(2006) Brides of year 2006

panda, confident lady makes a beautiful lady ya~

Jus like what angel said- Can see see look look, but cannot hanky panky lo..

Hi Sinkor,

Can help me get 3 tubes of the G-Cream? Let me know when you pass it to FJ, no hurry..

By the way, the G-cream got any expiry date? Cos we din see any on the tubes..

Hi Geraldine,

Actually some pple might have put your HB as eldest son.. cos he got no other elder brother.. I came across my colleague who have an elder brother and no younger siblings.. her invitation indicates eldest daughter leh..
What i think is dont bother who is correct. If you have not print the inserts yet, just put what your in-laws want to reduce the hassle.

<font color="0077aa">wahahahha, angel.. i recently hook on the dark choc ice cream from awfully chocolate recently.. wahhaha.. how does that sound?
jo, yupz.. can look see but cannot fantasize.. wahahhahah</font>

hi ladies, sorry hor, sidetrack abit... im seriously considering changing job now, due to $$ reasons. but not sure if it's the right time leh, in terms of taking leave and flexibility. noe that 1 or 2 of you actually juz took up new jobs not long rite (but cant rem who)? any advice? and do u tin i shld disclose my wedding date when companies want to confirm me? hmm...

<font color="0077aa">OL, i just changed my job..

the main reason you should look at, is the new job prospects.. dun lose BIG when you think small..

you should also try to find out if you are there to clear up other pples' shit... coz this can affect your working hours, performance, etc.. and if you can cope well in the new workplace.. coz they may in turn affect your health, complexion, etc..

whether you can take leave and stuff, depends on your new coy policy.. like whether you can take leave during your probation, or if there is a cap to no. of days you can take at one go..

then talking abt $$, make sure you dun lose out on any variable payments your existing employer is paying you..

yes, i think you should tell the new employer your wedding plans (esp when hr probe you on the marital status).. i think its only right lar and my hr so appreciate my honesty with them..
1. can check if the new employer will grant you marriage leave..
2. you dun want to be caught in situation where you cannot go on leave coz priority is given to the other "existing" colleagues..

of coz some pple only tell their immediate superior after they joined..its ok too.. unless you said otherwise in the earlier interviews.</font>

hi girls i'm back!!! japan was great. still sorting out pictures.

still reading ALL your posts. s-l-o-w-l-y.

lipstar, my answers:
1) Where is your love nest?
you've been to my love nest! ghim moh

2) Where do your parents stay?
tanah merah

3) How often will you go back to your parents' home after you get married?
i seldom go back cos everytime i go back, my mum asks me when i'm going to clear my stuff :S besides, i cook more than my mum, so they come over more than i go over. it's more practical.

4) For those staying alone as a couple, how do you settle your meals? Cook only on weekends? Ur hubby cook? Go to parents' place to eat?
we have bad timing cos he ends work at 9 so we have dinner separately 4 times a week. we try to cook on weekends for dinner when we have guests over. the cooking is about 40% him and 60% me. it's pricey to cook for 2 all the time.

lipstar, glad the wedding went well and your hotel exceeded expectations
did i tell you girls that they overcharged us at the yacht club? they were honest enough to tell us, and i asked how about they top up the difference and give us one more night at the honeymoon suite as a gesture of goodwill (since they screwed up a few things). they said ok no issue :D

my parents were very keen on the suite and they kept harping about how nice it was so we'll give it to them. of course we don't even want to make any connection between my parents and the ceiling mirror..

marnie: i like the way you placed your pics. your photographer managed to capture the atmosphere well! show more!!!

about japan: i told my boss i didn't want to encroach and he said don't be silly it's not a family holiday. while i know it's true, it's hard to see it that way with a stroller and baby around you know. but it worked out beautifully. when we had to go to the office, it was just me and him. i had some meals with them but most on my own. which i really enjoyed! we did call each others' rooms to check if the other wanted to join for dinner - so play by ear most of the time. if around, there was the option for meeting up. if no answer then we took it as settle yourself.

