(2007) Brides of year 2007

Oh, Yew Kwang is recommended by my gf..we just went to his studio and was quite like his photo style and so we signed up with him

Yes, will be having additional gowns for PS. But prob is my wed gown is MTM, so quite hard to visualize till the actual gown is out..unlike OTR gowns :P

Oh, one question : What will u gals be wearing for tea ceremony when going back mum's place? My BS offered me Kua...but I thinking if I should take that offer or make a tea-dress. Is tea dress informal?

Ello everyone. I'm a Dec bride too! Having my dinner at Amara hotel. But now slowly looking for bridal shops (a bit early..hee hee) Any recommendation?

Hi Firefire,

I think its best you go "shopping" to other BS as well.. Then u can better decide which one can give you the best offer.. Try on few gowns to see if you like their style and things like that.

From what I gather from the BS, they give more stuffs to brides who go with their girlfriends than with their hubby cos when you go with your hubby or bf, most guys will feel out of place and want to settle it as soon as possible. Whereas with ladies, they can stay at a place for a long time to neg. a best deal.. hee hee

Also, try not to go during the weekends, cos they are ususlly more crowded and they might not have much time to "entertain" you and neg.
Hope it helps! =)

Corsage,

Hee hee. Thanks. I add the emoticons (from bottom menu) to cheer myself up. I've never seen these emoticons on other forum sites - they are quite cute hor?

This is my favourite one.
kao_kiss2.gif

Stacy,

I'll be serving tea at my home before going to FH's home to serve tea. Both parents are not fussy, so they help us save time and petrol. So I'll just be wearing my gown all the way. Actually I like the kua, cos i think Chinese brides just look special in a kua. But my BS not offering that as part of package, so it's just the gown all the way. Since it's MTM get more mileage out of it too....

I am also a Jun07 BTB...
Babystarlet, mind to share the product? I'm trying hard to lose weight.. Tried the Cambridge diet also cos inspired by my colleagues who managed to lose alot of weight, but i really dun like the taste...

Now i'm trying to cut back my snacks and biscuits intake and going to the gym work out.. but i'm quite lazy so now i'm still getting the momentum of going the gym 2 times a week...

hi pinky.. I have not tried any gowns since signing w them. It's MTM.. now still at the design stage.

I did try about 5 gowns there before I sign up but cfm no pic taking b4 signing up..

you got pics? I wanna see! can email me?

it's [email protected]

Hi there, Im also a feb bride. I'm in the midst of confirming my BS. Banquet's at The Regent Singapore.

I'm also in the midst of waiting for my house keys. Probably later this month.

Am I the only one who is panicking that I may not have enough time to finish planning and completing both "projects"?

hi firefire,go look for more BS before u decide,they will always say wun have this special offer after u walked out,dun believe.
Tink u better source ur venue soon,many already book next yr liao lu.

Hi Stacy & Corsage

I got try their OTR gowns but none seems to look gd on me le, sob sob... Nw I reali lost in wat gown type I wan? God help me pls... Time is running out if I dun decide by this mth nt enough time to mtm leh... Reali headache.

Compassrose, can let me kn which website got alot of gown design, thxs!

Twinkle, think the same as u. I think brides look gd in Kua n the photos turn out nice cos of the 'red' colour. Btw only once in a lifetime then can wear kua, tat's wat my coordinator said n it makes sense. So less one headache.

Wan check with u gals, for outdoor PS hw many outfits r u all allow to change?

hi clueless,u same same as me leh,me also snack a lot,since when i was a kid,very diff to drop this habit,now trying to cut down.me oct 1st fitting liao.

actually u can take biscuits but take those low salt biscuits,jacobs is good.or take fruits to replace lol.

me dun used to go gym,but now me try to go every mon and wed,i agree,it takes a lot of determination,when u tink of wearnn nice nice for ur wedding,u can force urself 1.my col always say me now got e reason to go gym sia,heee

u can leave me ur email address,i send u e broucher for e meal replacement to read.

