(2006) Brides of year 2006

phy, the basket is really very simple yet nice....really like it too
and its a great savings leh.....so u should be happy for it

<font color="0077aa">jingles, EG is from $400 onwards i think.. my FMIL used an indonesian tailor who comes into singapore once a month.. he lives in grange road.. i dun have his contact with me leh.. must get from my FMIL.

anyway, you may want to try out these tailors. i collate it for my mum and bridesmaids

1. ted collection - good but pricy.
2. amor meus - esplanade (great if you have huge budget)
3. ms ng siok hwa - pennisular plaza #04-01 (her worksmanship is good but not sure abt prices)
4. susie - 67383379 (i dun have her address.. her shop is in orchard area. a fren's mum is regular there)
5. kym ng (zing fashion) - #04-98 far east plaza (reco by her world in the june06 issue. good but ideally you buy your own fabric)
6. mode-o-day - #b1-15 tanglin shopping centre (also reco by her world in june06 issue.. good for big budget)
7. fashion clinque at stamford court

ok, i share all liao.. hope this helps..</font>

soudez, mine PG and VG hv nt work before too....guess it shld nt be much prob ba....juz hv to take the risk lor....

xiaobai, i dun mind consolidated and liase wif ridhuan then try to arrange a wine tasting lor...but hv to see the response first....

hi hi soudez..
oic..well..u can give it a try..i m not very sure how they select the stories to be interview..for us, bcoz we had our outdoor wedding PS at McDonalds..also i think bcoz the Hello Kitty coz a craze then..haha...

hi hi designfreak..
wow..no wonder ahh..ur SIL working in G2000 ahh..gd leh..hehe..

hi gals &amp; guy..

gd afternoon.. today had a busy day.. cos my elder sister's guo da li.. chaotic.. shant post the details here.. anyway busy mrg.. now back in office.

Panda - yes the shoe is called rainbow at a corner in humoungous siam paragon. ok their size 3 is too big even for my feet. so i din buy.. most collections u see that panda provided in the link are available there. as for custom, u need to collect at siam paragon so if ur feet size is normal, then perhaps u can get a nic eplain pair there. one thing tho, not much embellishments so if u lookng for bling bling.. can forget it. EG shoes they have also at the same section. saw a nice bling pair in black (another brand) but hubby said no so i din buy.. HA HA HA HA HA...

Dun worry, i will get well.. need to go more exercise to get fit.. i get ill too easily..

if u had asked me earlier on rental, my cousin could have rented u her place at telok kurau since she now in san fran.. but alas.. she oredi rented out liao.. paiseh.. no more lobangs..

Lambzz - no worries.. take things step by step.. ur nug can help u since he has pretty good taste also lah.. have fun with teh preps.. i enjoyed the process very much.

daman - no need paiseh.. its a kudos to u..my hubby unlike u.. ha ha ha ha ha but nearing wedding he is a bit more involved now. maez also.. has been helping to update chart.. tedious work..

<font color="0077aa">angel, glad you are well.. tot you sick again..

anyway, i got budget lar.. your cousin place may be too ex.. i looking for studio or 1 bedroom.. lease for one year max.. budget alap.. preferably in east.. kekekek</font>

hi silentelf..

i v no idea wher to go for photoshoot leh.. ;p i told the bridal shop to decide for me lor.. my photoshoot is less than one mth .. yest went for fittin and it seems like i v to watch abit of my diet mann..

hey gurls.. can i chk w u whether u gurls v calculated the timing to reach ur in law's place or the timing that ur hubby has to pick u up? ..

hey i didn't know the tekan thing is from cantonese! but my mom say dun need leh... guess must be the brownie points that my FH has been earning.

xiaobai, dun worry about photos. wld u have time after tea ceremony before the banquet? if yes, i think u can request PG to take photos for you all. my friend went to chinatown after lunch to do another set of photos before going down to banquet venue. see if this works for you lor.

hi panda - thanks for the well wishes.. really had a good experience.. quite glad elder sister get married first.. so i can "copy &amp; paste" watever she does.. HA HA HA HA HA..

I know a fren of mine rented an EC in the west for S$2.5k a month including utilities liao cos her condo also not ready. hope this helps u gauge.. dunno ur budget..

