(2007) Brides of year 2007

skinnybeany

Jas>> okies, tks for the info.

We can just use the $500 deposit we placed. The bed frame actually cost $1,000. But cuz it has to be custom-made in a way, they'll only order it for us in april...so in a way, they dun lugi mah...only us lor.

Now we die die have to find somethings to buy from the shop. hehee

PL>> oh..no wonder.

brightstar

schnauzie, yah lor..cos friends have their own commitment and it is very rare some friends will say "u just decide, we will help u out in everything!!!"

there is some misunderstanding btw my wife and her best friend cos her best friend wan to change what my wife had planned...sigh...

so many times, we do it ourselves, we get more stressed....

storeberry

Wahahaha...!!! Yah we are all lovely berries!! Hee... :p

sailormoon, I only have two months lei... And I need to settle my house because getting keys tomorrow! Must have super organisation skills!!

Speaking about HM, my FH is a workaholic so he say difficult to go for long holidays, we still discussing.. Might go only Australia...

brightstar

a suggestion...even thou the furniture shop promise to deliver the furniture..it would be ideal to call them 3 weeks before hand to check the status....

sometimes they may gif excuses like shipment delayed or no stock...at least we still have time to react or even cancel the order....>.<

just my two cents worth

brightstar

yah lor..many times we just need that extra bit of encouragement and affirmation from our love ones to remind us what we r doing is good.. >.<

brightstar

sometimes for HM, i feel it is the quality..again depend on couples...some want to go for long holidays...or some just wan to take short breaks at a resort...

schnauzie

brightstar - u r right. my frens are more the kind who will be unhappy but dont say so i was pretty stressed when shopping for a bridesmaid dress. so i reserve the dresses, sent them pictures first..once the vibe was ok i sent them there to try the gown all like then it was confirmed. guys side they are easy but when it comes to girls and what they wear..they may love u and try to accommodate but they still wanna look pretty. Tryin to arrange for a sit down dinner for my 4 bridesmaid was difficult too and tryin to make them feel at ease since they don really know each other but lucky thing everything went ok (no fight) and the exchanged contact so i let them carry on from there..i don wanna interfere

sailormoonwt

brightstar : yup ! i agree with u ...its the quality, the love &amp; the companion u hv by yr side tat makes the whole honeymoon memorable &amp; beautiful..

go Jeju island is one of my little wish oso... noe tat must go during spring to witness their pretty flowers PLUS must go to the bear musuem leh! tink i will faint seeing so many of my fav bears man!

Dina : go Aussie oso not bad..go F&amp;E..can drive &amp; cruise around...on yr own time...dun need to rush together with tour group...tink it can slow dwn the fast pace lifestyle tat u &amp; yr hb hv ... enj the time quietly &amp; slowly ..

jaslyn_82

ya lor.. Pei Lin.. at 1st scared also..
but think the shop so big should not be a problem lor..
heng ah.. I got my things..

junie.. welcome!
I see.. cos I went to OM they insisted I have to untilised the full amount which is $1488.. then I only paid $688 for my deposit..they havent even do anything cos I havent confirm the colour and side for my L shape sofa..
so I got no choice...
if u wana buy anything from them... make sure u really like it... then dun change lor..

skinnybeany

Jas>> How come need to put deposit when u mentioned, it's full payment before delivery?

U mean paid deposit 1st, then when confirm when to deliver, make the remaining payment ah?

Such a big company also requires full payment 1st meh? But sometimes not only scare goods dun deliver, but also if the pdt delivered is faulty, then jialat.

chendol

help! my overseas friends are asking whether I have a wedding gift registry.

I tried to set up one on Amazon.com, figuring that they do deliver to Singapore, but recently those who went said that they don't deliver the items they wanted to choose to Singapore. rats.

