(2006) Brides of year 2006

hey all,
i'm new here. i'm also going to be a sep 30 bride.

no wonder i can't get some of the hotels i want, you gals booked already! ;p

in fact i haven't confirm my hotel venue yet, very bochup hor.
any good recommendations?

<font color="ff6000">hi hi ladies...
me now in airport liao..in transit hall...surfing internet..just wanna wish everyone a HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR! MAY ALL U WISHES COME TRUE!! i will be bck on 6th Feb, nite..cheers~</font>

Lipstar,
How can U say I no image?
*sob sob..
I act cute wat...that's my image
hahhaaaa...

Rcvd an overseas call fr a fren..quite happy..
also rcvd latest news tat my another fren is getting married soon..also this year..
Finally!
Comes to think of it...I quite old liao...

Hey Ladies

Details of Gathering in February:

Date : 6 (Mon) or 8 Feb (Wed) (TBC)
Time : 7pm
Venue: MS Cafe Cartel

Attendees:
Dorami (Tentative)
Reismion (Tentative - Wed only)
Reishi (Tentative)
Silentelf (Tentative)
Ivy (Mon only)
Meowysp
Shermaine
Impulse

Anyone else? No one is left out, especially those who just joined us!

Hi to all newbies

Congrats on getting the first detail of your wedding done. And welcome to this lively and often noisy thread!

Here's wishing all a happy and blessed year ahead! May all of you 'huat ah'!!!

happy new year to everyone! i'm new here, just migrated over from the dec 06 thread as there's gonna be some changes to our wedding date. lucky we havent booked or done anything yet. haha.

happy new year to all again!

happy new year everyone!!

hi popie,
maybe you've seen me in the redhill thread? only active in this 2. yes i live in jurong west, but i guess this is my last few months here. new house in redhill. =)

you mean the workers won't wash the floor before they start with the carpentry ah???

the tilers already lay down the floor protection. i think the next thing they're doing is the electrical wiring, plumbing and ceiling. should i wait until all these are complete before washing the floor? thanks for ur advise.. =)

14 march is great, shall see everyone there then. will love to hear about ur photoshoots, me and FH rather nervous about it.. but ours is in May lah. we've been 'nervousing' over it since like last year!

sogo,
i've just been advised last nite to collect as many ang pows as possible too. imagine its the last time we collect. after july got to give out le!! hee.

All April brides: Wishing you all a Happy Lunar New Year!
kao_babydust2.gif

Pinkbunny: Welcome, welcome! U got the same ROM &amp; wedding date as me! Btw, that day is not a 'chin ming'. 'Chin ming' is on the 5th april. So no worries.Now got kakis on the same day as me... Remember to wave to me too when our car pass each other.

Jean: I managed to contact Kelvin after much attempts. Will be mtg him this coming sat. Fri will be going to my BS to discuss on the layout of my photo album. Will be making use of this long holiday to finish as much things as possible. Now the only worry for me is the wedding cards.I can't find someone to help me with the artwork coz it required chinese wordings, &amp; not many people have it lor... Oh, pinkbunny, u asking your company printer to print for u, right? Then how u gonna do the artwork?

Idyll: I'm glad that u finally finished your PS. Dun get too upset with the gown, maybe the whole thing will turn out even better then u expected.

Hey lovestory,

Me uploaded some of my pics on my multiply liao.
My file are so huge mann! Trying to upload the rest but pc kena hang.

Me now doing up my guest list. hehee

Happy CNY gals. I agree with the rest of you that by March , we will have more things to share. Actually 14 Mar (Tue) is the date of my PS thus I can't make it that day. If the majority of you are able to make it that day, all of you go ahead. Then you must tell me what you have shared.

2day is the 1st day of CNY!!!! since this is the last yr for us to collect Ang Bao...then we muz go collect more....GO Go Go!!!!

GONG XI FA CAI!!!! WAN SHI RU YI!!! YI BEN WAN LI!!! BU BU GAO SHENG!!!! HUAT AH!!!!!

Hi Bride,
Got the list. Very comprehensive. Good Job! Have u decided on any of those in the list? I like journalistic shots.

Purpleblur, my budget only $800 for PG. I don't think I want VG. Very weird of me rite, but I feel for VG, I cant bring out and show pple on the spot, they still have to run it at home on PC or player. :p I don't think i'll bother to plug on and watch all the time also. Anyone else like me? hahaha..