<font color="0077aa">hey, thats sounds quite a lot of money.. i think your fren is paying too much.. i chanced upon a 1-bedroom apt around eastwood area for $1k including utilities.. but not sure if still available. then i found a 2br condo in cck for $1.4k including utilities too but fiance dun like the area</font>

panda - dunno her lah.. that's what she tell me lor.. HA HA HA HA how many bedroom not sure.. only know EC in west side.. and u know god knows where is that cos i only know central and east side of singapore lah..

long time didnt pop in... just wanna check with u gals, what are the things that should be settled by now? i mean, we only have less than 6 months left. Cos i am finding myself very free and no idea what i should do.

So far, I have selected my EG, WG is pending, next week then 1st fitting. Havent shop for the shoes.

What else have i missed out?

hi pandalic, is your Bf looking at somewhere more central? I'm residing @ Stevens Drive, will keep a lookout for you coz some expats here are away for home-visiting. Will keep you posted.

dear angeldust, what is guo da li? wedding?

oh by the way, what do you gals think of those tanning service? Realised that my back showed bikini line when i put on my EG.

Was thinking, if i want to cover up, then to untie the string at the back, to even out, but could be dangerous, and need skill so that i wont expose myself.

Else, get a tan spray? Get a professional done? But if so, i still need to strip bare so that the back is even tanned. hmm... not sure, if anyone will be there to assist when i getting the tan done. Anyone has any experience?

Lastly, for a newbie who has never done any waxing, what kind of lead time should i give myself?

I am intending to do waxing for back, armpits and legs. Also, how long should i wait for these areas' hair to grow before i make an appt for waxing?

And, any good recommendations?

Thanks gals

Will pop in later again...

hi apple,

now nothing to do except shopping for guys shoes, ties etc during GSS?? ha ha ha ha ha

Tanning - no idea.. dun intend to do tanning

Waxing - heard strips at wheelock is not bad. u can go there check out.

Castalia - Guo Da Li or Lup Cai is the day where u exchange bridal gifts like pin li, pin jin etc. for more information abt chinese wedding customs, u can refer to this website : http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/

Not sure if u will need it. if i not wrong, ur hubby is caucasian? sorrie.. me a bit blur one. ke ke ke ke paiseh if i got it wrong.

hello apple (cute nickname!), sorry but can't help you on that. I simply abhor the sun! :P For hair removal, you can check out Bella skin care (endorsed by Fann Wong) for their Depilux Hair Free System.

Heehee..what gave you that impression? He is a local. Hehee..=P

<font color="0077aa">castalia, thanks for the offer.. but your area is too expensive for us.. kekeke
need to watch the budget coz this is unplanned expense.. also dun want FMIL fingerpoint to say i waste money.. whahahaha.. its a long story...

1. she had volunteered her unoccupied flat in yishun for us.. but fiance dun like the area..
2. we could have stayed with her (there is more than enough place for me) but for me, staying with my ILs is out of question coz my bf's paternal grandma, two unmarried aunties and their two maids are also staying with my ILs.. though my relationships with each of them is amicable, i feel stressed staying in such a big family.. =P

apple, welcome back.. erm, wat abt your invites? your hubby's outfits and accessories? also can start doing up tentative guest list.. planning helpers and their roles..

eh, cant help you on the tan issue.. =)</font>

kitty,

Pls dun be sad. At least u will still be able to take some outdoor photos on your actual wedding day. In the ang mo countries, they do not hv photography sessions too but only taken on the actual wedding day so Cheer up la! :0)

hey,

I'm definately dragging my HTB to Siam Paragon for shoes and MBK to check out the wedding invites there. Would def bring a soft and hard copy of the template so if I like the design would definately get it done in BBK.

Today I met up with 3 florists (Fonz Creative, Flower People and C.C.Lee). Any of you know abt them? I like the Flower People the best, but suspect they are the most ex

Hey, for those who want to rent a place call this fren of mine, she specialises in the east area : Shennon - 98432686. She can give good quotes.

Hmm... regarding tan issue. I also can't help, am trying to get fairer in fact!! I'm super black lah! Haha... thank god there's all the whitening technology now.

Waxing I want to do, prob consider this place in Wheelock, can't remember the name but there's one and looks not too bad. I think on the safe side better do between 1 to 2 weeks before AD, but then not too late or the stubbles would prick your husband!! Hahaha...

6months left... I'm a teacher so when school starts in 2 weeks time I have no time to do anything. So actually trying to settle EVERYTHING. But I know it's impossible, but will try

hi angel &amp; pandalic..thx..will look thru and scout ard more oso.... =)

wow..the threads seems to grow faster n longer everyday!! having a hard time scrolling thru...hehe....

I'm a April 2007 btb. Just wanna check with you all, when did you take your PS? December? Was told that the problem with taking PS in dec is the rainy season!

