(2006) Brides of year 2006

Hi Ah gal,

I will email to you on their individual package. My budget is also tight too. My hse reno is done but haven pay up. I dun even know how much as it is done by my FH brother in law. So have to set aside some incase he suddenly ask for it. Something marriage is also a headache but that is life.

Hi GingerCat,
Ya. I changed my coordinator to Angie. My fren's fren's fren. Hahaha. She is back from leave today but till now havent call us up to follow up. Trying to test her customer oriented service u see. Hehehe.
Grand plaza offers ard the same perks as Meritus but of cos dun have 'Top of the M' voucher lah. And only 1 nite stay but the suite got private jacuzzi. But tat's not impt. FH like grand plaza homely feel. Like holding small, simple wedding for 250 guests like tat. Only got one ballroom so got those 'exclusive' feel. And its high ceiling and pillarless. If not for tis pt I would not hav even consider tis place.

hehe TinTin, you big fan of FL ah?
seen his work, indeed very romantic
you've got great taste

Hi Gini,
Its good tat u didnt do so much research. Me went to so many places then at the end of the day only make urself confused and in dilemma.

Chaiyo,
I went to GPR too...think their food is quite nice....
their jacuzzi is outdoor...

For MM, think quite tao leh..I mean not the banquet sales but their corporate & membership sales... my FH ex-colleagues work there b4, said food not nice.

M hotel- like their suite room, quite nice...big jacuzzi & have DVD player in the room...their ballroom ok lah...
Menu quite special..abit western.

Holiday Inn Parkview- restaurant next to the ballroom.

Hi Chaiyo,

There's pros and cons lah. Anyway my Fh is like if he decide on one thing that's his final decision, actually we thinking of either Grand Copthrone waterfront or Intercontinental, but Grand Copthrone a bit inconvenient so we chose intercontinental.

Hey gingercat!
i recently saw some really pretty shoes at Taka... next to Watson i think (at the basement) the shoe shop is called La Vie??? not sure if that is the brand name but i love the shoes there ... very posie and sweet i like the pink and white range wanted to get a pink one but FH say i mad so early get shoe for
what .... i think if i go on like this .. i would have like 10 pairs of shoes before the wedding! but that's the fun part of the preparation mah hor

anyway for photo shoot i think pref 3 months so that they can do up the photo album or something

wow..really lots of 7 May BTBs..why my date only me hah? no good ah?

then u gals can share experience with me..hee

anyway..i will be out of town for 2 weeks..keep me updated when i am back..

Hi Ooshie,

Think I'm also very on on finding shoes, my FH also say i mad so early get shoes donno for what. Anyway have bought a pair of white shoes fm bata, quite nice, using it for my coming ROM. But thought of getting shoes that's not that high so normal days can wear to office. Then won't waste money.

As for photo shoot I'm planning to have in next year feb.

Hi giNI!!
yeah yeah me too... i am a super shoes person! everywhere i go i look for shoes haha....
yah ... getting shoes that can double up as office wear also good hor .. then no need to waste

Photoshoot i also scheduling after CNy in Feb then the price tiks and accomodation cheaper coz not peak period anymore.

hi gals!

wow! so much action when i'm not in SG ah hehe
welcome to all the new gals who are getting married in May..

hi Serene!
urs also on the 14th ah!

where are u intending to hold ur wedding?

ya hor my AD is next yr... haha i wish so much that it will be this yr...

Thanks lilacblur for your reminder..

Tin Tin can change for me when u update the table next time...heehee

Hi Ooshie,

May I know where u going for photo shoot? U going overseas? Hmm yah next year CNY is in end Jan, 29 Jan so after CNY is better.

hi chaiyo

think the smaller rm at meritus got pillars lei...i saw before...the other 2 bigger rms no pillars lahz...but not sure abt their min number...

hi gini09..
i also din do much research...basically asked my colleagues and got this file which my colleage has compiled...he getting married next dec and has already done his research...the file is the thicker type one loh..i just borrowed from him and see...hehehe...then select 2 based on the pricing, location and feedback from forum and frens. steady. guess that is why we can confirm about venue by this week loh. considering we only use 1 wk...not bad liao. all thanks to my fren...hehee

hi zen!
then 7 year later u can also celebrate mothers day (if u have kids) together with ur wedding anniversary! ask your hubby for BIG BIG present.. ;-p

hi ah gal!
yeah that's what i hope too..i'm a teacher, so on 29 May its hols already...scared my colleagues all couch potato at home lazy to come out..haha.. never mind, i get my co-ordinator to call up one by one to get them to come..haha..!

