(2006) Brides of year 2006

Adeline: Wah, why they like that?
kao_sad2.gif
Hard to find nice bosses. Most just want to exploit and fleece the employees. My ex-co also didn't pay me & my colleague public holiday's pay. They deducted it from the no. of working days.

I'm here lah!

Sorry Girls. Still prowling for flat, work is spill over from pre-wedding, preparing for July trip. A case for too many things to do but so little time....Bleh.

I don't have a problem with meeting up. Next week, Monday to Wednesday, anyone free? Then can go for dinner? Or are we sticking to Fridays?

haha sorry for starting the toilet seat discussion!

lipstar, it's weird cos i posted quite alot of things but you only picked up the toilet seat one haha

adeline, the "Super sexy halter neck from Australia" is in great condition. er it's at home so i don't know what's the actual size. but it's my size la haha. if you usually buy size S with the occasional M, then should be fine.

Idyll: YOu finally surfaced oredi ah! Got miss us or not? Better think carefully before answering to avoid a tokking session.

Me every weekday also free, except next Tue. Made apptmt with my stewardess fren, so I hv to accomodate her busy schedule.
Weekend keep for ah lao.
370953.gif

pink: It is an Apr 06 brides' trademark - talk about anything under the sun, with a propensity to talk about gross things.

Cos your other questions, I also have no answer to them. GUess there are always irritating and inconsiderate people. But sometimes, people can be unknowingly annoying like people who hog the right side of the escalator because they were too engrossed chatting.
I HATE that, esp when the train is at the platform oredi, and I am in a hurry!!!

can someone tell me when can the veil be lifted?
say, FH goes to fetch bride (who has the veil down & in WG)
then tea ceremony at bride's house (veil up or down?)

after that goes to his parents house for tea ceremony (bride still in WG. how abt the veil?)

then to church for soleminisation
at this time, the bride must hv the veil down when she walks into the church

someone pls advise

Lipstar, of course I miss EVERYONE here (see...I very good right....?

Things have just been going crazy on my end the last few weeks so I hardly have time to come online to check posting apart from early in the morning first thing when I get into office --> that's at 8.00am Mondays - Fridays, you know.

Lipstar,
U type invisible words ah?
nobody can see..........

adeline
I have to agree with them tat yr TV is super big...
I can only buy small TV...
tat time Harvey sales...32" TV selling at 1300+ Sharp or 1200+ Philips
super cheap...so tempted to buy.
cos the 20" TV is 899....not tat worth..but my TV console cant fit in.
really sad...

Alas,
I forgotten abt buffet at hb's place... muz go nag at hb to start collating the headcount..

antonia,
I buy it from one of the electrical shops @ alexandra village abt $600.. forgot abt the exact cost as we buy it as a whole package inclusive of cooker hood n hob (all electrolux)and a ariston 30L storage heater... but i saw the same model @ harvey norman too... I had used it for a few occassions liao, simple to use and the oven c/w a cooking manual too..

Hi diamond,

I do not have church so I cant advise much but perhaps can provide some options for u. What i understand is that veil cannot be unveil twice. so only once. either u choose at church (which i feel more meaningful) or after gatecrash. so my suggestion is:

a) wear Tea dress for mrg session so no veil.
b) hubby come, gate crash, present u flowers only
c) TC at bride's hse first
d) travel to hubby parent's hse, TC
e) travel to church, change into WG and put on veil
f) march in, solemnise, unveil, kiss.
g) travel to dinner venue.

Otherwise, alternative 2, skip all gate crash and do following:

a) all travel to church
b) vow ceremony, unveil, kiss
c) TC at church + reception
d) travel all to dinner venue.

angledust thanks for being so helpful. but both your recommendation cannot work for me b'coz:

1) the old folks believe that the bride must be in WG when she offers tea to her ILs
2) cannot hv tea ceremony in church for my side, my parents want TC to be at home. they are not catholic & none of my relatives are also. my relatives would not be present at the church either.

can i dont put the veil down when FH comes & pick me? put the veil down only at church?
the other alternative is to not to put the veil down at church....

haizzz

Phy O,

Where are u? My exams over this morning.. and guess what.. now my turn to be sick..

and the worse thing is that i recovered from another illness not too long ago..

