(2006) Brides of year 2006

hey petrina,
thanks for letting us know...anyway, most of us had already book our banquet, so if tongshu states it's not a good date, might be too late already..haha..

hi gals!

wah this thread is still so happening...!

i jus signed contract n paid deposit for panpac on mon, but they bill under front office not restaurant category, so wil oni get 0.5% rebate, so i decided not to use the dividend card but a normal card to accumulate points instead...

asura, thnks for the quotes, wah a bit complex wor, but i dun understand y quote A doesn't specify the charges for parts B to F, or that is broken down into details in the numbered section with the prices? what is meant by the HDB Pkg Amt?

Dear gals,
I've finally confirmed my AD. It will be 15 July. The date I wanted earlier is not veri good leh. Though I will be getting married in July, I still will like to stay in this thread, hope all of you don't mind.

Fairyloh, i think the an chuang is impt leh, it's for the couples to hv bliss in bed n hv kids leh, my geomancer picked a date for us to an chuang which is 3 days to 1 wk before the AD (i forgot, too far to rembr ;p), for pple who oredi staying together n sleepg on that bed, got to buy a new mattress, on that day once u "place" the bed, gotta get a little boy/gal (think less than 3 yrs old) to jump on the bed to "activaite" the "kids" luck, after that got to lock the door n nobody supposed to go into the bedroom, esp pregnant women. until the day u get married then can go in. i think no matter wat religion ur PILs r, they still want u to hv kids right? i tot its more a custom practice than a religious practice...

Hi Aiko, that's a surprise.
You're always welcome to stay here!

EL: So sad to see you post less. But we understand. Hope you can return to your garrulous self after you settled in your new workplace.
301311.gif

Llina: No problem at all. Don't worry about not contributing. We just didn't want to chase people away because of our unending chit-chat.

Because some forum goers who can't log in often due to work obligations may feel frustrated because they cannot keep up and leave altogether.

Nope, not going overseas for PS. Too expensive oredi!
301312.gif

Idyll: Go Arab Street buy what? *kaypoh again*

PS can choose 2 locations, maybe a beach and a modern place like Fullerton.

Gintonic: I had read in another thread a month ago that HDB will announce something every end of the month, be it balloting, WIS (walk-in) or BTO (Build-to-order).

Maybe you can post there
301313.gif
, cos last time they have sms alert where they will sms those who joined regarding such announcements. But that was several weeks ago. By now, if there are too many members don't know whether they got still sms one another.

llina: Paisei, can't advise much, cos I don't know what is tulle.
. Though I went to google it, and saw that it is a bit like net, got holes?
I was considering satin or organza. Satin looks extremely elegant, but organza with its layering looks very soft. After I tried on both, I went ahead with organza.
kao_love.gif

Today went to exhibiton at Expo. Hb and I had sort of bought a walk-in wardrobe from ClosetDesign @$120 per foot. Initially he threw in 4 drawers with locks, 2 wirebaskets and 2 tie-racks but relented when I manja
301320.gif
and asked for 5 drawers.

Their offer this time was more attractive because the other time they quoted us $150 with 2 free drawers only. But after I woke up from a invigorating nap
301321.gif
, I realized Hb ad I really very obedient. He asked us not to go to another booth and compare price, and we really didn't.

What happened was the other time we went to Expo (several weeks ago), we went to 2 booths @ SK and ClosetDesign (CD). SK quoted us $120, and CD $150. The other time, HB preferred CD bcos they got black colour. Blk looks very modern and slick.

So today we went again. We walked past SK but we didn't ask for their price. We only talked to CD and signed up with them oredi. He asked us if we had gone to SK. I said NO (cos I want to see what tricks they have up their sleeves), but the salesman was more talking to HB, he didn't hear my reply, and stupid HB
301322.gif
answered YES. So he asked us what price SK quoted us, and we divulged the price they quoted us during the last exhibition.
Who knows, maybe if we go to SK today, they also offer cheaper?
301323.gif

Hazel: You same as me. I also want a city scene, but maybe day time. Night time we want the beach.