i LOVE the food!!!!!!! but shopping sibeh expensive

Thx for sharing JP Chan contacts with me but he will nt be available for my time slot on 30/9. My conversation with him oso dun make me feel gd abt engaging him as my JP (coz nt friendly plus a bit hao lianz)

Hey Junebride,
My FH oso did nt ti qing to my mum. A bit old fashion plus i dun tink nowadays anyone do that. My mother will oso nt meet my PIL until my AD

pandalic, tks alot for ur advices! while the jobs r attractive bcoz of their $$, of coz i look at their prospects as well... actually wanted to change job since last yr, but stayed on to accumulate no of yrs (dun wanna be labelled as job hopper)

ya, was thinking tat i shld be frank abt my upcoming wedding. dun wan the co to feel cheated, really need their understanding about leave taking. so defintely will check before a company confirms me...

Just call the bridal shop yesterday to inform them the code no for the free 48 photos that they are giving us to distribute to our relatives.

As for the potrait photo to hang in our master bedroom, they asked me to choose the same theme photos, as at first, I choose different colour themes and thought that it was ok.

But one of the mr and miss wedding club staff (janice) said that it will be very messy if I choose different theme. Do anyone has any idea about this? Whether we must use the same theme to do the potrait? and in fact the potrait they giving us is very small, so me and hubby top up $100 more to get a bigger potrait to hang in our master bedroom. At first, they quoted $200 and I said too ex don't want. Then one of the staff talked to the prof Tan and he agreed to let us have the bigger size potrait by topping $100 more. Don't know is it their sales techniques, everything i said too ex then they will lower their pricing? So funny. But the photos really are very well taken by my photographer tiansheng.

I am going back in 2 months time to choose the image designing for my album before they print our photos on the album and give to us the actual album. They said it will take about 2 months time (around july) then we can get the actual album. They said a lot of ppl are queueing now to see their image designing process. Don't know is it true or not? And I also have not book to see my image designing process yet. Cause I have not choose the photos to put in our potrait yet. Still confusing... Don't know choose which color theme. Hee Hee
So once I made my decision, then I called them again to inform them the color theme that I want for my potrait and also booked the date to go down to look at the image designing process at the same time.

By the way, I am now not very sure what other things should I do now, can anyone give me some ideas?

I have booked the wedding banquet, bridal shop, photographer only no videographer but powerpoint slide made by me, wedding favours, purchase things to be used in my new house (eg pots... etc) and some items brought by my mum to bring over to my new house (eg thread, baby bathtub, the xi sticker etc) and what else must i do? Me is sourcing for actual day shoes and wedding cakes pricing currently. Cause hubby is very busy with his work, house renovation and giving tuition at the same time, so he asked me to help him to check out the cakes pricing first.

By the way, do anyone has any idea? which shop sell afforable cakes that are good to eat? Can anyone provide me with the phone no, name of the shop and the pricing of the cakes? I prefer to get a cake which cost $3 to $4 per box. Cause I think we really spend a bit too much. That is why now hubby do not have much money to spend these few days. Still praying hard for his salary to come soon. Me also help him to pray. Me kpo. Ha Ha Ha

If anyone has a list - what are the things that need to be done before the actual day comes. Hope someone can email to me. The more things that I prepared, the more confused I get. I am not sure what things I left out. Me is always a big blur sotong. Hee Hee : )

Take Care Gals

Regard
Michelle

we planning another round of nite out on 11th May (eve of vesak day) anyone keen.....

still deciding between (1) karaoke, (2) pub or (3) disco - pls vote

Participate are :

1) diana
2) elsie

should i step on his foot when we enter? haha..

okie will figure something out loh..
sigh...why chinese got so so many customs?!?!
thanks alot for all your advice!

hi ladies..
its been such a busy week..

