(2007) Brides of year 2007

shers83

hi mei & yuki,

i go LD for facial also... tink not much improvement leh... initailly signed up for brightening... then they recommend ultrasensitive... after i signed up, she recommend LHE... so angry... feel cheated... cos she say ultrasensitive good for me etc... after i signed up, nxt session ask me sign LHE...

yuki, which area IT u doing? me doing coding...

piglet, yeah trying drink lots of water... i go facial monthly... too lazy go once every 2wks leh... sometimes fully booked. sigh

chendol

Yup I'm on diamond peel as well. that seems to work the best so far, or rather, the results are immediate and drastic. but wondering whether it's too harsh on skin though.

my beautician uses it on my eye area too! Is it the same for you, compassrose? Feel like telling her not to apply on my eye area...

thinking whether just using good products regularly can remove need for facial.

meie

shers.. that's the problem with LD.. everytime after we finish the facial.. we'll get stuck there with them asking us to sign up more packages or buy products.. that's something I get really irritated with. There was once I showed my temper & they let me go.. after that they were not as persistent as before. Other than that, I really like their facials.

corsage

hello everyone

I only started my 1st ever facial in March this year..coz of the wedding! haha. I am doing IPL coz I have freckles =p Some pple think they are nice, but I don't think so! Have not tried Diamond Peel before though...

Cleavage..think I won't show any..haha, prefer to be more covered up

cutie_gal

Hi Compassrose

U so hardworking, go jog twice a wk somemore. I abit lazy n by the time finish work rather late so only did some crunches in the nite.

Spaghetti straps can huh? Won't it somehw squeeze it out?
Wan ask u gals, padding helps meh? Still can't squeeze out any cleavage leh? Or mine reali too small, haha...

Diamond peel is suitable for certain ppl nt all. Cos some may aggravate the skin n cause pimples, tat's wat happen to me, so I didn't go le.

monyetnakal

Hi girls, i did microderma... (forgot), because i have lot of oil clogs.

My colleague in my team just resigned, so my boss asked me to cover for her until new person come
so much things to do.. so no time to read singaporebrides forum anymore

coco_mybibi

hi sunflower,
can gimme your email address?

actually hor, you can really see alot of differences between the expensive ones and the budget ones. even though the budget ones may be able to capture all the important moments, the lens, the lightings and the angle taken can affect the photo alot. I spent most of my time shopping for a PG and I have seen so much that I am so tired of it.

corsage

Mona - poor you
Hope a new person comes in soon! Make sure you get proper rest!

Cutie Gal, maybe you can try those stick-on bras? Looks not bad
(I've not tried myself though...) Think i need to do crunches too...

huiz

I think padding only gives the illusionary "bigger" look i.e. make the 2 "mounts" appear bigger without the added "oomph" of a "long kang".... heehee

Cutie Gal, think we are in the same boat ;-P

corsage

LOL! Huiz: I've never thought of that as 'longkang'!

Am planning an all girls trip to BKK soon.. Super excited!
I've planned out a full itinerary tog with a cousin who lives there...gonna be lotsa shopping, massages, chilling out and clubbing
woo hoo! I SO need this break!

Anything I can get there for the wedding, you all think?

babystarlet

HI Clueless,me now staying at bedok,new hse at tiong bahru,current reno still in progress.
let me know if u need to buy cheap bathroom accessories,i got contact to buy at cheap prices.

Thanks fudgecake

padi

Hi Vez! Seems like you are a Raffles Hotel BTB.
Moiselle is in Raffles Hotel right? Hehehe.
It is a beautiful place!

chendol

oh when are you going corsage? I'm going end-Aug... excited! But only for 3 nights, 3 days... actually I've been BKK 4 times before, but still have yet to go Chatuchak nor done manicure...

wow your cousin lives there? You're going to have lots of guidance to go all the really cool places that only locals know about.

I'm definitely going to Healthland spa at least once! Dunno whether there are things to buy for wedding though. I dun need wedding favours. and a little early to buy house stuff...

Poor thing, Mona... take care ok? Must get enough beauty sleep.

