(2006) Brides of year 2006

Hi January brides,

I am getting married on 31 March, just need some tips on caterer for my church reception. Anyone tried CJS catering or got good recommendations?

Oh anyone got deco for pews that is reusable? I don't mind renting it or buy over.

Cheerful spring

hi all... some of u went to europe before right? can share with me what are the good places to visit? and also is it better to go F&E or group tour if going more than 1 country? planning to go for a trip in jun.. thanx

waiwai, am not sure what is your budget. i think it is more economical to go on a group tour. it wld cost abt $4.4k/pax incl taxes for a 2 weeks group tour. if u were to go F&E, tickets for 2 PAX would be $2,500 at least incl taxes. accomodation there, would cost S$120/night at least for a simple one... i am not sure if S$120/night is even enough esp when euro is not quite strong. food & euro passes are not cheap either.

so it really depending on your budget. if u r going on a grp tour, then the places they bring u is rather standard. if F&E, u will hv more option which city u wan to cover and which country (france, italy, germany, austria, germany, etc) u would wan to cover. europe is too big.. i am unable to share with u where are nice unless u nail down to the countries u wld love to go....

hi waiwai,

I just came back from Europe for my honeymoon. I went with Contiki which is a tour designed for young people. The tour itself was awesome as they brought us to many interesting places and covered almost all the major cities in eastern europe. I went to places like florence, switzerland, amsterdam, rome, venice, paris and some some minor places like pisa and nice. Including accom and transport by their coach, its about S$3k+ per pax. They cover all breakfast for you and some dinner. So its quite worth it. One thing no good is there is plenty of australians on the tour..about 90% of them. I did not meet any fellow singaporeans, so we hung out with the other asians on the tour and some south africans. Its quite nice cos we became good friends with them and even planning to visit each other in their country in the near future. I guess if its your first trip to europe, better to go with tour cos they will give you an idea of what to expect in europe, but for future trips, its better to go f&e cos you'll be able to spend more time at places you like. Like I did not get to visit any museum at venice cos it was too rush, very disappointed but hubby promised to bring me back there again someday..hopefully.

I would recommend you go for contiki if you are going with hubby and its your first time to europe cos contiki is well organized and you do not have to worry about old people being in the tour which can sometimes slow the entire group down. And also contiki will cover as many important places in places you go by as well as plenty of free time for you to roam around each city. But be prepared to stay in low class hotels quite far away from the main town or even camping outdoor if you're going in summer.

Btw...if any of you is planning to go europe, I do have some leftover EUROS available for change.

tingting, contiki is good. is for people 35 yrs and below. but their tour package is Land tour usually. so i presume S$3k+ u quoted did not include the air ticket cost to a city in europe to meet the contiki grp. also, contiki will usually offer optional tours during the trip. did u go to any optional tour? does the price of S$3k plus include optional tours?

europe is pretty. i spent 36 days in europe then including athens & olympas in greece... those cities u mentioned are nice.. did u cover prague, austria, berlin, lourdes, London & germany? they are very nice too.. honestly, my europe trip was still the most memorable so far despite having gone to a number of places..

i hope to go back again soon to some cities in italy & switzerland.... but have to hold back for now... euro is just too ex now.. not worth at all

hi tingting and diamond... thanks for info.. i'd like to visit italy, france and switzerland... hubby been there b4, but dun mind going again with me...

I will be going to Italy, Switzerland for my honeymoon but not yet book coz air tix not out yet. plan to go in spring apr/may.

waiwai....i was there for my honeymoon with AXA, the tour was awesome 1/2 the grp are honeymooners so we really enjoyed ourself......visited quite a few cities for 16D tour.....cost us near 8K for the package +++ spending $$....so be prepared to spend at least 10k if you r going for 2wks n above....

its a lovely place to visit......but things are ex especially in Switzerland.....

I will go to honeymoon during chinese new year...quite excited now..wasted! I can't take leave from 9/2/07, I wish to spend valentine over there...hehe

diamond, ya, contiki only do land tour and do not cover air tix. those of you that prefer asian company should probably not consider this as 90% of my group were australians. I paid additional about 2.6k for the air tixs. i went for some of the optional tours like moulin rouge in paris and gondola ride in venice. Wow, you get to spend so many days there..did you use up all your leave for that year? I can't afford to be there too long cos hubby run out of annual leave. But really hope to go back there again. Yet to visit greece and egypt, so they are top on my list. Ya, I went to germany but din get to go Austria because we were stuck in the mountains due to heavy snow. So we had to skip austria totally and proceed straight to italy. But it was fun though..ya, things in Switzerland are quite ex. but i guess once you've gotten used to their currencies like pound and euros, it is still quite acceptable. Food in hotels are normally more ex., so go for outside brasseries if you're in Switzerland...a pasta meal (takeaway) will cost you about $7-8 EUROS for one person. A small bottle of mineral water is around $1.50 - $2 EURO. If you can, try to buy drinking water from supermarkets there which is much cheaper.

