(2006) Brides of year 2006

Janna: I'm actually enjoying setting the guest tables, going around looking for favours, designing invites etc. all more than me going to a bridal shop and talking to the designers! *heheheh* Weird right me?

Marilyn: Forgot to ask you. The Restaurant you have decided on can acommodate 30 tables and perhaps more? That must be a huge restaurant! Think I have walked past it before.

Hi Ah gal, Zen and tsukushi,

I have send you all the package I have. Hope it can save ur time on this.

Hi magical,

I am not that Serene. This is what I think that why I put it on a Monday. Actually Grand Mercury Roxy is offering a Sunday dinner same price as a Monday. But the function room look rather old. If not I will sure to sign from them.

hi could i ask how u all managed to pick a date so soon? which websites are good for checking out whether a date is "suitable" for marriage?

thanks! =)

Hi serene!
oops! sorry...=) just so coincidence..both u and the BZ serene having customary on sun n dinner on mon..
Actual;ly carlton also charging a weekday price on sun..we almost signed up with them, coz happy with the co-ordinator.,.very nice guy...but my hubby said take a look at furama riverfront, so we went down to see see loh..but no regrets! love it! =)

u haven't decided on venue yet?

hey serene

thxs beri beri the much receive ur email ... may i knoe which email belong to mr loh(VG) .. i heard some good comment of mr loh and mark ... ah peng i met her up be4 not bad leh her skills and she is very funny gal .. might consider her and sam wong (within my budget)..

halo aiko

welcome here

Hi Ah gal,
I do not have Mr loh price. I met him up last year cos my sister in law sign with him. But I heard his price is abt $680.00, I think with this price you can easily look for other with better skill. I sign up with him when he is still doing part time. So the price is lower.

Hi magical, I hold my ROM at carlton. Their service is really very good, I really have a memorable ROM there with them. I have also been to Furama riverfront. Who is the coordinator there that you speak to? Have you confirm with them? I am meeting furama Citycentre pple tomolo. And I wanna get it done soon lor.

hi serene!
oh...yeah i think carlton service is good...
i spoke to albert at FRF...he's the group director for sales i think..already placed a small deposit..will be placing the remainder on their wedding show on 22nd may..
that was the only ballroom i saw so far that made me go "wah....." know what i mean? =) love the place! plus albert is a really nice guy..service very good...so i'm happy with my choice.. =D....hope nothing will go wrong!!
i went to see FCC too...but don't really like the ballroom decor n cocktail recep area....n got some other issues..
when's your PS gonna be? i don't know when's the right time to go n try out some gowns...i'm the kind who will always change my mind, so i want to go n try out all designs before i can make up my mind... heh...

My AD is 20th May 06. Now I have confirm my place and wedding package liao. The only thing is to look for a cheap/nice photographer cum videographer for my AD. Any nice recommentation?

Hi shelyn,

Thks for yr valuable feedback.
Would bear tat in mind when i go on sun to view the whole wedding set up.
Tats y my 1st choice is grandroyal but they only hv 4/3/06 date. so maybe worst to worst i may hv to tk tat date since its oso one of the hot dates given to me.

Will inform u my outcome on mon then...

Happy searching for yr photographer & renovator for yr hse too

Btw yr hubby went to grandroyal @ penisula right?

when its yr rom?Doing outsoor event?
Mine is on 23/9

ok hwey hwey, so i guess i can forget abt raffles hotel for my reception then.. hahaha...

by the way, wat was your package like? me curious...

Halo christine,

Wow u oso gg to be a mar'06 bride.

welcome to this thread!!!

Well u need to know both side parents 'chinese horoscope' and u & hubby birthdates. No need timing one.

Huangshifu will oso ask u wat are the mths u guys prefer to hold yr wedding so tat he can zoom the the mths which u guys wanted and write out a whole list og good dates.

For my case, i choose mar,may & sep'06

In the end, seem mar is a better mth for me loh.
After browse thru the dates given. He will put '3 start' beside those very hot dates for both of u.

Fyi, consultation fee $38.