Toilet flooring? I thought new flats can't change hack tiles and the basin? Bcos HB has always wanted a glass bowl type of basin. Last time it was very expensive. Now it is so cheap, but we can't hack the basin.
kao_sad2.gif

Felt bad for disparaging my ID. He is not bad lah. Afterall, he can come up with such uniqu# design, like the divider. EVERYONE whom we showed it to likes it a lot.

(Replace # with e. WTF! This board doesn't allow us to type uniqu# design!>?!>???)

Moreover, on Monday night, we met him at our flat, told him our concerns and disatisfactions. He was very obliging and humble. Some contractors may simply shrug them off and push the blame to maybe HDB's contractors.

The other time I mentioned that HB doesn't like the feature wall's colour in the 3rd room where his toy cabinet is in? ID agreed to let us pick another colour and paint it over, FOC. Usually, I think few people would do that. Although, it is stated in the contracts that you can choose as many paint colours as you like, but that is only paint one time. After you finalized the colours and they are painted, you want to change, got to pay.

Paisei...
... 2 days didn't post and I typed 3 long posts.
WooHoo! My 6-mth-old nephew is here! I go and play with him oredi!

Lipstar : Yeah hor....I forgot M&M went to Korea..but she's due to back here tomorrow! Yippeee........!

I'm going to get fabric at Arab Street lor...Going to get some material for myself - going to make a party summery dress for myself.

Girls : Aiyoh...dunno why but been having this terrible headache the whole of today, so I think I better lie down.

I'll post more tomrorow!

Hello All!

I am a feb06 bride. Just got my bridal shop (sattine) my wedding venue (Furama Riverfront)..
So excited abt the big day.. i m sure e same for all here.. hehe.. btw i wanna go for those speedy fitness course any recommendations?
need to cut some fats from my arms thighs and tummy.. hehe.. wanna look e best on my big day!

Idyll: Take care ya!
301333.gif

Today I was sick yet again. My "cute" nose loh.
301334.gif
Sneeze and sneeze. Cause us to be unable to go to food fair in Expo.
301335.gif

It is very inconvenient man. Just now I was reminded yet again, when I woke up feeling extremely thirsty. I went to pour myself a drink but had to stop and put the bottle down on the table cos I kena before, hold the bottle and sneeze then the water went all over the place except into my cup.

ldyll, i'm looking for flats in Bukit Panjang, Choa Chu Kang & Bukit Batok cos in-laws are staying @ Bukit Panjang.

Lipstar, issit true? then i must tell hubby. Actually, i felt that all these walk-in like abit "CHEATING". Cos my hubby went down @ ard 10am on last monday immediately to get the Q no after i hp him. So we got 370 and appt date is on 2nd day of selection which is 29/7. never mind...when the 1st day for selection came which is 28/7, i log in before 8.30am @ office and was shocked to c that the unit we were quite keen already taken up cos HDB opens only @ 8.30am. Which means this unit was already been booked before anyone could select....i told hubby and we were quite upset wif HDB. Dunno if that unit was booked by their own staffs or wad cos how could it have been booked before they open doors, right??

So sad that i din get my lovenest during the walk-in selection last week. Dunno have to wait for how long for the next walk-in liao.

Gals, actually i felt that all these walk-in like abit "CHEATING". Cos my hubby went down @ ard 10am on last monday immediately to get the Q no after i hp him. So we got 370 and appt date is on 2nd day of selection which is 29/7. never mind...when the 1st day for selection came which is 28/7, i log in before 8.30am @ office and was shocked to c that the unit we were quite keen already taken up cos HDB opens only @ 8.30am. Which means this unit was already been booked before anyone could select....i told hubby and we were quite upset wif HDB. Dunno if that unit was booked by their own staffs or wad cos how could it have been booked before they open doors, right??

Beauty tip

Rinse off the nail polish remover. You never know what chemicals lurk in there
301341.gif
, to think what would happen to your nails if you were to leave it on, piled underneath the basecoat and the nail polish!
301342.gif

Gintonic: I am not too sure. That time I read that thread bcos I finished the regular threads, and I was bored, so I ventured into other forums.

