(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi kaye,

i already had a package wif LD so din sign again .... dun think will continue coz exp leh ...haha
u doing any facial?

hw is the price range for Essex Walk? is it exp?
tot of having a look

Hi Nattie welcome to the thread!

Hi jeraldin,

thats gd that it fits ur budget.. at least u got one more option..
ya, its stress finding job so u dun bother him 1st..
me too glad to find this thread.. cos my hubby dun like to get involved in these things unless i force him to and already force him to go look at the venues with me.. he always say u happy can liao.. as long as its fits his budget.. haha

Thanks.. at 1st also quite worried cos havent settle the date..

oic.. u planning for engagement this yr..
where are u going to hold it?
me just got my flat this feb.. going to renovate it next mth.. hope everything goes well..
which area are u going to get ur love nest?

i am sure u can get the date and venue.. give urself more choices..

I only look at magazines for BS, also havent go around and see.. hehe..

when i look for my ring also quite stress.. cos all so nice.. dun noe which one to buy..must find one with my budget..
lucky got one from Soo Kee.. u can go there and have a look.. quite nice..

dun worry.. he will find a job soon..

then u can start ur planning, and u will be happy planning!!!

its ok.. feel free to tell me if u got any troubles. i will lent u my listening ears..

ya.. my hubby is studying his part time degree in NTU..
then dun have much time to study.. so have to wait till he finish his exam so that i can go out and look at my venues..
so meantime sourcing around myself..
cos he dun have the time to bother about me..

Hi Claris

At first I wanted a date in April, but now I think I will opt for May because of conflicts in April such as Ching Ming and my future FIL's b-day is in that month as well. I'm trying to find a good date in May. Ideally I would love to have it May 5, but apparently it is not suppose to be a good day for marriage and not a good day for those in the year of the snake. =(

er...hope it wont spell trouble if i help out,haha..i dun like to be like other fam fighting over fam biz etc..they are doing on metal fabrication...

Nattie welcome aboard!!!!

Nick name: Nattie
AD Date: 1-Jul-07
AD venue: Orchard Parade Hotel
BS: Sophia Wedding Collection
PS Photographer: Sophia Wedding Collection
AD Photographer: Sophia Wedding Collection
AD Videographer: TBC
Make-up artist: Sophia Wedding Collection
love nest: Yishun

Nick name: pocalyndas
AD Date: 1-Jul-07
AD venue: TBC
BS: Everbliss
PS Photographer: not taking!!
AD Photographer: TBC
Make-up artist: By BS
love nest: TBC

Nick name: Niko
AD Date: 7-Jul-07
AD venue: Fullerton Hotel
BS: Ted Collection
PS Photographer: TBC
AD Photographer: Hilarion Goh
Make-up artist: Jesslin Ng
love nest: Toh Guan

Nick name: Padi
AD Date: 7-Jul-07
AD venue: Plaza Park Royal
BS: Style Bridal
AD Videographer: Probably a friend
Make-up artist: Eileen Chan

Hi bubblepearl,

Hmmm... Nothing to much to take note of when we sign the contract with them. Just make sure that the extra perks that u gotten with HIPV is written in the contract. Actually our coordinator highlighted those for us. Hehe

Nellie!
Don get too upset ok? during the wedding preparation, family and relatives will always want to put their 2 cents worth across but as long as you n your FH stand together and be firm they cannot do anything unless..you FIL insist that he sponsor for a banquet

gelaine: no problem! My lovenest is at sengkang. Haha.. in fact had been living there for a year plus liao. We romed in 2004. So by the time we held our wedding, its not new after all liao..

hi gers, i m planning for my AD in sept 07. Meanwhile i have in mind to have an evening solemisation at OCC by poolside/garden, then a short reception that provide finger food, cakes and tarts, haven get their quotation yet. Followed by chinese sit down dinner at the Yishun lake garden. Has anyone use or considering using your florist to deco the venue like resturant?

hi Momo,
I'm also not sure why they're so against April. Dad's B-Day should be double celebration mah... But anyway, I think most important thing is that everyone must be happy lor.. cos' wedding should be a joyous occassion. If your parents not happy, probably you also not happy. Why do you want it in April? Any other options?

