(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi muffin,

Its called Tom Shen Studio..
Below are the websites that they gave me..
Have a look if u have not seen this company before..

http://wedding.tomshenstudio.com
http://service.tomshenstudio.com

Welcome nebear!

I do not think its too early to book your banquet.. cos I heard that we must book 1 1/2 yrs earlier cos there might be a chance of not getting the venue you want if you book too late..
I am having my AD in Dec 07 and will be booking next month.

As for the BS i am not too sure.. have to ask the other gals..

Hey all...

Tom Shen studio is actally a freelance photographer.
He's the photographer i used for my ROM and probably will hire him again for my AD. He's a great guy to work with.

nebear,
Dun worry! It's not early. Mine is in Nov 2007 and i already book it. If you're sure of the hotel you want... just go ahead lor.

Hi twinstarz,

I am looking at getting an AD PG and VG. I have already confirmed my wedding venue and BS. Thanks for all the helpful BTBS out there.

Babystarlet : any idea who are the vendors at York's bridal show and is admission free?

hi jaslyn / gelaine,

thanks for the assurance! thot i am being kiasu.. heehee... becoz usually wat i heard was 1 year before. but afraid the venue wld be taken up as tats the onie 1 which fits our requirements.

Hi jaslyn,
Thanks! Got ur mail!
I'm looking at the venue now too. My budget is preferably less than $750. U got any to recommend?
Real headache....cos those I like all above my budget :\

hi jaslyn / gelaine,

i am considering tung lok. can check with u gals is there anything i shd look out for or negotiate before placing the initial deposit? once we placed the deposit, does tat mean if the price increase later, we wun be affected?

hi gelaine,

I m looking at Mertius mandarin, quite like it but muffin had recommended me Orchard Hotel so i will looking at it also..
I took Carlton for my ROM. The food there is nice and the coordinator is friendly..

hi nebear,

I am not too sure but i think u can compare with other resturants on what they offer.. see which one have a better offer..(but the food must be nice) I do not think after u place the deposit and there is a price increase u will be affected..

Hi jonic,

Welcome!!

Ya, i agree with you.. Real headache, those we like are all above our budget..

I have one package from Holiday Inn Park View which is $668 nett for wkends.. I will send to you.. u take a look..

Hi nebear,
Hmm... when u placed the deposit, you will actually sign a contract to state the price for each table. So prices will be fixed lor. Make sure you go through the contract line by line before you sign and anythign dun understand must ask. Also, do ask them what kind of penalty if you were to suddenly have to change date or cancel and all in case of unforseen circumstances
The rest of the things, will be based on what u want to negotaite for. BTW, Tung Lok is great!
Which one u looking at?

Jaslyn...

I wanted Mandarin too. But my date was on tentative booking already by another couple. So we din want to be placed on waiting list or what. So we decided to book somewhere else. Moreover, MM's price also abit steep for us. Heh..

thanks for the advice. how many tables wld u be havin?

gelaine,

i am lookin at either the tung lok restaurant or club chinois. but wld prefer the CC since can choose to hold it in ballroom. heehee...

Hey nebear,

I am having 30 tables min.
Carlton's ballroom can accomodate up to 38. So i think i'm still on safe side. Heh. Club Chinois food is nice. But i think they can only hold 28 tables max is it? If i din rememebr wrongly. Wanted to go view cc too but in the end, we're so satisfied with Carlton, we decided to take it.

hi gelaine,

CC can hold up to a max. of 32 tables, but i tink it will be very crowded, looking at the floor plan. reali? coz i hvent been there b4, so nt sure how's the food. now tat u said is nice, then i am not so worried. ;> btw, how do u find their svc?

used to shortlist carlton, but cant meet the min. no. and the smaller ballrms can only accomodate max 15 tables. so hv to take it off fm the list.

Hey nebear,

Yeah... i think i was told by a friend max 28 coz 32 would be very squeezy so her coordinator suggested max 28. But for mine, already hit 30. So dun think can accomodate.
But well... the last time i went cc, their food was great. My cousin had hers there. Service wise was not too bad. But i think service it depends on the sttaff they hire that day lor. If alot of inexperienced temp then will have more probs. If not then it's ok.
But no complaints from the guests i think. Try read up the forum to see lor.

Hi Gelaine,

So fast got people book for Nov at MM liao ah..
aiyo.. then for me Dec 07 dun noe whether got ppl book already anot..
My MIL still havent give me the date.. hope she can give me one today cos she is going to the temple today..

Hi nebear,

I will be having around 50 tables.. cos my dad wants to invite his business friends..
I also heard CC got nice food.. can go and have a look..

hi fudgecake,the main BS is J&C Bridal Collections
22 April 2006. At York Hotel. Exclusive privileges will be extended to all wedding couples when confirm their weddings on the day of the bridal show. $25 nett per couple inclusive of high tea. For more info, please call 6830 1203/1121/1205/1120.

not free leh!

hi i'm also a dec 2007 bride..actual day hasn't decided. Still waiting for tong shu which i hear will only come out during sep/oct this yr. I also haven't got my proposal yet! But bought the ring together.

Hi Jas
My budget is around 700+ nett too... those hotels that I like exceed my budget. Considering Carlton hotel, Holiday Inn Parkview so far. If you have the package 2007 for Meritus Mandarin, do share with me ok? According to the forum i read, some dates for Holiday Inn park view next dec 2007 are booked!!! Lagi stress ah!!!

