(2007) Brides of year 2007

Hi Astrogirl,

thks for your advise. I will check wif my mum or my FH's mum on the geomancer thingy.. cos actually I amd my FH didnt want to refer to tong shu or geomancer..but no choice..you noe...

jhoo, I've booked my gown from Ted Wu. Just met him 2 weeks ago to discuss my design. My PS is in October. Which is your BS?

Mei,
Hi i'm 7th Jan bride. Ted Wu heard they're v good in embroideries.. but real exp.. so how much is your package kindly share.

Hi ham ham,

so do u like the other dates ...... keke :P
so u can start to decide where to book since u have the dates in hand

Hi JGal,

it seem like all my dates will chiong one of my relative .....hw shld i choose?
As long as they dun see me before the tea then it will be alright?

Hi muffin,

I guess it will depend a lot on how supercisious are u n ur PIL n Parents lor.

some of my frez dun even calculate dates and for me i have to because my MIL is very concern

The date I choose also “chong†my SIL horoscope, and we ask the master, he say its ok, as there are only 12 chinese horoscope, the date you choose will “chong†with someone. As long as not chong both side parents will be fine already.

Jhoo, thanks for your email! I am renting one and only WG from Margaret Brides. I just love her gowns!

Yup, i think Ted Wu, Kai Bridal are the better ones but you have to pay a price for it. And i feel that its inevitable that they will "chop" you coz getting married is once in a life time thing...

Also, sometimes i feel that i rather pay more than vomit blood.. My cousin got a 3k package, those all in one.... Wow, really vomit blood... It ended up she din take everything they offered her!

Wow, ted wu..me precious moment...cheap cheap only coz i dun intend to spend so much on bridal...wanna save more $ coz have spend alot on home and wedding liao & still have ton of things to spend on..and furthermore, currently, im the only source income as my hubby is still studying and will grad this May...hao bu rong yi waited for 3yrs..& waited for him for 7 yrs before we hold our customary...

just now so angry with my hubby...i tot so good fetch me from work..kns, in the end, mischevious, anyhow use my phone sent nonsense to my friends..now still fuming...

Hihi... sorry for being away so long.. wow i see a lot of people booking 0707 too.. hmm.. which means gotta book all my 'guests' liao.. hah.. :D
Oh well, settled quite a bit.. rom-ing next month because we need to produce the cert to HDb too.. so decided to do it anyway.. Hmm..rom-ing at My secret Garden..
Then.. settled my church liao..BS also done.. love nest also settled.. now waitin to collect keys to do up a little.. then.. left the hotel.. but looking at crown prince.. cuz of budget. :D
Hmm.. but yeah.. otherwise.. more or less should be ok.. probably engaging a wedding planner.. dunno which one.. but maybe by Vernetta Lopez.. see lah.. that's still a longggg way more. :D

Ling, our AD's on the same day!
Yes, Ted's embroidery is to die for! I only took my MTM wedding gown from Ted Wu at $3500. Have not decided on my EG yet.

kaye, Margaret does rental? I thought only buy. You mentioned the one & only one.. must be really special.

jhoo, wow.. it must be tough, preparing for marriage on single source of income.. wait for him for 3 years? You mean he was overseas for studies? Don't angry anymore lah, sometimes our hubbies do silly things one lah.

Mei,
how come cheaper than i expected.?? How many photos and do they have a few photographers for you to choose from? i was looking at Wedding Presents and the package is around $5K! without car somemore... But my sis got her package from there and its quite ok.. sianz.. gettin a bit gan chiong oredi.. haven really look around much yet =(

Ling, oops.. think I was not clear enough. Mine is not package. I took everything a la carte. My gown alone is $3500.

Mei,
ah... then its v exp.. but mus be v nice lor.. so envious.. dun think i could bear to sacrifice tt amt for the gown only.. Sigh.. tink most probably if i go for Wedding Present, the end spending will be ard $6K with additional photos.. & my bf only sparing $2k from his side cos he thinks those $4K package shd be more than enuff! Sigh.. any other recommended BS pls share leh..

Mei, finally found someone having same date as mine. Seems like a lot of the rest r having theirs on 27th Jan. So wher's the hotel you've confirmed?

Hi Ling, for me, I browsed magazines & identified those BS whose styles appeal to me.. then from there, I made appointments with them to try out their gowns & find out the pricing. Go to as many as you can, it's actually quite fun trying out gowns at different shops. This is really the best way to narrow down your choices to suit your personal taste & budget.