I'm also trying to do crunches and leg lifts (stretch your legs straight and lift 45 degrees to ground) - need work on tummy area lah!

iceshaker

Hi My Melody,

ya, are you taking the grand ballroom? No pillars hor. But need at least 55tables! wah you're going hav a huge party! heehee i tink that night will be quite crowded with our guests. I will most prob be having 35 to 40tables.

What i did was go for price that fits my budget. Called up a few hotels that me and fiance thinks is nice and like. Then look thru all the packages, if the base price already exceeds our budget (eg Oriental) then we will not even make appointment to go down.

So in the end out of 7, we only shortlisted 4. We felt that the food at Westin might not be so good (only by looking at the menu) so we dropped it. As for PanPac its not as value for money as it may seems. Besides didnt really like it there.

But i really fell in love with Hyatt, with the NICE LONG AISLE. hehe but too bad, i no more money liao. So i think Meritus is the best choice too. It's nice too, and quite grand.

jennhoo

Me going BKK in Sept .. Co's trip hahahah only 3 days 2 nites ..

i did diamond peel for facial for the 1st few times, now revert back to normal one cos feel no difference at all ... being going for the facial every mth since March this year .. kekeke just for the wedding ...

I just did eye brow embrodiary too last week ... any gals did tat ?

dalkidalki

hi iruka, i've settled my BS earlier on & have decided on the banquet venue recently but have not went to see the gowns & decide on PS day yet. am now sourcing for AD PG & VG too. so nice to know someone who is having the same AD as me!

tarea

Hi Snowie!

the people at Jawn are great ya?!

we took the MTM package and ps photographer is LeoNard.

Euzart showed you the albums by different photographers, rite? from there, more or less you will know which kind of photographer's style you like and the photographer's forte, and then make an appt with the photographer to view more of their works and see if you can "click" with them! cuz you will be facing them for like 8hrs or so during the ps!!

For us, we shortlisted Linn Kong and Leonard and visited them to view more of their works.

hope that helps
cheers,
taRea

compassrose

Hi Corsage,

Wedding favors will be a good buy in BKK. Or wedding shoes, MBK is good place to start.

I used to travel to BKK every few months coz my company has a office over there.. Now, the staff from BKK fly over to Sing.
no more free shopping trips.

Hi Mona,

Take care! Dun overload yourself ya.

Hi Huiz and everyone else,

The Agar Agar is to create the bounce as it give a more natuarl feel/look compared to cold hard padding.. And it will fill the stomach when the bride is hungry.. Just a lame joke that the guys thinks it's funny.. Heee...

Hi Twinkle,

Dun think it's advisable for the diamond peel to be use around eye area cuz it might be too drying.

Hi Jenny,

I did mine few months ago.. by any chance, it's at bishan?

_vivian_

Hi pishako,

Wow, ur AD is actually one day after mine!! Great! At least found someone who is having AD near to mine...
My new place is at Kovan...that makes the three of us (plus iruka) staying near to one another!

Hi iruka,

I will also be selecting my gowns in a few weeks time. Hopefully able to find something that I like.

Anyone of you had sourced for VG? Any recommendation??

sassy_bride

i'm finally back in town again after a 3-wk business trip.

amazing to c this forum going so fast!

me, still struggling for the BS n VG. sigh. any cheap n good VG to recommend?

THANKS!

iceshaker

hI melody,

HMm if there are 2 weddings holding at the same time, wouldnt it be a little too crowded? Will the guest go the wrong banquet?

Hmm coz my bf relative held their wedding there, hope we can have a better deal. Did u ask for additional nite at for the suite?

huiz

Hi Compassrose and all,

Ya boy, it is indeed a very lame sounding joke! Trust the men to come up with jokes like this.... duhhh

I have yet to go to BBK. However, I shall be going to Batam at the end of Sept with a bunch of colleagues. Just to rest and relax. I don't expect that place to be much of a shopping haven. But it'll be good though if I can find my wedding shoes there.

iruka

Hi joey,
Cool! We are both having the same AD!!! It seems that we are progressing at roughly the same pace with our wedding preps as well!
Which BS did you sign up with? Where's your lovenest gonna be?

Hi vivian,
Wow! Kovan is near to Sengkang... and Balestier is not too far away too. In fact, I'm currently staying in Toa Payoh.. so Balestier is also a stone throw's away. Let me guess... you bought a unit @ Kovan Melody?

