(2006) Brides of year 2006

how much angpow to give is up to ur budget. there's no hard & fast rule on it. AD PG & VG probably u can give $12 or $18 each. really depends on ur budget ya. coz there are other angpows to give like ur jiemeis, driver etc.

berry,
yup! personal trainer is one to one session. they'll look at your body, stamina, etc and determine the kind of machine and exercise to go on. will be with u throughout the hour....
if your work requires u to eat a lot with clts, u may want to try some carbo-blocker. my fiance just bought a box from GNC. hopefully it works. =)

Good morning Girls!

Ilina : Hazel gave a very good idea - have a separate corner for kids. Or is yours an adult reception? In which case, you need to either (a) change to a ballroom or (b) make your guest list into List A and List B and work within the 180 guests range.

Hazel : Nevermind lah..Long post. I like.....

But I always thought people would try to lie down in the middle of the mattress - no? More shiok.

Eh...M & M jsut gave us lobang for printing in JB. T&T. I copied down the nos. and email but at home ler......

The one I would recommend in Singapore would be Kentrich. Fast and efficient and the girl has good customer service - which is always a plus!

M & M : What's "ti qing"? Enlighten me please....all this culture trip is great!

joanna i quite interested in the personal trainer...
will check it out...thanks...
ang bao? gatecrashing 1 ang bao lor.. i think usually parents will give them ang bao to all the helpers right? or we muz give 1,parents give 1?i think normal is 12,18,20? but i ever received 4 bucks from my friend's parents.haha...so up to individual.
how many jie mei u all have?

hi hi CAT..
aiyo, u seems to be quite careless leh..must take gd care of ur belonging..i wanna add u in my friendster..but cldnt get to search u with [email protected] i cant wait to see ur 2 cute poodles..cheers~

hi hi skywolf..
oic..wowo, soo gd to awaz have ur co's d&d at raffles the plaza..i just love the bridal suite, it's just too beautiful for me to reject..heehee...

my mum will give my jiemeis angpows (small amt say $10?), i will give too coz its a form of appreciation to my frens. but its up to individual ya. yup, normal is $12, $18, $20 etc.. u wana give $38 to jiemeis oso can..

shd be having 4 jiemeis bah..

Hazel: You sound like a mattress expert. Printing details as follow. Very cheap. Feel that the one at cty square has better service.
T&T Instant Print Services. Two branches.
One in City square, level 4. Tel:07-2228862. Email:[email protected].
One in Plaza Pelangi, level 4. Tel:07-3331862. Email:[email protected].
I like the kid's corner idea too. Initally wanted to set up a kid's corner for the kids during the church ceremony, but my FH says on hold first. Have to look at the budget.

Marnie: "ti Qing" is something like a parent-meeting session. The groom's parents will formally ask for the hand. Then, they will start to talk about the drowy, things to give to each side, when to GuoDaLi (groom side bring the stuff to bride side- normally done 2 weeks before AD)... I actually went down to check the rate but didn't change cos my friend have US$ and wanted to change back to S$. SO wanted the BUy and Sell rate, then we compromise and get a WIN-WIn rate for both.

Lipstar: still so quiet....???????

By the way, do you know that wedding acts is having their 3rd anniversary and have a promotion. Can check their website for more detail. Their founder giving free and non-obligatory consultation every last month of the month starting from July. 4 time-slot, each lasting an hour. I won't be in S'pore. Thus, I wrote an email and ask if I can book an appointment for Aug or Sep. They get back to me and said that mormally they won't accept advance booking. ANyway, they still accept my request. SO tentatively, fix an appointment with them on Sep (last Monday, I think 26 Sep). No harm going, cos it;s very near to my church and we may get more ideas after talking to him.

for angpows, i think my mum will most prob give $12 and as for jie meis, i think will give gifts as token of appreciation instead of angpows lor.... have told them in advance about this liao....:p but so far i remember i only got angpows from the parents instead of the bride when i was the jiemei.

