(2007) Brides of year 2007

haha, mei, alot of friends told me i shd go and learn how to lay the floor..then my whole fam can be a contractor liao..

so during day time, only me and mei ard..luckily got mei accompany me or i shall bored to death..hehe.

We have no wedding cake for ROM but we had santa claus hat coz our ROM was on xmas eve 04..how abt u? when's ur ROM? Me held at carlton and luckily we did it early coz the price shot up so high now..

Kaye, if can, try to take 0% installment for your electrical items, then it wont be that siong for you since u will need more money when u have house and wedding together..

jhoo.. we accompany each other to daydream about our weddings at work.. pass time lah.. keke.

My ROM will be a beach wedding at Sentosa to be held 1 week before our AD.

wow, that's nice..i wanted to be there too, but...no $$$...argh...how come u dun want to do it together?AD and ROM?

My hubby says it's too rush to squeeze everything in one day. Plus, it's a perfect opportunity for us to hold a casual, outdoor, beach wedding. Sentosa is a significant place for us as my hubby proposed to me there.

Hi Kaye,
My ROM and dinner will be at Shangri-la. Didnt went to shop for hotels cos hubby and i like that place a lot since courtship days... Be having a cosy affair with just relatives and close friends..

Wow jhoo, good that you got some help on renovations. Heard that it is not easy to deal with contractors though. Any tips we should bear in mind when discussing the contract with them? Me looking for resale flats near our parents..

Mei, how's your vendor shopping so far? Book your MUA? If not, can look at other threads in this forum. That's where i source for my MUA too.

Welcome Belle! How's your preparation going?

Hi Yuki,

the lady told me on 1Mar that she'll be sending out the invites...still havent rec it leh...
I thnk if never rec it, then just go there and inform the recep..should be ok rite?

Mei, the very first location i met my hubby is at ECP...the place he proposed is at Changi beach...so i love beach the most...So mei, will u be in bikini?keke

Hydrangeas,
most impt is to get them ensure no more hidden cost, and also ask abt the haulage, debris clearing fee as some contractor will absorb the cost while some owners will absorb...Mmmm..the payment oso and most impt the last payment like u need to check the tiles etc first before paying the last payment..

hydrangeas, shopping so far so good! I've already booked my MUA in January this year. I got TG Goh.

jhoo, no lah.. no bikini for me.. don't wait my guests to faint! Lol... probably a breezy, knee-length dress.

so will u be getting the dress from your BS?
Previously, i bought one ROM dress, bare back and due to work, my size become S to M...so went to buy another dress and now, my two dress in the wardrobe collecting dust, so i wont keep MTM dress...and now, i wont let history happen again on my size for my big day...trying so hard to reduce my intake and now size is S, i still wanna be less than S...

Nope, not getting from my BS. I should be either buying it from some boutique or I'll get my seamstress to tailor a dress for me. ROM no need to spend so much money.

Hi Jewelmelody. Same tot here. Would prefer to talk to master personally. Got another contact from my colleague, the charge is $288.

Hallo!

After reading your posts, its such a relief... Tot i was abnormal! I do want a beach wedding but my future MIL slammed it down straight.. Was quite PISSED OFF with her...

I guess there's really alot of compromises... Added with my PMS symptoms, I get into arguements with my boyfriend more over things like hiring a photographer etcc... Really want to control my emotions at times but difficult!

Mei, you re wrong about the ROM dress...

I spent in total about $400+ on it... I bought one first that costs $200+, realised not okie.... Then, my mum agreed to sew one for me.. I went to buy french lace that makes me poorer by another $200..

But i told myself that i can use that ROM dress as a tea dress during the tea ceremony.. so still not so bad!

Really, sometimes i think wedding is a scheme to make us contribute to the economy!

Hiya, i'm new here. nice to meet you all. will tie the knot in 2007 too. looking for banquet venue now, any recommendation? what about bridal shop then?

kaye.. I saw this design in the bridal mag that I love, so I'm going to improvise on it, make it into a two-piece, lace top with flared knee length skirt, next time I can wear them separately on normal occasions, so I guess it's ok to splurge on it. But it's going to be definitely cheaper than getting a dress from BCBG or something like that.

i spent abt $200+ for the 2 dresses and sometime wanna wear to a wedding dinner but find it too grand...so i dun think i have anymore opp to wear liao, esp the bear back...