Hey Asura,

Oh gosh! Sick! I just got well! You better take care of yourself. Now I bz until I got eye bag. Thank God holidays coming. Can rest man!

I've been going to my new home and cleaning and cleaning and cleaning. Haha ... My fridge and dining table just came in. Went to buy my hangers from downstairs. 10 for $2. I bought the harder metal wire type that look like plastic. Stiff metal. Not soft. Posted some photos on my multiply! Take a look if you are free!

Hi Geraldine,

I ordered my from Royal catering at Bedok North. I'm ordering for church and my house buffet lunch. Per pax is $10 min number can be less than 30 if you request I think. Four seasons is not bad too. Can try. If you want, I can give you the no.

hi wendy >> dun think so much okie... rest & relax..keep yr heart & mind stress free..
anything u can always share share with us okie.. Take care hor..

hi diana >> must be strong okie.. i'm sure it will Yu Guo Tian Qin soon...

wendy
cheer up! dreams usu turn out the opposite.. but yeah, if it makes u feel more at ease, do consider a name change..

diana
be strong ya! we'll be here to lend a listening ear..

<font color="0077aa">daman, must jio jio the sales pp lar.. kekekek..

diamond, guess the veil thing depends on you and your parents or ILs i guess... no hard and fuss rule..

why are you still in your WG when you go back to your parent's place for tea ceremony?? aint you supposed to change into tea dress liao? if so, no question of veil..

if you doing tea ceremony in your parent's place first, make sure your IL doesnt mind.. coz that gives the subtle indication that your hubby is marrying into your family.

next, if your parents dun mind, then your hubby dun have to unveil you when he goes fetch you.. you still can be in your WG and proceed to your IL place.

i think its so wierd not to have a veil when you walk down the aisle..

this is my planned schedule:
1. gatecrash - will be in tea dress (i mtm a short white duchess satin dress akin to a WG for this purpose)
2. then proceed to church - change to my WG and veil..
3. lunch reception - may change to my tea dress again since reception is outdoor (optional)
4. tea ceremony - to both families either in church or hotel suite (depending on wat i wear for lunch reception)
5. dinner cocktail - teadress or kerbaya
6. dinner - WG (no veil) then change to EG</font>

pandalic, my ILs are very modern, they even say tea ceremony on their side can do without. all their relatives will go church instead. (anyhow, i am not staying with my parents, rather, am staying on my own and my parents are currently staying at my bro's place, instead of their own place.)

ask u, if my hubby does not unveil me when he goes to fetch me, how am i going to go through tea ceremony with my veil down?

u see, we booked the church at 2pm, so my schedule will be:

1. gatecrash at my place
2. tea ceremony at my brother's place where my parents stay with
3. proceed to church for wedding in WG

so the veil part how huh? (dinner is on another day)

BUT if i can take the 11am slot for church wedding
it wld be:

1. gatecrash
2. church wedding
3. i changed into tea dress &amp; tea ceremony at my bro's place in the afternoon.

pandalic, another thing, for your case, where u plan to put on ur WG &amp; veil at the church. how is going to help u with that? the veil thingie, may not be easily to put on.... usu the MUA will do it for the bride when she dolls her up in the morning

diamond ah.. juz my suggestion, why not u juz wear the veil but not put it over ur face when u gatecrash? then juz before march-in at church then veil lor..

<font color="0077aa">diamond

1. dun put down your veil when he goes fetch you lar. just have your veil behind you.. only when you go church, put down the veil then..

2. MUA lor.. i am his only bride for the day.. so he can follow me around.. then just pay him a bit more lar.</font>

pandalic, my FH said his mother said cannot hv tea ceremony before church wedding b'coz not married yet. so if my church wedding is at 2pm, how to hv TC at my place early? my mother said TC cannot be too late...

I am back from the isetan sale today. The place is super crowded as usual and the fitting rooms queue is super duper long. Had burnt a big hole in my pocket.... haha....

