(2006) Brides of year 2006

phew...i have finally settle my dinner venue.
sign the ctt with sheraton tower just now...hehehe...got free dinner also..

hi tsukushi
can help update your chart. thanks

finally a load off my mind...now can concentrate on finding BS and VG &PG.

hi racherlle

chris ling promo is tied up with BS, Emanuel B. the exact detail i am not very sure but seems like it will not be over 2.5k but the WG & EG are all 2nd hand and for you to keep.
so it depend on what you wan.if you dun mind then its ok.
but there are some BS out there which are also around the price but new Grown

hi maggie!
oh ur hubby's a teacher too?
mee also..that's why i want to go look at the gowns this june..my PS in dec, n after sch starts got no time to go n slowly try on the gowns..=)
happy PS! n yeah i also wan to see your pictures after u come back!

hi greekgal!
no la..not gonna decide on my gown yet...just wan to narrow down some designs, then i can decide whether to MTM my EG or EG..but i also wan to have fun la.. hehee..

hiya count, even if Nov bride also can chat here la
we won't chase you away hehehe
my date exactly 1 mth + 10 days after yours

zen~ me jus back!!! whole day dun see u leh..

Hi ice!
since you dun need a one stop coz you have got your photography etc seperately how about TWP? i highly recomend coz the service is fantastic and my FH loves the 'ambience' and 'atmosphere' there. most imp the quality and design of the gowns are fantastic! Pat and jordan are really the best!
you can also try silhoutte, kai,dang, DC, heard they are also quite tops these were also the few i shortlisted

ya lor. busy working mah. my working place no internet. now come hm liao. wah, seem like all of u hv quite a few coordinators hor? i dun even hv one. haha! so hv to go down venue earlier by an hour to make sure everything is fine. we're trying to keep everythin to the minimal hassle- free.

lilic,
jus going down to see the portfolio first
those that i've seen in the website r not bad.. if everything okie, and can click, then settle liao la.. hehehe lazy to look further

zen, you can jus ask your jiemei or bros to help look ard.. for me, so far i've seen the jiemei helping out quite alot during the wedding
no worries.. jus enjoy yourself on that day!!

hey, you using Kuang rite? how abt VG?

yup,
ad using kuang. he's a veri nice person. vg i no budget so using a free-lance called christopher. find that he's not bad too. he's turning full-time soon. quite nice person too.

oh ya hor.. i think you mentioned b4.. hmm.. is it necessary to have both good VG and PG? or jus concentrate on 1 will do? i really like TWP.. but wonder if PG also must get good good one?

purplenic, u intend to take CL ah? not considerin kuang? personally, i find that for the amt CL charge, i rather take kuang cos his pics are sharper & the pics he takes are veri natural & alive lor. dunno how to explain. my FH so bo chap he also feels that kuang's style is good. but well, it's jus my personal opinion lah. probably our's an outdoor event(i wanted a more ang mo kind of wedding. heehee) so i'm looking for someone who's used to taking western weddings.

sigh.. i like kuang.. but if kuang + TWP.. my hubby will kill me.. i dun even dare to mention the combination :P

i not taking CL la.. so ex.. i only considering his other photographer
not too bad skill also loh..

depend on yr priority & liking. cos i place more emphasis on AD pics so i make sure i get the best AD photographer or the best that i can afford.

initially i didn't wan a VG at all. but after being in this forum for quite some time, i also ganna influence wan to hv a VG. haha! then i think abt it & feel that it's also good to capture the day & see it comes alive with sound. so decide to get a VG lor. but it's not on my priorty list. so as long as the VG can capture sharp images & do it in a natural way that i wan, willing to hear & discuss abt my likes & dislikes, price not too ex, i confirm him lor.

like i said b4, it'll be perfect to hv ngiap heng take b&w photos, kuang colour photos & fabian video. but i not so rich & lucky like tintin lah. haha!

for CL, the photogs for ad are eugene & john. frm their website, i prefer eugene's work but my gd fren prefers john's. but i haven't been to their studio to see whereas she took her ps with kevin. if i'm not wrong, the ad pkg at CL is at $1380.

hey, i like John's work better
and i think he's still available on my AD

CL's package for John is 1280? with album leh.. although we love Kuang's work too, very ex la.. 1800+? photos only rite? i'll be slaughtered :P

actually we've met John b4 and find him okie
hopefully everything turns out well

i prefer VG leh.. cause after my ROM, i feel that i tend to forget the whole event quite fast :P certain pics i see, i dun remember why and how it happened
VG solve all the prob.. hehehe

ya, kuang's price is higher. actually that price is only for his service. album different charges. initially when i 1st when to see him, my jaw almost drop. cos at tat point i feel that it's so EX! comparable to the pond's price! but well, like i say i place more emphasis on ad pics so decided to go ahead. he did let me compare his work & another album with all the 4R AD pics. (other photog, i think) wah! it's a whole lot of difference man! it's only then i realised wats the real meaning between quality & quantity! (initially i was also one of those who wans quantity cos more worth it mah. heehee!)

yup, tonite like only the 2 of us. prob it's a weekday lah. somemore mnday blues.

if u prefer VG, u should get one that u really like. shortlist a few, see their work & tok to them. i feel dun see too many cos it onli makes u more confused.