My venue has been confirmed at Ritz. What about you?

wah, Mei..seems like you are quite rich!...haha...Me & my hubby very poor..only can look for avg. hotel..so chosen M-hotel function room. But hor, in the end, my MIL take care of our banquet cost. so even if we make a loss, we wont have to fork out a cent even for the deposit of $3k. How many tables my mum request, my MIL will give..but also good to choose avg hotel coz my MIL is good enuff to take care of our hotel and furthermore lend us a sum of money for the reno or else our home will still be in cement and not having a proper flooring..hahaha..and also although we are not teochew, she is oso willing to buy si dian jing for me and is up for me to choose the design but there's a budget to watch. & also she said will sponsor fridge, washing machine for our lovenest, and make me feel she likes printing money..OPS.pai seh to accept so much help from her but if im not wrong, she helps so much coz my hubby is her youngest son and 27yrs old liao then graduate..haha

Me and my hubby agree that we will rather spend more money on our home..as for wedding, we keep as low as possible.

How abt honeymoon? which country u will be going? me shd be budget honeymoon again..keke..but we may want to consider gg swenden if my company allow me to take a long leave, can save a sum there on lodging as my bro-in-law's sis is staying there..pray pray pray..........

Mei,
mine at meritus mandarin.. u're really making me very gan chiong now.. haa... i've only looked at 1 BS and like stopping & stuck there!!! guess i'm too lazy to look around too much.. tot that too much will make you even more confused.. and i dun like the way BS trys to hardsell.. of cos except for those high class one lah

jhoo, I'm really lucky, my bf pampers me a lot.. so he wants the best for me.
Your MIL is very generous.. you are really lucky too. M Hotel where got average, it's quite a gorgeous hotel.. the suites are wonderful too! Have not planned honeymoon yet.. but most likely we'll go on a self-drive holiday around US.

Ling, no need to go so many.. probably narrow down to around 3 or 4 BS will be ok. Why don't you try Dang Bridal? She does lovely gowns too & her prices are really reasonable. I met her too & she's really nice & friendly & totally won't hardsell at all. I still have package email, let me know if you would like me to email to you ok?

Walau.. I'm terrible, everyday at work dream about my wedding & surf the web for ideas.

yah, luckily with a strong financial supporter or im going eat bread everyday liao..haha..

have all of you got your lovenest already? mine is at Jurong west..they are building the MRT liao, so will be very convenience for me few yrs later

jhoo, I'll be staying with my in-laws so we only need to renovate our room.

Jurong West.. I have lots of friends who stay there!

oh reli..im staying at st 61, are they too?i have not officially move in yet and have a few neighbours liao

mmm, my MIL is special..coz she supported us to buy flat and stay on our own so as to reduce any quarrel..but as she has did so much for us, we will reserve one room for them to come for chalet at any time they like.

My friends stay at Street 65.

That's really sweet & thoughtful of your MIL.
It'll be nice to invite them over once a while to stay.. can be quite fun too.. organise some steamboat dinner or something.

It must be really hectic planning for wedding & renovating your place at the same time. For me, I'm planning my ROM, AD & my room renovation. It's really hectic but I enjoy it..

Me still ok coz i got my hs since a yr ago..so less hectic for me on hs liao as its 85% completed..i will just need to concerntrate on the remaining 15% and 100% on wedding..

Hallo, gals!

My ROM and AD on 27 Jan as well!

Will not be getting a BS package but doing 'A La Carte' instead...So far, have managed to book the hotel venue and MUA. Think not having the studio photoshot but taking more pics on the AD instead. Lucky of you jhoo, me still sourcing for a flat.. Hope will be in time for the wedding.

Planning a wedding can be real hectic but fun rit? I hope we are all enjoying the process of doing so. So u gals almost done with the preparations?

havent been back here for awhile.
Finally setttled on some more things

please help update:

Nick: Pastillies
FH dialect: Hokkien
Ur dialect: Teochew
Date of ROM : 9th Dec 2006
AD in 2007: Oct/Nov 2007
AD venue: TBC
BS : Julia Wedding News
PS photo : Julia Wedding News
AD photo: Jacky Tan
AD video: TBC
Lovenest: TBC

Hallo!

Was reading the posts.. I tot i was KS... Apparently, i m not... Anyway, after booking the gown.. I need to concentrate on the reno for my new flat... Everything is just $$$!

Mei, Margaret does rental but the rental of her first hand gown as explained by her is comparable to buying a wedding gown... Thus, i think a lot of them will buy instead of rental...

For me, i am renting her 2nd hand gown... Coz i feel that its enough to wear it once plus, the gown will yellow with time and there's the storage problem too!

Hmm... my banquet venue is at Noble House... Hydrangeas where's your hotel?

Hi SH,

I agree, we can't possibly try to prevent "chong" with every relative's siblings chinese horescope. So my FH & myself have agreed that as long as we dun "chong" our parents good enuff le. Anyway my fengshui master also taught us how to "block out the "chong""-by writing some chinese words on red paper to be pasted on the door..so I'll just folllow wat he said...

Mei, thanks pls send me the package for Dang Bridal @ [email protected].. i'm going into their website to take a look for the time being.
Btw speaking about chatting and checking during office hrs.. u're not the only one! i'm doing that quite often as well that i'm starting to feel guilty!