<font color="ff0000">Da Man,
Yah, i like old colonial buildings! The older, the better! haha. =)

LambZzz,
My next fitting is 30 June leh. Some time away. =)

castalia,
U staying at Stevens Drive ah? Woah, must be very expensive since its a prime location.

Vanessa,
Issit STRIP u are refering to? There's an outlet at wheelock place. They have those X-strip, XX-strips, etc. :P

Maez,
U got mail!

Panda,
My colleague is renting a studio with her sister at the apartment above Great World @ $1k. Very affordable, includ utilites. Great area too. Think she got a good deal.
Thanks for posting all the tailors contacts! Might need to do a dress for Mummy.</font>

<font color="0077aa">princess, can you help me to find your colleagues' lobang?

hee, no prob lar.. you can check out the one in pennisular.. i may go to her pending her prices. wahhaha.. can email me too.. =p</font>

been such a long time since i came here..hehe..busy with work..

hi silentelf,
actually u din miss out all that much lar..i had my PS back in May and i regret not taking OD on another day cos the sky was very dark, bt due to busy schedule, we decided to go ahead..guess wat?? when i reach botanic gdn, it was drizzling so make up not as nice liao..went labrador park for the sunset pix, bt the effect not tat fantastic too cos the sky jst cleared up. In the end, my album consists more of indoor than outdoor pixs..

Hi CSI Fan,
paiseh, i kapo y ur FH dun wanna take? its really not tat ex to take leh..and there are some tat caters to even 3hrs of outdoor only kind if these are the factors tats bothering him..

Hi jen T,
I did up my itinery for the day liao..cos im only allowed to leave hse at 1pm, i will be on a super tight schedule so i need to calculate everything in..

i am almost done with quite a no of items on my list liao..so happy..
meeting with the wine supplier and printers for my invite cards next week.. :P

hi storm.. opps.. should be red dot design musuem.. i took photos outside the musuem only.. there's nothing much actually, just that the building is red color.. haha..
u can see this webbie: http://www.red-dot.sg/Concept/museum/main_page.htm

hi jacqueline.. yeap i did enjoy myself other than the 'wrong decision' :p The PG showed us some sample photos &amp; these are some places which i remembered (for your reference, hope it helps
): Changi (pine trees), Punggol (lalang), Sentosa, Botanic garden, Esplanade, Merlion, Fullerton area, St teresa's catholic church and of course the few places i went.

hi adel.. we took photos only at the 'red color' portion leh.. didnt walk to the back so dunno it is white color..hee.. yeap, we like the color too. we parked our car at the side &amp; managed to take photos of our car (metallic blue) with the red building as background. Hopefully the photos will turn out nice

hi csifan.. sorry.. i dont mean to upset you.., maybe slowly psycho your FH?

hi jen.. u can try to visit some places u like &amp; let your PG knows. Sometimes they will know whether it is a nice place. Initially i want to go to the Terrace garden at Telok Blangah hill becoz there is my childhood memories but then the PG said there's nothing much besides the staircase.. so we gave that a miss too.

As for the timing, are u referring to AD? We were told tat it is important to follow closely as they are auspicious time..

Hi Yaris.. thank u very much

hi pat.. that was fast.. u v already settled ur itinery ah...woo.. i haven done up.. but took a copy of my frd's itinery to study abit. hehe.. i haven done anythin abt my wine tingy mann.. u make me gan cheong leh.. hehe.. ;p

hi silentelf, hmm.. actually we sort of wanted the place wher we knew each other.. but then both the outlets that we were workin at previously are no longer ther.. so.. i guess ultimately if cant tink of a place then might let him decide lor..
yar.. its the timin on AD.. cz if i follow strictly, then my bf has to pick me up before daybreak mann... hmm... but i guess if its that impt, then we v to try our best to do wat we can bah.. v u done up ur itinery like pat??

maez - LA32R51 cash 2099 and Samsung LA32R71 wat are the difference? How many inches? piasie coz i remember the design n size but dunno the name *blur* .....where are u going for PS?
me cracking my head now coz less than a mth n i had yet to decide on my outdoor location ...

Gals &amp; Guy any suggestion for outdoor shoot?

havent been in this thread for long long time.
been busy for the preparations.
few more days to go...
hows everyone's preparations?
really stressed up and nervous
kao_scared.gif

muffin: Most of us had our PS in Dec, and yup, it is the rainy season.

I almost had to postpone my PS because it was pouring in the afternoon, and though the rain stopped at 4pm, the backdrop of my outdoor shots were dark threatening-looking clouds.