daphne,ya lor.only get angpows from parents,coz gatecrashing oredi include the angpows.how much u all giving for gatecrashing?
have to remind your parents to give all helpers a angpow for appreciation in case ur mum tot u give,u tot ur mum give... like my friend,her mum nv give us angpow den my friend also no give,not good lor.jie mei early morning come ur place,at least give appreciation for them to take cab...
janf,i also having 4 jie mei...think i dun care abt the number that its inauspicious...
daphne update me what ur mum give u for jia zhuang...i kpo leh..hehe..

berry,
i got the dietary supplement fm my MIL neighbour coz she got better discount

i think i pd ard $150 for 3product...
formula 1: shake mix nutrition drink,
formula 2: multivitamin, mineral & herbal (it helps to balance the vitamin needs in your body)
formula 3: cell activator (to activate your cell for better metabolise)
formula 2 & 3 is tablet form.

Actually, my MIL took this supplement for quite sometimes & she commented that it is gd. so she recommend it to me lor.

ha ha.... berry, my mum giving me necklace and ring while my granny add a pair of earrings to the collection. cos i think most of my aunts will give bracelets so my mum is not giving me bracelets.
i suppose to have 6 jie meis but one just told me that she has to back out cos her wedding is 4 mths apart from mine and she can't be jie mei 6 months to her wedding. now not sure if she can even come to my wedding and i'm kindda disappointed cos she's my good friend. not angry with her but just feel sad if she can't come lor....

for angpows, i think i will prepare for my mum ard $10/$12 for jie meis & helpers.
so far as jie mei, i received angpows fm their parents & my friend also...
1 of my friend even gave $50 to us as jie mei.. so is up to individual budget.

PG, VG, driver & banquet co-ordinator i think i wil give $18each... shd be enough?

btw, it also depend on the tasks perform by the jie mei to determine the amount to give.
if jie mei require to help u in the day n night, ang pows shd be a bit bigger lor.

gatecrashing is the difficult part...
i stil wonder hw much shd i give....
is $288 enough?? I may hv 6jie meis.

previously i went to attend 1 friends wedding as jie mei... & guess wat.....
We received $50 20cents coins in angpow!!!
woW! bad right?? $50 is already less... some more in 20cents coin!!!
all of the jie mei were so angry....

SO nv give coin to jie mei. ;p

snowy update me ur progress abt the diet...
daphne...hee good hor necklace and ring...still have earrings...
wow bracelets...they usually give gold?
6 mths?wow thats long..maybe her parents really v strict... my jie mei all good friends,so even they are married liao i also dun mind...
when u starting to get ur bed?
snowy,ya lor...depending on the jobs...anyway 18 is gd enough... a token...ok one lar..my PG told me to pay him the rest of the package on AD so no nid to give him extra angpow..good hor..hee

my in-laws also buay hu buay hu buy me the 4din jin liao.... & best of all... they also buay hu buay hu went to print invitation cards liao

i was like WOW! stil got abt 6mths to go...seem abit too anxious.

Daphne,
i also got one jie mei told me that she has to back out cos as her wedding is also 4 mths apart from mine.
now she also cannot attend to my wedding...
is it so that i also cannot attend her wedding or to be her jie mei?? *confuse*
is it a tradition or wat? anyone know?

she is my best friend too and disappointed if i cannot attend her's & she cant attend mine.

50 for all the jie mei? pengz so stingy? how many jie mei 2gether?
i think 288 ok liao... or 299?
i think i giving 188,199 or 208 for 4 jie mei.. not sure which no auspicious..