jhoo,

then u got to be very careful when helping out if ur sister in law oso helping out , later a lot problem .....haha

mmm.. little chance she will want to help out this biz..but if she really want to help, i dont mind because i can join other line which i like although pay is even low...but its passion

anyway remember the EG? over the weekend i have been thinking if want to change...i managed to take a few snaps & shown to my MIL and she said too much embroidery and should keep it simple. other than that think the sewing abit of uneven. haiz...im easily influence by others.so i call up the BS and they said will do something to the uneven part and seems like they dont want me to change. until my hubby saw me keep thinking of the dress so he called up the BS himself and they said will amend and let me try again and if not satisfy then they are ok for me to change.actually my hubby said he dont mind we spend abit of money on MTM as long as i like but i dont feel like spending so much money on BS as there will be much more things to spend on nearer to our wedding...

jhoo, dun b influenced by ur MIL lar. It's u who are wearing the gown, not her. So as long as u like it, i think dun b affected by her.

but i find something amiss after she said that.Its quite true of what she said. well, shall decide again after they amend the uneven part first. if uneven part is still obvious, then will change another one, or the most PS take that set, and AD will change another EG

Hmm...tot they should b able to alter it to fit u. Not too sure wat kind of uneveness u've encountered. Always trust ur own judgement lor. Else, settle something tat ur hb likes, and not anyone else. Tat's my feel.

need ur advise... i juz bought gold color organza for the top layer of my cheong sum... does gold looks malay? wat color shirt shld my hb wear?

Hi jhoo,

i intend to do 2 layer... top layer using gold organza w embroidery, 2nd layer is gold satin... initially wanted to use lace... but like e organza instead when choosing fabric... now abit scared diff match wif hb & not nice...

Hello jeraldin,

Not a problem.
Below 800 nett maybe can consider Amara too. That's our budget also. Heh... Amara's ballroom is gorgeous... and pillarless.
Carlton's one has 4 big pillars but i'm having about 30 tables so i figured blockage wun be much. They can hold max 38.
I wanted Amara at first but my friend having it there next June... so i dun want o have same location since we share so many common friends. And our alternative was Carlton which we're also happy with.

GCW and Oriental i think is more than 800 nett right?

Hi jo,
At least u dun have to worry about flat anymore. One thing off mind is so good. Hah... I think about all the shifting house, packing i already feel weak,.. hahha....

Ya, its very tiring to worry abt the flat, dinner, BS etc all at one time. My friend experienced that 2 yrs ago. Need to maintain a clear mind at all time if not very easily quarrel with ppl ard u. Stay cool gal!

it should look fine if your cutting is really those type of cheong sum & is tight-fitting. Then u can get your hubby try black color mandarin collar?

hi Padi hi Niko! U two haf the same AD. I'll like to haf my AD on 07.07.07 too but the banquet for the day was already taken long long time ago. Nvm 01.07.07 sounds goods too! Rite, Lynda?

hi Niko, wld ur food be prepared by Tung Lok at Fullerton? My fren told me she was there for a banquet recently. The food & deco was WOW!

hi Lynda, haf u thot of Club Chinos at Orchard Parade Hotel? Its rite opposite my ballroom. I tink they can take 20-25 tables. The deco is quite cool after the reno! The food is fr Tung Lok & price is reasonable. And we can c each other on our Big Day!
362581.gif

Hi Jaslyn,

We are just going to plan a simple engagement party with both our family and maybe with a couple of close friend.. after that then we will start searching for our lovenest.. most probably be in cck area since both our parents lived in this area... then probably can finish renovating the house by next year end then can have the AD by Dec.. if not we will have to postpone our AD to early 2008 coz we want to move in right after our AD...

so you must be busy preparing your house now lor... so good... that is a really good start.. anyway do you use msn? I really enjoyed chatting with you =) hahaha..

Hi jeraldin,

oic.. thats a gd idea..
ya, should stay near our parents..
so u intend to buy resale flat?
it should be faster if u get a resale flat.
so can hold ur AD in Dec.. hehe

ok lah.. not really busy cos my hubby not free mah.. after when he is free then will be busy lor..

yup, enjoyed talking to u too.. hehe

ya, i use msn.. ur email address the same as the one i use to send u the package? i will try to add u..

