(2006) Brides of year 2006

deremi,
i have their address, 73 Pagoda St. tel: 63721581
but i was there on saturday, and walked the whole pagoda street. sad to say, we cant find their shop! then my FH called 100 to chk, and was told there was no shop by the name of blissloft, so we presume that it has closed it's operations...*sigh*

morning everyone~

hee, purplenic - tot i can forward to jes on your behalf... you still faster...

paiseh jes, now you got duplicate mail... =P

hey zen, feeling beta?

jes, coz think dec is really hot... esp 9 dec.. so i gues everyone is trying to finalise their AD photographer and videographer... =)

why you changing venue leh?

no worries - go prepare for your exams and you can always come back after that.. hahah, we'll be here waiting for you... =)

no lah - conc on your exams first... can start looking for BS/AD VG and PG after that.... cheer up lah... i also no BS leh...

purplenic,

we calculated and it seemed that the cost per table will come up to 1.4k plus... so 55 tables will be a v big amt.

Jes, no need to worry abt BS
the most impt thing is to settle on your venue first since yours is a very hot date

as for VG+PG, perhaps you can ask your hubby to shortlist a few first? then you choose the final round.. can help save alot of time

GCW also very nice ah
but not too sure of the food..food really depends on individual
no 100% good/bad at all times

My AD on 8th Oct,one day later than Pearly's and 2 days later than Bear's. Haha we all around the same time..

actually you all choose ur venue based on what kind of criteria?

Our parents are v particular abt the food served...

So if we take Shang, we got to opt for the Gold menu and it is $1088+++ so that makes it to be $1268 nett and got to change the fish and so on so additional $$$.

Then got corkages charges for wine... $30+++ per bottle... and for the family record, the last wedding consumed total of 144 bottles... oh gosh... just corkage i got to pay $4k plus

Hi Sel,

Now still trying to confirm the date cos 6th oct is the 15th of the 8th lunar mth. Scared ppl won't turn up, scared got pple eating vegetarian that day, scared that its a damn hot day therefore all the hotels i want already booked liao!

Me scared of a lot of stuff....

lipstar,
Is yr BS at PS or Suntec?
The auntie at PS super "hiong" My bf & I are eating at the food court...and she sits there eating..after she finished her lunch..she kept asking us if we are married...looking for BS..blah blah...
then she left...
who knows..we went to the toilet and passed by the shop..& she caught us...insisting that we go in & look at their pkg...So, we faster "run away" saying we are catching a movie

hey tissuebox...

i have already book Mr Low .. his basic pkg is $500 find tt his style is more to nature .. i dun like too much artwork so his work to me is nice and i feel comfortable in communicating to him

Jes, if that's the case, it's going to cost you a bomb if you hold at Shang..and your lost would be expected to be super high.

most hotel's food are okie.. unless you go for restaurant? but even hotel also can't promise they serve best food rite?

for me, i go with my feeling loh.. if they place dun look too old and worn out, feedback quite okie, then i'd go for it
i can't please everyone rite?

jus go with the one you're comfortable with

Marnie thank you for your warm welcome!
I had read through all the pages so I have a rough idea of the cute and friendly April brides-to-be here, but thanks for the summary!

So far I have booked the church, hotel and BS. I also got a flat already. My ROM was so early (Dec 04) so as to produce the cert when we collect the keys. Now it is under renovation. It is at Buangkok, walk-in. Yup! I will definitely come here often! :D

Hazel, my BS is at Suntec. She was also very persistent. We went to the booth at 9pm, and while we kept asking questions, she kept saying "Sign lah! Sign lah!" As it was already quite late, we forgot to ask quite a lot of questions. Fortunately, a few nights later when we went down to clarify some things, and asked for more corsages (initially they only gave us 4. Where got enough? Bridegroom + both parents already =5) , she obliged willingly. Phew!

Catch movie? Hee... smart excuse. ;)

Yah, with the package i got to take with Shang... i am definitely gg for loss... but then the place is nice... oriental and so on but then the ballroom gg under reno next year during the 7th mth so i dunno how it will look like after that.

As for GCW, the signature garden at grand ballroom seemed to be the highlight... abit like fairy tale lo... but then of cos i can't compare the 2 together though both are 5 stars hotels....

Wooo hoo....I'm skiving at work today. Engine cannot start.

I wonder where my skiver co-hort....EL...yoo hoo.......