AXL,
i think i wil hv tis traditional practice like placing those lucky coins, ang bao with money and placing it on the new bed... & mayb getting a little boy to jump on your NEW bed, etc...
My MIL already have a specific date and timing for this.

xinxin,
High 5 High 5

i m also lazy type when it comes to exercise ;p
i also need some1 to push or join me..
if u need accompany, dun 4get to call me.

berry,
yalor $50 in 20cents coins for 5 jie meis.
1 of the jie mei even take MC to attend.... so bad hor.... nv appreciate us.

i m sure the fig. is all auspicious.

oh will update u my progress for the diet

snowy, come join me for fitness. i will definitely push you along. i usually go 2 or 3 times a week...
for my friend case, she say that i can attend hers cos mine is over already by then but she may not be able to attend mine. i'm more chin chye cos for me as long as it's one month apart can already so see how it goes for her lor....

snowy some say within 4 mths cannot attend pple wedding..old pple say one.. will "chong xi" but some young pple dun follow,got 1 mth apart shld be fine..but parents will not b happy lor...
somehow alot pple got different rules one..

in short, when nothing goes wrong, no one will praise u but when something goes wrong after marriage, whole world will blame u!! so its betta to listen to elderly..

janf, i agree with you. but i also asked my mum if it's true that all those who divorced did not follow the traditional rule during their wedding. i told her marriage needs commitment and communication so i think she sort of relaxed the 3 months to 1 month.

Hi Storm,

welcome to the thread!

My car rental is together with my bridal package - it's a bettle with sunroof.. with driver.. think mine is abt 500-600 based on the package w & w/o car rental.. my friend got a pink london cab for 500... very cute too..

Not sure whether $450 is ex... maybe u can check out the car rental website in this forum

Hi Petrina,

i personally find tat most of the time the couple will be together except for the beginning... when the groom went to fetch the bride... so 1 photographer may be sufficient but it still depends on personal preference...

$1288 for additional photographer seems quite reasonable to me cos mine is $1k with only 1 photographer

Hi Lipstar,

when's your AD and who is your coordinator for Everbliss? me also took Everbliss, but haven't went down for gown fitting yet. my AD is 1st oct 06. so they ask me to go back around jan 06. u?

Hi Greta..thanks..

Wow can share abt ur bridal package pls? Cos although mine is settled, that time when I booked I didn't look ard..so hoping to just do a little comparism..that is if u dun mind..

my e mail is [email protected]
Hope to hear from you soon
Maybe the dinner one too..sorry I am just a curious person..hope u dun find me intrusive though..

If it's inconvenient it's ok, I understand..
Haven't got the rings yet..looking ard for something I really like..

Hope to c ur mail coming thru..

Hi gals!!

Storm.. my FH and i are thinking of using a relative's car so we can save on the cost of renting one.. but we dun have a merc or posh car.. maybe just a normal one will do..

cp.. i was also thinking of renting a gold london cab.. but i was thinking that i can use that money during my honeymoon and buy things that i will want..

thats true about the 1 photographer.. coz later we'll be together already so dun really need 2 photographers.. but the price for 2 photographers is really cheap.. and it'll give a duo side expecially during the gate crashing.. where there can be 2 different photos for each side.. quite unique.. hmm.. still can't decide..

jac.. i seldom go to park mall.. maybe next time when i'm there.. i'll drop by to take a look at your cousin's boutique..

thx m&m,
not mattress expert lah.
jux that I had been shopping for abt a mth on mattress...that's how I found out and draw up my own conclusion on the matress. But I myself also dunno to buy a cheap mattress only few hundred dollars or the luxury mattress which is 10times the cost.
Cos if I m buy a foam with coil mattress = same for all brands. At most, I changed every 5yrs.
If I buy such natural ingredients & support which is the luxury mattress, this is really too luxury.
But my back no gd, my back bone (dunno if I called correctly) out of pl 3 times within 6mths....
So I also dunno which to buy

M&M : Yeah..I heard about Wedding Acts' promo. Off-hand, don't think I have time to go and meet up with them.

But hey..they're good to accomodate you. Can share share with us later or not?
(Me totally no shame asking you...

Marnie: Sure, of course can share lah. But actually, haven't think of what question to ask. Don't want to worry so much now. Anyway is 2 months away.

titi

take it immediately after lunar 7th mth. will be in time. but i think u shd book the PS date fast wif yr BS coz many ppl taking PS in sep..

my friend selling hard liquor cheap cos he opens a pub.
i dun know the exct price but if anyone interested, then i give u his contact