Hi pishako,
how much did you pay for your AD PG & VG? I'm still sourcing for mine too. Heard the usual rate for VG is about 1k? Hmmm...

corsage

so glad to have this conversation going with with all! I look forward to it everyday..haha

Twinkle: I'm going end of the month tooo!!!! Gosh, and I'm also planning a trip to HealthLand! Maybe I'll see you there..haha Actually the last time I was in BKK I was 11 - so I'm super duper excited
I've planned out a whole itinery already - which involves shopping, massages, eating, chilling out and clubbing
If I find stuff for wedding I'll get, if not I'll reserve wedding shopping for Hanoi - will be there in Oct!

Jenny: 3 days 2 nights is ok lar..can still shop and relax!

Compassrose: Oooh, I forgot about wedding shoes! I should go check it out
Oh, it must have been so nice to go BKK every month. I've a friend who's doing that so I'm bunking in with her. So quite lucky - I'm got accomodation and a tour guide (cousin!) heh

Huiz: Yes, we all need short breaks these days!
Even my boss told me I should get a break..hah hah

ah_kiat

hi xy,

nah.... me dun have that many tables.... we're looking at belverder.... cos we have about 25-30 tables.... hee... i thought you're taking the grand ballroom....

yapz yapz... think that nite will be very crowded... cos we heard from the manager who spoke to us, that 3 other function rooms have been booked for that day.... seems like an auspicious day, 20th sep....

hmm... there are like 4/5 ballrooms at meritus, so if that day all are taken up... wow!!! im just worried that some guests might end up going to the wrong banquet.... hope the directory posting by the hotel is clear enough....

well.... our selection was quite similar to yours.... we went to view a number of hotels which we think are within our budget.... then after the viewing and discussion with the respective managers, we shortlisted 3....
and like you said, meritus's package is really attractive and comprehensive....

initially i was quite bothered by the pillars in the ballroom that we've seen (belverdere)... but after some thoughts, i decided to not let the pillars bother me....

yapz yapz... i did ask for an additional nite stay... wanted to leave it for 1st anniversary... but they dun do that....

how about you?? did you ask for more perks?? when are you signing the contract with the hotel?? we'll be there this sat....

hey... it's going to be so exciting.... we'll be having our wedding on the same day and at the same place!!!

pishako

iruka, yah.. usual rate for VG is abt 1K. A friend of mine paid 700bucks for Forest Productions.

Hmm.. but I'm paying 1.8k for my VG - The Wedding Paparazzi. Then AD photography is abt 2.4K for Lightedpixels. We're paying abt double the usual average price.. but we really like their works very much

huiz

Good morning all,

I'm in a great mood today! Looking forward to the PH tomorrow and of course thinking of the coming short break. Hubby and I have also decided on a short hol to Cameron in Dec, before our AD. I sure prefer this place to Genting

All of us deserve a good break to pamper ourselves after all the hard work. And who knows, we could get added bonuses of finding something great for our wedding there!

And oh, I am also thinking of dropping by Spotlight tonight to get more materials for my ang pow box. Quite pleased with the progress
So that's adding one more smile to my happy day today. But then again, I keep my fingers crossed that I wouldn't meet nasty members of the public at work today.

coco_mybibi

hi babystarlet,

if you look at the portfolio and you feel nothing special but just wedding photo, then it is normal lor. but if you look at the portfolio and somehow it attracts you in a way or another, then maybe that's the photographer you are looking for.
not too good photo are those too dark or too many shadows etc.

hi sunflower,
u got mail.

cutie_gal

I hv started my crunches n leglift since end June, if I'm nt wrong.Got skip at times cos lazy n sometimes return hm rather late. It reali helps to tone up the fleshy part around my hip area. So nowadays reali force myself to do it every nite.

Gals, wat brand of stick-on bra is gd then? I dun reali kn hw to use leh. Pai Sai...

So envy u gals, go Bangkok, Batam, etc... Me n my FH wan save $, after AD then plan. Gals, remember to use sunblock dun kana tan, u still hv to take ur PS.

corsage

Hi Cutie Gal, you are so disciplined!
How many crunches do you do every night? Do you do it before you sleep? I dunno when to squeeze in exercise these days =p

I think most dept stores have different brands of stick-on bras..just stick on - literally!
Should be quite easy to use lar. I heard they are quite good and look v real.

chendol

<font color="aa00aa">Morning everyone!