Wah Lipstar, you very brave just sign on so last minute. I don't think I will have the guts to do that. All my wedding vendors, I ask a lot a lot of questions. Need to be very sure before I commit to something...

Janna: How did your meeting with Fiona go??

Hi Everyone, I am back. My boss is on 1 week out station. so I can sneak in to chat with you guys. U all are really moving very fast. It take me half an hour o read all those I miss out, really miss U guys here. I am also a 1978 Baby..... So many of you here is so young.

Hi Tissuebox, Mr loh price now is $500, I can say that he is a very flexiable guy. When we ask for extra disc he is ok with all. I will update U guy when my SIL use him in thi year Sept.

Hi all the new bride here, Welcome..... If you need any help in JB BS, can look for me. I think I am the only here sign up a JB BS.

I just went to meet Jacky from In jack studio yesterday. Find that his package is not very expensive. ttl for VG and PG is oni $1380. plus some blah blah blah..

Brink79, it is not too early to book for wedding dinner package. Nov and Dec are hugely popular dates due to weddings and company D&Ds. In Dec 2004, I wanted to book for Nov 05 in Orchard Road hotels (HB’s request), but all were fully booked! Thus I had to postpone my wedding to April 2006 because my company is having an audit during Jan-Mar, and I will be very busy.

ShaRoy, my BD is Everbliss. But other than having paid them the deposit, I haven’t interacted with them much. I also haven’t gone for my gown fitting.

actually for my case, all the BS I been to, I seldom ask questions...
if they are selling their pkg...I would just say how abt U let me try yr gowns first...I am quite straight forward in this case...cos bitten once by 1 BS at IMM
that time during fair, I signed up for this BS...quite gd offer & very cheap...includes bridal car...
when I ROM that time, I went to their shop, a big disappointment...service bad, gowns worst...when I asked to change to ROM pkg with my deposit..they refuse...We had a heated arguement there...the boss not around..person in charge last min didnt turn up...when boss returns, he refuse to listen to my explanation..always said no...He said no such things can chg...I said my pkg is already inclusinve of ROM pkg...he said its by previous BS,,they only service the ex-BS clients...not for exchange...
cos the BS that I signed up is being taken over by this BS.....and if I want to take that ROM pkg, I have to pay for the balance full payment...I so angry...I asked him to investigate with his colleagues on the actual happening...till date, no follow up call from them. I did call them up..but the boss not around...the staffs said they cant do anything at all...there goes my deposit.....It nearly cost my ROM a disaster...the staffs there still ask me to wait for the boss's reply..my ROM already past, still no call...Luckily, on the day of argument, I quickly went to Empire to buy a dress...that time really stressed...cos still need to handle exam...
Lipstar, this is not to scare U...U better chk ur agreement that everything is included...I got this bad experience...thats y I dun want ppl to repeat...somemore U r like me, sign on impulse..N its in the wedding fair...at night...

hi racherlle,
i've already signed up with Everbliss, in fact it was last year. Perhaps I will call them up to see whether they can arrange something for me this June..

serene,
is Mr Loh doing videography or photography?

selina,
perhaps you can go to the thread - videography/photography, i think there are more information.

hi aiko!
yeah racherlle is right! (wah good memory! ;-D)
i'm with bridal zone..
will be going down tomoro actually...erm...cozi know after school starts will be very busy, n i want to go at least 1 or 2 times before deciding on my gown, which will be during oct-nov, so i thought since now free just go for fun loh.. =D

going to bring camera la..but dunno if they'll let me take pictures, coz not my actual fitting yet ma..but not gonna bring hubby, if not he'll DIE of boredom..takin a friend or two along for opinions though.. =)

hi magical!
hehehe
gd memory hor hehe :P

hmmm geee.. u gals all started on ur VG already ah..
mine still blur yet.. hehe haven't start looking for it yet..

Been some time since i popped in. This is a very active thread. very difficult to keep up! u gals are really very onz!
i've been bz settling my PS stuffs. taking my PS this friday till next week so bz trying gowns and preparing the stuffs. *phew* very tiring..

magical: it'll be fun to try the gowns and do bring ur camera! my BS allowed me to take photos of me trying the gowns so it should be fine lah. yah, ur husband will be really bored (mine was, tho' he was also bz taking photos and laughing at me not being able to fit into the gowns). friends will definitely help!

