(2006) Brides of year 2006

hi cat, no prob, will share here with my findings on the hotels..however, me stop the search temporary until me finalise the estimation of the table required....tink will start my seach in July lor...somemore, nw buz wif the reno of my hse, still waiting to see the design from the ID...

xynn, agreed wif pearly tat u muz prepared to lose for the banquet and if is really breakeven, tat will be a bonus lor...

Hi gini,

I think the wines on the promo brocher are the more expensive wine. Am sure there would be cheaper ones there. But still too early for wedding liao. Am intending to get a bottle or two to try out the taste first... very fasinated by rose wine

Hi Gals!
Been sometime... so tied up at work i can hardly do anything else!
any more updates? gonna sign contract with my AD photographer soon ... quite excited ...
spoke to a friend yesterday about her wedding preparations ... she got me so excited man ... she was mentioning that we will prob get busy from Jan and we will have no time to realise how time will fly!
we have approx 365 days to go !! yiiipppeeee

hey bing bing,
do you need my contract with pan pac to refer?
let me know so that i can drop you an email to see my draft and final copy!

Hey Pearly, my FH heard from his fren that Bridal Zone is super duper affordable so we went to see.. they were very forth coming as to what they can accomodate and wat they can't. My FH likes their shuang quai attitude, so signed with them lor. So far they have been very nice, calling me to follow up and fix apptm for my ROM gown fittings.

Ya doing at the zoo... we are paying abt 2.6K for the whole thing with 30 pax. However heard that now prices increased liao.

Xynn, ya i agree with the rest of the gals that 100% recovery is quite hard. My dad requested 10 tables, he won't return us the ang pows. so that means we will already be losing 8.5K (assuming each table is $850). plus there are sure to be niao ppl around.... Have u tried Club Chinos? they are associated with Orchard Parade Hotel, but being a Tung Loke restuarant, the food is nicer plus cheaper too...

Jean: I am glad that your grandma is recovering well and fast.

Meraj's mum is going for dialysis 3 times a week. Until today they cannot determine whether it's diabetes she is suffering from cos' her blood has actually normal level of sugar. But her blood is not really normal so the UK docs are having her go through the dialysis. And get this, since the veins in her arm are so fine, she's having the dialysis done on the side of her breast! I was horrified. But better than the neck where she had it done 2 weeks ago.

All in all, she's doing better than a few months ago when she felt so weak. These days, I call her alternate days, Meraj calls the other alternate days and we send her lil' packages to cheer her up. I know she wants to get well so she can come to our wedding next year so that's a good start for her.

haven been popping cos i left my laptop in office onver the weekend.. anyway.. saw the above threads.. Chris Ling so ex for AD PG & VG?? oh my GOD!! I was thinking of choosing them after seeing John's works for my friend's wedding earlier this year..

cos my photoshoot will b done by CL as well... haiz..

hey angeldust,
since your PS done by CL, do check with him if you can bundle them and get a special price
btw, your date is 9th? John is taken by HweyHwey on for 9th..

u can check out moo media too
their work is also good
would have signed up with them if i haven't booked John.. sigh.. itchy itchy.. now feel like changing hahaha but budget budget

Hi gals, thanks for the advice! So it's the norm for <100% recovery. Coz my FH's family not very keen on having it in hotel as they say most prob not goin to breakeven. On the other hand, i would like to have it in a hotel, with nice ambience. Afterall, it's a once in a life time affair. ;p
Have to discuss with my FH on how much cost we are willing to bear.

Zen

CS = customer service..

Have you met up with steven? Is he really okay? I have yet to schedule a meeting with him... Think will do it end of June or something..

At least you say like that more reassuring for me.. heh

dun worry ling,
he's quite okie thou i haven't met up wif him. cos i liase wif u a few times over the phone &amp; thru email. i'll also be meeting up wif him either end of june or early jul. yr rom is this aug rite? lucky u. cos he's also leaving.(keep it to yrself k? or else he'll say i big mouth.) mine ad cum rom is may'06 so dunno which coordinator again. sianz.... but he so nice say he'll come bk to oversee my event. (keepin my fingers crossed)

El: I don't quite like furniture shopping, cos HB is very fussy. Moreover we have a very tight budget, tighter than Kylie Minogue's butt. (Sorry, lousy joke there
290921.gif
. Hope she recovers soon.)

PT is photo taking.

Jean: Good to hear about your Grandma is recovering. :D

Marnie: *gasp!*
290922.gif
@ your grandma's dislysis on the side of her breast. It must be so painful.

HB's father also has to go for dialysis soon too.
He has kidney failure.

Hi Pearly,
Yup going to do my solemnization on same day as AD.