hi serene!
are u the same serene in BZ thread? coz there's also a serene there havin customary on sun n dinenr on mon too.. =)
i also trying to save up..coz its only 1 day difference, n the banquet is almost 170 more on a sun..i really see no point..same food same service..no point paying so much more ley.. plus, after customary can hang out with friends n rest n relax..then next day afternoon can pamper ourselves with spa treatment before going down for the dinner...enough rest then can enjoy the wedding .. =D

Hi Gini!
going to phuket to do the photoshoot!
not sure of the quality but we will give it a go and since how it goes hopefully it will turn out alright .. if not we will still have time to come back and do a quick one.
Yeah CNy is end Jan hence think we will be going like 2nd week of Feb coz i wanna come back for my sis birthday on the 18th. Last yr to take ang pao and spend hahahaha.....

Hi Ooshie,

Hmm I was thinking of fixing on 15th feb for photo shoot.. cause it's after 15 days of CNY as well. Hmm I had a friend who went to some island to take photos it turn out very nice and they even took under water shot in their wedding gown and suite.

For myself think in singapore can liao cause know it'll be very tiring.

Hi Ooshie,
Phuket's a beautiful place. If Phi Phi Island can be restored in time for your photoshoot, that is really the most beautiful beach I've seen in Asia. Crystal-clear water, and you can walk very very far out in the sea.
284743.jpg

on my god u gals are so fast! i try to read the postings, then when i refresh, many more to read... wah!! i refreshed 3 times jus to read finish leh.... aiyo cant catch up...

i got big project this month so super bzzzz!! still wanted to confirm my venue by end May to secure place, but no time to think man
(

i just "kai qiao" yesterday night. i realised the way for me to have a different wedding from other ppl is to have very good food & special deco, meaning i will spend like 700 per table for food (there r hotels wif gd food but low price), then the "savings" i make (compared to taking 800 per table for some higher class hotels) i will use to do up the whole ballroom in my special theme! it's weird how i hear others saying it n think ya ya i know, without internalising it! yesterday night i suddenly realised what it all meant! wat's the use of spending 900 per table wif standard floral arrangements n dry ice march in? if it's crap food like at hyatt (sorry, no offense for ppl who is thinkg of choosing there, this is jus subjective comment on the food), but costs like 800, then normal march in, nobody will rembr it...

mayb just before i slept last nite, i was reading a mag over my cereal - there r couples who build castles n gates n ride in horse carriages IN the ballroom! i thot yes! i'll forego all the ex but crap food hotels, settle for a good-food hotel at at 700 per table, and do up the whole place n make everyone feel the "special" atmos...

Hi Marnie,

Do u mean to say Meraj will be going overseas?
You will be starting a website? How nice.....I am not gd at this, else i would also like to set up one.

Jean : Yeah....he's going to be in KL most of the time. Not too far...but the travelling will be a waste of time and money..He's in Bangkok now as we speak...looking at favours..*L* A bit too early..but if can get now...so much less hassle...all these small things.....*sigh*

We have a logistical nightmare cos' of the hotels recommendations we need to get for our guests..and we'll have a pre and post wedding brunches or dinners to look at. Welcome gift packs for the overseas guests. Essentially the website will provide all the info they need whilst in this part of the world. Designing is something I love to do..apart from making chocolates...though not schooled or professionally trained in either...Bleh...*hehhehe*

hey ooshie

dad just said he does not need any table for frens...cool...that means we only need tables for relatives on both sides...since his parents also dun wan any tables for friends. steady...can save money. simpler affair too

yeah Bing bing,
you can do anything you want if you are willing to spend the difference on the deco it will be unique!!! maybe you can spend part of that amount on a wedding planner then they can help you with your themes. I intending to set aside maybe 2K for deco purposes only. Altho it will be thrown away after the dinner ... i got pics to remember them of ... and yeah i want the guests to rememeber everything heheh

Hi cindee Good for you! then you really save alot man .... spend the money on something more memorable for yourself maybe better honeymoon?

Hi NOTti....
yeah been to phuket and phi phi and kaolak in april. the beach was a blast! much better than the previous yrs we went. We tawt of going to phuket to do our photoshoots as we go there every yr and tawt it holds special memories and next yr we will have pre wedding honeymoon hiaks hiaks

hi ooshie,

think i will cancel the money to deco...cos i am gonna make use of the blue in ocean ballrm to make the theme 'By the Sea'...hehehe...

how come u can always reply so fast one huh? amazing

hi ooshie,

u went to phuket in april??? how was it? how much did u spend?? heard it is super cheap to go now loh.

btw, what theme are u having for your wedding??

sighz...realize my previous postings all not completed...ended up having to post 3 times...me reading thru again cos dun wan to b posting e 4th time manz

Hi Lilacblur,
Big fan? humm... I guess you can say so... his style of videography is very similar to The Pond's style of photography so I guess the two will complement each other very well...

