(2006) Brides of year 2006

Hi Junebride,
i oso rom in june. so coincidence!
i've oso wanted to plan same date for my AD but it wont b a weekend n parents prefer to b in sept.
my fren had chosen her gown. her AD will b on 18th June next yr.

Hey Chomecc,
Hope yr parents are doin better now... yr hubby is so sweet oh... Sweet's hubby too... actually all of us shd grab our HB/FH tight, cos by wantin to marry us is already a commitment made isn't it? Men generally dun commit themselves to something they aren't sure of (or at least i think that way).. they must love us loads, whether they say it out or not.. just my thoughts..

I'm fine with 7pm... metin at entrance of Marche?

Hi Chomecc, hehehe ur hubby soooo sweet too! The feelin sure lasts longer than the chupa chups! Hey, did u go Hong Kong in the end? Managed to get your kua?

Hey gals, goin be missing u all for a while. Gotta go to India on work trip & be back on 10th Dec. Hope to hear more good news for Frais on your date & everyone else on your BS, hotel & photographer search!

So, who's goin organize Mon 12 Dec now? I'm on ok!! Cya then! Tata! *wave*

hey bride

i have read from another thread that one bride bought a mani/pedi package for her jiemeis to enjoy.

I intend to do the same cos after thinking about it, we may buy the dress for them, but they may always have an occasion for it. Hence, the dress would still go to waste.

or you can make your own thanks you hamper or something like that for them.

Wah... didn't come in for 1 day and the forum is flooded... took me some time to read...

Hi Chomecc, hope your parents are well. and your hubby so sweet... mine only send me sms to say that we can count down... so sianz rite... haahaa...

sweets, have a safe trip and hope that everything will go smoothly for you. ^_^

i'm fine with 7pm.

<font color="aa00aa">hey all,

Date: TBC or 10 dec or weekday or weekend
Time: TBC or lunch or suggestions
Venue: TBC or suggestions

Attendance:
1) lovestory
2) sweetie
3) tweety

any gals can make it pls add ur nick as well n gv some suggestions.</font>

Hey lovestory,
Morning. I will be in KL from 9-12dec. 15 - 18dec me have class. Can meet after that?

<font color="aa00aa">hey tweety,
morning too!

sure...when's the date u free? pls suggests?

hey all,

Date: TBC or 10 or 29 dec or weekday or weekend
Time: TBC or lunch or suggestions
Venue: TBC or suggestions

Attendance:
1) lovestory
2) sweetie
3) tweety

any gals can make it pls add ur nick as well n gv some suggestions.</font>

purple - YAR LOR.. cant wait to be home man..

i will b buying my own personal thank u gifts for my jie meis other than the ang pows for gatecrashing. haven tot of wat to give yet... ke ke ke..

dress - think bsproffy mentioned somewhere in raffles have a shop tt sells quite nice jie mei dresses that are relatively affordable. u might wanna chk tt out.

Thanks for your recommendation baby squid, i'm actually considering Mum's Kitchen now. Will be tasting their food before deciding.

As for HM... anyone considering Mauritius?
I'm prob going there. Also haven't booked yet... but will do so by Dec / Jan. That would be about the correct time.

Lissa

Hi Dawn,

Me going Tokyo for HM... hopefully they can get up to 10 pax if not e trip will b cancel.... so presently i m keeping my fingers crossed...
Everyday pray &amp; pray over it... haha..

Girls: Thanks for all your advice!
330846.gif

Hazel: You said "else be more hardworking...N start looking for one" so matter-of-factly that I find it funny.

Wah! So systematic ah! You used to be the one who was most lagging behind in wddg prep, not bad ah!

Jean: U bought that amount of wine for an estimated how many tables?

Idyll: I am pseudo-gu niang type, but my job entails lots of tough labour. I think I better postpone my mani to Thurs in that case. PS on Fri. I call myself later. Thanks!

Oooh Jean, Chile's wine is supposed to be good..or so I've heard. Crisp and clean.

K Girls. I'm in love with this dress by (yet again) Alvina Valenta). I'm thinking of adopting the design of the dress to wear to my pre-wedding lunch. The material is cheap and the dressmaker would only charge me under S$100. Plus I can wear it all the time to dinners, parties etc. Worth it you think?

330849.jpg

Worth it?

Lipstar,
come to think of it...
Jean is not choosing the cheapest wine...
So, if U want, U can choose $12/bottle..
its MEANT for DRINKING NOT Cooking

my fren suggested to choose the dry wine cos not many can take it..then lesser bottles...heheeee...

<font color="0077aa">hey ladies

for bridesmaids, i am getting the dress for them.. but they will choose their own design.. only limited by the fabric i want lar.. then for the other jie-meis, i only give dress code and a thank-you present..

eh, angeldust, i see the raffles place shop liao.. i dun like.. they uses flowy materials.. like the coconut boutique kind but yet not as fashionable and a bit market-like.... hahhaa

kitkioko, welcome and happy preparing.. its fun!</font>

Lipstar,
I where got lag behind...
I jux nice one....
cos I ve lesser things to do than U.
heheheeee....
I will go T-dragon to choose my cards in Dec....
dunno if I send out in Jan, would be too early.
cos cards r normally sent out 1 to 2mths in adv..N my AD is end Apr.
then I would choose my florist in Jan.
my hotel gave me a choice of using June or Steffi florist.

