(2006) Brides of year 2006

How is everyone's lunch?

I was holed up at my desk eating Jacob's "Sunlife" chocolate flavoured biscuits and poring over Straits Times. If I don't read papers during lunch time, I won't be inclined to read them after work at home. Too many things to do aka surf internet.
301491.gif

Sigh... my skin really very thin. Despite slathering on tonnes of moisturizer, my Scholl pumps still gave me blisters. Now there are 3 plasters on my toes. But indomitable Lipstar won't give up. Next time I'll try rubbing the insides with a candle or wear stockings.

I know! Next time I will post "Wddg" or "Chit Chat" at the top of every post, so those of you who don't have the time to come in every day who just wants to know more about wedding prep can choose to read or skip those banter. Good idea?
301494.gif

CHIT CHAT

Girls, do you have a regular hairdresser? Where do you all cut your hair?

For years I don't. I always change salons and hairdressers. Once I was satisfied with a male hairstylist Ken from Bt Batok Protrim albeit he accidentally pulled my earring off when he combed my hair not-too-gently. The second time I went back, he wasn't there anymore.

Then, the past 2 yrs, I have been travelling all the way to Parkway Parade (bear in mind I stay in Choa Chu Kang. So I have to take MRT to Jurong East, change to West train to Paya Lebar, then take bus 76 or 135) to look for this hairstylist. But he went back to Malaysia in May. The last time I trimmed my hair was back in Jan. I really need to trim it again.

I always wanted to have a regular hairstylist who can understand our hair and the styles that will be suitable. Sigh... I have to go and find a new hairstylist yet again.

Tomorrow I go back to Bt Batok ProTrim since it is along the way when I go home from work.

Lipstar,
I dun ve a regular one...I always chg here & there...but I like Bugis Monsoon...
I only go during promo..$28

hi greekgal!
why didnt u go for balloting? coz i think only for BE n BTO we can have priority as first timers n proximity to parents..

WIS is so silly...!!! i hate it! hmph! (sounds like sour grapes hor? heh..)

how's yew tee like? convenient? now left all the low floors only..n v near the canal n industries..

i'm now looking at clementi..the en bloc ones...so far no WIS or BE on that, n the en bloc residents have moved in already..so hopefull something will come up there..

Hi yan06,

ermm.. i think 11th nov is a pretty good day too.. but the following sat, 18th is really a no no.. its a good day to bury the dead...

hi storm,

KH is one of the budget photographers around.. he is alright.. but i find that sam wong is better than him in terms of photography skills.. but no harm meeting up with him either..

Hi Cat,

Hmm..I think you're rite..your analysis woke me up. From your views, seems like Sattine quite "neow" & exp somemore.. I agreed with you & iceglacier as well...adding a couple of hundred more we can get MTM and better deals from Flamingo & Dang already.

I really appreciate your thoughts. Btw you're saying that if we dun want to keep the EG from Dang, we can still get a rental MTM tea dress option rite? Then, is the EG still under MTM as well?

agree that WIS is a stupid idea. it gives an impression that there are no new flats available. buy those leftover flats at low floors if you wan new flat.
i got my flat in Sengkang during the WIS in 2002. in the beginning, the available list that was given to me only has low floors. so i KIV my selection. imagine my surprise when my hubby told me that they have limited units on high floors when he went to HDB one morning. it was only shown on the monitor at HDB. not on teletext or website. we had to rush like mad to check out the available flats & rush back to HDB to book the flat, hoping the units we had chosen were not taken. luckily, we got our 2nd choice at 10th floor. i swore i would never buy a flat in tis way ever again! Too stressful!

sure, not sure if they will give us CD Rom a not. will share my pic if i can upload.
When is your PS? Where do you intend to go?
Ya.. me only went Sentosa.

Lipstar,that's what I tot too....
until I saw the F&P more energy saving..maybe cos its smaller

when would all yr furniture be up?

Hi yan06,
We went to the shifu at Sultan Plaza and got the date 11 Nov. Seems that it is the only Sat that i and FH are supposed to get married. Huge sigh of relief for us cos we wanted a Sat and his mum insisted on going to a shifu!

