(2006) Brides of year 2006

Hello ladies! i am sneaking in
hope everyone is doing well! Yah Marnie, hard to comprehend how i can cope with so many changes at one shot! I think i am not feeling it...yet.

m&M: my advice to you is don't burn your bridges. Keep your options open. tell your boss let you consider first lor; so when you return from the trip, and realised this job is still what you want, you can always go back and know that the door is open for u ;)

Wah hazel your ID quote so ex ah? where did you go? Lipstar can i have your ID contacts also? i went to two IDs Kass design and Hone concepts. We are targeting to get 20 quotes hahahaha.

hi lovebug,

will update when i get home tonight. the lists in my folder at home.

hey janf
sorry but did i forget to put you in the list?

Hi Chaiyo,
Thanks for your comments on White Link. Going to visit them this weekend to see their package and gowns.

Hi Ooshie,

Remember to change my date also... thanks a lot!!!!

Hi baby!

good morning!

wah.. u sure are doing your homework well.. haha.. u're right about Jawn.. i've heard quite a fair bit on them.. they're good.. hehe..

for AD photographer.. there is still no hurry as most of them only accept clients one year in advance.. therefore.. can still wait till nov this year to decide..

for me.. coz i've got nothing to do liao.. i've been sourcing potiential AD video and photographers and will be planning to meet them in Aug and Sept.. but for now.. there is nothing concrete yet..

have u settled your venue already? i think that venue is more important coz popular dates are taken up really fast..

Hi Magical

received. Thanx

For the nite shots.. i also duno where to take.. prob the beach area lor. I think can ask the photographer... he sure got lots of ideas one.
Wahh... the orchard x/mas lightings and hippo bus sounds very good!!... but i wld feel very pai sey leh.... wear wedding gown there and so many ppl see... hahaha... =P

the s'pore river and boat quay also nice... seen those photos b4 but i think a lot of pple take nite shot there liao... if u wan a less crowded area the indoor stadium where there's restaurants has a bridge.... looks quite nice also for nite shot.

EL,
I got more than 20 quotations....
I shld say I can ve the cheapest quotation...but I chose to shortlist the middle range...
Ave cost is $23K for a 4rm std.
inclusive of
flooring- $4~$6K
ShowerKerb+Base- $500
painting- $1K
kitchen cabint-$5K
1 wardrobe in MBR-$2.5K
1 vanity top-$600
1 bomb shelter-$2.5K
Shoe Cabinet at access area- $800
False Ceiling&L-box- $2K
Haulage + Washing- $800 (Haulage paid to HDB, Washing can ask for FOC)
Misc such as relocation of pipes

hi shelyn!
oh yeah...indoor stadium less ppl...but i wan to take the colours ley...very nice...
maybe'll just ask photographer loh.. they got more experience on where will look nice...

charsiew

if u hv seek geomancer's advice on your chosen wedding date, the geomancer will provide AnChuan (shift bed) date & time as well...

btw, EL
flooring if using ceramic is cheaper...but most ppl use homo.
Homo 500x500 is the cheapest, 600x600 is normal, 800x800 is much more expensive and much difficult to lay, thats y not much wants to lay. It looks like marble, it can be $1K to $2K more. That's y I put $4Kto$6K.
Kitchen cabinet got laminated, veneer, postform & granite...forgotten its laminated or veneer is cheaper
Think got 1 brand called Corian, its more expensive.

Wardrobe also must ask what material, venner, plywood, MBF or whatever..... For a 10ft wardrobe, cost is abt 2K to 2.5K.
I am using Ximula, its postform system, so more expensive.
Bomb shelter depends if you want storage. Storage=more money + "eat" up yr space abt 8"
My living area very small, so I may not want to have storage.

Oh yes! One more thing to add...
Most pkg Kit pkg is 20ft only..So, U have to add on to the additional ft cost. think need to add up 4 to 10ft. depends on yr kitchen layout.

m&m,
like what EL said, dun immediately so No to her.
tell her U need a break, let U think over during yr trip and would reply her when U back....

Hi Janf!

Nice to hear you also got the same BS as me, So have you gone for any appointment already? I've went for 2 appointments to try out their WG and EG cutting and designs. Both my gowns will be MTM, how about yours?

Hi Ooshie!
Thanks for the effort! =)

yah yah,
i think photographers have a lot of ideas
i think u juz need to tell them the place u wan to go
they will know where to take nice views

EL, Hazel: Of course... I didn't say no to her... I told her 'we'll see'...

Start receiving cards from students.... those things that they write....want to cry...

EL: I email you his contact tonight.

m&m: Don't cry. I give you my tissue paper also. Come here, give you hug hug.
299567.gif

Don't worry. I don't have BO (body odour).