Talking about the proposal ring, I wearing everyday. I quite consoled Im not weird in this aspect. I finding a band to go with the solitaire to wear daily. Am I crazy? The thick bands usually not nice. Too many diamonds also not nice. Very vexed. Or should I just interchange between the engagement ring and the band?

ade

wow not chin ming? cool! :D steady la. you're also doing ROM and dinner on the same day? cool
where's your venue? ok steady, when our cars pass each other we roll down the window and yell "OI!" loud loud ok? haha

about the printer, sorry babe, i work for a company that has a creative department so i've asked them to help.

gong xi fa cai and xin xiang shi cheng everyone! (have a prosperous new year and may you get whatever your lil heart desires)

I'm also a sept bride.. looks like many of you chose 30 Sept! I'm a 25 Sept bride.. its a Monday.. so guess its not as hot.. I'm be having my customary and dinner on the same day so hopefully its not too tiring! BTW, can i check with u gals.. have u gals booked your frens to be our bridesmaids? Is it too early to 'chope' them? Anyone knows how to do it? Send email? Can advise?

<font color="ff0000">Happy Lunar New Year!</font>

<font color="ff0000">All is well during the reunion dinner on Sat and Today. Everyone in a joyous mood. Anyway, his sis is happy to receive extra ang baos this year..*wink wink* so no grudges bear. I am glad this whole episode is over and done with. Thanks everyone for the advice.</font>

<font color="ff0000">Jacquise: I am not having VG too. Like you said, we wont bother it after 1 week. It will be there collecting dust plus, technology advance too fast. Our DVD may be obsolete in future.</font>

Happy New Year...may the yr of dog bring all good luck n prosperity....

hi jacquise...

u r not weird...me too also dun intent to spend on VG....thk in time to come no one will watch the VCD liow...n its ex...hee hee hee

Hi everyone! I'm new here! I'm getting married this december! .... but... i dunno what i want... haven't decide on venue or anything yet.... anybody can tell me where to start??

hi Ei Ting...

congrates on your coming marriage....and Happy new Yr...

how to start ah....for me its
1 the date,
2 the venue and
3 the BS......

if u wan to get married on a dec weekend, u must confirmed your date quickly as most hotels will be booked by now...u also got to come out wif a estimate of the no. of tables you need before you can look ard for the hotel of ur choice.

if u waiting for ur FIL to give u the date, you might wan to do the research of hotel/restaurant first and also hint ur FH tt dates in dec are hot and might not get a hotel if u don't hurry...

good luck yeah and dun hestitate to post any queries if you have any....am sure all of us here will be more than willing to help you...

i got the date... on the 8/9 or 10th Dec... but then, tables 20 or less, BS is sophia weddings..
but... i feel lost cuz my husband everything also says.... up to u lor...

hi Ei ting...

9th dec is a super hot date...my AD also on that day....if u wan a decent hotel u got to work fast

do you have any hotel that you like? give them all a call and ask them if the dates are available and make tentative bookings or put on waiting list first...

then arrange to go down wif ur FH to look at the hotel n discuss the package with them....your FH must play a part in this as he must also be confortable working with the coordinator....

at first my FH also say up to me...anything i like he also ok one but i made him play a part in the decision making coz we must thk of the budget, ambience, location, food....etc etc...

Hi pinkcandy,

If you are interested, you can call Cheryl to enquire about the menu as well as the date availability. Just indicate to them that it's a HSBC buffet lunch/dinner you are enquiring about.

Cheryl Ho
Purple Sage Pte Ltd
Tel: 6396 6990
www.purplesage.com.sg

<font color="0077aa">hi all, happy lunar new year... hope all of you have had much fun.. i did... kekeke, coz this is the last year i can collect ang pows, i went all out.. kekeke.. and some closer relatives actually give extras.. so touched.. kekekek

jacquise, you can try to go find the matching wedding band at the same jeweller... i found a matching wedding band for my solitaire at the same jeweller and the band will also match to my bf's wedding band as well..

oh, then i not spending on VG as well...

ei ting, congrats.. eh, i think wat you should do now is to do the preliminary sourcing for the hotel/restaurant.. like wat bride steph said.. you can called up the hotels/restaurants for availability then shortlist a couple based on your preference (like budget, location, food, etc) and ask your bf to decide from there..

well, dun let him always say "up to you"... tell him that its his wedding too... it takes 2 to wed.. and so, you will like him to be part of the wedding too... afterall, its good memories... =)</font>

hi sushi : thanks for your info.... after much consideration decided not to have a VG afterall... running out of time anyway... ha.!!

hi shelyn : wow... we've got the same wedding date!!! btw would you be holding both rom and customary together on the same day??

A Happy and Prosperous New Year to you all and hope wedding preparations will go smoothly till our AD!Heh, last year to collect ang pow, so must work harder to cover more married relatives and friends.

Jacquise, same here I am thinking of not getting a VG too. Wanted to at first but their prices are all so steep. The cheaper ones are amateur VGs so rather spend more money to get a good PG. I think I would be flipping through the album more than viewing the DVD. Now, trying to convince FH to skip engaging a VG.

Ei Ting,
Like what Step mentioned, 9 Dec is a super HOT date. Having my AD on this date too! Maybe, you can start doing your homework on your shortlisted banquet venues first, call them to check if they are still avail on your selected date and then make a appt with them to view the place.