gera,
i got the same prob too leh..i'm the only daughter in the family then i also have a younger bro..then my wedding invites, for the eng one i put "only daughter" but i gt prob with the chinese characters one. Shld i put "zhang(3) nu(3)" or "xiao(3) nu(3)". am confused now..any advise?

starris,
i'm lucky..
the rom pple called to cfm tt i'm not affected by david loh's retirement..so lucky..one thing off my mind again..

ladies,
have u all booked your GDL's confectionary already or do u girls intend to get real wedding cakes? that day i went pine gardens cakes to order my GDL cakes..then they let us taste their wedding cakes..so nice anf fresh..now contemplating getting a real wedding cake..but then its very ex leh..

Jasmine, i'm only child in the family and hence they put for me "you(4) nu(3)" leh...then my hb is only son they put "she(3) nan(2)" but i dunno what it means actually haha

Jasmine, i intend to get cake vouchers from bengawan solo for GDL
anyway when is your GDL? why you order so early?? Dun think i'll be having real wedding cake cos too ex le and not worth it lor unless u really have spare $$
spent so much on wedding preparations le haiii~

hi sweet kar

me also thinking of seeing the accessories items too. Maybe we can organise another accessory gathering again lor. To invite those who have not gone for the last gathering to go together this time. Is this a good suggestion??? Just wondering...

Michelle

gera,
she nan is correct..as what my dad said..but for mine, dad says shld be zhang nu.. so i'm not sure also.. she nan means only son..

my GDL will be on 14 May.. thats why we ordered so early..but they will only start baking 1-2 days b4..my GDL will only be a simple affair..my dad wants a simple one..i was like "PHEW!!" when he says that..

think the procedure will be that hubby and frens brings the goodies over then my dad returns some goodies back..thats it..then after that we will go to distribute cakes and invites to those relatives who are not at the GDL..

true..i tink a real wedding cake will be good..but very ex..not practical..unless the rest dun have dessert.think need to forego that then..but the cakes are really super nice..yummy..

magical,
Maybe on your AD you can step on his foot. I remember got a superstition that whoever steps on the other's foot, this person will be the 'ruler of the house'...hehe

You can throw pineapple into the house if you want. But we didn't do it.

xiaobai1, sure! lets go together... maybe 13th may? or 12th if they open on public holiday. anyone else wana go accessories shopping?

Hi Ashlady and Jennifer
thanks for both advice, its really make me feel better at least i can tell my mum not all ppl do the same.
I think I will try to get them together when food tasting. hope everthing turn out fine.

Hi Jasmine princess, where is pine garden?how much is per box. we need to order cakes for GDL too,was considering royal or crystal jade. Any other recommendations?

yah man. hehe. shiok.

the food was good chipdale. hehe. free meal. all free. 20 may. that is the day after i collect my photos. hehehe.

Popie,

So u have choose ur menu for ur AD le, rite?

U collect photos album on 19-May or see design?

I will see the design template on 22-May. Really anxious leh. Kekeke

hi jas/gera,

i m the only daughter &amp; i hv 2 younger brothers, the manager frm the hotel say i shld b the 'Zhang Nu' though i m the only gal among my siblings.

well, i guess it shld be ok for how we are addressed in the cards, most impt is that parents frm both sides are happy with it

jmon, ya lor i think there are different versions and every1 thinks differently about each version as i explained to my MIL just now is that "only son" means that my hb does not have any brothers cos if put "youngest son" ppl might think that he have an elder bro
so in the end they accepted the interpretation

Jasmine, why your GDL so early? mine on 4th June leh just 2 weeks before my AD

OL: I changed my job too, about september last year.. new career, totally different from my previous, and huge pay cut.. but i am so much happier here in this new job.. Imagine if i am still at my old job, i will be miserable to think about wedding plannign..

I think its only fair to tell ur new boss ur wedding date. And from there at least u will know if u can take leave during ur probation period... and if they dont allow say this cannot this cannot... u'll at least have an idea what u'll be in for if ub take the job..