Pandalic - can "reserve" the items? I had the intention to do the same. Bt when I was there yesterday, overheard the salesgirl telling another customer that they no longer allow reservations during sale period. So din bother asking ard liaoz.

I am also intending to start going for facial and body scrubs as there are scars on my back. Any good recommendations?

<font color="0077aa">guess gotta decide whose rules to follow.. can have your tea ceremony for your side of the family on the day of dinner??</font>

Wendy, think normally for these kind of big events we often get bad dreams on the 'worst case scenerio' . Like I dreamt one day that my WG got torn! But you must remember that it is only a dream and try not to let it affect you too much. Maybe choose another name, will make you feel better ant set your heart at ease.

Diana, dunno what happened to you, but sounds very bad. Take some time to cool off ok? We'll be here if you need out help!

pandalic, i even suggested before. my mother said i big shot is it, and none of my cousins did TC at banquet... sigh...

i attended engaged encounter last weekend. though it is a marriage counsellin course, from the course, it also confirmed that more differences lie ahead!

<font color="0077aa">eh, you dun have to do it during banquet.. you can have tea ceremony on the day (morning) of banquet.. you can have tea ceremony during around lunch.. then you cater lunch for your family at your brother's place lar.. wun that solve your problem???

if your mum is fine with having tea ceremony during your banquet day, then she can have it during her appt timing and you can please your IL as well..

if not, push the service to morning lor..

i in midst of my pre-marital counselling.. all's well and fine.. our differences are nullified by our faith in God. =)</font>

hi gals, how's everyone getting on? Those who had gone thru their AD must be busy adapting to their newly status + honeymoon.

hey magical, how's ur preparations? gg to hv GDL n An Chuang soon??

pandalic, cannot have TC on banquet day. coz that is a Monday. i cannot expect my relatives to take leave to come for TC right?

as for the service, there is already a session at 7am, 9am &amp; 11am. no way can push it to 9 dec morning. if not, i wun end up by 2pm timing when i made booking at the beginning of this yr.

also, wats ur view of the groom lifting the veil when he picks her up. then the veil goes down again at church service. the bride did not change out of the WG &amp; veil all these while.

thanks for sharing

<font color="0077aa">but i tot bride's slot will be available now??

its personal.. i think its ok tho i prefer to only be in my WG when i walk down the aisle.. somehow impact to the groom will be different.. if your parents kinda pantang, they will prob expect you to change when you do tea ceremony for your side of the family (supposed to symbolise "hui niang jia" mah).. and also dependent on your IL if they allow tea ceremony before church.. </font>

pandalic, she has not cancel the church booking. i checked with the church already. is not very nice of me to write to her directly to ask also.

furthermore, the church also told me that date is a hot date. there is even a soleminisation at 7am! church said even till now, pp still walk in wanting to book for that date.

i also dunno how to go abt doing it since her booking is still there. and if she does cancel, the slot may just be taken up by another person since it is a hot date (and i will not know also)

pandalic, wat i was asking on ur views is:

i am in WG &amp; veil is done. groom lifts up the veil when he picks me up to go his place. then during church service, i put down my veil again to walk down the aisle. after church, then i change into tea dress.

wat do u think of putting down the veil 2 times. i did not remove it.

<font color="0077aa">email bride lor.. she is a nice lady..

i replied.. i said its ok.. but depending on your parents lor.. if they pantang, cannot lift veil twice then cannot lor.. my mum is kinda open but she doesnt like the idea of my veil lifted twice, so i only put on veil in church lor.. and i like the idea of only wearing my WG in church. </font>

pandalic, i think she is throught a rough patch now. so, i feel bad writing to her to ask her abt it at this time... i wrote her once on sharing of church deco last month.. she did not reply me..

your mum is open &amp; she also doesnt like?

how abt wear WG but veil not down when groom picks me up. veil is down only at church? this got pantang or not?