Since things are so quiet around here, here is another poll (marriage prep non-related of course

After washing your hands, when you talk to your friends/colleagues in the toilet , do you look at them in the mirror or turn to talk to them face to face?

If let's say, I am washing my hands, of course it would be logical and natural to talk to them while looking at their reflections in the mirror. But many times, after I washed my hands, I would turn around to talk to them face to face, but they still talk to my reflection in the mirror. It was such a weird feeling.
299578.gif

Hi Elvi

Noticed that we have the same date for AD. Mine is 23rd too. Will be meeting Oriental this week to lock in the ballroom date.

Still scouting for BS...Can't really make up my mind yet!

Hello rhys 24 =)

Yeah, my AD in 23 Sep 06. ROM is 26 Sep 05...so nw counting down...nuttin much to do liao.

Your ROM over liao? Take ya time for BS...but venue mus decide earlier cos our mth is a hot one...=)

lipstar,
I would be the same as U...
y would I be looking at their reflection when I can see them in person...

hmmm...think I go & look at their mattress & bed again...
I really like microber bed...but cost $1200 for the bed only...

tks janf...
nope, im not seeking any fengsui master for any advice.. jus tinking if its ok.. cos i tink im not following most of the traditions/customs.. tink the oni customs we will be following will be the tea ceremony on AD, & having my brother to open the groom's door, & to give angpao to helpers... as for an chuan, still need to consider.. cos if we are to follow strictly, think there are alot of rules to follow.. rite? signz~

hi maez, bb,

welcome on board and have a happy time BS shopping!!!!
have fun!!!

purple: i oredi start to shen chi jian yong liao.. after credit card bill came for hotel deposit!! ha ha ha ha ha

Idyll: How are you feeling now?

299649.gif
Complaint ahead.

I went for my first fitting already. I don't really like the gowns. I tried at least 7 WG and 7 EGs, but none really made me excited. I was like "Ok lor."
When I came out of the fitting room in another WG, My best friend asked me "Haven't you already tried this one?"
299650.gif
Tentatively, both also have to MTM. WG will incorporate the designs from 3 gowns- bodice of 1 gown, the lace patterns at the bottom of the gown from another gown and the lace patterns of the bodice from yet another gown.

Myabe I have been indoctrinated by "Sex and the City" where Charlotte's gay friend told her that she will know that it is the right gown
299651.gif
when she tries it on. I got neither the epiphany nor the excitement. After we left the shop, my best friend also said the gowns available are "so so lor."
299652.gif

Hello Girls.....! My tonsilitis are getting better though my fever refuses to shake off. Feel really lethargic and out of breath. Doc said got lunch infection due to the pus from the tonsilitis. (Yet another tale of bodily secretion....

M&M : I agree with EL and Hazel. Keep your options open. Sometimes coming back to something you've previously done before is like a sweet homecoming. Who knows what the future holds but there is a plan for you....that I'm sure.

Hazel : Wah piang..! So expensive the ID packages. I think I can die liao. I think I must charge my clients more liao so I can pay for my future house reno....

So who here wants legal advice for a fee?

Lipstar : Thanks for asking about me dearie. I am surviving. I'm actually still ill but pushing myself to do my work on top of packing my files into boxes. We have a cut off date of 15th August to have files packed and sent to the warehouse so I'm behind schedule...Been coming on Saturdays and Sundays just to be able to do as much as I can....

On to your "toilet" poll. After washing my hands, I will turn around to face the person I am talking to. It feels weird to talk to a reflection. Having said that, I dread going to a toilet and then finding my client coming out of the next cubicle....Unnerving man!

We seem to have a bit of a disappointment gowns. I spoke to the designer at my BS and after much discussion, we thought that having cap sleeve may not be good for me as they will emphasise my "thunder arms". But I am not wanting to wear strapless nor full length sleeves. So in a bit of a fix. Any ideas, Girls?

EL : Eh....how's your new job going so far? Will you be taking a lot of leave to oversee your house reno and wedding prep stuff - will they be stringent on that?

I reckon you've not done anything else for wedding prep right what with job and all.....Aiyoh..pray you don't rush like mad come end of the year, girl....You'll be stressed then.

Roll call - Jean, Ade, b{Ilina}, Gintonic. Who else am I missing?

Paisei... must be past week didn't post much, today feel exceptionally verbose.

Several things are not going according to plan.

1) We have to choose another priest for our church wedding because our favourite priest who knows us personally, (so that he can give a personal sermon rather than a cater-for-all-couples sermon) is being transferred to another church.

2) Master bedroom feature wall colour turns out too pink.

3) HB's room (bedroom 3 which houses his glass toy cabinet)'s feature wall colour also turn out too blue.