That time, this girl seems to receive the HDB e-alert (can subscribe from the HDB website) one day earlier than the other subscribers. Then there was a flurry of everyone putting down their contacts, and this girl will sms them. I haven't read that thread for a long time already, so I don't know what's going on now.

Now I am reading the archives for you, to see what happens down there.

In the 1st archive, JC said "Hi Shan, that's based on the past practice from HDB. If you look at their achive for more than 1 yr back, every month end, they'll annouce something, either BE, BTO or WIS."

and " Another thing that me & my FW found is that a few days b4 HDB announce anything, there'll be some news on HDB flats. I saw an article on the new scheme for >5yrs old flats. Maybe its a hint. :p"
Slog said "Hi Vonz, yah, HDB always launch around the month's end based on their record this year. Every month very near month's end. I think that we all may consider going down to HDB hub every morning starting on 23rd onwards before going to work."

Then in the most recent page, Singa said "confirmed is WIS in Oct for Sengkang/Punggol/Hougang area."

Hope that helps
301351.gif
. I think you better put that link in your favourites, then every day, preferably near 23rd of the month, go and see what they say. Or better still, go and introduce yourself there and make friends. But don't forget us!

hi petrina, long time no talk... haahaa...bz bz... ^_^ so tong shu is out. how's 25 nov. is it a good day for marriage too?? i've just met desmond. quite like his work but think i would view some more works from others...

Hi Gintonic,

Me planning to sign up with Fame too.
Is that the one in Choon Phang/Yishun one?

Any problem with them so far?

Hi All, me new too.My AD will be feb11th, BS is Julia wedding news and banquet at Conrad.
have not decided on the gown design yet..should finalise by this month. Actually i kept putting off choosing the design cos i thought i wanna lose weight first hahaha. My colleague took some appetite suppressant and lose like 5 kg in one month..cool but she is also elastic..u know those tha can lose and put on quite fast one.

marnie,
think U ve passed the headache to me....
heheheee....think cos of too much coffee intake & the hot sun.
Went to Mayer to look at the hob & hood but seems like nobody wants to entertain us. think we always look like the potential customer...whenever I went to elec shops, they rather entertain "mature" groups.

Gintonic,
think its better U subscribe to email alerts...that's how I get to know my balloting in Bedok. anyway, it doesnt make much difference if U know earlier than others...
cos maybe I rcvd the email alert on Wed, newspaper will advertise on Thurs, then Fri/ Sat would be the WIS, balloting exercise. Balloting is via Internet...ve to pay $10 if I remember correctly.
think Bukit Panjang still ve units available else y TV still advertising it.

Lipstar,
y cant U hack the basin? tot HDB dun allow hacking of floor tiles only. I saw the glass sink, ard $100+...but we are not changing the sink...save cost.
Yrs Closet design or Closet Work?
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/19404.html?1118638483

Hazel: Phew! I briefly glanced through the link, and read negative comments. Mine is ClosetDesign.
301360.gif

Can't remember
301361.gif
. Either it's ID or HB who said cannot hack basin. That time our ID brought us to a shop in Balestier. We saw some glass bowl sinks at $35 onwards.

Dunno lah!
Very fed up.

Quarrelled with Hb over whether we are being duped YET AGAIN.

Bcos I was reading the negative comments in the link Hazel posted about ClosetWorks (horror stories like 1)cupboard collapse, 2)they are actually using medium density wood rather than plywood, 3)someone paid $500 deposit, but salesman didn't call them back til 1 week later to inform that all works suspended, cos their main office in US is having problems) there are many coincidences. Now I am suspecting ClosetDesign is the renamed ClosetWorks because

1) They also had a booth in Expo exhibition in March.
2) One poster also paid $500 deposit.
3) That poster's consultant is called Michael. At the exhibition, there was also a consultant called Michael.

301372.gif
301373.gif
301374.gif

hi gintonic..
yeah me too...my queue was 718! even worse...
no choice loh..
i think hdb opens at 800..
now hope next one will be more lucky...sobsob...