I MIA-ed today coz I was away on course.... borrringgg.... saying the same thing over and over again man

Hi Stacy! Welcome to the thread. My friend is also a Flamingo bride. I will be wearing a cheongsam (But not a red one. Me dislike red leh) back to my mum's place. My BS has an offer to make either a tea dress, ROM dress or cheongsam (knee length) at an additional $180 but I decided to pay full to get a full length cheongsam. Have not so nice legs la, so gotta hide hide a bit

Cutie Gal, u can surf the net for many many great ideas! www.theknot.com and www.weddingchannel.com are good avenues, though the latter had been having some problems lately. I found my design from The Knot and Jit, my designer modified it to something even better
. The other alternative is to use Google image search. Just key in "wedding gowns" and it'll throw out lotsa great pics. I personally feel that the western gowns are much more elegant and classier

As for the outdoor, I am not sure how many changes we are allowed, but I feel that it is better to keep to one coz it can be really tough to change outfits then. Where to go change? Hee... if u want to have changes, better to do so in the studio?

I am also a Silver Lining BTB.... first fitting only in Nov and I can't wait

Twinkle,

Talking about kua, my MIL wanted me to wear her age old one! Her's is the light weight version with only embroidery, all done in HK. The top is black while the skirt is red. But well, should I say fortunately or unfortunately, she did not take good care of them and it's infested by insects! So many holes in them now!

Welcome Andrea!

when is ur AD?
My BS is Amanda Lee Weddings..
Amanda is very friendly and her gowns are very nice..
if u wana know about her package can leave me ur email..

diaodu, seems like many gals who went to BKK come back with very good deals

Shers, can share ur contact for the shoes as well pls? Also abt time to make our shoes =)
Any1 know where to get red covered shoes? Like quite hard to find..

Jhoo, agree with Mei, tat booking online for F&E would be cheaper. But must do some research first =)

kaye, me in the accts line so i understand how u feel..

gals, today my fitting went quite well. we spend abt 3.5 hrs in the shop and i manage to pick a green tea dress, a maroon EG, and the WG. i had a tough time deciding between two WG. one white n the other champange gold.. in the end i choose the white gown coz i tot it will be more wedding looking.. but my hubby prefer the champage old one.. it is nice n princess looking but i can only choose one... hehe..

All i have been doing since after ROM is working very hard on improving my skin. Haha...

Yea, have start searching for ID too but since we will only get the house in Oct, not much hurry. The rest of the stuff, I have done nothing at all... I din managed to select WG and EG I really last month when I went down so I will be selecting one more time just one week before my photoshoot session in Oct. *sweat* Oct's going to be real busy.

Hi Jaslyn, me also looking for bridal at the moment..shorlisted a few and Amanda's one of them..mind if you send me her package? Thanks gal!

yah what i experience before, everytihing i want to tell firefire is equal Babystarlet + Clueless + Everafter 's speech. Hehe.

Basically shop around cos for a start you must know what you REALLY want. Yah i know it's once a lifetime thing but try not to waste too much $$ on photos. Try to neg more pic to be added in your package so you wun risk topping up $$ for xtra fotos. Xtra fotos cost $$, and normally the bulk of $$ goes to xtra fotos.

And yes, they say they have tis offer, dun believe them. I signed up with this BS and they quote me the price which they used it during their roadshow one or two weeks ago. Can imagine that they tell you during roadshow the price is avail for roadshow only and now they tell me they can offer me the roadshow price when it's already over for one week plus liao....Haha, i feel i "Jian Dao Pian Yi" lah..maybe that's is one of their tactics? Oh no! Haha

pingypooky: My wedding banquet will be held at the Paramount Restaurant. The food there is simply yummy!!! Although I have to crack my brain as to how to direct my guests to the restaurant while minimising view of the pubs nearby... *headache*

Ophelia: Trust me... I am also feeling the same way. Have collected the keys to my place last month but nothing much done yet. Still waiting for ID to get back to me on proposed design. It can be rather stressful handling both wedding and house projects at the same time. My plan is to settle most of the stuff by the end of this year *fingers crossed*

I believe Oct is gonna be a busy month for many of us, esp. with the PS and stuff. Just want to encourage all of us (includ. myself)
to press on and enjoy the process of planning and preparation. At the end of the day, wedding is a day but marriage is for life. What's most important is that we will all be happily married to our life partner!

