(2007) Brides of year 2007

Thanks for the advice pishako! My new house will be in Sengkang. Bought an EA through the WIS. Think my FH and I will be spending the entire weekend checking our new place for defects... Foresee that it's gonna be tiring.. but am sure it's fulfiling as well. I sure hope everything will go smoothly and there won't be major defects.. *fingers-crossed*

Hi jhoo,

Oh-oh, I have booked an older male as our solemnizer too. He was my fren's JP too. Something like tells me that we are talking about the same JP!! Hahahaha

I cannot continue with David Loh though me and fiance love to.
We booked David Loh in Feb this year... *boohoo*

Eternitystar,
Congrats to ur ROM 2morrow!

I also like u nt at all excited n anxious until the day itself (to be exact bef the ceremony actually)Haha...
I guess we r normal, maybe solemnization is jus a simple ceremony so nt tat bad.

Nope, hehe..no worry liao..but of coz, before the start of solemnization, brief to him what u expect from him. Shouldn't be a problem then

Hi jhoo,

Heng ah...Hahahah! Else I'll be dreadfully worried! 'Coz my JP dun have hp one ok? So we are also a bit gan cheong that he will forget or something. But I will call him the previous night to remind him. We got to!

The JP said he will meet up with us before we chop our dates with ROM, to pass us whatever form and whatever needs to be discussed.

I think I will ask him if we can customise our own vows. Not that the audience will note the difference. Hehehehe... I dont care, for the sake of fun!

June 2007 BRIDES - updated 23 June 2006 (Fri)

<table border=1><tr><td>AD Date </TD><TD>Bride</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>2-Jun-07</TD><TD>happyface</TD><TD>Conrad International Hotel</TD><TD>Thomson Wedding Design</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>2-Jun-07</TD><TD>Babystarlet</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>2-Jun-07</TD><TD>Oasis</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>3-Jun-07</TD><TD>Erica Ong</TD><TD>Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>Mr &amp; Mrs Wedding Club</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>7-Jun-07</TD><TD>chere</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Ted Collection</font></TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>8-Jun-07</TD><TD>suelynn</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Christopher Tay </TD></TR><TR><TD>9-Jun-07</TD><TD>fudgecake</TD><TD>Raffles Town Club</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>9-Jun-07</TD><TD>apple79</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Christopher Tay </TD></TR><TR><TD>9-Jun-07</TD><TD>ting</TD><TD>Marriott Hotel</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>9-Jun-07</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">perky</font></TD><TD>Mandai Orchid Garden</TD><TD>Fame Bridal</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>12-Jun-07</TD><TD>sassy bride</TD><TD>Conrad International Hotel</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>13-Jun-07</TD><TD>moon</TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>16-Jun-07</TD><TD>Venusian</TD><TD>88 Restaurant </TD><TD>Dawn Wedding (JB)</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>16/17 Jun 07</TD><TD>Lunabride</TD><TD>Peony Jade/Rasa Sentosa</TD><TD>Bridal de Couture</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Jesser Lim</font></TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>22-Jun-07</TD><TD>sNow</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>29-Jun-07</TD><TD>glad</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>30-Jun-07</TD><TD>Joanne</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal Hotel</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>30-Jun-07</TD><TD>staritzz</TD><TD>Conrad International Hotel</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News *</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>30-Jun-07</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Stella Ong</font></TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>30-Jun-07</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Ganoop</font></TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>?</TD><TD>nattie</TD><TD>Orchard Parade Antica BR</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>?</TD><TD>Diana Lee</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>Bridal Elegance</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>?</TD><TD>kisses912</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>?</TD><TD>xiaobaibai</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Milan Weddings</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>?</TD><TD>White Twinkle</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">blue</font> = updated
<font color="ff0000">red</font> = new June 07 brides

Hi Chere,

We are thinking of something simple, so it'll be a reception in church/SAM/restaurant. Not sure yet. But we just engaged Sophia Wedding Collection. Kenna "conned" last night. Heh

Hey girls.. any idea where I can get those drama accessories for hair? I went around looking.. most are normal clips.

Glad to see so many feb brides joining us!!! I had just came back from my Japan trip (went there for 10 days) and had not gone into the forum for quite some time. Really happy to hear from many of you.