Hi Jaslyn,

yup yup going to buy a resale flat coz my area dun think will have any chance of new houses leh.. so probably going to spend quite abit on renovation since all these flats here are as old as me!! haha
Recently saw quite a couple of resale flats available so think we shouldn't have any problem finding a flat bah... hope we can get one that we like.. =) now only waiting for my darling to settle down.. told him about the wedding packages and stuff.. he is quite open .. lucky he not so stress.. haha

Yuki,

The shoes at Essex Walk ranged from $240 to $1,000. Thus depends on whether u re willing to spend the money on shoes... Coz i m a sucker on shoes... So, i m willing to spend... My bridal shoes costs me $290. That's after a 20% discount.

Jhoo, my word of advice on your EG. Its better to ensure that the dress is fitting on you when you tried it regardless of whose' opinion. The BS wont want to alter coz it means money and extra effort on their part. As I m a fussy dresser and if I spend so much $$ on my evening gown, I must ensure that its what I like and it looks good on me. Also, depends on what you like, some ppl like loads of embroidery on their dresses, some dun... So, personal preference.

I guess weddings, we will usually overspend on our budget.

Shers, I think its better for you to upload the pix of your gold fabric so that we could provide you with some advice. The way how a fabric drapes on a body is also very impt regardless of the color. Certain body shapes can't take fabric like Thai Silk due to the way it drapes on the body. In my case, I can't wear Thai Silk coz it will make me look fat.

hey nattie .. such a coincidence, ya i tot 010707 is cool too and since the shiful says it's good it must be good :D!!

im still looking for my wedding venue, how is Orchard Parade Hotel's package? i hv seen club chinos' website, hv not really went down to look and discuss wif the rest yet. i will be gog to park royal at beach road soon they also got rather good packages. padi how was ur package like ah?

amara also hv bridal show on 22nd april, all those keen must go rsvp with them.

hui! .. I HV FOUND MY LOVE NEST @ bishan. will be doing the papers soon!! so can update my info

Nick name: pocalyndas
ROM date : 060606
AD Date: 010707
AD venue: TBC
BS: Everbliss
PS Photographer: not taking!!
ROM Photographer : Jon Keng
Make-up artist: By BS
love nest: Bishan

Hi Jaslyn,
Sent u Sheraton & Amara package.

Hmm...quite alot of pple say Sheraton food is nice cos it's by Li Bai but I never try b4. Actually, I'm looking for a venue with nice food & ballroom. Most of the hotel banquet I went...the food is not nice or normal only.
So u gals have any recommendations of hotel with nice food?

Hihi... thought i'll join in too since my AD will be in July 07 as well... ^_^

Nick name: violetcrystal
ROM date : 130906
ROM venue : ROM premises bah...
AD Date: 070707
AD venue: Sheraton towers
BS: still searching...
AD Photographer: Sam Wong
AD Videographer: Kevin Yap
Make-up artist: TBC

wow, so many things abt fabric...

actually when i saw the gown, the embroidery caught my eye in the way it's not that 'wow' for me. its a surprise they alter the gown accordingly to my size when i go over that day(its not my MTM), and i appreciate that. But after thinking, overall its not as bad as it is. If i choose MTM, it mean we got to spend at least $400+ and my hubby dont mind using his progress package money for my MTM, haha..no lar, either i told my BS change another gown(PS stick to that but AD change another EG), or stick to that and save my money for other purpose...

The shoe at Essex walk so Expensive!...i have a budget to watch for each item to spend on, so think its out for me liao. and also most probably i will be wearing that shoe once only, hehe

Hi Lynda! Congrats on getting a place in Bishan! I am still looking. Boo hoo. Very hard to find one.
Where is yours? Did you have to top up?

My package is the one shown on the website $698nett per table. They are having a wedding show on 27th May 06 and I think they are having renovations now. Can call them to find out more.
Speak to Fiona.

Hi Nattie I wanted Orchard Parade Hotel initially too but ya lor, 070707 was booked! So quick! So I chose PPR.

Welcome Violetcrystal!
Do you have any preferred BS?

Hi jhoo & yuki,

meet up with Christopher yesterday... which package u'll take? able to ask for discount or additional things?

Sher, i took the premium package. i didnt ask for discount or addition thing as he charges very low compare to other VGs that charge around $1k+
so u will sign up with him too?

kaye, how did you manage to get 20% discount for the Essex Walk shoes? I got a quote from them already, my shoes will cost me $420 based on custom-made design. 20% is quite a substantial saving.