(2007) Brides of year 2007

schnauzie - My BS designer did mention that 100% white gowns are somehow a bit too eye catching. Something like a glaring flashlight. He usually recommends off white gowns

joey: welcome to this thread! Have you decided your banquet venue and BS?

vivian: since you are getting keys at the end of the year, you can perhaps try to settle some of your wedding prep stuff first so that it will not be a mad rush during year end.
Also, like what pishako mentioned, can try to settle reno plans so that can start reno without much delay when u get your keys. Btw, are you getting a new or resale unit?

Wow... the thread is reali veri fast, can't catch up liao. Wait for me...

I think first of all I hv to be clear of wat design I wan; at least a rough idea ba. My designer jus told me I can't take ballgown, mermaid also nt tat suitable for me cos I nt tall. So narrows dw my choices. Will browse throu the web n mag this wkend.

My FH also said the same thing; he find all gowns look similar to him. Luckily he kn his role is jus a 'supporting' one as the ultimate decision lies w me, haha... Somehw we hv diff taste, but as long as i'm hapi, he will be hapi. He kn is a lifetime ting n so many pairs of eyes will be on us so he understands y I fussy over it. Thank God!

I dun think I'm arranging any hen's party, will c hw. Maybe a simple dinner ba ;)

Gals, wat exercise u reco for tonning arms n tat flesh beneath the armpit area?

Thxs!

A simple dinner is a good idea too. Guess I will be doing that. At the same time also brief them on their duties on the AD... heh heh, there's no free dinner eh? ;-P

i cant eat at 6 coz i knock off at 6..and if i want to makan, i will be late for class...im 42kg, coz im super short, haha..still insist to wear only 3" high shoe. my bro ever ask how i kiss my hubby..wah, diaodu, ur PS is next...must have enuff sleep. No matter how slim i am, my face wont be smaller..so alot of my friends told me not to slim, otherwise, small body, big head, whaha

Hi Carol and Coco_mybibi, thanks for your guidance!
Sorry for this late response. I got hospitalised after that first posting of mine here a week ago... am now discharged and resting at home. So I think I just got a slimming programme for free.... hiaks. :P

Logging in and seeing all these discussions on wedding preparations indeed cheer me up.

Hi Dorymiki,
I like the place, but so ex! :P Not within our budget, so settled for PPR. Cheaper. Housing loans and renovations will burn our pockets already.

Schnauzie,

oic... the simple, clean lines type is nice too! always classic.

Cutie,

If you have the UOB ladies' card, can go Calfit and Amore Fitness for their classes. I think Pilates at Amore is mainly for toning middle and lower torso, but they use resistance bands which help to tone arms too.

Hey everyone,

Just a poll - how many of you are having bustier top gowns? Seems like most people are...

Me me! *hands up for bustier*

I feel that it is nicer and more elegant to have a bustier. Can show off nice collar bone too. I have seen this MTM gown (from which BS I don't want to mention la)that the designer gave the bride a rather high neckline and with 2 straps at the shoulder. Looks quite stuffy and choked up like that.

me too me too!

Yup i agree with huiz, i think bustier gown look more elegant, although my fh always said that it does not look special coz every bride wear bustier WG.

Well, though a lot of people are wearing bustier, the uniqueness of each gown comes from the intricate designs and other details yah?

hello everyone! Sighs.had such a busy morning

Hen Party
- I dunno if I want one, but yeah, may get a friend to organise something instead. No energy to organise it myself! But I want something girly and pampering. No sabo!!

Stag Night
- I dunno if FH will have one, but I hope it won't be too wild

Bustier
- Besides intricate designs, actually the veil makes a lot of difference - how it falls on the shoulders etc makes a difference to how the bustier looks

- Haven't decided on what neckline I should have yet though... But CutieGal, I also have 'armpit fats' - yucky dory =p But my sis tells me that apparently it is really part of the mammary glands! Some pple just have them spilling off the sides =p

Yah, personally I wanted to have a non-bustier neckline, but like you gals said, bustier is simple and elegant. Exploring some off-shoulder designs, but might make one look short cos of the horizontal effect... hmmmmmmm....

Huiz, you mean like high neckline and two straps (like a tank top) is it? or high halter neckline?

But i've seen pics of brides who have narrow shoulders and long slender arms (ballerina type body shape) looking great in those high necklines
Very regal looking

Huiz - No no, I meant the dress you were describing from the unnamed BS - had a high bustier neckline (i.e. straight) or high halter neckline (not cut v deep)?

Corsage - I think some ppl look nice with boatneck cut as well - but somehow doesn't feel as bridal.

oh, yes, I meant boatneck
In a stiff rich satin and a A-line skirt shape, it looks v regal. But it has to suit the body shape.

hi mintee,

How are you and hope that you are getting better now. Ya, reading the threads on wedding preparation will brighten up the day and you got to read often so that you can have a faster recovery

Hmm, but somehow the pic I saw not so nice. Mebbe not suitable for the bride lor. I do agree that its suitable for the tall tall gals ah

twinkle,

haha, sorry ah, I blur liao. read your reply too fast and missed your meaning. The one I saw has a high straight neckline and the 2 straps lor. Like spaghetti top but with a thicker strap.

no worries!
sometimes I type fast without checking then everything comes out wrong spelling wrong grammar everything wrong!