~ Best of luck ~

Hi Summer

I wanted to have my ROM together with my AD... and had no special plans for ROM but now might have to ROM earlier cos of hdb... not confirmed yet cos haven go for 1st appt with hdb... will only know whether will need to ROM earlier after that... hopefully no need cos we din set aside any budget for ROM... but if have to, i've already decided on 18 Sept which is mooncake festival.. and maybe in a temple so no need to incur additional costs...

Hmm... i dun remember where my hubby went for the dinner.. but i know he told mi it's around 600+ on a weekend, incl free flow beer one.... cos he was telling mi so good etc etc... haha...

Wahh.. u manage to get so many dates from your shi fu ah??.. mine only managed to get 1 date. Luckily i manage to book banquet for that date... cos no other choice. Since 4/3 also one of the hot dates that means also good mah why u dun like? can have the good dates + at your 1st choice hotel... maybe u got your reason lah.

u have any recommendations for photographer?

haha guess there's a bit of prob when everyone's wedding is on the same day huh?? hehe

hweyhewy, perhaps you wanan give your details to tintin? then you'll update for you in the list next time

me still haven't confirm my venue
got to do it asap... so sian...

summerala, no prob
jus happened to see.. got to mafan tintin to update

HI geberra!

Printemps is in City Square, the nearest shopping complex across the causeway. my photographer, zhiyong, is supposed to be very good, went to france to further studies in photography and a lot of brides asked for him. you can see his good reviews in the printemps thread.
I'll be going to tioman to take photos and also indoors in printemps itself and another round of outdoors in JB. not sure where to go but maybe some old buildings and the railway. found ur BS yet?

hi shelyn,

I actually prefer GRPP but they only hv 4/3 while Crown prince got 18/3 (i prefer this date)
now GRPP wkend dinner is at least $728/$768/$798.

cheers,

hi all... i hv made tentative booking with M hotel for 18mar06 too...
also tinking of engaging Shirley from Flamingo..
heehee

Hi Summer,

thks for the info.

Huang Shifu able to give few dates ah... that will be great! will he give u the timing for "chu jia" , " shang tou", etc...?

I just confirmed my AD - 26th Nov 2006. ROM will be on same date too. Will have to start sourcing for banquet venue and BS

Btw, do you think its too early to book JP for ROM now?

Hi denise,

welcome to this thread!!

my AD is on the 25th of Nov so yours is one day after mine!! keke..

i think that if your ROM is on the same day, u dun have to book so early in advance.. what you should do first is to source for your wedding venue.. coz popular hotels tend to be booked one year in advance..

Hi Cindee...
yeah go phuket and buy bra lor coz they have a small shopping centre there i dun really like bangkok coz too many pp and cannot wear bikini on the streets hahah
tradition really depends lah ....
you want can sit down but nowadays we call the shots we say how many then how many lor besides now not common practice for ger's parents to ask for table from the guy and they get to keep the ang paos from the tables they get. If the guy is loaded then can lah .. if not better not
suggest but our PIL suppose to give us jia zhuang like si dian jin i told my MIL i dun want si dian jin i want ROlex hahahah

okay can pass show you my contract but it may be different coz i taking pacific ballroom and i signed up during the wedding show so might have more things... you can try to ask for them
some of the free things i have 1) video montage
2) free table for every 25 3) waiver of wine corkage for every table i have
btw whats your email?

hi ah gal & serene, u have the URL for Sam Wong's website?

welcome Aiko! Welcome Pinkyu!

hi serene, Furama Riverfront is having a wedding show on 22/5. If u like them after meeting up, u may wanna ask them to see if u sign-up at the fair got better deals or not.

hi maggie, tioman is part of the package with Printemps or did u have to top up extra? i can imagine will hv lots of nice photos with beautiful sea...mmm...nice...
oh no, i haven't even started much sourcing on BS! am i late?

Hi christine,

Yah he will give u those "guo da li" / "An Chuan" ..etc timing as well but he will tell u when the date is nearer. (eg oct/nov)and not on the day where u go visit him.

Even for me, i will need to go down again loh.

No worries..some more no need extra charge again..but i thk it best to give small ang bao as courtesy loh..anyway he is really a very nice guy.

So hv u gals taken yr photoshoot?
Chosen yr actual wedding gowns already?

Cos me yet to choose gowns nor photoshoot?

Me not sure when it the best timing. I thought of choosing gowns by Sep (after my rom) and photoshoot say nov.