Dunno whether to pantang (superstitious) or not. I wish to install the walk-in wardrobe asap but this Friday is the beginning of the lunar 7th month. Should I wait til after the end the 7th month? Do you know when is the end of the 7th lunar mth?

The main carpentry are all done, except some finishing touches, so my ID asked me to go ahead and arrange delivery.

When are you beginning your renovation works? After 7th mth?

hi hi ladies..
sorry i have been very busy lately..will come in later to post in the evening...sorry that i cldnt get the chart up now..cheers~

i went to ted, flamingo, emanuel, yvonnecreative m some others.

currently more towards flamingo n perhaps emanuel, comments comments? i mean, between these 2, any1 has experiences w them to share?

then also thinking of getting kelvin fr chris ling for PS n john for AD.

any comments abt whether its better to get PS/AD directly fr photo pple of to go thru bridal if they r tied up?

prinzess, i met dannis hor, then he die die dun wanna waive my corkage for wine :/ only reduced it. when did u pay the deposit huh?

wah Chaiyo! we wantyed to get the senja grand! my sis ROM so coincidental on 25/7, so her fren went to get Q num for us, was 165, but we din go submit the form cos was shaqed out, went back to zz... then the next morning i saw the places they selling i a bit regret, then call me hubby to scold him y nv go to submit ;pp *sigh* so we missed our potntial lovenest again....

wat number u got? where did u choose?

as for the an chuang, only need abt 1 week to 3 days in advance i think, 5 mths ok mah? no no, can go to renovate etc etc, but mayb finish the master bedroom by an chuang date lor, then once after lock the master bedroom door n dun use the room, only use the other rooms n renovate the other rooms lor... ermm, did i answer ur question?

hi gals!!

tink i'm one of the few lucky ones who managed to get a high floor unit from the WIS on my first try for a home....
mine was a premium flat on the 20th storey and unblocked.. no afternoon sun too! heng!

not all WIS hav low level units.. some of them have pretty high level units too..

dun be discouraged! try again!

i find that BTOs are way too long to wait for a home.. 4 years.. geee..

hi Yan06,
should your table read 2006 instead of 2005?
we hope to hold ours on 11/11/2006 too!
but... looks so popular! scared hard to get date now

Mine is the hotpress or hardpress album ah.. the magazine style one. Did they show u?? nice leh.. mayb u can exchange some item for the album?? when is yr ps?

Hot? wat time did u go there? me went there ard 5pm so dun feel hot at all... saw 3 couples there also~! hee.. wonder dis weekend can select photo not.. cos they say mayb 2wks.. we can call n check 1st.. think lots of ppl go sentosa. I got a colleague's sis went to national stadium!! n they play football hee.. althought is something diff but i prefer those more romantic n loving pic..

Hazel, i got subscribe to the e-alert and thats how i gotto noe abt the walk-in @ 8.30am on last monday. But hubby can only reach there @ 10.30am as he was already on the way to office.

Lipstar, thanks for the info. I heard abt the walk-in for Sengkang too. but me dun like that area so no choice gotto wait for the next round.

greekgal!! i was keen all those units opp the BBDC lor since v limited ones @ Bukit Panjang. But they were all selected around 12noon on the 1st day of selection. SIANZ...

Magical, U looking for 5rm? Me pefer to get 4rm. Those avail @ Yew Tee quite far away from MRT station and too quiet. hope our luck will b better @ the next round of WIS.

Hi Amy, yes my BS is FAME BRIDAL @ Chong Pang. Just MTM my ROM dress recently - May 2005. The staffs there are v warm and nice.

Gals, one sad news over and now got a pc of gd news!! Hubby just settled my air-ticket to SPAIN. BARCELONA...here i come!!!
I be gg alone to meet hubby there..guess will surely pengz in the plane for 16hrs!!!

hi belinda,

u r also looking for chor hui?
hee hee, me also set on chor hui.
when we flip thru her works that open house, we signed up even thou that was onli the 1st station in search of photography.

i hv signed up with amanda that day.
was pondering btwn ted wu and amanda for some time
but end up signing with her cos i love quite a few of her gowns =)
her package is quite comprehensive
S$3980 includes
- MTM wedding gown
- MTM evening gown (to keep)
- MTM suit (to keep)
- 4 sessions of makeup and hair do
- 2 bouquets,8 corsages and car deco
- make to order crystal accessories (to keep)
i got additional MTM tea dress / short cheongsum cos i booked b4 end july =)

hi tsukushi!

can add another column for photoshoot (PS)??
maybe add after the BS column?? hehe
can update mine?