Hi girls, I'm back. Aiyo... So many posts to read.

HI Hazel and Lipstar, welcome.

Janna: Glad that everything went well.

jean: You so fast.... very stress leh...

Marnie: So sorry that you can't get the bowl. Want to try CK tang or taka???

I just started my school holiday today. But will only be having abt 8 days holiday. Need to go back for the rest of the days.

I attended my first pre-martial class yesterday. It turned up to be very fun. Lots of sharing and exploring each other. Looking forward to my next lesson. At the same time, doing some minor renovation for my flat too. I am leaving all the selection of music to my FH. He is very fussy about music. But I am just thinking wherther to pick the same song for both church and banquet?

I am currently thinking of a special storyline for my photo montage. Any idea?

Wow everyone is so fast. We didn't intend to look for PG till end of the year. Will that be too late? Now bz settling the reno stuff but seems like we need to speed things up a bit!

Any idea what kind of promo is Chris ling having??

And here is the updated table. Welcome bibi!
<table border=1><tr><td>AD (May 06)</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Photographer</TD><TD>Videographer</TD><TD>HM </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Krissie</TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>bibi</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>akoyo</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Hokkaido </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>geberra</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Ling</TD><TD>RASA Sentosa</TD><TD>GHA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>maggie</TD><TD>Qianxi</TD><TD>JB (Printemps)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>tissuebox</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>tsukushi</TD><TD>GH</TD><TD>SB</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>ayane</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>racherlle</TD><TD>Sentosa Resort and Spa</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Canada/USA </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Selina</TD><TD>Ocean City @ Apollo Centre</TD><TD>Sanmike</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Serene Lee</TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>JB (New York Classic)</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Mr Loh</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>zen</TD><TD>Little Bali</TD><TD>Kai</TD><TD>Pentaserve</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Gintonic</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>greekgal</TD><TD>RTP</TD><TD>WL</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>pinkyu</TD><TD>Chevrons</TD><TD>WL</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Cloudz</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>ah gal</TD><TD>CC</TD><TD>YC</TD><TD>Wai Peng</TD><TD>Mr Loh</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Aiko</TD><TD>RTC</TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>magical</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>BZ</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi gini,

All i know is that Carrefour had their wine fest in Oct/Nov last yr. Not sure when they have it this year but worth waiting for it since we got the time. And heard from many that the wines are cheaper there. About $2 to $5 cheaper per bottle, depending on price. In the meantime, maybe you can consider checking the price for Penfolds Estate, Wolf Blass, Jacob Creek. Heard Penfolds is quite good, Equinox and Jaan is offering it now. Reviews on Wolf Blass was that it doesnt taste cheap. Jacob Creek is popular.

Have not gotten the time to check out the prices cos am studying for exams now. My wine budget is $25 per bottle as i probably need to get ready 5 dozens.

No worries, when i do know that there is going to be a wine fest. Would inform all of us here!

Hi jes.

Wanted to introduce you to mine. But he is already all booked for the whole of this year. Good luck in your search!

hie all..

thanks for all your warm welcomes.. i actually went to this master at sultan plaza who calculate without the help of the tong shu..the master did give a lot of dates... so i was wondering hor..do u think the dates that the master give will vary much from the actual tong shu?

i am now shortlisting on three hotels.. raffles the plaza.. pan pac and grand hyatt.. any comments on these three hotels.. actually my dream hotel will be fullerton... but heard that the food is not very big n not nice.. n the prices are indeed steep.. but FH say its a once in a lifetime n he dun wan me to be unhappy..what do you gers think??

our parents wanted it to be a saturday. but we feel that the saturday prices are too high .. what will you gers choose? Friday.. saturday or sunday?? or weekday.. me in dilemma.. sigh..

hey petrina,

me got no ideas yet.. cos have to lose weight first.. haha.. if not the most beautiful gown will look horrible on me!! hehe.. BUt prob will be a bustier as well... and i'm pretty scared of red

lilic, sama sama la.. daytime i also nothing to contribute kekeke jus pop in and see see

hey, your BS search on thurs huh? where's your first stop?

chomecc,
read from somewhere that it won't vary much, anyway the master still use your birth dates to calculate? for me, i would feel that using dates to calculate makes me feel more at ease, cause for me, i think tong shu very ommercialize leh kekeke

as for banquet, u should go for the one you more comfortable with
actually, we can't expect the hotel to provide 100% good services at all times.. i'm sure some brides would have good experience from fullerton too?
some that side to have excellent services would also have complains at times?
but if you're not confident, then go for your second choice

if you choose RTP &amp; hyatt, you might have few weddings going on esp in Dec.

hehehe mine is a weekday
no choice la.. weekend not affordable.. moreover, i only got 1 weekend date and it turns out to b 9 Dec.. too hot, so i skip :P

Hey Pearly,

More or less settled liao. FH and I both spoke to our parents and they said to go ahead on ba yue shi wu.
Have made apptms with Amara, M Hotel, MM and Hol Inn to view their ballrooms. Think will decide by the end of the mth.