Jonic, agree with you that is really headache cos alot of places are increasing their prices every year and those that we liked mostly out of our budget. I went to my friend's wedding at Conrad and I simply fall in love with the ballroom but its wayyyyyyyy off my budget...guess have to skip. Pan pac i liked but then also like 800-900+ by next year...arghhhhhhhhh....

Hi Cherinz,

I have Meritus Mandarin Package for 2007. I will send to you..Its wkend is $788+++..
Ya lor.. I also read that HIPV are quite pack next yr dec 07.. but i think u can try...

I got Carlton for my ROM. The food there is nice and the coordinator is friendly.. u can go and have a look..

I agree with you. they are increasing the price every yr.. so I told my hubby better faster hold our AD.. haha
Conrad is very nice but its too ex..
I have Pan Pac packages.. they increase by at least $200 for next yr package..
think its $1028 nett for wkend at the ocean ballroom.. it will be more ex for Pacific ballroom..

Dun be so stress ah.. relax then u can find ur hotel.. I dun even have my date yet..

My EG is ready and i can go over to wear and confirm my 2 EG this sat
so excited again, and hope the EG is sew nicely coz reli like the cutting

quite surprise that i dun have to chase and they still rem my EG still on pending

Can anyone enlighten on how you ladies got your dates? DId you go to any Master to calculate the dates?

I was told that the Tong Shu for Year 2007 is not out yet, so can't calculate yet. But how come you ladies able to get the dates?

Hey,

wow! You gals are so prepared for wedding in Jan 07 already? Oh no... i am so lagging behind. My AD is on the 1 Jan 07, so wat stage am i supposed to be at now? I haven even met up with the designer yet...

Hi Nic,

I was told by another gal in the thread 2007 Brides that you can go to the Geomancer or if you're buddhist u can go to medium in the temple to ask too.

My MIL is going to the temple to get a date for us.

Hi muffin,

oic.. looks like alot of gals like MM.. haha

for me its because my hubby side got not so many ppl.. so still can afford abit.. but trying to save $$ so will go to Orchard hotel to see 1st.. hehe

nice meeting u all here. i thot that to tink of marriage in dec '07 was abit too far-fetched. ha ha..great to read all the postings here. =)

i m not tt kiasu after all.=P

me hadn't done any of my research yet. will start now though.=) cos..we hav just moved into our nest..

ykfoo..u also just moved into redhill?? me too! =) which block have u moved into?? hee..!

happie to find a same-estate fren here.=))

Hi JJ,

Welcome welcome. Hehe

Actually my area is called Telok Blangah, quite close to redhill lah. Hehe. U staying opp the redhill mrt?

hihi ykfoo..

my parents-in-law stay around telok blangah. tt's y we bought a resale flat at redhill.

yah..opp redhill mrt..not those new ones. mine's inner abit..5-yr-old flat. =)

u just moved in..rite? how's the freedom so far?? =)) me n husband are so busy wif the hsehold chores..tt we r not used to it at all! =P

Hihi JJ,

Oic.. so u know my area quite well lah. Hehe : )

Mine also a resale falt but more than 20 yrs old liao :p But still quite good condition lah. Now undergoing painting of ext building. Hehe

We just moved in last yr Aug. Freedom still ok lah. Few blocks away from parents-in-law. Hehe. When got our own hse then know got so many hsehold chores 2 do. Hehehe. Luckily me like cleaniness while hubby likes tidiness. Hehe. So we share the work together. Hehe

hi gelaine / jaslyn,

tink i will pop by the hotel tis friday to view their deco & ballroom coz the coordinator said they hv a wedding tat day and hv just renovated the ballrm recently. :>

gelaine,

when u signed the cfm ctt with carlton, do u negotiate all the items on tat ctt? or does the negotiation comes later?

Hi nebear,

By right items should be negotiated before signing contract and then make ur coordinator write down in black and white lor.
But as for mine, i planned my negotiation with the 2006 package. But when we went to signthe contract, whatever we planned to negotiate is already included in the contract, which leads to us signing without negotiating AT ALL! Was kinda too caught aback lor. Hah... but well... me and my husband are very happy with the package so we have no complaints.

hi gelaine,

does the items included the food as well or onie the other stuff? wow, lucky u. :D i am now racking my brains listing down all the tings that i wld need to bargain for. heehee....

can share with me wat r the items u planned to negotiate for initially?

Hi Jaslyn,
Sorry to trouble u again, could u kindly send me the Meritus Mandarin Package for 2007? Thanks alot!

For ur info gals, Amara hotel is having a bridal show on 22 April. I might be going :P

Hey nebear,

We thought of things like extra bridal suite stay, food tasting full course for more pax, corkage waiver, more cards and parking etc. Can't really remember. Heh...

But anyway some hotels charges for deco and all.. So better to check too. Hmm... and also for seat covers, make sure all covered.
And maybe if you're particular can ask for real cake tier. But me and hubby had cake cutting at ROM so on AD , we're just having the dummy cake cutting ceremony...

Hi muffin,

Finally settle my date.. On the 1st of Dec 07..
Waiting for my MIL to go to the temple. yesterday she finally go...
Now at least I can start to plan..

yup yup..

argh..no photo..my dear dun dare to take any photo coz the staff said no taking photo is allowed...so sad.