PS: Utopia Photography

Iceglacier..

Thks for the info..its really great. Not too bad huh...Flam still can give disc. then can save some money to rent car somemore..haha

Yo...Wendyyyyyyy...

Wah I was just thinking abt you!! Was wondering how come nvr seen you around lately....bet you must be busy with your preps as time is drawing near...

Hi Pearly,

Your lovenest is at Sembawang, why never thought of buying Yishun. I bought a 2nd hand flat which is just above my parents' hse hahahaha.

Hope to see someone having dinner in Hyatt here also

Hi Beemer,

U also have the same wedding day as mine(02-July-06).

Ya, jus went after work to book the banquet today. Will be holding at Carlton Hotel.

Wat abt u?

Hi Kastine,
wow above your parents' place.. that is so near..for me, my mom is the long-winded type and talks nearly non-stop on usual days already, I cannot stay so near..else I will go bonkers..hahaha..

hi magical and gintonic..
my apologies..i tried twice for balloting instead of WIS..typed wrongly..hee..anyway, I got my current lovenest thr WIS and managed to get Level 12. My block has 15 levels, so considered quite good too..I'd say that our area is pretty good, quiet and peaceful..quite a lot of young families also..it takes around 5 mins to walk to the MRT..alternatively, you can take bus 302..hee..

hi gintonic..
one thing i dont like abt the flats opp BBDC is that the 2 smaller bedrooms have very weird shapes..like diamond or triangle..according to fengshui, it's not very good..coz it like pointing edges..and i felt that it is quite difficult to place the furnitures..just my personal sentiments..no offence intended to anyone, ok?

Hi Gintonic,
enjoy your pre-HM trip.

It seems like many of you are getting flats through the WIS. I had selected my flat through WIS as well. It was around July last year. During my selection, there were many high floor available, however FH n I had chosen 5th floor in the end. You see, those high floor units available would soon be blocked by another block of HDB flats which were soon to be built. That's why we deliberated over the issue and had chosen a low floor unit which is facing the garden.

Now, the renovation is almost done. One thing down. I can fully concentrate on the wedding preparation.

Enjoy ur wedding preparation gals...10 more mths to go for those of you whose AD falls in early May.

Lipstar,
website for lingerie?
tot U buy fr the dept....

My reno would start in Sept...think 1st wk of Sept is the ending of lunar 7th mth

as for the pantang, it depends on yrself...some of them said as long as the reno starts b4 lunar 7th mth, the contractors can continue to start the work.
If you worried, then yr delivery can starts after lunar 7th mth...most importantly, U ve to be comfortable with it.

For my case, its due to the reno cost, so delaying the work by 1mth...thats y we r using the lunar 7th mth as an excuse.
dun want to rush also....its like I had jux sign the ID in Jul, finalize my materials, painting works & design also in Jul...
it happens too fast....my designer wants to bring me to buy lightings & toilet accessories already....

Gintonic,
tot email alert is few days b4 the WIS starts...how cm U rcvd on the same day as WIS starts?

Hi Gintonic, have a great trip!