<font color="aa00aa">hmm are the jiemeis/bridesmaid going to b in the same design? or same color? i was wonder if it's same design will b abit sian? then again.. all same color can b abit dull also :P

wat are u all planning?</font>

morning gals.. chomecc, that's very sweet of your hubby. you must be damm happy and "high" on that day right?

frais, i had receive the list.. thank you so much for updating. Give you an hug.. muack.. haha

i will be going for biz trip to europe next week too. will only b back on 16th dec. do keep me update on any big news.

Hi newbbi,

sorry leh, did not get to see my hb yesterday.
will try to get him to give me the copy that you wan and fax to you tml.

<font color="0077aa">purpleblur, a color can have different tone leh.. so dun worry abt dull lah...

in any case, i will do a white xmas theme.. white, blue and silver..</font>

<font color="ff0000">hmm... i think my jiemeis/ bridesmaids.. will get quite a lot of angbaos.. definitely from me.. and another from hubby during the gatecrash.. then probably my mum will also give them.. if they follow me to my hubby's parents home... his parents should be giving them ang baos too..</font>

<font color="ff0000">i hope to get at least 4 to 6 jiemeis.. cross my finger that my best fren wont get married next dec too or +/- 3months from my AD... afraid that her PIL or own family wont be too happy.. cos some chinese said +/- 3 months from your own wedding cannot attend others' wedding... xi chong xi.. no good...</font>

<font color="ff0000">other ang baos.. may prepare small gifts for them as a token of appreciation... </font>

<font color="ff0000">am afraid that i can't get my frens to be jiemeis leh.. cos most married.. and some have kids liao.. how ah?</font>

<font color="0077aa">aiyah apple, married jiemeis are called "AH YI".. you still can ask them for help..

actually i define bridesmaid and jiemei differently.. hahaha, bridesmaids walk down aisle with me.. then the others are other part of my bridal party.. *kekek

and actually if you and your frens are not pantang then you can go for each others wedding lar.. at most keep from your folks lar.. *kekeke.. naughty me..

actually, i am the maid of honour for a good fren end oct 2006 and she will be my matron of honour too.. we are both fine with the arrangement...</font>

Hazel, oooh. Tough choice between the florists. Which would you go for? What flowers?

My pre-lunch is at Equinox (for sentimental reasons - Meraj proposed to me whilst having New Year's brunch there...
) I'll be going for mani/pedi after the lunch then it's just us hanging out at the hotel to finish up the wedding gift exchange and out for light dinner and drinks.

Lipstar, okie dokie. You have their no. right? Call ah...better not call. Cannot do last minute cos' Jena VERY popular.

Purple: My FH's colleague did the JB research for us. Cos he wanted to get on from JB so he spent alot of time checking out the shops, and he decided on Valentine. So we went up with them when they went to collect their photos, and we saw their album. Quite nice. Of course they showed us their portfolio, and they allowed us to see other customer's albums, so we had a good comparison too. And cos the friend was there, they couldnt lie to us on their package items, and cos our friend knows the boss very well, so no chance to play lah..

BSProffy: "I am sure u are as rich as any of us here" Oh no, does that mean all of u are poor like me too? Hee..

Bride: Strathmore is at Queenstown MRT.

Apple: I know how u feel.. I hated that sensation when i was waiting for my turn at the walk in selection.

Maez: Wah.. ur number very "Small" compared to mine. U got inside news ah? I 930 collect already 500 plus liao lor..

I agree with what purple said re ang baos.. I have also heard of pple giving very pathetic ang baos.. my cousin got married at fullerton, her table was about 1200 per table. There was this distant relative that she invited. only one of them was invited, but 4 turn up. So no choice lor, have to make space lor. Then at end, when we help them count ang bao, this family only gave $20 ang bao. one person $5!!!! Its enough for a sumptious vege rice lah, but not a 9 course dinner at fullerton.. (THank God they very distant and we not close to them, so not inviting them to my dinner anyway)

What i hear some do is, if they cannot pay for dinner, invite them to church reception if u are having one. hee... thats what i plan to do.. Also not fair to them, to make them fork out money to pay ang bao when they are already tight.

Oh, man, this thread is moving so fast!!

<font color="aa00aa">dun think you're considered poor if you can afford to hold banquet la.. it's how u see it and how u manage your finance.. most of us here save on our daily expense to make our AD a nice one.. maybe for you, you see it differently, at least your daily expenses not tat tight lor...

sigh...sometimes i wonder how those ppl think $20 bucks leh~! not even enough for you to order a 9 dish meal at a zhu chao stall.. not to mention that the food served would b much better!

proffy i like the color theme
would have to discuss with my jiemei when nearer to date.. i'd have to decide who to pick first.. there would b twins.. so not good to get same design.. same color also funny.. *headache*

i wanted rainbow tone..but hubby says orbiang

Hey sinkor,

Must tahan. Yeterday nite while brushing teeth I smelled McDonald's french fries. This morning still thinking of it. 13 days left. No french fries man. But everyday seems only to think of eating set meal at McDonalds. Chiam la. Really must avoid these food. Ahhhh ...