My fren is getting a boatneck with embroidery on translucent netting then a sweetheart neckline of duchess satin...

I'm not tall... so though I like those fancy tiered layered skirts or those with ruched gatherings (and roses scattered around), all not figure-enhancing for me! haha!

hi elle,
must share yr pixs when u hv them ya? I m sure the style and mood will be bery different from sg! Right now, prep has slowed down... basically waitin for gown selection in Sep and PS in Oct loh. Just gotta watchout for diet and exercise...

Hi gals.. Mine is also MTM but I fixed my next appt in Dec...
Is it too late? Coz I see that you all are going in Sep..

HI Jaslyn and coco, prolong stress with my work hence took on a toll on my health finally. Rest rest... now much better.

Btw gals, any recommendations what are the first things you do on info gathering when u start planning the wedding? There are so many things I'm quite lost. Is there a idiot's guide? haha...

What are some bridal magazines u wld recommend?

Hi gals, talking abt weight.. today i resist alot of temtation to eat.. all my colleague eat in front of me and insisted that my AD is still long way to go.. but i need to lose weight for my PS.. i intend not to eat too much tonight.. coz weekend my hubby sure eat alot.....
me now currently 46 and i am hopping to go back to the weight for my ROM, 42-43 coz me not very tall so need to lose weight. hehe.. and i hv a mermaid cutting EG so it will show all my flaws..

I dun like to jog.. i only go for yoga once a week and try to go swimming once a week too but it is not good for the hair.. coz i hv white hairs so i need to always colour...

wah most of u seems to hv class.. u all studying night clasS?? me just completed my degree program last yr... last time when i hv classes i also seldom eat dinner so i think i can control my diet better. now i go home n enjoy my mummy's cooking.. so fatter le..

shers, i am only joking... now i am waiting for SWC to confirm sean as he is overseas now so still waiting for him to confirm 13 Oct for my PS...

Mei, i cannot visualise.. need pics of ur gown n any examples of the hand bouquet?

diaodu, ur PS next.. must try to rest more and then can look pretty in pics.. hehe.. u are the one that stays downstairs frm me right, i think i saw u in the lift b4.. but not confirm..

wow 1 day din come in n everyone is on a slimming plan , think i muz buck up too ....keke :P

me keep thinking PS over n AD still quite far so eat n eat ....think i got to control n start exercise again else become fat ....keke :P

whenever with my FH, then will be eat n eat so i try to control my other meal ...but will end up hungy leh

Hi mintee,

oic.. try not to be so stress..
rest more..

I started looking at magazines for banquet and BS.. Such as female brides and style weddings..
Then ask for banquets prices from hotels..

Hi belsi,
It depends on what you're making. Im having 1 gown and 1 cheongsam all MTM. But if you're making only 1 then might be ok..you might like to discuss with your designer to double check the time frame he/she needs to finish..

I will prefer a bustier with netting at the back. To hide my "armpit fats", the neckline of bustier top will be slighly higher at the side. (Hope that will help)

A deep V neckline should help to make one's body appear longer. Look at Vera Wang's gown, lacy, deep V neckline top with a satin A-line. Very elegant!

Heh, I feel that deep V neck lines really do look very nice, but on people with the assets la. Too bad me lacking in that compartment so its a no-no for me man ;-P

hi mintee,do take care of urself,work is never ending 1,when u r sick,there are ppl to take over 1,they wun bother 1.me used to work a lot and even sick i also go to work,den 1 day,too high fever at work,in e end,i was hospitalised.

maybe e 1st few things is the month u wan for wedding,any venues u like.

hi clueless,no problem,i send to u again.

btw gals,there's a free talk on "how to lose weight in a healthier way" end aug,there is no 1 to ask u buy anything,u can leave anytime u wan.is quite informative and they teaches u e right things to eat etc.
me going with my friend,any1 interested to join us?

Annabelle, thanks for the tip on PG and VG prices. I've been doing "intensive" research and found PG + VG total for about $2K or less! But that means I can't afford the Wedding Paparazzi that kind (although I really like the video style, but really too ex).

Hi Snowie,

How have you finalise your banquet?? Why dun u wait till style wedding bash? shd have one more coming up end this year...

i tink got good bargains. I am going to see the hotels later..
hyatt and meritus... I know some say both hotels sucks, some say both are nice.. tink all depends on luck.

but meritus is surprisingly cheaper than Hyatt in some terms of grand ballroom.

if hyatt for small ballrooms cheaper but might have pillars and all. But HTB quite like meritus... cheaper the better.

Meritus actually print all wedding invitations card for u, inclusive printing cost! and for a 4/5 star hotel like tis, they give u free flow of beer + complimentary 1 bottle of wine per table.

so excited... my HTB finally not working on weekend.. can go see with me later :P will keep u ladies posted on which hotel is good and value for money.

M new here.. m also a june2007 bride. Seems to be quite happening here.. So how's everyone preparation so far.. m quite lost though.. :|

Hi Mintee,

I also bought wedding magazines first to find out more about weddings in Singapore. I bought almost all the mags available in the mkt. :P
Then my hubby surf e net & found this forum. From here, we can lear more too. Then I looked for a wedding planner. Theu guided us from then on.
I can recommend my wedding planner for those who are lost. www.wickedplans.com