Saw that many of you were chatting about Sophia bridal. Hopefully I could be of some help here...Hi iruka, yep am a Sophia bride. It was the second bridal shops that we have gone to and I could say that they really have a powerful convincing skill.(I am not the type who is easily convinced!). However, they do offer us a great package that we just could not resist. I guess because many of our friends had been with them before, therefore, they could give us a good deal. You may want to try to negotiate with them for more.

I have not gone for gown selection and photography sessions yet, hence could not give any comments on that. However, I do get many feedbacks from my friends that they do provide good services. But then, it is still up to individual as I did come across some minor complaints from the Sophia bride's forum.

My AD will be in KL on 070707 itself
Will host a simple dinner in SG after that for colleagues n frens here...still thinking which restaurant to go....hope u gals will give suggestion...

My BS is Printemps at City Square...meaning I have to transport all the gowns to KL n back...

Hi pishako,

They had given me three gowns (not including those for photo taking). I can have either the wedding gown or the evening gown MTM and either one OTR. The tea dress would be OTR.

Hi Jazlyn: Do you have a budget for your dinner in SG?
How long will you be in KL for ur wedding? Sounds so fun. Heheh.

Hello

like to check if there is any nice church which i can take some photo for PS? any idea if sentosa have chapel? still choosing my PS location ... BS say can limit to 2 only and they not doing night shoot for me

Twinkle: where u bought ur shoes from? how many inches?

Mona: Thanx for sharing the pic...

Me went Tangs today to shop ard .. but all the shoes seems to be too high ...

really abit "Shang Nao Jing" ar ... tml go down centrepoint there and OG to c c look look again ...

kekkekekek

Eternitystar: Congrats to u !

twinkle (chendol):
Take your time to look for your new house.
I just got mine too...in the east, at hougang.

Eternitystar (eternitystar):
When is your wedding date?

Hi KellyJ

Wow.. you're real fast! Thought can only register ROM 3 mths in advance so didn't know we should approach the JP so early.
My wedding date is 1st Jan 07! Now I'm worried some JP may not wanna commit their time ;o(

Think JP quite important.. I'm having ROM tog w AD so hopefully JP can create a nice, loving atmosphere ;oP

Such coincidence! Think if everything goes well, my AD is on 9June2007 as well~!! Hahaha...it's my Bday la...so my bf tot we wanna make it a Double Happiness Occassion! muahaha...

For budget in SG, target less than 500 dollars per table.... i hope can get good food n package with my budget

As I m a M'sian working in SG, I dunno how long I will b back in KL... I will sure let u gals know when I take leave n go home
Plus I m still studying part-time, so I have to plan my time carefully.... wedding, so many things to do and plan n yet not enuf time and money....

Hi Jazlyn: Think for $500 per table still possible, esp dinner on a weekday. So can rest assured about that.

As for lack of time and money, think all of us can attest to that too!! So difficult to juggle. Take care tho! Preparing for wedding is a fun event.

Hi Shers,

my hotel is Asia Hotel. Shld go for a short trip. I heard there is alot of things to shop there.. Will let you know wat is there when i come back...

Mei, Enjoy your trip there!

Yuki, Ur bridal shop only allow so little location? I am not very sure abt church...

KellyJ, if i am not wrong if u are doing the soleminsation outside, then u can register before 3 mths... not very sure though..

hi jazlyn, dont worry. make or download a checklist from the net and slowly plan! then make sure u meet up w ur service providers while u're in sg lor. i had a friend who's working in HK, then she organised a wedding thru the net, met up with her svc providers in 1 week while she was back, then stayed in HK until 1 week before her wedding! hahaha.

hi wilest, yes CV is nice and green haha. i tell u, it's so far then by the end of ur drive there, u already feel like u're in another land. will resist walking over to charlie's corner western food for midnight supper that night. :P

hey, anyone is close to busting their initial budget? had an argument with hubby over the amt we're spending n the pple he's inviting to banquet la. i dunno why he's the one wanting to invite all the friends tt he doesnt really know, isnt it supposed to be the girl?? he wants to invite all these distant business contacts to PR abit la, but i think there's no point opening like 4-5 tables more for pple whom u dunno, plus wont give u enough angpao $ to cover cost la.

i really think this is the start of a life together, n we really shld be more prudent so tt we have more resources for future desires n needs (like car or kids).

hai so sian. who has a spendthrift husband, pls share n advise!!

piglet - ya lor ...they told me only 2 locations unless our PG is willing then maybe can go 3 locations lor ......... wat abt ur BS? hw many location?