Hi summerala
Year noted. I will change it the next time I update the table

I'm new to this thread. Like all of you, I will be a May Bride. I am a teacher also..read from this thread that someone is also a teacher, hehe. My status is as follow:
Nickname: Aiko
AD: 27 May (tentative)
Venue: RTC
BS: Everbliss

Hi CIndee!!

haha ... i think someone ask me before about answering to posts ... i have email alert whenever someone posts messages ... altho i watching tv or doing something else ... i got the ting tong alert mah haha my comp on 24/7

yeah went to phuket .... the beaches much cleaner but i find the things slightly more ex leh i think they need to earn the lost time and money but other than that everything stays the same we paid for the tiger airway tiks 9.95 each without tax all in all was about 150 for tiks spending money on food and leisure drinks sea sports only about another 800? so everything less than 1K
yeah ...good idea to channel the money to deco ... its the 'feel good' factor

so you decided to take pan pac ?? yeah now we can update each other on any changes in pan pac..so ivan gonna send you the contract soon? if you not clear what to ask for or what the contract has .. let me know so that i can send you mine then you can negotiate from there

i may not have theme havent tawt of that yet .. but tinking of color scheme ... like maybe all pink and white something like that

Marnie: you are so talented... Meraj must be a lucky guy...

I just came back from my FH's place. Thank God that everything went of quite smoothly and we are able to comfirm a few things. My AD postponed to 29 Apr. I need to inform my photographer ASAP. That day is also my Future FIL's birthday, and they prefer 'even' month on a chinese calender. My banquet will be at teochew seafood restaurant @ centerpoint. Will be having 30 tables. I have a feeling that they will increase the tables later on. Phew... even though this is not my first choice, I am sure glad that I don't have to go to boon lay raja restaurant... Finally, can start my gear now. My FH and I were so relieved... It was a challenging night but thank God that my 2 future sisters in law and MIL are there to help us to convince the father. I am just glad that this is over...

Hi Ooshie,

yeah I also have email alert, so today actually got a lot of posting and like flooded my mailbox, lucky I can check my email at office if not it'll take ages to d/l my mail at hm ( as still using dial up)

So lucky I haven't been to Phuket, but is the place still as nice as before the tsunami?

Can you pls share your photo/videographer packages with me at [email protected]? You have started to book already? Still 1 year ahead leh... is it too early?

Here is the updated table:
<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>AD (May 06)</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Photographer</TD><TD>Videographer </TD></TR><TR><TD>akoyo</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>geberra</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ling</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>RASA Sentosa</TD><TD>GHA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>maggie</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Qianxi</TD><TD>JB (Printemps)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>tsukushi</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>GH</TD><TD>SB</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ayane</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>racherlle</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>Sentosa Resort and Spa</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene Lee</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>JB (New York Classic)</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Mr Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>zen</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Kai</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>greekgal</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>RTP</TD><TD>WL</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ah gal</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>CC</TD><TD>YC</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>aiko</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>RTC</TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>magical</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>BZ</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi Gini!!
yeah lor .. today seem to have alot of posting! its nice to know everyone is as excited as me ....hehe

Phuket seems to be the same except that the front row of shops facing the beach are now defunct so its a little deserted now however the real night life is not there so it doesnt matter much
besides the front row ... really ... everything else hasnt change the good thing is that the beaches are cleaner

serene,
u also book mr low? i still thot of calling him tomorrow. guess i've to look for someone else. any other recommendation? can email me? [email protected]

for the dr diet, i bought it last yr Mar for abt $180 i think. can't remember liao. need to check with my colleague. she helped me to buy one. btw, what's the price now? i jus checked the expiry date. it's 10 june 2005. so it's expiring pretty soon. if u're interested, i'm willing to sell it cheap. jus give me a quote. altogether there r 21 pkts. i've drank 1 pkt so left 20 packets.

Hi Lilic, summerala and Lilacblur,
ya I confirmed the date already, booked venue also, me and my boyfriend like Raffles very so decided to go there.

Lilic and Lilacblur, u decided already??

hello aiko!
welcome! =) i'm the teacher... haha...so that explains why u've chosen 27th may.. don't mind me asking, usu my school has the parent-meeting session on the last day of term...so that's why i didn't consider that day..

have u started any preparations yet?
btw where's RTC?