Bear, wow, your ROM is gonna be quite special since you're doing at the zoo. How come tot abt holding it there?

Kyrie
I only made a 400 bucks deposit for my BS

Purplenic
When r u going to cfm ur VG/PG
now still too early for me leh...
what u mean by if we sign up together.. got 10% discount???
Do u know how's their payment like?

hahaha ya loh.. but depends on who you compare them with
he's considered more affordable that Chris Ling

but their video very impressive leh.. u should see their adverts.. they actually got the couples to re-act some interesting commericals for break times
very cute!!! can't forget the ribena ad!! kekeke

Hey Sel,

I like animals... heehee.. always been to the zoo for practicals. so decided that if i ever wanna do an outdoor ROM, i will do it at one of my fav places.. the ZOO! heehee....

Hi summerala.. 400 still okay lah. Maybe can change it to some other stuff should u decide to forgo it.

hmm..sounds interesting!
will go take a look..

summerala,

i've already confirmed my PG for AD
will b having the same photographer, John from Chris Ling

for VG, if you keen on Wedding Paparazzi,their deposit is 50% :P alot hor.. *sigh*
for the 10% discount, we dun actually have to sign together, anyone who sign second, jus quote the first person's name then both will enjoy 10% off
not necessary have to be close wedding dates also

after viewing 3 VG, i think TWP more affordable loh.. but now consider kyrie's lobang? or Jes? dun remember who sent me the link keke

hi Purplelenic,

oh gosh.. since John is take up can I choose Eugene then..? but I prefer John.. my AD is 9 Dec 06.. so fast he is already taken..

Heh purplenic, my lobang is freelance one. TWP should be sent to you by someone elso. Think u were the one who sent it to me too.

Yah angeldust, i prefer John's work to Eugene's work too. Heh but he's already taken up by hweyhwey. I'm still racking my brains over AD PG.

wahhh the posts jump so fast that i blur liao..

how was ur weekend gers?? good mah??

wah lilic.. hows ur bs shopping??? gd mah???

purplenic... i also wan to join u gers for the fullerton show.. wan to kpoyh tooo.. hehhehe...can mah??

who is taking chris ling ah?? exp leh.. i tot.. but itssss niceeeee...

angeldust,
personally, hubby and i also prefer John's work
and heard from Chris Ling that John will b doing indoor/outdoor soon

Eugene's work also not bad, but i think you have to take a look yourself to see which one you prefer

HweyHwey really got a catch! she signed early and got the promo price..should have gone to that promo too :P

if you all like, i think MooMedia also got very nice pics taken. Do make appointment with Andrew

chomecc, of course can come la!! although means Zen and I got lesser chance of winning the TW gown hahahaha but if you win, then must share with us la kekekeke

Zen~ u booking or i book har??

hi kryie - i think so lah.. i had his namecard but think misplaced it... know he gotta a website.. you can check.. haha, maybe can give me the URL also..

i think i will take tucky for AD unless FH like zhiming's works.. also, money saved can go to my VG.. hee...

purplenic

50% is quite a lot. do u lnow what is the diff btw their long story short video and express mtv....which are 2 are u considering?? i think among the VG i have seen... TWP is really not a bad choice and has an affordable price

Lipstar: Yah..I agree with EL. You very shiok go furniture shopping.......*envious*

I LURVE furniture shopping. Can't wait to do it when I buy over my parents' place.

Oh..not my grandma lah..It's Meraj's mum...so my future mom-in-law lor....She's taking it well though....but I do hope the UK docs are able to locate a suitable vein in her arm...

by the way , is the kuang u all mention called yew kuang??? or it's another photographer... so confusing... dunno where u all get ur lobangs fr....

tat's very sweet of u marnie, to call ur mom in law and send her stuff to cheer up.

yah! i can't wait to do furniture shopping. SOon after he proposed, one of things we did was to shop at furniture shop! whahahaa...wrong wrong..we got our steps all wrong...

lipstar, u very funny lei. Lucky i wasn't drinking or eating when i read your entry, i would've dirtied my pc screen...

Wah, Bear...our animal lover..

Your ROM pkg quite gd deal leh..unique way and sweet memories. So bridal zone gave you the ROM gown too, thats gd deal, cos no need to go and hunt for one. I seen the wedding pics by them before..nice.

Xynn, I agreed with you...marriage is a once in a life time affair and every girl's dream to make it a perfect pc of memory. ^_^

Sel, hmm so you gonna have a busy day then. My friend did her solemnization during her second march in at the banquet. Hahaha..once and for all for her.

Marnie: Paiseh
290998.gif
... got to make bigger spectacles oredi
290999.gif
. kaka.