Aiya, church wedding not romantic la. If you want romantic, then you play more romantic tunes during your wedding dinner. Also same ma. Dinner walk in twice. Church only once. The most your dinner walk slower la.

hi jocester, babysquid

ya ya now a bit earli. i also surf the website and saw most trips need at least 10 pax if not canceled and they will ask u to change to ano destination....urghhhh...i also dun want to change...
agre with u we can form a grp tour here hehe.
tokyo sounds nice too...me looking at europe....

marnie,
I also dunno which to choose...
I can choose any flowers I like but not those expensive ones..
Heard that they r given a budget by the hotel
So long its within budget is ok.
but I dunno how much is the budget.

hi bsproffy,

penalty to give up duxton will be 50% of the downpayment (exluding property tax). so its at least abt 70% of the downpayment gone.

hi bride,
ur friend broke up with gf right after balloting so its only the 2k. if they have chosen a unit then break off, then its a lot more to incur.

we are also hoping that it will be built by 2008. then its still alright. meantime after AD, FH will be staying with me and my parents due to space constraint at his side. (thank goodness!). i will kill myself to stay with his parents. esp MIL....will just drag myself home everyday if i'm staying with her.

The worth or not to buy duxton is subjective. cost itself after interest, will amount to quite a bit. property value will go up but not a lot for HDB. max is also abt 500-600k for a 5 room flat. furthermore, the size is relatively smaller than other flats.

Since buy oredi, we just close one eye and wait patiently for it to be completed. the land has been cleared but havent start piling yet. heard that piling itself can take up to like 1-2yrs. but building itself will be very fast. one day can build 3-4storeys.

<font color="0077aa">purple, dun need to think too hard lar..

actually i think same color, same tone looks nicer and classier when we walked down the aisle leh..

rainbow tone is fine with your jiemeis know how to wear the color that accentuate their skin colors.. maybe you provide them with a corsage or a brooch or something special for them to make them diff from the usual guests.. </font>

morning ladies,
i having 6 ladies @ reception table...afraid my ladies cant handling if all come together.

4ladies incharge of the guest list(bride &amp; groom side), 1 for ang pow box &amp; 1 for guest book.

<font color="0000ff">wah! so fast! Can't catch up! *pant pant*

eteh3, we bought the 4-room flat cos FH calculated that it's more worth it lor. Initially wanted the 5-room cos not used to the small space but then all the better cos then we got excuse that only 2 of us can stay in the house

hey girls, i'm thinking of paying for my bridesmaids dresses, then give ang pao. Think that's already close to $200 per person. Dress they can keep mah. My theme's olive green and maybe rich purple or cream. which do you think is better?</font>

hi dawn,

europe is a nice place too... will be giving it a miss for HM since i will b going w friends in next May.... which are e places that u are considering?

Linda,
its okie..tks tks =). hows your hse things?

AXL,
i also getting 4 lor, 3 are my JM, 1 is my own sister =). 2 will look after frenz and relavites for the bride's side, 2 will look after frenz, relatives and colleagues lor..

newbbi,
hse thingy... all done. all furniture will be in by 7 Dec. have moved some of my clothing to my new hse. hope to move in within these 2 weeks loh.

<font color="0077aa">hey bride

are you tailoring for the bridesmaids' dresses or getting off the rack?? you got any lobangs? i checked out a few tailors but their quotes are quite high.. each dress plus fabric will be $160 at least...

eh, as for your theme, you should go for wat you like.. but also take into consideration if your bridesmaids' skin tone can take the color you want.. =)</font>

I was also thinking in the line of dresses. My hb agreed to cap at $100 per pax. The JMs will have to top up the extra cost themselves. I will add a mani/pedi package for them. But currently this is on-hold until hb is certain that we can give such incentives to my JMs.

There is no classification of my JMs and BMs. Cos using the same group of gals for gate-crashing and holy matrimony.

Hi bride

think my preference will be olive green and cream.

Hi bsproffy

actually married and unmarried JMs are all called AH YI. this applies for your flesh and blood sisters, friends and your FH's friends. cos they representing your family.

E.G.: you have a married sister and a unmarried sister. But your child will address both of them as ah yi.

But if your FH's flesha dn blood sisters are helping you as JMS, then they will be known as AH GOR (gu-gu). it is specifically applicable for them, cos they are your in-laws.

<font color="0000ff">hi bsproffy, i don't have any lobang... but i heard places like tangs and metro have many nice dresses, esp tangs studio. Not that cheap also but the dresses are nice. I'm planning on giving them the same colour and then they can find their own dresses and i'll pay. So in that sense, they still get to choose what they like so that they can still wear it next time.

hi ivy, olive green and cream is nice, pastel, my theme's actually like nature, forest type so dunno if cream is a good idea.</font>

hi bride

olive green and cream will go very well together. however, it is matched with purple, it will probably give a very heavy feel. like mei jing shen.