Hi, hydrangeas! I'm also doing a la carte.. it's pretty fun shopping around for the various stuff.

kaye, you're not KS at all.. we're all January 2007 brides, less than a year to go.. if we have not started preparing, we should be anxious!
Oh I see, I thought Margaret Brides does not rent gowns as I read in the magazine. Her gowns are really romantic. I agree with you, I'm also only renting my gown, no point keeping it, storage's going to be a huge problem, rather save the space for my ever-growing shoe collection.. LOL.

Ling, I've sent you the email, please check. Heheh.. I'm forever taking mini breaks in-between work to surf the web for wedding stuff, chat on forums & daydream. Haha...

Hey, belle.. welcome... another 27 Jan bride.. this is a really hot date!

Hi Belle & Hydrangeas,

Welcome to Jan'07 BTB and 27th Jan- same as me, Kaye & Lizzy..

Hydrangeas,so which area of flat u are aiming at? resales or new?

Yeah, its hectic, but me and hubby enjoy the whole process..and its a surprise that we dun have disagreement..

Mei, ur dear dear so good hor..my hubby old student and gonna start afresh to save up money after he grad..anyway, dun feel guilty of surfing net during office hours, we are doing that too, whahaha

Dear jhoo, I never feel guilty surfing the web during office hours.. wahaha. I'm counting down the days to my wedding.. feel so excited!

Yuki,
i thnk for ROM its ok to witness the ceremony... Its only when the bridegroom comes to ur house to fetch u, during that period, the "chong" person will have to stay inside the room and not be seen loh..

Add me in too...

Nick: crescent
FH dialect: Cantonese
My dialect: Hakka
Date of ROM : 25th Dec 2006
AD in 2007: Oct/Nov/Dec 2007
AD venue: TBC
BS : TBC
PS photo : TBC
AD photo: One E** Click
AD video: Raymond Delon
Lovenest: TBC

haven't been in here for quite some time and finally settle some stuff. changes in AD as well seems like the initial date in not so good for the both of us.

Nick: Clara
FH dialect: Hainanese
My dialect: Hainanese
ROM/AD : 1st April 2007
AD Venue: Carlton Hotel
BS : Mr & Miss Wedding Club
PS: Mr & Miss Wedding Club
AD photo: Lam
AD video: TBC
Lovenest: Duxton

Will appreciate if someone can update for me... Thanks a lot

Wow... U gals really counting down...

So envious of you all, having internet access at work!

Anyway, my stewpig boyfren is finally back from his hols! Went to discuss with him on the reno and the bridal stuff... The more we discuss, the more things we come up with = more money required!

Another headache! But, its quite fun at times, looking for sinks, cookers + hoods etcc.....

What abt you gals?

Kaye,

For my sink, i force my contractor gave me FOC..hahaha. Some of the things i oso got my contractor to install for me FOC and they reli dun mind. I din buy hoods coz im not a good cook and hubby agrees, so we just bought a cookers at $330.Yah, all cost money. The initial setup of fam is so X...luckily my dad is carpenter and it's his biz, so he gave me a huge discount on all my custom-made furniture, even my dinning table and chairs. And heng heng my bro-in-law is electrician and own his biz too, so he gave me downlights - 13 of them, keke and installed those lighting i have brought...if not for them, i may not even have bread to eat everyday..whahahaha

if you need any curtain supplier recommendation, let me know coz the one i have engaged is good and cheap too..

any girls need hs advise, feel free let me know..

Mei, the more we talk, the more i want to go for fitting today, PS tml and AD the day after...whahahaha....

Hi Astrogirl,

My AD is in March 07. tentative date is 30.03.07.
Wanted 11.03.07. Cos my ROM is on 11.3.06. But FMIL sae cannot within one mth of Chinese New year. I also dunno y. Some chinese beliefs i tink.
But supposedly tis 30.03.07 is also a tentative date. Think FMIl also wanna go to a geomancer but she haven been to. Actually i dun realli care about tis kindda auspicious dates stuff at all. But ... ... well... to please elderly, so got to wait for a date loh.

hi, Juliana!

ohhh... so ur AD is in mar next year... mine is on 10 feb next year, just one week b4 cny. nber heard anyone say wedding cannot be within one mth of cny ley... even the fortune teller & geomancer nber told me tat. but itz all up to u la...

u thinking of holding ur banquet at where?

Heheh, me & jhoo are lucky, we get to access internet at work.. so we can daydream about our wedding at work!

Kaye, it's like that! The more we discuss, the more things we want.. it's normal, who doesn't want a perfect wedding eh? But of course, some things aren't practical so got to scrap. I managed to persuade hubby to get a real wedding cake for our ROM celebration.. really happy over it!

Dear jhoo... yalor.. the more we talk, the more we get so excited.. but really, I feel the fun part is also the planning & counting down. My friends who are married tell me that on the AD, things move so fast & you're so busy until you don't even realise it & even forget what happened!

I don't need to worry about sinks & what-nots as I'll be staying with my in-laws.
jhoo.. you lucky girl, got so many lobang!