<font color="0077aa">she is stronger than you think.. =)

yah.. i dun have to follow any customary rituals or buy any traditional stuff.. my mum only requests for my fiance to formerly ask for my hands.. then during the so-called guo da li, bring her some cakes and an ang pow.. thats all.. other stuff not required.. kekekek..
but she doesnt like the idea that i unveil twice..

i think that should be fine.. but check with your parents.. coz your parents will have to cover you with the veil.. are they ok to cover your veil in church? i understand that normally, parents will veil you from where you "chu jia"</font>

thanks pandalic.

my mum also said my FH needs to ask for my hands also. am thinking wait till the food tasting time.. dunno can or not.. yes, she wans cakes for gua da li... n some other traditional stuff.

parents need to cover me with veil? is that a must?

haizz... just a wedding &amp; already got different views.... fyi, my relatives will not be going to church 'coz none of them are catholics &amp; they will be bored. 1-2 of my cousins got married in church, but no relatives turn up. they just go for TC. my mum is worried that if my TC is too late in the afternoon, my relatives may not even wan to come!

a wedding has become to a "many people" event

our GDL was just over last weekend ....went all the way down to KL, was quite funny, we had to do some of the AD stuff during GDL just cuz of location issues (family is fr kl) so my FH had to get a whole roast pig to give my family for prayers....think he was a bit shocked as he;d never ever seen one before..hahaha...

oh asura,
u better take care ar....our big day coming soon liao..think u too stressed out liao..

hi phy o,
wow new house is like that..u must b happy though tired...

the catering u all mentioned is for the gal side or the guy side ar??

angeldust - i tot u found ur shoe already? not getting from Essex Walk? went to leapin lizard yst but still prefer Essex Walk shoes n the blink blink effect ....haha

Da Man - thanks ..... i told my FH yst but he say he dun like Robinson things ........maybe it is his thinking ...haha

diamond - ferrangmo having any sales beside the private sales? tot of popping by to have a look .....n my FH wanted to get shoes there ...... lunchtime i saw a lot ppl with Isetan big bag think a lot went for the sales .....haha

harpie17 - wow so crowded and u manged to buy a lot things? keke :P I am looking for body scrub as well ...as for facial i am doing it at Leonard Drake ..if u wan to try i can give u my membership number , can get 30% of first trial i think....
Can I check how much u made ur shoe at leapin lizard? yst i went by and they quoted my abt 225.

I do not have church wedding so not so sure about the procedure...but love to have 1 .keke :P

pandalic/ angeldust - yst i pop in The Natural Source and brought their eye cream... heard from frez that it is not bad so give it a try since mine finishing
they having weekly promotion on different items and this week eye cream are included .....keke :P

morning gals...

joyous,
think the catering are for both sides..

phy_o/Asura,
u gals take care... dun b like me.. fall sick dunno how many times liao, i'm still coughing.

yuki, no point going to ferrangmo today. coz most of the common sizes wld be gone by now. it wld be better to go taka ferrangmo tomorrow at 10am when it opens. b'coz that sale starts ONLY tomorrow for that taka outlet &amp; is store wide 30%. u will have a much higher chance to get the size &amp; colour u want. u can ask the taka outlet to transfer the shoes over to the outlet at Isetan Scotts so that u can pick it up from there &amp; enjoy another 3% off with ur isetan card!

this is what the sales girl told me!

Idyll: Ask u a legal question. Paiseh ah...
371149.gif
Every day you are deluged by legal queries, want to come here and relak, then that lipstar also hound u with legal qn.
After you answered, you are free to tok my head. Come, I pass you the stick.
371150.gif

The ex-Director of Finance at CAAS who was charged with molestations, was acquitted after he "compounded" the offences, paid the victims $20,000 each. I went to check the dictionary. Compound means "to agree for a consideration not to prosecute (an offense)"

Wah! LIke that, the rich can escape small crimes? Cos I read in papers that compounding is only for minor crimes. But unfair leh...

gd mrg gals,

wow.. so many posts..

harpie - u also at sale? me and panda also leh.. ha ha ha ha damage done not so bad cos i auntie buying hsehold stuff and using leftover vouchers from hse warming given by cousin.

diamond - i read all of the posts. i think i cant help u much. so sorry. cos my idea was if u can TC in ur veil at ur mum hse then ok then go church dun remove until the vows are over. guess u might not like that idea? i dunno just a suggestion.