Marilyn: Thanks for the kind words. Actually, I am the fortunate one. *grin*

And am SOOO happy for you that everything went well! With the date now all set, you can get everything else going and get into the swing of things, yes?

hi ooshie

oh i see...no wonder u can reply so fast...was wondering how would someone actually sit in front of the com all the time...hehehe

hmm...less than 1 k for how many days??? me thinking of phuket as one of my HM venue...thinking korea first...(cos i love korean movies...the guys so cute!!!!!) then go phuket relax. but confirm need a lot of money manz. cos think by then, phuket would be up on track and hotels will be back to its normal price.

hv not confirm panpac...cos the couple before us who tentatively booked ocean has yet to get back to ivan....today supposed to be the last day for them to get back to ivan...if no reply, then we can get it loh. we gonna see hilton tomo evening....cos bf wanna compare...but i am pretty much set on pan pac...so classy.

Morning ladies!
How do i subscribe to the email alerts har? Been trying to figure out then i tot tis forum dun have such function.

GingerCat: I read the female brides mag and like a pair of shoes ($89) from a shop call JWest (I tink its at centrepoint or something) Their shoes very nice. And I have a fren who customised made her wed shoes @ leaping lizards for 140.

cindee,
Pan Pac more ex than Hilton, rt? I rem Hilton is $780nett. So, Pan Pac shld be around $800+ range.
I dun like the sales pax, June Wee @ Hilton...(no offence)..just that I shoot her back the email saying that I am not Mr &amp; the surname is wrong..&amp; asked for a meet up time...Fr then on, no reply fr her. maybe she feels offended by my email but she actually had called me up before sending this email asking for my full name yet she could got the gender &amp; surname wrong.

BingBing,
I am not so adventurous as U as I m not so creative in design even though I wanted something different...but I intend to have some games in my wedding...so boring to toast the champange &amp; cut the cake only. N go every table to say cheers... see how lah...if nobody helps, most likely I would go towards the traditional toasting...hahhahaaa

hi greekgal

my AD oso no one same with me leh .. but i get shifu calculate one leh ... shld not be a bad day rite ...kkekeke..

alamark magical
then my AD is last day of sch tt mean parent -meeting session ah in most sch ?? dun scared me leh ...

hi hweyhwey, which raffles you talking abt? raffles hotel or raffles the plaza?

more or less decided on fullerton for banquet but still deciding between regent and prob raffles hotel for my church service. all on same day.

m&amp;m: hiyeee marilyn! we've got the same AD date! mine's on the 29th April too! i got the date from a geomancer! definitely a good date! hehehe!

marnie: hi marnie.i tink u're really capable n meticulous! u've worked out everything to pamper ur guests! how sweet! heee

hi ah gal!
haha...sorry didn't mean to scare u..
not all schools are like that...
for my school, the Parent-meeting session is usually held on the last day of school..for my school's case, its held from 3pm onwards n might stretch until 8pm..depending on the number of students in your class.
i'm not sure about other schools...
but its possible that your relatives could request to have their session earlier la...usually, with special reason, should be no problem 1... =)

Hi Chaiyo,
go to your profile ... under email notifications, choose our thread and then confirm the change. from there you can also choose other threads that you want to have notification for
below you also have the option of selecting whether you want email alert for your own posts or replies to your post.

hi cindee...
my trip was for 4 days three nights last yr only the two of us went spent only like 500 between us ...
this yr we went with another couple and spent twice as much coz we did more activities . as a group can do more things mah like water rafting (50US per pax), bungee jumping (70US per pax)etc if you leave all these out you prob need much lesser just for food and accomodation

hey dun worry ... even at its 'normal' price , phuket is still dirt cheap leh ... beer is only like 2 bucks ? i always go there and buy toiletries and bras haha everything else is cheap even before the tsunami and now. only the sea sports a bit expensive (same as before). so even for your HM next yr ... the price will go back to pre tsunami (Cheap cheAp!)

Yeah .. i think pan pac 's nice or i wun choose it as my banquet venue right

hopefully the couple pull out then you can get the booking. As long you pay them the deposit they will definitely secure the date for you lah

hi ooshie

huh? go phuket and buy bras??? thot bangkok is the place to buy bras?? well anyway...still got a long way to go...

hey gers
i am confused by all these traditional costoms...is it true tt parents from both sides have to sit down together and talk about what they should give each other...like my father suppose to request for how many table from e groom and then the groom side suppose to ask for stuff from the bride's side also??? me all confused liao...cos bf just told me that there is such a tradition...the thing is we both dun like traditions...am gonna tell my mom dun give me any jewellery and stuff manz...if wanna give, give money...hahaha...

hi ooshie,

can u send me your contract with ivan??? am gonna seeif i can bargain...thinking of not wanting the wedding flavor...cos we making photo frames...using those from ikea...wondering if i can exchange it for an extra night...also dun wan the beer barrel lei...we wanna make it alcohol free..think can exchange??