Serene: I also signed up for JB BS rem? But not the whole package, just the photgraphy one only. ;)

pinkyu: can u share ur package with injack studio? i'm looking for photographer now also. shortlisted a few and wanna compare around before confirming. if it's convenient to share ur package, email me at [email protected]. Thanks!
Anyone with good photography packages to share can also email me! Thanks in advance!

i think i'm one of the youngest girls here. i'm a 1982 baby.

hie everyone.. can i join this chat too?? i am also looking at December 2006. It seems that a lot of people have already booked for December 9.. must be a very HOT date.. can anyone tell me how do you girls get your date? I consulted some of the masters but they were saying that the dates are not available yet..

purplenic,.. i saw your attached file for the gers who haev confirmed the dates already..nice.. well done..

Its great to be discussing together and plan together.. any

Jes.. will you be getting one.. i wanted to engage one.. but have seen that its like really expensive to engage one..

any nice wedding venues to suggest..? i am lost.. hehe :P i have been to hyatt.. hilton... 4 seasons.. RTP.. marriott.. traders... merchant court.. pan pac.. fullerton.. seen all their ball rooms.. but i realise that most hotels increased their prices in year 2006..
well.. anyone has any comments on the hotels? Me and my FH love 4 seasons and fullerton but their package is way out of our budget and i have heard so so reviews on their food even though they have excellent service for both hotels.

hiya chomecc, welcome in!~

paiseh leh..the chart not done by me, i'm jus helping to update the info.. TinTin was the one who came up with the chart

for me, i went to a master who used a program to pre-calculate the dates based on tong shu.. i heard the tong shu will only b out by end of June
by then, i think more ppl will b grabbing for Dec dates
u also waiting for tong shu?

for hyatt, are you looking at the grand BR? cause i think the rest r quite small (or maybe the low ceiling makes it looks small)

heard hilton's food not nice? not too sure..
i like marriot
very dreamy feeling...
PP's Ocean BR not bad, can skip Ocean BR :P the rest you've got to ask others

jes, whether you hiring wedding planner depend on your schedule.. WPs are good if you have not time to run your own show... and that they coordinate the AD running... they are also good if you going for ala carte style for wedding preparation.. like they know where to get wat at the most value of money...

erm, i wanted to engage one initially but do away without it... coz i got enough time and helpers... also not going on ala carte.. ie. taking cards and florists and wedding favour by hotel... so prob no need that extra help from WP..

chomecc, welcome... before you decide the hotels, need to have your dates... for one, i dun believe in choosing auspicious date.. so i am just going along with the availability of the hotel... in case you are choosing dec9 as well, please note that hyatt, pan pac and fullerton are booked... for comments on hotels, you may want to flip thro our archives or the respective threads on the hotel...

in any case, hotels increased prices every year.. so dun get alarmed... hee, weddings are expensive.. its sad but true...

food wise, like wat purplenic said, no hotel will guarantee 100% good.. so you need to have your own criterion...

Marnie, I agree that we should always ask and ask and shop around more to protect our own interests. In fact, it was quite heartbreaking when I read of the numerous negative comments about my BS, the main complaint being my main concern- gowns.

Hazel, alamak, that BS is mean
kao_angry.gif
. Most BS will allow customers to change package. How much deposit did you pay? Luckily you managed to get your ROM dress, albeit from another shop.

Thanks for the warning. All the things she promised us were written on the receipt. The receipt has handwritten things all over. She was also very funny. At the top, she wrote "Top notch make-up for this couple. Take note of their dark eye circles."
(HB and I have impossibly dark dark eye circles for ages which never go away even when we have enough sleep. Not that we always lack of sleep due to "exercising" at night
289768.gif
. We haven't moved in together yet, and won't, til after the church wedding on the AD.)

a summary of the hotels' review based on lilic's previous scouting...

hilton - i think got a stench and dun like the ballroom entrance beside the ktv.. look sleazy

hyatt - only the main ballroom is nice, the rest ceiling too low

4seasons - ballroom a bit old...

regent - ballroom good, food good but recep area too open and suite a bit small.

shangri la - all positive comments except location and prices

fullerton - all positive comments except prices...

meritus mandarin - can give a shot if you have a big wedding... the medium sized ballroom which i looking at is beside smoking lounge... so not ideal

intercon - cosy recep area and BR ok also.. but service cannot make it leh... still waiting for them to email me the proposal after our discussion.... 6 weeks liao...