Quiet day at office today. Most of my colleagues are here, but the rest of Singapore seems to be on holiday! I could even get a seat in the MRT in the morning!
Yup, it's fun to chat on this thread! Somehow I feel like our wedding AD not too near, not too far, sort of in a limbo phase now, most things booked, waiting for things to happen. Btw, anyone got your rings from Fairy's Inc? I'm waiting for mine to be ready too.

Wow - corsage you're quite happening ah? BKK in Aug, Hanoi in Oct... I was considering Hanoi instead of BKK, but the BKK flights were too cheap to resist. I like the ceramic ware in Hanoi (a fren bought for me this mug with blue cracked glass effect - very pretty!) but a little too early for me to shop for home stuff as well. Maybe after AD... hiak hiak.

Yesterday, I went to Prints to get an accordian guest book for my friend's wedding in Sept (I'm her bridesmaid)! Very happy cos prettified it with a ribbon that his copper wires (like the ones you showed us Huiz) and bi-toned so it has shades of purple fading to white...
Realised I have 5 weddings to attend from now till end of year (2 in Sept, 1 in Nov, 2 in Dec). Quite exciting...</font>

corsage

Twinkle:
I've attended 5 weddings this year already..haha, another 3 more before my own wedding. Looks like it is a wedding year

I'm going to Hanoi for work lar..then extending it for a mini holiday. I like Hanoi, it is really charming, with little messy alleys and beautiful lakes. Great to get art pieces and stuff for the home - but it has less clothes shopping than BKK.

Wow, looks like I've to go Prints to have a look!

huiz

Ask u all a dumb question... how to post messages here in coloured font har? *scratches head*

I am rather lucky this year. Only have one colleague's wedding coming, one which confirmed I will be going. I have a few more friends but not sure if I'll be in the guest list. Haha. Relatives wise I had already attended 3 and one more is coming.

iceshaker

Hi Melody,

ya i agree! So interesting hor.. but the lady told me no one has booked any ballroom or anything. So funnie.

I am also getting alittle worried, so many couples in one hotel! hmm... but cant let that affect us wat.. no choice meritus package is realli attractive.

Mandarin Court also has pillars leh. but i tink its okie lah.. hehe i like it with the long aisle. The most hor, BOTH of us have our reception inside, so its not so confusing. hmm ideal.

I ask for more, but she says cannot also. sigh duno how lah..

chendol

<font color="119911">I have only attended one wedding dinner and 2 church weddings so far this year.
Compared to 2004 where I attended 12 wedding dinners after being invited for 14! siong man.

Huiz
Can just click on the "Help" link next to the "Emoticons" link below and instructions are all there!

ah_kiat

hi xy,

she told you no one has booked anything?? hmm...

i've seen mandarin court too.... cos the guy thought we might need more tables... but turned out we can fit into belverdere.... yapz yapz... was quite turned off by the pillars initially... and many people have been telling me to go for pillar-less ballrooms....

but after much thought, meritus is still our choice.... cos eventually the wedding is ours.... did you see the pics of the ballrooms when they're done up?? looks grand, rite??

hmm... think becos their package is really quite comprehensive... so they cannot add more... i tried to ask for a few more items as well, but not given too....

but generally me and my fiance are quite pleased with their wedding package....

qiqi09

Hi Mei, not ex.. can consider to go with my hubby... isit easy to buy things to cook there? if we dun cook, where else can we go for food?

meie

piglet.. we brought food from Singapore to cook there.. we didn't go out to their town. They provide a cooker hob, conventional oven, toaster &amp; a full sized fridge.

We also ordered room service, they serve nice nasi goreng &amp; mee goreng. There are a few restaurants there too but we prefer room service as our villa is too nice to venture out.

For me.. I personally prefer Bintan to Batam, but the villa I stayed in at Batam is really good for a really 'nua &amp; do nothing' kind of getaway. Bintan is more 'happening' &amp; the spa there is way better. So it depends on what kind of getaway you are looking for.

piglet, PM me if you need details.