EL: Like this?
291000.gif
Thanks, I try my best.
291001.gif

Maybe if we didn't have that tight a budget, or if we have a car, I would enjoy furniture shopping more.

You know or not? That day, we took a bus from SUntec to Furniture Mall at Beach Road. Alamak!
291002.gif
The whole area behind the bus stop was fenced and cordoned off, so we had to walk a huge roundabout to get to the mall.

Next, we took a bus from that same bus stop to Furniture Warehouse along Kallang Road. We intended to alight at People's Association (PA), then walk through it to get to the other end, which would be Kallang. But you guessed it, Alamak!
291003.gif
PA was under renovation! The whole area was also cordoned off! There wasn't even a proper kerb/passageway (for passengers to walk). We had to walk precariously along the main road along the double yellow lines to the Kallang River, then walk and walk and walk then reach Furniture Warehouse.
291004.gif

summerala,
the kuang we mention here is chi kuang from pentaserve.. superb! but also very ex

yew kuang is good also..but his package for Dec 06 not out yet..

guess surfing the forums do help alot!! keke if not, can ask our expert, TinTin, she should b able to give me more advice?

Hee Pearly, ya i think i got a gd deal too.. cos now it cost twice as much to hold it at the zoo.. i very lucky, signed before they increase their prices...

The Bridal Zone package is also very gd... MTM WG and EG plus all the usual stuff only $2988, if i dun want the car. If car incld will be $3188.

Halow Shelyn,
just want to let you know that my deferment has been approved til end March; deferment of 10 months.

I think yours won't be a problem. Maybe you got to call the HDB Branch to check if they have received your appeal letter. If they really reject, then go MP ... that one will work.

oic.. thank you purplenic,,, wah... can't imagine if both VG and PG opt for very good company ha... will end up paying almost 4k in pictures n video.... as much as buying a Plama TV....
gettin married is so expensive....

Hope 5yrs later wont regret

hahah summerala, ya hor, if you din mention, i also dunno.. i only know if good PG + VG = 1 new BS package hahahaha

sigh..really very ex to engage all good good ones hor..but cannot convince myself to ching cai leh

Hi to all 2006 BTB,

I'm new to this forum and like everyone, will like to learn and share from all of u. I jus booked my wedding dinner package in fear of not being able to get the date I wan. It helps as it set my mind at rest to move on wif other preparations.

I mus say after looking through all the archives and stuff, it comes a time whereby the brides are at a point of slight disadvantage if we r ignorant of some bargaining allowances.

That's y hope u guys can continue to keep up the spirit of sharing as we are in a decade of paying $ for quality weddings.

I am almost going crazy
wif all the choices of BS: TY, Ted,DC, Vera etc. Which 1 should I go for. My HB leave it up to me.

So many nitty gritty details to look at... that's y I mus start now

Oops... Sorri..Too long winded for my first postin.

SLow

I got a quotation from 1 of the shop at T.Pagar..car inclusive SGD 2988 with MTM WG and OTR EG. I took less pictures..and asked for a V. montage..to be included. Have not sign with them yet..still looking around..as it is still early..the photograpy is not too bad..but they can be real pushy..you got to squeeze with them.

I had attended a wedding at Amara..good lightings in ball room..superb cocktail area but ball room abit of a squeeze...the tables are very close to each other. bridal suite...great!Suggest you gals to see the actual set up of the hotel before you sign the contract.

Hi Diana, I had sourced around too for some other BS...but I still want to hang on...cos if sign on too early..they will hold on my deposit till next year oct!! So I will wait....;p

Hi Xynn, if you have a budget can try some hotels where the rates are lower..but most important you must like the ballroom or function room and bridal suite..Food wise is all the same in hotels.

hey ladies

do u all knoe where to buy test tube and paper soap?? i wanted to DIY my own wedding favours like soap confetti.. any lobangs ?

actually im warned by many ppl... not to spend too much on wedding .. esp weddin photos and video... becoz few yrs later definitely will regret .. they only accumulate dust in the cupboard and no one will bother abt them....

but im like u.. cannot convince myself to get not so good one too.. oso not determined la.. when i see ppl got good one... i oso feel tempted

purplenic - i also dunno leh.. havent seen any VG yet...

yah, i also gotta save money before i look for VG... my banquet downpayment will be abt 5k liao.. plus if i decided with TW, another 2k... siong man... no more shopping...hee, luckily, no need downpayment for tucky...

so, are you joining me at STBA tomolo?

summerala,
i already convinced myself to sign with TWP
it's once of those in my list, and not too bad
hubby says backup plan is moomedia!!! yeah~

yea, heart itchy hor.. esp when we see nice nice ones.. but cannot afford *sob*

lilic, thought you said cannot click with TW's gown? wat's STBA?