Hi racherlle, added one column as requested!
<table border=1><tr><td>AD</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>PS</TD><TD>Photographer</TD><TD>Videographer</TD><TD>HM </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Gintonic</TD><TD>Hotel Intercontinental</TD><TD>Fame Bridal</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Spain </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Krissie</TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD>Sophia's Wedding Collection</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sophia's Wedding Collection</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>bibi</TD><TD>Fullerton</TD><TD>Milan</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>akoyo</TD><TD>Merchant Court</TD><TD>Jawn Happy Ever After</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>U.S. </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>geberra</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Ling</TD><TD>RASA Sentosa</TD><TD>GHA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Eulee</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>maggie</TD><TD>Qianxi</TD><TD>JB (Printemps)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>tissuebox</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>tsukushi</TD><TD>GH</TD><TD>SB</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>ayane</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>racherlle</TD><TD>Sentosa Resort and Spa</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Utopia Photography </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Canada/USA </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Selina</TD><TD>Ocean City @ Apollo Centre</TD><TD>Sanmike</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Wai Peng</TD><TD>Sam Teo</TD><TD>Bangkok </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Serene Lee</TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>JB (New York Classic)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Mr Loh</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>zen</TD><TD>Little Bali</TD><TD>Kai</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Pentaserve</TD><TD>Christopher</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>greekgal</TD><TD>RTP</TD><TD>WL</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>pinkyu</TD><TD>Chevrons</TD><TD>WL</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jacky from In Jack Studio</TD><TD>Jacky from In Jack Studio</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Cloudz</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>YC</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Gerald</TD><TD>Europe </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>ah gal</TD><TD>CC</TD><TD>YC</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Wai Peng</TD><TD>Mr Loh</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>cocoberry</TD><TD>Amara/St. Micheal</TD><TD>GHA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Yew Kwang/Hilarion Goh</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>lyn</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>magical</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>BZ</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

I've just confirmed by AD. It will be 15 July. It seems like there are so few of us here. Hope that this thread will become lively.

Kastine,

hehee...cos been living at Yishun for almost 2 decades liao...so thought I shift myself abit. Infact I am still very near to yishun, just 10mins bus journey..I am back to either my new plc or my old plc. Somemore hor..cannot stay too near my old plc..cos wait MIL will say how come don't stay near her plc instead?? err
Let's be fair hor..!!
But you quite lucky, manage to get the flat just above your parents.. guess you must have been keeping quite a constant look out!

haha..Sel,

I presume if you are staying @ north..then you will prob. end up shifting to east!!!

Yo, Diana

How's your trip? Had a great time eating and shopping as well huh! Gd to see you back again!

Hi BingBing,
My number was 153. If u went down to select flats we could hav bump into each other. I choose CCK one ... My fren say the lrt always corked up one so if ur lovenest there, who knows u might come up here n complain to us everyday! Hahaha ... (No offence to pple who lives there) dun scold ur hubby lah ... FH n I were waiting for tis WIS so we r well prepared to get flat there mah ...

So if FH wanted to live there b4 our AD we cannot slp in the master bedroom har? Dunno he agressable anot. Wait he say me 'mi xin' :D

thanks yan06... ^_^

thanks petrina. i'm oso not so sure but someone in the forum who had her wedding at shangri-la, had KH as her photog. and it looked quite nice. and the price is also quite good. i saw desmond but i don't really like the album that he's giving. if not kh mayb will have desmond without the album. hopefully can have the price go cheaper.. ^_^

hi maez

prof at work now..hahaha...

between your shortlist, i say the F is better in terms of service... went a few times to E with frens, all i can say is.. i cant wait to get out... *kekek...
but then i got a fren signed up with her... and she is happy... so i guess its your expectation lah... hahah.. my fren is the simply bo-chap kind..

most BS only tied up for PS package...

there are two ways they go abt the PS pricing... one, the BS fix a package price for both bridal stuff and PS... or two, BS and the PS tie up.. such that you will get special price with the PS when tell PS you are a XX BS bride...

in scenario 2, you go to PS directly... under normal situation, tie-ups will give you better prices... then if you walk in to the photographers on your own...

erm, actually unless you kan cheong your date (for AD)you can wait till sep.. coz sep when the style mag is out.. there will be lotsa promotion packages... i think this applies for CL as well.. =)

for AD PG, make sure you check all the additional costs... hee.. for example, most AD PG is for 12 hours only.. so if you need more than 12 hours, instead of paying the additional charge per hour, you may want to negotiate for a "package deal" more suitable for you... hee

finally hor, for wine corkage, you can try asking the hotel to give you a cap instead... since they dun want to waive...

ok.. end of report.. hahahha

Pearly,
Haha.. you are nearly right, I'm staying in the East now, thinking of going to northeast @punggol!!

Hihi Diana, good trip? Btw, ya I know Meina(aka angeline), we were classmates
Small world~