I think they were sister company... then now combine...
the previous shop at tanjong pagar mkt was much bigger so more room to move about...

My package is not the most ex one... it's only 1 MTM and 1 OTR... it's the normal album lor.... cos i bought the package about 2-3 yrs ago at an axhibition.... I think maybe ur's is the more 'modern' kind of album issit??...

hi aiko..
no worries..we still welcome u to yak here..

hi gintonic and magical..
dun be sad, okay? i was like u gers 2 years before..wanted the flats at bukit gombak..went for the WIS twice but didnt manage to get it..initially tot our chances are quite high coz my in laws stay at the opp block only and we are first time applicant..we were very disappointed then..so decided to look out for other locations..and so we got our lovenest at yew tee now..hehe..if i am not wrong, my place has WIS this round too..hubby and i went to see the showflat opp our block last sat..hehe..

gintonic..i remember u were looking for bukit panjang area coz ur in laws stay there..maybe u can try yew tee..quite proximate to ur in law's place too...

hi zenith..
wow..what made u change ur plan? must haveb seen many nice nice pictures rite? hehe..we gals have discussed abt the recommended venues for PS sometimes back..for me, i prefer lallang shots rather than building..

Hello ladies!!
It has been some time since i drop by .. but need not worry, I have been keeping track of the this thread 'movement'.
Tis time I come in wif more updates!!! I have engaged 'emotion pics' as our VG. AD PG not sure if i wanna get another one cos my BS got include AD PG but goes by films one ... And and and ....
I jus got my lovenest from recently CCK WIS!!!

Hi BingBing,
Tink I would hav a prob wif the 'an chuang' thing. My lovenest might be in moving condition by Jan then still got abt 5mths to AD leh. Then how? After an chuang then leave the hse vacate till AD? *chaiyo scratches her head*

Yo, Kastine..

Me staying @ Yishun St. 11 side..hehee Yishun is a nice & convenient plc. ^_^ Gd for you.

Hi Bear,

Can i chk whom you liase with over @ M hotel? Cos my friend had been trying to contact the banquet ppl but hasn't been able to get hold of anyone..its always a voicemail....after voicemail..and more voicemail..hmmmmm and no revert

Hi storm,
If u are looking for PG, i wld like to recommend Tucky's. Find his wedding journal is impressive. I went to view many PG's work, but when I saw his, my FH and I knew at that moment we are going to sign him up...
Let me know if you wan his contact. No obligation, just wana share good stuffs around here..^_^...

So how's everyone wedding prep? This thread seems to quiet down alot again compare to other month's thread...

hi titi,
went sentosa. nice scenary...
quite hot but still ok lar..
saw about 5 couples including ourselves. hee...

Hi Pearly, after thinking over the weekend..I still think sattine really boh hua..Their package at 3599 bucks everything OTR...!!And you got to pay and extra 300bucks if you want the gowns at the front rack which is OTR ALSO....(the front rack which are more elaborated more crystals and embrodery) I only saw the gowns at front rack I liked. They got minimal outdoor gowns only fyi.

Thy are using their in house photographer Ian and they give 30pcs..photographs are not bad.

I heard they will have a wedding show in october which I reckon it will be only a 200bucks off for sure..3899 without discount or 3699 after the 200bucks off.

For Flamingo it's rather worth...everything is MTM (WG/EG/SUIT)at 4388... and the suit/EG to keep.
For this price, they tied up with the edge, lymm kong and Utopia.

If choose Utopia it's 20pcs 8 x 10 and Lynn Kong is at 30pcs 8 x 12 with alot more freebies.They also have a few other phtogrpahers like montage and chris ling etc.

For Dang, for 4288,WITH beetles at work they giving 20pcs12 x 15 everthing is MTM...suit and EG to keep and if I do not want to keep EG I can MTM an additional knee length teas dress (rental)....They tied up with a few other photographers too..

seriously...I feel dang or flamingo is worth the money..man....sattine is too expensive..dunno why they are so expensive..and they are in service only in oct 2004!!!

But you can still check them out!