I've tried asking around Robinsons and Ikea but they don't have such a service. anyone else knows any shop in Singapore who does that?

lovely_samsoon

hi kyra &amp; petrina &amp; all other BTBs

think we are all under quite a bit of stress for the wedding preps and house etc... but if i cld offer another focus, it would be on the marriage itself. all these hussle and bussle are for the marriage, i.e. the reality after all that WG, makeup, hair do are taken off. so thru the wedding prep stage, it is a transition into the marriage itself.

hope im not being too preachy here. i do definitely face a fair bit of problems too. for eg quarreled with my HTB countless times over this CNY long weekend. its really tough to put two individuals, who have lived as an individual unit by themselves, to suddenly have to be with another individual almost on a 24/7 basis. i find this thot scary too. but i believe that with the right focus, it can be done. committment is the key to all things. cannot suay bian give up when the going gets tough. i got really encouraged after reading this book, A Sacred Marriage by Gary Thomas, while gng through my marriage prep class n that helped a lot. u gals and email me if u want to know more and i wld be more than happie to share with u on what i learnt

back to the grind! had to go back to the office during weekends to clear my work
have to stick to this job that pays the bills for now though the hours are looooong. dun think its a good idea to change jobs now

jaslyn_82

junie..ya lor.. as what u say lor..
also cos that time I havent confirm the colour..
so I have to go down again to confirm the colour and pay the full amount...

ya lor.. so I check when the man deliver..
anything wrong with the products anot...

skinnybeany

buy furniture so difficult ler.

We saw one L-shaped sofa @ Mondi which we liked but dimension too long for our living room.

Then we saw one @ Lorenzo but $600 out of our budget.

I think dining table the most difficult to buy.

bluberi

hi gals!

Esther is rite, dun ever buy furniture fm Novena. my mum bought a wardrobe fm them n we got nothing but trouble. shoddy workmanship and lousy material. the whole wardrobe turned mouldly within a few months.

Junie, Serta bedframe used to be quite exp. but now if u get with their mattress, it's actually foc for the bedframe.

yesterday went to my nest. HB decided dat the wanted the dining table to be outside the study room, so i can eat n watch TV at the same time. but after finally arguing dat the table will block the study room entrance, he said we can hack the study room wall and shift the entrance from the center to the side. maybe we'll hack our kitchen n service yard to replace the floor tiles if it's not too expensive. coz the grouting for the current wall tiles is very black and can't be washed away. SK branch office said they can't hack n replace coz there is no prob with tiles. they can oni arrange to hack and we pay for the replacement of tiles.

skinnybeany

aGnes>> I bought the mattress from Getha. Full latex.

Quality better than Lotus &amp; better priced than Omazz.

Cost me about $1,700 for queen size (after discount, UP: $2,199).

The Serta bed frame we got was special price cuz we asked the lady whom we bought the mattress from, for any good recommendation for bed frames, then she brought us to the shop few units from hers.

Both ladies are very friendly &amp; nice.

Now we headache dunno which Pole system company for WIW is good.

jaslyn_82

junie.. agree with u..
always what we like cant fit or way out of our budget...

Lorenzo furniture really must buy during sale..
that day I saw one L shape sofa going @ $999..
but my hubby dun like..
my mum bought her dining table @$999 also..nice..

vane

hi lissy, i'm using the invitation cards supplied by Chjimes. Just going to DIY my own programme booklet which will given on the actual day. still sourcing for ideas. i'll check out yours and show my hubby. =)

kyra

jenpoc - Actually it should be 2011 because I would really love a Rabbit baby. But because it is way too late, so maybe 2010 still ok (tiger). Preferably no rat or ox for my case. I'm turning 28 this year liao.

My hb is also the only son and he is the ONLY grandson for his family. His elder sister has 2 daughters. Friends have also asked if I would be under any pressure to carry a boy but I only wish for 1 kid, so gender cannot come into picture liao.

My career also half past six leh...And most importantly, I am not ready I feel. Cant even take good care of myself most of the time =P

BTW, are you a santi bride? Which photographer and MUA are you taking?

lovely samsoon - Thanks for the post. What's the book by Gary Thomas about?

skinnybeany

Zh*plin??