Anyway, mi planning to have my fitting and PS early, but do u think its ok? fitting in mar, ps in jun?

Yuki,

I've received the invitation liao! Go check ur mailbox...if still havnt rec, better give intercon a call n see if u can just go there n tell them ur particulars. I'm sure it'll b no prob...See u there ya...Can give me a buzz over there if u wan.. =)

sassy bride, welcome! =)
banquet venue will depend on how many tables u're looking at, the theme, wat kinda food etc etc...As for BS, there're so many BS! Perhaps u can tell us wat kinda gowns u're looking for, and ur budget? There are one-stop BS, and those slightly high-end ones...

Hi Sunflower,

so good ... me havent received

i checked my mailbox 3 times already .... juz went dwn to check but still nope

can share with me the perks for the shows? who are participating??

sorry shd be bare back..anyway, girls, my hs is 90% completed with the curtain installed today..the curtain is really a makeover and beautify the hs so much...yeah, now left 10% and probably next month will left 5%..

Hi padi... Hmmm.. haha.. actually u know my fh and i got the flat which is confirmed enbloc.. so currently now we are not intending to do it up much.. cuz it is going to be demolished.. so we'll just concentrate on the new place next time.. which will be in 2009... or slightly earlier. but yeah.. we wil most likely be able to save a little on reno.. And plus our monthly installments now are much more manageable.
But it's a 3-room flat for the time being. Hmm.. Oh well, so i guess now i can have the fun to renovate it myself. hehe... At least if it's ugly.. we'll just have to bear with it for a few years. HAHA
Hmm... my BS is from Golden horse..how about u Hui?

Hey Jhoo,
I think shld be ok .In fact, dun forget this year aug and sep r ghost mth.So many ppl will not take their PS. But once these mths r over, everybody would be rushing to hav their PS done. Then will be difficult to book a date.Also if you choose your gown earlier,you can hav the priority to book the gown that you like.So its always good to do earlier as long as its within that one yr

Hi Lizzy,

thanks, i have just called up zoe to book the date liao and will go ahead with mar & jun...have it early so that i dun have to push so many things till last min..at least nearer date, i can have more rest, concentrate on grooming and be a pretty bride..hehe

so u confirm going ahead with you PS date?

Now gotta be busy with my jian fei loh...find that i have done alot for home and wedding yet somehow feel there're still alot of things to be done..haha

I got mine from Style Bridal. Eileen (their manager) is pretty nice, though I have yet to really go down to their studio to take a look at their gowns. So a bit anxious about it. Still praying that we've made the right choice. :P

We're still looking for a flat too. So stressful. :P All the best in your search for hotel!

haha.. i got that stress too.. still must make sure the parents also approve of it.. dunno lah.. a lot of tension then with the parents side... oh well.. think my hotel is more or less confirm... should be crown hotel..
hmm.. it's one of the hotels within my budget. :D
when u rom-ing?

Hi Jhoo,
Yap.I've decided to go ahead with my PS on the 16th April.My trial and fittings is on 1st April.Like veri early hor ???But no choice, dun know when my hubby going overseas.So who's your Photographer. Has Zoe arranged for you or you hav someone in mind?I chose Ken cos I like his works that's hanging on the wall.Now getting excited with my coming PS.So you choosing your gown this mth?Tell you that you r gonna miss your gown after you hav chosen them.Like for me, I've alredi started missing those gowns :> haha...

Hi Lizzy,

Dun worry..just go ahead with your PS...most important is to keep yourself in the top condition for your PS...

Yes, we are going this month to choose gown before my hubby gonna lock himself in the room studying for his final exam...keke

and we share the same photography...

Do share with me your PS experience after your session ok?.. Do u know that you can view and select your photo next day liao?...

Hi Jhoo,
Ya. I heard from some of the brides here. But haven't hear from Roland abt this.BtW, you r going to enjoy during your gown selection. It's really veri fun. Trust me. But tired hor.I did so much zipping till my thumb pain.Also advisable not to bring friends . Cos the more ppl you bring , the more confused you will be.Then wait end up the gown that you think nice , ppl said not nice. Juz go with your choice.

hee thanks all.. wow.. u gers have prepared so much already? just booked my hotel recently at marriott.. and 27 jan really is a hot date! all hotels called are booked!! and just signed up french bridal during a wedding show.. my rom gona be 14 oct, have not planned anything yet. now negotiating for my new hse.. am getting a resale hse.. any advise from u gers?

hi fangy,

I actually went to a Master by the name of Master Chen Chun Tian and according to him, the tongshu for yr 2007 will be out only this year July Gregorian mth and that july gregorian actually concide with the lunar 7th mth. This year has two(2) 7th mth ( called "Ren Qi Yuan") and according to practise, pple usually won't look for master to consult on wedding date.