I agree Europe is not a cheap place to visit but its real memorable and nice...my favorite place was in Nice where there is this beach facing the Mediterranean sea and it is sunny and bright..but cos its winter, so its not hot at all. Me and hubby sat there for hours just enjoying the sun and the sea. Real romantic especially for honeymooners too. London is prob a place honeymooners wanna skip cos its all grey n misty..heard even in spring or summer it is grey too. But shopping is great when I was there as everywhere is having Winter sales. Lol.

brightstar, jus save for a few months then go lo. not too ex. if u dun go for any luxurious. i stayed in small 2-3star hotels in most places, avoid taking taxi and use their public transport system there (which is quite easy and brings you to most tourist places), then go for pizza slices for your meals or sandwiches. Cos its my first time there, so we brought along some cup noodles jus in case..hehe..but end up did not have much chance to eat them cos most of the time is out of the hotel.

Go during off peak period to get cheap deals on airtix and also things like museum tixs or entrance tixs.

tingting, europe is ex NOW! like wat stefy mentioned, need at least 10k to spend 2 weeks there.. actually 10K is barely enough with shopping there... u said save a few mths to go.. if save 2k a mth, that wld mean 5mths at least! kekeke

anyhow, if u hv been to Nice during spring/summer time, u wld hv seen nuke tanning at the beach.. i saw when i were there. i went europe straight after graduation. i finished exams in mar and i only had to start working in july. thus from apr to may, i am holidaying.. come back to spore bumped around till july then i started working. so no need to take any leave to go holiday..

the other nice country is spain.. barcelona is pretty.. so is madrid. oh ya, Liechtenstein is nice also.. snowwhite castle...

did u go to black forest in germany? it is famous for its cuckoo bird clock.. collectable items leh...

hey, i thought u went on contiki tour? how come got chance to take public transport? it was not F&E isnt it?

tingting - yah..must save up..wedding has burnt a big hole in my pocket..haha...yes...and we also ate cup noodles in korea..but got diarrhoea and fever..sigh

waiwai & bightstar......got to save u lor...me n hubby save for ard 2 yrs for this wedding...now bank empty liow....ha ha ha...start from scratch again luckily our hse only ready in end 2009...if not also cannot go europe liow.... ;)

diamond...the snow white castle is really nice...when I was there the mini bus is not working so we took horse carriage up and walk down the hill.....scenery is so beautiful.....

ha ha... but i am not ready for piggies yet!

so which other years good? having 2 year plan leh, but u all say ox not good right?

harlow harlow...I am tiger cat!

what you mean by tiger girls no good? fiery temper?

kek kek kek > actually quite true.

My mother and grand mother also tiger...shan zhi lao hu....haa

me plan to have ox for the first kid when i am 28 leh. piggies too early for me lah!

my friend all say i'll be like a big kid taking care of a smaller one if me have kids too early!

me plan to have ox for the first kid when i am 28 leh. piggies too early for me lah!

my friend all say i'll be like a big kid taking care of a smaller one if me have kids too early!

wah diana.. my two younger sis one is pig one is ox...

whahahaha!!! CAT san zhi lao hu ah... lao hu very old liao hor kekeke...

i wanna have a rabbit girl and dragon boy... machiam very difficult hor... by rabbit year i would be 30 liao... then 31 got to have another dragon... but i like these two zodiac animals most

I think my plan oso somehow like vvn haha...probably we're same age! piggies not possible liaoz. Scarli little rat??

Hmmm...must make money 1st...then can make babies... no money how to feed babies?

DRAGON everybody one le...school also stress..got prob getting into schools!! kek kek kek.

Lao Hu old..heh heh..nevermind I dun look old ma..haaa....

oh ya hor.. cat i nvr tot of the schools thing... nvm la ... go any school lor.. i dun mind... so must wait until i 30 years old....

cat you good lor .. look so young.. think by the time i 30 i look very haggard liao

cecilia, then will like me...coz me a rabbit mah...actually i wan rabbit too but by then i too old liao so gif up the idea lor....

ice, still can lah....work is morn and "OT" is nite time wat....

no time lah.. i got so many nightly activities already!! i reach home already 10pm, then must watch my concubine show and bathe. after that want to zzz.. morning I find it so hard to wake up already, dun even need to talk about my hubby cos he sleep like pig.

so sleepy in office now... 5 more hours till i can go home.. sianz

No lar..I also got wrinkles leow when I smile or laugh ma....what to do...unless go use botox..haa

Just enjoy yourself when young lor..than get into mother hood bring up child than old go tour rounf the world!!

Ice concubine show ends what time 11am right?

Spend another half na hr cuddling lor...something may happen ma..haaa

Everytime biz not excuse le..than when can?

haaa.cecilia have kids sure drop hair one.

Must stress on :

1. Which school?
2. Upbringing..
3. Stress on studies andEM3 / PSLE / O LEVEL / A
LEVELS / UNI
4. Boy or girl, will get into bad companys anot
5. Enough money to feed them and get them to uni
6. The job they will be undertaking
7. Any other misc problem, boy/girl relationship
8. Their wife / husband in future

Ai yoh...loads of stress coming...but I guess have to train the man to help do their part for the kids...since our stress/pain is into the 9 months!