With regards to the men can bio ladies at the pool thingy.. i also agree, confidence gives the woman her beauty.. but if the man really wanna bio other women, what can we do? its either we act like small jealous women, or act like a magnanamous person that we are lor..

starris,
mine is $8.80 per book..its those western kind of cakes and pastries.. Pine Gardens is at Ang Mo Kio Ave 10.. Its the ist shop which I went to..so I duno is it too ex or reasonable.. The main reason why I approached them is cos I like their cakes and breads alot..have been eating them since I was a child as I live nearby in the past.. Channel U's weeding programme have also introduced them too.. Their add: Blk 529 Ang Mo Kio Ave 10 #01-2369 Singapore 560529, Telephone : 6459 5507

gera,
we wanted to have the GDL early cos we want to deliver the cakes tgt with the invites..then if we do it early, we also have less to worry when the date draws nearer ma..

Hi Asura,

Noted.... will buy 3 tubes for u.... dun "sabo" me hor! haha....

Hi Geraldne,

My HB also only have a elder sister and my invitation card is put as "youngest son".... so i think up to individual.... in fact, if u didnt ask, i also didnt realise... haha

ok tansy....will nt forget u....

gals....beri sianz....juz call up my hotel co-ordinator and understand tat his last day is the day after 2molo....really wonder how cum this industry so high turn over one....

When I see pretty girls, girls who have nice figure, I will assk my FH to see also.. then we will share our comments... this is vice versa. so he does not have to discreetly see and worry that I may know! :P

The thread is moving real fast huh...hee hee...

Ribbons - I also quit my job liao cos will be leaving for Bangkok by end of May'06 to accompany hubby...

Angeldust - Talking about maintaining a good figure, I really need to put in extra effort...

Pandalic - I think some employers will be quite understanding lah except me, this is also the reason why I quit my job to follow hubby over to BKK...

jux went collect my gowns...suppose to have a half day leave...in the end, leave at 4+ near 5....
Its more like taking time off.

Lipstar,
Its so nice to ve such a good hotel.

Jean,
Now its abt 1~2 days to our wedding.
Like U...alot of ppl said not going.
My FH's colleague even better...email to him
where he's on leave since yesterday.
at least make an effort to call.

I cfm my table on Mon..supposed to be last Sun...but I postphone it.
After confirmation, got abt 1~2 said not going...
Its still ok...Then on Tues nite, another 5 not going.
On Wed nite, some who said not going, now said want to attend.
Then today, ppl sent email not to attend.
Its so "fan"tastic..
So I from 28 tbs also not enough to 26tbs only.
Initially got a few 9pax /tb in the morning...now it becomes a few of 11pax/tb in the late afternoon

I called my coordinator that I will cfm in the morning...she sees me like tat, also ok lor.
Hopefully the guests wont tell me they not coming on tat day..which I guessed some will do tat

Just got the DVD Rom of the wddg pics from photog. I briefly scanned thru them and they seem to turn out not bad. Tomorrow I go to my new place cos my new pc got DVD drive, so I can transfer them to soft copies then show you girls!

Any of you girls going to develop the pictures for your guests - friends and relatives?

Welcome back pinkbunny
kao_welcome2.gif

Hazel: I lost my speech and can't remember all, cos most are thought of rather impromptuly. I'll just type what I can remember. My speech was half in Mandarin and half in English cos hubby said all in English.

Shou3 xian1 yao4 gan3 xie4 da4 jia1 zai4 bai3 mang2 zhi1 zhong1 chou1 kong4 lai2 chu1 xi2 (hubby's chinese name) he2 wo3 de4 hun1 li3, rang4 zhe4 ge4 wan3 hui4 geng4 jia1 you3 yi4 yi4.

- thank your relatives

- thank your parents - can thank them for their yang3 yu4 zhi1 en1...

- thank his parents for accepting you into their family

- thank your friends / colleagues

- thank your helpers

End with xie4 xie4.