4) We had intended to sell our flat 5 yrs later and move back to the East, but we had hacked half the wall of the master bedroom to link the master bedroom and walk-in wardrobe room thru another constructed door which is in the MBR. Had read in Home and Decor forum that if you hack a wall, might be harder to sell.

5) The ID got our toilet fittings mixed up. The shelves are already drilled into the tiles, don't think can remove them.

Thus, El, I won't be recommending him to you.
299689.gif

6) We had thought we had gotten a good deal by travelling all the way to this ulu place in Hillview (recommended by "Home and Decor" mag to buy a Simmons mattress. But when we went to Simmons Gallery and pretend to ask her how much they are selling the mattress (that we bought), she gave us such a condescending and disgusted look and snooty reply "We don't sell this model." Then I was still trying to be polite and asked her "Is the model a lower range one?" She must have felt bad and replied "Maybe you can find it in smaller shops in HDB estates."
299690.gif

Wah! You should have seen HB's facial expression. He was crushed.
299691.gif

Sorry, was really busy with other stuff recently.

Attached is 3 quotations which i obtained for my renovation. Some of you would be interested. In the end, i chose Contractor A. Price wise, all of them would result in roughly same price. Cheaper in one item = more expensive in other.

so in the end, just choose based on the service level. Guess when you go out and find contractors, just need to know the average unit prices.<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
Quotations (B).xls (21.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

7) We spent $698 on a Zen-ish platform bed with side storage. We saw similar ones going for $299 without the storage a few months ago. Then, last week, we saw yet another similar one at $429 at OM furniture warehouse. Hb's sis tried to comfort us that we got storage. But that is almost $280 for a bit of storage.

8) Of course, I had always assumed that my wedding will have gate-crashing, but due to time constraint, have to do away with it.

Idyll: I think the guys have it worse. Imagine going to the urinals and seeing your boss there, and all other urinals are occupied except the one right next to his.

How does your gown look like? How about three-quarter sleeves, until the elbow?

Hi lovebug,

My wedding mass is on 3 Dec 05, 11 am. Think Christ The King only allow 1 wedding mass a day. Do you stay around that area?

Need some help. It is my FH that's catholic. I have no idea how to prepare for the church wedding other than booking the venue, the caterer, the photographer and the gown! Any idea?

Alamak! Idyll, after rereading your post, then I read about your pus! Luckily, I wasn't eating supper.
299719.gif

Yoo Hoo.... Jean what have you been busy with lately?

Phew..i just finished my presentation tonite during my last lesson.

Lipstar, exams on 11th Aug for 1st paper...now gotto study hard but hor, mind still thinking of wedding preparations.

Marnie,

how abt off-shoulder sleeve? Just like mine? Actually my desugner was saying that if my gown is sleeveless, it will lokk better..but because I dun feel comfortable, so I decided to have the sleeve...

lipstar,

Busy with work lor...My preparations has slowed down cos now only waiting for my gown fitting in oct and there's nothing else i can do now...Wat i should do is already done...

Ade,

Have u called david loh yet?

hi greekgal!
now i'm waiting for an email from jacky (injack studio...i have another contact who's only charging me $500 for unlimited digital photos in soft copies..if want him to develop for me, its 30 cents per piece. n the best thing is, i'm having my AD over 2 days..n he's not gonna charge me extra..

Hi girls!

Yah lor, im also thinking of ways to earn more money. Really worried about the debt we'll be getting into next Dec.
Hai..

My aunt starting her gown design next Sunday at GHA, so i'm tagging along. Heh hope to try more gowns and KPO around too. At least i'll know what to do when my time comes.

Yah think everybody's caught up with work and stuff. Wedding related stuff for me has significantly quietened down quite abit. Besides banquet, church, BS, VG and PG.. anything else we need to do?

Hi magical
I showed my FH the photos... he also think it's a very good place...
hmm... and it's near my place.. so maybe we can go on our AD...
Thanx for the recommendation!

hi magical
oic..jacky is recommended by janf right?
ya..i think for u, u need to look for a PG who doesnt charge extra for separate day wedding..

Gintonic : Study study....good for you.......Go kick butt on exam day...

Ilina : Do I owe you the tel. nos. to my tailors at Royal Fanrics? For the life of me...can't remember who I am supposed to give it to.

Why have you suddenly decided to go with ala carte, if you don't mind my kaypoh-ness....
Sure have a lot cut out for you...but should be fun!

Jean : I have thought of off-the shoulder but the sleeve part would somehow ome across as still cap-sleeve?

I really want a V-neckline to take away the emphasis from my gigantic hips so either sleeveless or cap-sleeve. Having said that, I need to do more research on off-shoulder styles.

Lipstar : Mine's a knock-off a Monique Lhuillier's wedding dress. I just opt out of the ball-gowny look of that dress and went for an empire cut. Let me see whether I can find a picture of what the top look like and post it here....