Hence if have to wait for 7th lunar mth to be over, we can only consult the master on 8th lunar mth for next year 2007. By the time we inquire, our fav hotels venue may be booked!

So with the help of my mum from searching internet, my 1st choice will be 24th March ( Lunar mth 2 , Day 6) and I now sending inquiries to hotels to inquire any availabilty of date...
My fiance is also happy with my chosen date...
Our plan is to hold customary in the year of pig..

hi fangy,
the master chen chun tian charge S$68 however the tongshu will be out in july and provided you can wait you may like to consider him/
I can't wait leh so have to search from internet and it is clear i only want to go for saturday hence the dates selected are quite limited in this sense.

YESS! Exactly! Must make sure parents approve of my dinner place! Thankfully they are much more compromising than I thought. So i think I was worried for nothing. I'm confirming my dinner place to be at Grand Shanghai (Grand Corpthorne Waterfront). Its also one of the places within my budget. :P

ROM-ing on AD. Doing it in church.
You?

Hi Lizzy,

thanks for your advise...ya, u are rite..dun bring friends..think zoe will help me with the zipping rite..im so worried im too fat for the gown..is the gown very small size there?

Hi Belle,

for resale flat, it is best not to purchase flat that is too old in term of the age of the flat and oso the condition inside the flat..or else u will have to spend alot of cash on hacking here and there...if there's too much hacking, then new flat will be a better choice

Hi Yuki,

so did u attend the show yest? I went..the food was good! The gowns at Divine are nice...but i din sign up with them.. Frankly speaking, i think its better that we make a personal appt with the hotel coordinator BEOFORE the show, coz she will show us the hotel ballrooms. We were not shown the various ballroom/ function rooms yest... like that how to sign up ritE?

Hi Sunflower,

Yes, I attended the show yesterday

Yap the food not bad but my FH din like the rice n the fish ......keke :P
Divine gown are really nice but their booth the person like not very friendly....

u planning to sign intercon? did u know hw many sign up yst? the benefits din seem very attractive

updated...

Nick: crescent
FH dialect: Cantonese
My dialect: Hakka
Date of ROM : 25th Dec 2006
AD in 2007: Oct/Nov/Dec 2007
AD venue: TBC
BS : Julia Wedding News
PS photo : Julia Wedding News
AD photo: One E** Click
AD video: Raymond Delon
Lovenest: TBC

Yuki,

u managed to attend?? Great! But too bad i duno who u are, else can catch up with u...hehe!

The rice quite ok lah, at least its fragrant! =p Where were u sitting? I was seatedon the left side, facing the stage...one of those front tables...

Yup have to agree that only the 1st few WGs are nice; the rest so-so, nothing to wow abt loh...as for the EGs... erhh... dun like their colors leh...too "frivolous" for me! I like the 1st cheongsum though... =)

Since we have not decide on the date, and have not viewed the ballrooms in Intercon, we went off after the show ah...haha!

eh... paiseh... seems that some of u come to the wrong thread. this thread is for those who are holding their wedding in feb next year, not mar.

Hi Jhoo,
The gowns are not veri small size. Dun worry. When I wear the gowns . Still got so much allowance until Zoe had to pin for me. There's nothing to prepare and bring for gown selection. Maybe juz hav an idea of wat type of gowns you really like so that you can tell Zoe and that she can bring down for you to try.And also. Since our AD is more than 1/2 a yr away fr. our PS. We will be entitled to choose another EG & WG.I didn't cos I'm alredi happy with my WG ang EG.If never take pics in them like veri weird.

I'm rom-ing next week... on a tuesday... cuz of the flat.. so i guess slightly earlier than you.
Would love to do it on the AD but.. oh well, jsut treat it as something fun to do. :D
Anyway, that sounds great.. you got most of the things settled.. anything left?