Is it a company or brand?

I know Alumix &amp; Ximula has a direct factory shop in Toa Payoh.

My HB keen on IKEA one cuz cheaper but I know IKEA quality cannot last one...

Alumix uses melanine/chip-board, which is not so good, instead of solid plywood.

gregina

Junie...u very certain u wan WIW? :p coz I heard lots of complains regarding WIW leh...dust is one issue liao.

btw, if you considering pole system, do note that if you intend to repaint the room next time, you'll have difficulty repainting the areas behind the poles

hmm...actually if sofa too long, I think the company can customise the length, no? Those I spoke to, say they can customised the length for me.

skinnybeany

PL>> ya, I also read abt probs concerning WIW.

especially for those situated next to the toilet, which is mine also!

Actually I thought of keeping those clothes/items in boxes or transparent containers to keep off dust &amp; easier to clean.

Then those hanging ones, too bad lor...hehee

We thought of putting string curtains at the entrance of our WIW, instead of door to keep out the moist...but then reading from other posts, now I'm worried abt dust.

haiz..

skinnybeany

PL>> depending on which furniture shops...some can.

But the one we really like at Mondi is fixed one, cannot customise.

Ok, shall wait for Lorenzo sale (hopefully during GSS)!

bluberi

junie, Zh*plin is the company which supplies Ximula and Alumix system if i'm nt wrong.

i have also heard of complaints for WIW, coz it gets rather dusty.

ah_kiat

hihi lovely_samsoon,

it is definitely not the right time for a job change now... will add more stress to yourself.... a couple of my cousins advised me against a job change at this period.... cos there are just too many other things to worry about....

actually im quite interested in the marriage prep class.... cos im thinking of getting my bf to attend one with me... think it'll be very useful for both of us.... if you dun mind, can share with me more info on the class??

thanks a lot gal!!

cactus_79

Hi mymelody,

Like lovely samsoon,I attended marriage prep class with my husband too. Hope to share with you more about the course we attended.

It's 5 sessions of 2.5hrs each, weekly sessions, held at a coordinator couple's home. Organized by touch community services. Cost $200, we get a $70 rebate from MCYS if we attend all sessions. Includes a personality profiling test- analysis is done 1-on-1 (1 couple per coordinator couple). Topics include communication, the meaning of marriage as an institution, ILs issues, financial planning and sexual intimacy.

bamster

Having gastric pain this morning.. seen doc.. but no mc.. haiz.. Don't know how come after lunch got diarrea.. now keep running in and out of the toilet.. Hiaz...

bamster

hiaz.. i gave up hope on Docs from Raffles Medical.........

Now i can only quickly wait for 6pm to come.. then i can go back and sleep!!!

skinnybeany

bam>> take care yea.

your company doc really "neow" leh. always so difficult to get MC.

Jas>> I went to see my company doc just now. She also confirmed it's a lump &amp; advise me to go for ultrasound-scan.

But me have to get approval from my HR Dept before she can fix an appt for me.

haiz...I hope it's not cancer.

chendol

I called Tangs oso. Dun have.

Taka has? maybe I'll call them. But need an online one.... Tiffanys... i think they have, but I'm not expecting my guests to get me tiffany's stuff. prefer white gold to silver, heh.

skinnybeany

Bam>> my left breast

My HB told me no use worrying now cuz worrying won't make the lump go away.

Even if my HR Dept dun approve of paying for the scan, I'll also do it &amp; pay for it myself.

bamster

can use medisave? but your HB said is true lor.. this money can save.. health is more important than wealth...

Better check early..

No matter what.. We pray for you that it is not serious..

skinnybeany

tks, Bam.

Utlra-scan cannot use medisave...

aGnes>> your gynae @ Thomson Medical Centre...can just call &amp; make appt ah? Or for 1st timer, we need to go down there physically to register 1st?