Hi Jes and Piglet,

It is true that we can only submit our application to ROM 3 mths before our AD, but it is apparently quite a norm for couples to book their favoured JPs way ahead of that. Hehehe...

Hi kellyJ,

you can only submit ur application to ROM 3 mths before is only if u r holding ur ROM at ROM itself. If you are doing it outside then u can book ur JP first and he will settle it for you.

Where u holding ur ROM>

hi, march brides &amp; grooms

wonder how much AP will u be giving for jiemeis (5pax)(all staying quit near to u), &amp; 7 bros(all staying near to ur bf but still need to take bus la), n out of 7, (2 drives).

cos the jiemeis will be helping me at my recept, is it ok to give $22, for bro $18, for bro who drives give $28, and MC is $12

pls advise

thanks much

Hi Yuki,

Our JP will settle for us? Really ah? I will be holding my solemnization during the wedding dinner at the hotel.

Sigh,i wanted my AD on my birthday too (to be fair cos we ROMed on my hubby's birthday last year). too bad my birthday doesn't fall on a weekend in 2007.

Hey annabelle,

They have a few advertise on animation on this month HERWORLD June copy mag. Perhaps you can take a look before you decide to do or not to do. Eg.Rhem video

Haha joop... i understand your feeling. I wanted my wedding to be on my birthday which is 8th August.... too bad it falls on the 7th month. Anyway, good to have separate wedding anniversary dates from birthdays. More reasons to celebrate and be pampered.

hihi chere

saw that your BS is Ted Collection. so u decided to do a-la-carte afterall
Anyway, TC is a good choice. They have great service and great designs especially their cheongsam designs. I might want to go down to tailormade cheongsams for my mum and myself

Thanks a lot for the info, to all the sweeties here. I will definitely make a checklist to make my planning easier. Currently, I am sourcing for the service providers in KL for my AD, and will try to go home as often as I can to meet up with them.

Evelyn,
I understand ur hubby wan to do PR with all his business contacts...but to have extra 4-5 tables just to cater for them, IMHO, I dun think it's worthwhile lor....anyway, have u finalised ur guest list? Perhaps u guys can talk bout it again, usually wat I did, is I come up with all the spreadsheet calculations to argue with him lah...when he see that the figures are not tempting at all, mayb he will drop his PR's idea..

my hubby is pretty spendthrift...usually he's the one who asked me not to simply spend money lor.... so for our wedding budget, i let him handle most of the things lah....n as i m still a part time student, i din contribute much to the budget as well...

hope my ideas will help....

hi qiqi, thanks will go get a copy... haiz. duno wether to spend extra on tat leh... cause my pkg already have photo montage with express highlights already...

hihi kelly,
maybe u can call ur JP to ask. Cos i know u have to print out a consent form, and get him to sign and then pass it back to ROM when u go and collect ur cert 3 days before ur actual ROM .. not sure if that's the norm. I am doing tat for my ROM in jul.

Yo Kitty!

I have heard of the consent form, the signatures needed on the form and the collection of cert before ROM.

But I tot all these are to be done after we submit in our application online to ROM.

So your ROM will be held outside? So that were the things you had to do?

Hey for the blur BTBs like me!

Me just went thru the ROM's website. The steps are:

Steps:
1. Look through 'List of Licensed Solemnisers'

2. Invite a Solemniser near your home or whom you know

3. Download the 'Solemniser Consent Form' and 'Checklist'

4. Obtain his/her signed consent (via fax or meeting)

5. 'File Notice of Marriage' at www.rom.gov.sg. During filing, you will submit the Solemniser's name and Licence No. At the end of filing, print and read the 'Filing Instructions' and go to the ROM on the day and time allotted (usually 3-4 working days before solemnisation) for Statutory Declaration, verification of documents and collection of marriage documents.

Hi Evelyn,
Personally I agree with you that wedding is a personal affair and its quite difficult to turn it into a PR event. :P I agree with Jazlyn that it is usually helpful to come up with hard factual calculations when negotiating with men. :P But if say, he really is unwilling to budge on his idea, then there will have to be a compromise, maybe 2 to 3 tables instead of 4 to 5?

I sometimes have the same problem with my FH too, he tends to spend a lot of some stuff which I totally don't think we need or is necessary. But if he insist, he just have to fork out his own money lor. :P

Take care Evelyn!

hi kellyJ,

for my frez case, they engage the JP and he ask them to pass the things he need n he do everything for them including efiling with ROM