Pishako: Thanks heaps. I will most probably be going for OTR, as DiGio has quite a wide variety of WD. I simply love the embriodery!!! Dinner will be @ Paramount Restaurant in Paramount Hotel. Will be going for food tasting at the end of the year, but based on my visits to the restaurant, I must say that I am very satisfied with Tung Lok's standard.

oops.. sorry.. meant to say WG and not WD. But I heard that they have rather limited EG. Have not taken a close look at that, but hoping I can find one I like, else may have to MTM EG.

hi diaodu & smilez,

i go seven to make my shoes. Blk 1014 geylang east ave 3 #06-212 tel. 67434438. din add any diamonates... thus cheaper... e uncle advise me not to, save $ since will be covered by gown lor.
if u urgently needs it, he will rush for u. for me, i ask him dun need rush. so will be arnd 3 wks.

hi piglet,

glad tat u found wat u wan... for teadress, y u nvr pick kua? how does the maroon EG looks like? bustier? lace? tat day i also choose bet. white & cream WG. choose the cream one... e white one longer train leh... prefer e details of the cream.

my pg is eagles(yi ke shu). ps on 3 oct. u?

0phelia, I am getting my keys next month too.. but I think we do have sufficient time.. cos house renov doesn't take so long.

Are anyone moving into their new homes before their wedding day?

iruka, yah.. paramount rest is really known for good food! If you are OTR-ing, take pics!!

Gd morning!

Twinkle- cute emoticons..

Cutie_gal- prob browse thru the web...look out for designs u fancy..prob see what kind of gowns u like (mermaid, ball, etc), materials (satin, lace, etc)...think ur designer should be exp enough to advise...:P. For my case, I'm busy these 2 weeks to go look for designs...I put my faith on my designer..see what she'll propose.

As for the outdoor shoot, my PS says that they can give me extra gowns for change. But she said seldom do brides change, cos its difficult to change outside as the public toilets are small and might dirty the train..etc. So I prob stick with the gown and if wanna change, maybe something short..like tee dress or sth casual.

Huiz - thanks for the link on gowns design..will surf later. How much did u pay for a full length CS?

Twinkle:
I have learnt to use the emoticons! heheh

Huiz:
My fiance's family also has a family kua!
I haven't seen it yet though, it is with some aunt who is living in NZ. But my future MIL said that I should wear it ONLY if I like it. hehe.. So that remains to be seen...but I think it is quite cool to be wearing a piece of tradition!

Stacy:
A kua is more 'wedding like', but if you can keep the tea dress, then that may be more practical!

Cutie Gal:
Don't worry, why don't you ask your designer to recommend something to you? These experts have worked with so many brides, they may have a better idea? I'm also going to do that when I meet my designer. I'll just tell him things like I wanna hide my fats here and there...muahahaha!

Hi Jaslyn..thanks for the welcome. My AD is Dec 8th. Finding the hotel was a nightmare. So many places are already taken up! I did check out Amanda Lee Weddings and her gowns are ggoorrrgeeeoussss but FH say out of budget *sniff sniff* =P Somemore I am sitting for my GMAT exam this month so he say go bridal shopping after my exam =P heh heh....If sign package now, not too early meh?

Rinnie, who else have you short listed?

hi shers,

coz i ask my mother she say no need wear kua so i never pick... the maroon EG is bustier. maroon lace... i also choose the white gown coz of the details..

actually i wanted eagles, but he is very pack so i change to sean.. PS on 13 Oct hopefully no change..

wow shers, piglet, PS in 2 months time, it will be fast.. Luckily i had mine earlier coz i have exam in oct, haha...how abt the food tasting? im having it in end oct after my exam, then i can eat in peace. im view my layout on sat, chiam, im not sure what kind of thing to look out, any idea?

Hi Stacy,

I paid $500+ for a full length one. Aiyo me now also feel quite gian for a kua. Haha, but I better not be so greedy. The PG might kill me for having so many changes of clothes. Hmmm... mebbe I might wear one when I hold my second dinner in Malaysia. Make up for it la... haha. Oh yes, does anyone know where I can rent a nice one?

Corsage,

Have u seen any pics of the kua? My MIL's one is fully embroidered, no sequins so beads so it's very much lighter.