Any comments?

Hi Petrina,

so qiao, u are one day earlier than mine.

ya, my FH & I are looking for venue now. Waiting for hotels to reply us. Where will you be holding yours?

wow, this thread is running fast!

Magical, I've been teaching for only about two years n our school meet-the-parent session is held during the one of the weekdays, outside curriculum time. Hehe, you are right that I purposely choose 27th due to the first day of the school holiday. But then again, my FH n I may change the date once the Tong Shu is out.

By the way, how many years have you been teaching?

hehhe,choose this date becos my geomancer included this as one of the dates he gave us. Most importantly because it's a saturday and the following monday is a public holiday. Also dun have to worry that people will go for a short getaway cos it's exam period...hahahha very cunning hor...:p

Hi Lilacblur,

My coordniator is Mark but he recently just left Marriott. If you book lunch with them every table is only $528 and for every ten tables you booked with them the eleventh is only $10. You can go to their website for information

My wedding luncheon is customed made so the price is very different. Not good to look at my package coz its customised... its best to check with their wedding consultants as to what promotions they have currently. I gave them alot of hassle at the customization and then I changed my wedding date and they still did everything nicely for me. I can tell you that I like Marriott's food and service very much

Cheers !

Today went to have my first fitting for my ROM dress, no detailing so just a plain knee length CS. Also went to the Isetan Pte sale today even though weekday a lot of pple, sigh... wanted to buy shoes for wedding but can't find any nice one. Saw a URS silve heels but it's a bit high, 4 inches!! Think I have to find 2 inch or less... not use to super high heels. Not comfy at all.

Hi summer, hehe.. nope, actually i hven met up with Shirley from Flamingo yet... still at planning stage.. hehe :p tat means ur oso 18mar06 bride,
which hotel will u be holding the dinner?

paiseh.. jus noticed tat u initially wanted Grandroyal park plaza rite? tats wat i hv in mind too!!! but it was fully booked when i asked for quotations.. btw, orchard hotel is full on 18mar06 too! so i chose M hotel.. u better act fast if u want to keep this date, cos this is supposedly to be a good date
btw, its oso bec my max tables is 25, so i don really hv much choices, hehe

Janf: Thanks. I already got photographer liao.

marnie: That's restaurant can take up to 35 tables. I am really glad that I can finally get things going. I had email the restaurant and will be going down next week.

Janna/Jean: I didn't get any geomancer to choose the date for us. From your posting, at least I know that it is considered a good date. I think I will tell my in-laws so that they will be more at ease.

Where are you gals thinking of going for your honeymoon? We are thinking of a short getaway too. Maybe we will get a nice private villa and spend a few days there. Any good lobang???

hi Gals,

had a fun day today! WEnt bridal shopping with me friend coz she getting married in Feb and she hasnt found her BS yet. during my own selection of BS, i did not drop by at Tanjong Pagar... so today when i went with my firend it was a total shocker!
There were men standing outside the BS pulling us in to see their packages.
We managed to escape from the clutches of some of the BS before xxx boutique. There was this guy standing outside who practical blocked us and shoved the album in front of us . And being nice we took a look at the album. He then insisted that we come in and take a sit while he will use like max 5 mins to show us the package. Of coz we din go in but out of courtesy i asked for the package and guess what he said!
"If you dont come in i cannot give you the pacakge"
My pants nearly dropped in shock at his attitude. Of course we walked off .... and after and hour or so when we walked by again he said
guy :So have you found anything you like?'
us: No ... thanks
guy : Thanks then come in lah , i wait very long already
This is SUPER hardsell man .
Still cant believe my ears. i shudder at the thought of the reputation that they bring to the BS at tanjong pagar!!

hi ooshie,

well...am shocked that the BS at tanjong pagar so competitive...maybe they are having a hard time trying to keep the business alive too. sighz...i too, like u, din even think of going there. too many choices already. confirm headache one. so avoid it at all cost.

kies...anyway shall just compare e contract a bit loh. my email is [email protected]

going down to hilton to look see look see today. sighz...am still waiting for e couple to confirm their booking for pan pac lei...if they let go, we can go sign tomo manz...we even prepare the deposit liao...hahaa...so kiasu hoh