Ya me thinking of giving those paper lanterns to all the kids that night heehee... think one of the hotels has mooncake as desserts!

Bridal Zone has one in Marina Sq but now under reno. They also have another shop in Toa Payoh and Boon Keng is where they store all their gowns.

Hi Asura,

Thanks for the info, but if your budget is at $25 per bottle you can get rather good wine. My budget is around $15. Think some wine merchant allow to be on consignment and cost of each bottle is around $14plus.

M &amp; M : Bummer! You have only 8 days of off days instead of a whole month?!
I think you definitely need some much needed rest.

Hmm....special storyline for the photo montage...Hmm... Meraj and I haven't really thought through it as we are only sitting down to do it end of the year. Perhaps you want to do a story about how you and FH met??

Ooh! Tangs! Thanks for the tip, M &amp; M. I didn't think of Tangs - will most definitely go check it sometime this week. Thinking of later today but that largely depends on whether I feel zapped after work.

About your song selection - I think it largely depends on the songs you are selecting. I mean, can't play hair raising songs at a church ceremony right?
But if it's jazzy, bosa nova stuff, I don't see why you can't use the same music at the ceremony and the banquet.

deremi,
no probz! hmmm...realised that we are the only two replying to the thread recently..heh...paiseh...

anyway how abt the rest of you gals? what wedding favours will you be giving to your guests? or will only be using the hotel's favours?

Marnie: I am used to it. Last year, I think I only have about 6 days. Nowadays, teacher... very hardlife. Never mind, this is the last time already... quiting mah.... hehehe.

As for the photo montage, I also thought of doing s story on how we meet, but don't have much photo leh... STill thinking... Maybe will take a camera and take some pictures of the church.

hazel: i know about the garden reception..i went to view it last sat, looks not bad. but i have at least 30 tables thus i need the bigger ballroom.

marnie: hohoho! i know i kanjiong for nothing! hahaa! everything worked out already..as for the wedding favours, still muz wait for her to get back to me about it.

EL: soooo good! i love to go shopping on weekdays when everyone's working..no crowds.very nice to shop one! enjoy ur shopping ya...hehee

m&amp;m: thankies dearest! =)

hallo morning... thanks for the reply...

PP and Ritz are tentative bookings... Only Regent is confirmed booking. Anyway, received the wedding packages in softcopy for The Oriental, Marina Mandarin, Raffles The Plaza, Pan Pacific, Shangri-la and GCW.

Lilic, which friend?

hey Jesmine~ you're gotten your old nick back!!

i vote Oriental!! i like the reception area
the Banquet Operation Manager also very nice.. i saw the way they handle my fren's wedding.. really made them feel at ease

the suite also very nice
i've heard good service on them.. food also not bad, although i only ate 2 dish..after that go help out liao

Actually i prefer Ritz. I like simple and classic but then cost is a factor though not a problem cos bf's company is paying but then i do not want to spend too much. Dilemma.

Sorry if i am like harping too much on my wedding venue...

but then problem why we can't take Ritz is cos his family don't like le... they say food no good and service no good and so on but then it is a 5 stars hotel le... i like their exclusive area for the ballroom...

Jesmine,
paiseh, it's a 6 star hotel keke
actually, i also dun find the food there fantastic leh.. been there twice, and all of us find it so so only...as for service, i think it's quite okie? maybe there are some improvement already?

hehe no prob la.. all of us on the same frequency ma.. still on venue, BS, VG and PG

how's ur exam preparation? dun be distracted leh

yay, FH on MC today. He is gonna fly by my house later to check out the work

Marnie, im going tangs today lei. I'll take a look at the bowls. But ah, my taste and yours may defer. I see what i can pick out k?

M&amp;M: Get a good 8 days (or buy an 8 day magazine-okokok bad joke) rest ya? You deserve it gal!!! Glad you enjoyed your pre marital class;that reminds me, i better check with my church when is mine....

Alrighty babes, i am OFF!!! WHOOOPEEE!!!

Hi Dawn,

No. March 19. ya, i have informed them and i have went for first appt of the gown. So, when is ur big day? I have not really choose my MUA. but designer have not confirmed and the photograher wld be Vincent.

purplenic, this is the first time that i am so slack in my preparations for my exams... haha.

Yah, think food and service so so but then the place really nice... i got some pics that i got some the Ritz thread... will post it here...

summerala~ long time no see!!! busy huh?

me settled on venue.. jus Jes still undecided

Jes, nice leh.. but y the table so big har?? &amp; they quite generous with their flowers hor
i think food part can b improved with you go for food tasting? let them know your concerns.. maybe service so-so only because they use their part timers? i heard usually Dec period, lots of hotels will use contract staff cause short-handed..then everywhere will b the same