I'm another one with PS in October.. mine's on the 16th
Quite pleased with my tone-up plan so far as I'm seeing results.. so really happy.

wah, mei, so good..find myself fatter each day although there are ppl i slim..but tummy getting bigger leh..everyday my lunch=supper. if i have lesson, my dinner will be at 11+pm..so sad

Hi Andrea,

oic.. when u started looking for hotels?
I started quite early during March so it was still ok..

ya..her package is on the high side..
I sign on early cos then I will have the motivation to lose weight... hehe..

Hi Jaslyn, me not new la..already got posted previously, just that dint come in for some time..me blur blur..my email is [email protected]

Hi Andrea, I've shortlisted wedding present, divine, dang and silverlining as well..wil most prob choose from one the 5. I'm still taking my time to choose..cos I think there's still quite a lot of time ma..

Huiz! Are you having a dinner in M'sia too? Whereabouts? Me too, and am trying to find a MUA.

About Kua: I've seen a pic of someone wearing it, but coz I wasn't paying attention then, I don't remember the details. But yes it looked lighter and is red and black.

Hi Huiz,

There's a wide range of kuas for rental at House of Etiquette (along tanjong pagar) though I've not checked the price out.

Hi Stacy and Cutie,

I chanced upon this website www.foreverbridal.com - they have loads of designs too!

... Cutie,

for outdoor, I'll be wearing only my gown. Cos figured the more changes, the more I'll be tempted to add photos! haha...

Dun worry, there are nice designs for all sizes of brides. You can get some advice from Doreen Chee, who is the fashion expert advisor on Sg Brides forum too.

Hi Corsage,

Me having my dinner at Malacca at this Hotel Equitorial. Kinda regret leh, coz I forgot about this Golden Gate Hotel that is so vintage looking!

Ya, looking for a MUA in Msia is tough, esp when we do not know the place well. I will have to depend on my hubby's classmate's wife to intro.

So where u holding yours too? This forum is just so great. Can get to know so many new friends whom we slowly find have so many things in common with ourselves. My MIL's kua is also black and red. Black top and red skirt. Kinda strange to me coz I thought Chinese do not like black stuff during weddings.

no, its just a part time course that last 2 months...tot that i can rest during the 7th month, argh, im wrong..

Thanks for your advise...will take up the kua offer since its on loan foc..hehee..

somehow I feels its look weird with tradional costume on the bride n the groom wearing the suite..don't gel??

hi firefire,

i absolutely agree with them... u can also try to ask those brides who has cfm her package (those BS tht u hv shorlisted) to share with you then you can try to negotiate for extra things. Tht's wat i did also, reading up the thread and gathered information and then go down to BS to neogitate..hahah

Twinkle:
Wow, you have good ideas. I didn't know about a Doreen Chee! Yeah, I agree that more outfits may lead to more temptation to add photos..heh

Huiz:
Yes, this forum is so cool
Mine's going to be in Subang. What's your email address? mine's [email protected]. Maybe we can discuss more details offline

Are your inlaws Peranakan? Coz I think black's ok as long as there's red too.

Agree with twinkle, coz my FH already said that he dun want to top up for pics... so less gowns will be easier to avoid the temptation of having more pictures :P

I will wear kua for PS, but for actual day stil havent decided yet. My bridal give me option to wear tea dress or kua for AD.

Xie Xie, Shers.

I just called uncle and he said should be ok... Today, i am going to see my EG.. so excited.. hope it turns out well.. i will be choosing the other gowns for my photo shoot too.. after the session, will try to look for shoes.. if really cannot find, i will go and find him..

Hi Corsage,

Is that the email u use on MSN? U can add me using this [email protected] if u r. If not, my correspondence email is [email protected]

Nope my ILs are not Peranakans. They are Cantonese but with quite some Peranakan influence as my MIL's mum used to work as a mah zeh (my MIL is adopted by the maids) in a Peranakan household. Perhaps that is how she got the lobang in HK to make such a kua for her daughter

Hi Stacy,

It's ok for the guy to be in a suit and the bride in kua if the guy is wearing those kinda chinese collared suit?

Ya, u gals have a point too. More changes mean more temptation. My hubby is paying for the whole BS thing so I have to bear the photo cost.... have to be prudent lor.