;o just my views lah...cos I not looking at no. of pcs..looking at quality of pcs and gowns..;p

Morning Girls.

Lipstar : My headache is gone already. But today I very very sleepy and tired.

I think you should not be too hard on yourself about the ID. No one can predict it. Just make sure that you're there every step of the way when they are building your cupboards, so minimise the chance of mistakes? No point you arguing with your hubby about it.

Hazel : Ah..you had the luxury of coffee over the weekend eh? I had a regular light mocha frap without whipped cream on Saturday. Now drinking one normal kopi. Ahh...the luxury....

marnie,
still gt slight headache...
but I still want coffee....now its the 3in1..nescafe..regular.

U think which cafe is the best pl to ve coffee?
I quite like Siglap.
There is this Cheesecake shop, environment not bad...

Cat.. quite true, come to think of it, you only need to add a few hundred more to get everything MTM. And I think Dang's OTR is cheaper right?

I think Dang is got more stuff cos can get the tea dress for rental.. But I felt the cutting of the Flam gown was better for me.

hi berry,

the PS was fun. my photograper make funny remarks that keep us smiling and make us have fun.
Now waiting for selection of my photos. hee..

Me too, Idyll. But then again, I am sleepy all the time
. It's just that today exceptionally sleepy... And the office is brr-ingly cold.
301430.gif

Hb and I both ok oredi. We very very seldom angry with the other party overnight. Most of the time, when I wake up, I'll be ok already.
301431.gif
So far in our 6 yrs of r/ship, I can only recall twice where I got mad overnight.

hazel: I seldom drink coffee. But I remember years ago, there was this period of time where I was obsessed with this Cocoa's Bailey freeze from Coffeeclub Xpress, and this ice blended mocha thing which was only available during Christmas which has cherries from Coffee Bean. I think it is available on the menu now every day. Can't recall its name now.

I prefer tea. I like this passionfruit tea from Coffee Club. It is passionfruit tea with a dollop of ice-cream.
301432.gif

Hi storm,

haha.. 25th Nov is an alright day.. so no problems having a wedding.. its not the best day for a wedding.. but its a good day.. haha...

fh says that those really good days for weddings have usually a really bad thing too.. so must really follow the auspicious hours carefully..

for the 25th.. the only not good thing is ermm.. either farming or buying property.. (so sorry.. i can't rememeber which one..)

Hi Yan06,

Tucky's photography is indeed really nice.. but unfortunately for me.. i've got a really tight budget that my fh gave me so got to look for those around the range of $600 - $700 only.. sob sob.. cannot have those above $700 range..

prinzess, you're right!!! i count here count there... also think time to tone up liaoz hahaha designing should b in Feb/Mar.. by then if my tummy still bloated cham liaoz hahaha
but hor.. too lazy to start *faint* think jus cut down on oily food la hor kekeke

prof~ kekeke won't get kicked on la.. u dun only give comment on 1 BS ma..maybe administrator will invite you to b a consultant :P keke

as usual.. no msn for me liaoz
manager is back

lipstar,
not sure if U ve tried The V-Tearoom at Esplanade...near the taxi & bus stop.
Environment very colonial style....
The tea is quite unique...very friendly service

Hi petrina,
then any idea on 11 nov? Is it a good day or bad day? I have check with the geomancer and he say it's a good day...not the best day tho..but i dun mind actually coz i just wanted 11 nov. If tong shu states it's a bad day, I must go back damage his name liao...haha...

Do agree when choosing anything for wedding, shld go with ur budget..no point getting a very expensive wan and involve in debts after the wedding..^_^

berry,
hee... selection of photos will be in 2 or 3 weeks times.
hope it turn out nice... cos i dunno how to smile and so have to take a few time b4 getting the best pic...

hi yan06, thanks... i dont mind having more contacts then can select. ^_^ haahaa... kiasu...
i'm looking at K** H*** also... jux emailed him last nite but no reply from him yet. ^_^ so see how but thanks... ^_^

petrina... haahaa... actually i'm not superstitous... just curious. ^_^ anyway its more of how the couples solve problems together. ^_^ so exciting...