt i want to view Hyatt ballroom first
Maybe might pay more to have the grand ballroom. This sat will be the first time i going to search for banquets.. so excited

snowie,
not all BS are bad. I signed up with JAzz and i gave up coz my deposit paid is little. I gave up not becoz they are bad, but i decided to pamper myself more with allowed budget. So i took up divine. JAzz is not bad, u can consider
if u want the package details let me know i can email u.

hi xy,

forgot to mention marina mandarin....

fiance and i like their main ballroom... but minimum 35 tables for weekdays.... i tried to ask for minimum 33 tables, but they said not possible, cos generally sept is a popular month for weddings....

the main ballroom looks glamourous.... big... no pillars... and the chandeliers are pretty grand too...

their package is quite reasonable too....

co-ordinator (sen ng) who met up with us was very attentive and she explained almost every detail to us... very nice lady....

thought you might be interested to take a look....

mmm....i'm not sure abt urs. U gotta follow up closely...after the failure during 2nd delivery then i read in the forum and realised that alot of pple are complaining too! But guess it's too late for me now..Hv arrange for 3rd delivery this coming saturday, dunno if there'll be another hip-cups again! This is really gonna be the 1st and last time i buy anything frm them!

hi Jaslyn,my hubby dun like that area leh.he prefer somewhere central.
right now,not much things 2 prepare except finish up my reno 1st and preparn to lose some more weight b4 i go 4 1st fitting.haaa

hi ever_after,here we meet again,heeee

Thanks coco 4 e warm welcome

whoa! this thread is really active
Which is so nice! Didn't read for a while and so many entries already!!

Have been having period cramps..ack...how not to have that happen during our big day??

Hi corsage,

Think I have heard of some meds that can delay periods. I go ask my hubby then get back to u okie?

Yup, he is

Heh, but I wouldn't tell him why exactly I wanna know.... just say wanna know out of curiousity lor. Or say I wanna take it when my big day comes.... heehee

Hi TaRea,

Thanks for info.. Like Furama Riverfront, the smaller ballroom which cater for 18 tables will not be as cosy as the one which hold 30 tables right? But will still request with meet up to view the venue. cos there's jacuzzi bathtub!! hehe... I have been to the bridal suite of Grand Plaza Parkroyal.. its nice and they have a outdoor jacuzzi bathtub... If you happen to have friends holding wedding there, just remember to pop by.

I think we will need it, coz it will not be comfortable to the wedding gown if we have our periods...

Huiz, can also ask whether any side effects and how soon we need to take it. I feel lil bit scare taking the pills. Thanks

Huiz hehehe =p I feel so tickled by this!

Hey, when I was younger I always thought I'd like to marry a doctor! haha. I told my fiance that and he said not too late to change my mind.. muahahaha! but of course I won't lar.

Hi Mona,

Those are good questions! Didn't think of them ;-P Okie, I'll help u gals (n myself too) to ask.

Aiyo, corsage, how come your fiance say such things? Haha....

Yup, Mona those are good questions
But I don't think there're any pills with no side effects at all, just like any other medication, or for that matter anything we eat!!

Huiz: Well, we say such things coz we are confident of our relationship
It's funny anyway...sometimes... heh

Yup, I've heard of these pills before. They are placebo contraceptive pills. perhaps no contraceptive effects but still release hormones to delay period. I heard that one must take them regularly at least a week before - once you stop taking, yr period will come.

Apparently can be obtained by prescription from all GPs.

Since we are on the topic, have you gals thought of what kind of contraception you'd like to use? I heard that the Pill may have long term side effects so not so keen on that... ;)

hi snowie,

both ballroom looks as cosy.
In fact, personally I like the smaller ballroom's reception area. Looks more cosy. But I don't like the pillar in the ballroom (it's just one pillar, at one side of the ballroom)

and ya, I had been to Grand Plaza parkroyal too! was shortlisting that hotel cuz of the bridal suite and the outdoor jacuzzi, but I dun like their short march in and tiny stage. =p

jhoo, b4 going to natas, i suggest u be sure of where u wanna go coz u might b overwhelmed when u r there. if u'r thinking of package tours, better to do some research roughly wat kind of attractions u wanna go to. so tat when u r there, it's easier to do comparisons on which package is the best to suit u.

kaye, do show your EG when u hv pics!

kaye - monday was tiring and today is worse ...haha my projects juz keep coming in n in...i feel like quitting ...haha but cant so no choice

Masonic Club seem nice ....but it is outdoor rite? What if it rain? coz Dec is raining season leh....so i dun quite dare to do outdoor kind...yap Love that binds will arrange everything is good oso...keke :P

Mei - their minimim is 20pax? then tat is good ....yap ypa is my number of guest list coz not inviting too many. yap i saw her pictures of her solemnisation ...nice nice

jhoo - me planning to go natas too
to book my honeymoon trip...i not sure hw good is the offer leh...nvr booked at natas before ...coz i dun really like the crowd there...this natas can book for trip in Jan/Feb rite?.

i see. more or less i know abt the honeymoon. we will just stick at taipei, free and easy.

yuki, not so sure abt the offer bt now we can already book the air ticket and accomodation liao. so thinking if i should wait anot

Hey babes,

My hubby just replied my sms. Twinkle's right. It is basically an oral contraceptive eventhough it goes by several names. As for side effects and when to take it, the exact answers can be found in today's TODAY, in the health section, this article called "A painless, period free life". Haha, the timing is so perfect that the article is out today!

Hmm, I haven't thought of contraceptives yet.... still too early I guess ;-P

Hi Twinkle
Ah, now that you mention it, I recall athlete schoolmates taking it before competitions!

Would you believe it? My future MIL actually had a long conversation with me about contraceptives. It was quite enlightening and hilarious. I told my fiance and he was most amused!

But nope, have not decided what is best. Everything seems to have its pros and cons - really hard to make a decision, and I think it is likely that one has to try a couple of methods to see what's preferred?