If your BS allows, request for it to be taken earlier in Nov?

hi pat... wow.. your wedding album is ready? I guess everyone has different PS experiences.. Thanks for sharing yours too..

hi jen.. no leh... i have not done my itinery yet.. though i already have some ideas but didnt really list them down.. ;p my fren gave me her itinery so i guess i will copy the same &amp; change the timing bah.. hee..
huh.. your bf has to pick u up before daybreak ah? is he a teochew? teochew has to fetch bride very early wor..

hi linda.. all the best for your PS!!

hihi ladies,
this thread is realy active.

i am an oct bride too..so thought of dropping by to make more friends...hope u dun mind one extra me ".)

Hi Vvn

I think cant't lor, photographer only tell us that we can take photos probably under hubby block after the tea ceremony, but he will leave us around 1pm to go back to rest, after that he will arrive at the banquet from 7pm to 11pm. He will take photos for us for 10 hours for $750.

Maybe along the way, we can ask him to take some special photos for us instead of hdb flats. Hee Hee

Take Care Ladies

Xiaobai1

Hello gals! I'm back! Really miss u all!

Hi CSIfan, don't worry about not having fotos.

Just to share with u, I'm gettin OTR gowns, so likewise, can feel a bit left out coz everyone's gettin MTM etc. But I don't mind, coz I can save $ for fotos. So, for you, you spend on your gown &amp; save on fotos. We all do our best within what we can &amp; that our hubbies can agree to mah.

If it makes you feel better, I cannnot get another gown again, but you can still have other chance to take fotos, u know?

E.g. u can always go &amp; take the couple make-over cover looks at your 1st anniversary? Or can buy instant cameras for guests to take pix of you. Try to think of innovative ways to get around hubby lor. Hugggss!

xiaobai,

in that case before 1pm, u can request PG take photos? i have seen couples take with the bridal cars at the HDB blocks downstairs. then some just take near their flats, or along corridors. if ur PG is good, he/she sure can improvise nice shots for the both of u (and helpers + families) to make ur wedding more memorable.

ok i forgot the link, but there's a thread that ppl share their PS and AD photos in here --> http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/3/2675.html?1150274697

one particular thread has a PG talking about the games that are good for cameras. and look at some AD photo albums, i think some photos are really nice! may be u can do some research there.

suddenly very happy today, becoz i was reading the letters that my FH used to write to me, including those before we were 'together', and a few hand-written ones he surprised me with when he was overseas during uni time (by then we usually email or icq) And realised he is still the boy i used to know. =)

hi gals! hi sweets! welcome back!

i'm not taking fotos &amp; taking OTR too! maybe that makes all of u feel better? hehe... I learnt to really be disciplined &amp; focus on what we need.. actually there were opportunities that came up for us to take fotos free but we couldn't afford the time to do it.. very difficult to find a slot where both of us free

just want to share a happy news.. we finally got our love nest after such a long time.. hopefully can complete the sale as soon

hi gals...

the place at wheelock is Stripz...i do my mani/padi there...have been wanting to try waxing but dun haf the courage yet....haiz...

abt tanning i heard fr frens the tone won't be the same even after artificial tanning, haf to get the MUA to put concealer or foundation on it to even out the tone...hope this helps...

panda...thanx for posting the contacts of tailors, just the info i needed...hee hee hee... need to make dress for Mummy n FMIL....a present for each of them for the wedding lah...

Goodie morning gals,

Thanks all for your fast response.

Haa... in fact, last night, FMIL inquired about our wedding preps so far... needless to say, she has a whole list of stuff for us to do...

Think will start on my shoes first, will ask around for waxing prices and try out during this period.

For my bikini line, think have to get my skin tone even out. Preferably by natural tanning. Cos i have heard that artificial tanning will leave streaks of uneven tone after the spray has worn off.

Yuki,

U need to check with Double-Up how far they are willing to go for PS. Cos I know some BS restrict locations to nearby the BS and sentosa is included in one of the locations. Anywhere further their circumference of comfort u will have to pay extra.

Vanessa - kudos on being so efficient. HA HA HA HA HA.. do everything during the holidays.. very GOOD.

Waxing - yeps me also considering Stripz.. i dunno when I shld go for a trial wax on my legs.. ke ke ke ke.. :p

Ohayo

angeldust - i had checked with them and they mentioned that any location is fine as long as we tell them in advance where to go ... forgotten to ask PS any time restriction ...got to call again ...blur blur ...