Pink Bunny: Yup, not 'chin ming'. I already double confirm liao. I checked with the chinese calendar &amp; asked my auntie &amp; some friends from china to check for me liao. Confirmed it's on the 5th Arpil.
My Venue is at Furama City Centre. What's about yours? U took your PS, etc already? How much preparation u done so far? Haha, now got someone to help me gauge how much i have done. ;)

Hazel: CNY very boring leh. Yesterday go FH grandma's place, then everyone go my place and gamble. Was a nightmare yesterday. With all the kids running &amp; jumping around, I'm so afraid that they will ruin my furniture.
Final damage: Pen ink on my sofa &amp; a few scratches on my coffee table. *heart pain sia*

Happy CNY everyone!

Hazel: Yesterday went to 2 relatives' houses.

Ade: What! Your new house! Wah, I wouldn't let kids near my new place man!

hi Joey,
My AD is also 30 Sept
But my dinner is on 1 oct. What is ur budget in looking for hotels?

hi Jean,
I also havent book my frens...heh. I think i would ask them personally instead of email. It is more personal

<font color="0000ff">Happy Lunar New Year to one and all!

Hey Jacquise, no prob! Hope the list is useful for you. Yeah, I spent a lot of time compiling that list
In the end, I went with Hilarion Goh for AD PG. AD VG is The Wedding Paparazzi. As for the wedding band, I'm also looking for a band that will match my solitaire. I will be wearing them together. Don't want to waste money by letting the ring sit at home

Welcome Ei Ting! I'm also a 9th Dec bride
It's a really hot date so you gotta be fast in booking the venue. It's normal for our hubbies to say "up to you" in decision-making
I find that it makes things easier for me to organise also :p So long as you run through your options and choices with him and explain to him why you've made that decision, if he's ok with it then it's alright.</font>

Hi Jean,

I have booked my friends when I met them for Christmas. It's never to early to tell them 1st then confirm again when it's 1 or 2 months before so that they can meet together for hen's night to discuss how to 'tekan' the groom. Haha...

I know of a friend who uses email to 'book' her friends at short notice and the friends are not happy so they refused to be her jiemeis. I think meet your friends and tell them personally will be better.

Just my two cents' worth and hope it is useful.

ade
wah ... you even checked with people from china? pei fu, pei fu! my venue is SAF yacht club at changi. i think if you use me as benchmark, you'll feel very relieved! hhaha. i have done my PS and already chosen the pics, just paid deposit for venue but that's it. now seaching for WG and mr pinkbunny is still wishy washy about his guest list. my mum is sooo unwilling to find out what kind of traditions i should follow....

aiyoh.... your new home was attacked by kids huh? did you tell them to surrender a few angpows to you for compensation? hehe. hey ladies, next year we will be GIVING ang pows liao leh!!!

Hi Hi all brides,

wana wish all a very Happy Chinese New Year! Gong Xi Fai Cai!May 2006 be a wonderful one for all of us!Happy ang- baos collecting..next yr we gotta be the ones giving liao..

Wendy, this is a bit belated..but wana wish u a wonderful holiday in Hokkaido
pai seh..being busy so didn't log on for a while..

hi ashlady > sounds like you got yrself a gd deal!

welcome jean and joey!

dear joey > you might wanna check out some of the hotels soon. heard that sept/ oct this year is v hot, so shd try confirm soon. tink the marina area's hotels are not bad - oriental/ mandarin/pan pac... you can make appts with the catering sales mgr aft cny.

precious_moments > oh dear, sorry to hear abt yr frens situation abt the jiemeis thing.
i didnt collect many angpows.
is it true that we dont have to give angpows during first CNY as wedded couple?

btw ladies, i don't intend to hav jiemeis, is that too extreme? coz i wouldnt have the "tekan" things in the morn and mine is going to be a really simple wedding - church wedding then dinner (my FH is not really Chinese)
do you tink i can make do without xiongdis and jiemeis?

Now i feel very normal too. No VG and Band &amp; Solitaire worn together. Heee...

Also, every jeweller selling White Gold yet the price diff rather great. Eg: Soo Kee versus SK versus Goldheart. Is it just branding differences? Or is there real white gold difference? ;)

Hey..I realise, I think I'm the only one getting married on 15th April on this thread.....so no one to gauge with as far as wedding prep is to do.

Ade, thanks girl. Meraj and I had fun at the shoot so we're not at all worried about how it looks. I'm not even too upset about the amount of gunk in my face and hair at the shoot - and that's saying a lot. I'm looking forward to the pictures.....

Wahh.....my heart aches for you leh...your new home.......(!)

Pink Bunny, I thought newly weds can still get ang pow in the first year of marriage?

Hazel, I spent the day at my brother's new place....a thanksgiving do for my brother's new place and the safe birth of my niece. Then slept much of the evening.

I am slowly printing my invites, worked some more on the programs and putting on paper the "vision" I had on the album for the shoot photos.