(2006) Brides of year 2006

<font color="0000ff">hi purpleblur, I'm using the Ocean Ballroom. Why? I think Pacific Ballroom already got someone booked. According to my coordinator cos initially I wanted to increase the no. of tables but looks like now no chance</font>

Popie,

For me,i oreadi have my house le &amp; reno done very long ago. So i'm not so stressed now. Now, i cross my fingers tat i can able to find gd n nice gowns &amp; pray hard tat my PS will go on smoothly &amp; turns out nice.

More headache shld b table arrangements.

Oh, tat's very gd! ur house alomost finish liao le.... Congrats!

Hi bsproffy,
Using Sil but still looking ard for CS/kerbaya cos my dad's side is peranakan and feel tt either would be very nice. Are u going to get ur MUA separately? I have sorted of hired Jasmine Tiong but will only cfm in March next yr. Cos she said i shd do a trial and assess her work before making any cfm... =)

Marnie,

My flat will be ready in 2009...But we expect it to be earlier...

I got a fright yesterday cos there's no link to 2006 brides when I try to access yesterday night!

Hi limko,
thanks for uploading ur pic. ur shoes very sweet leh. looks really comfy. i hv to look for higher heels to make me look taller n not so round n short. so flats is sure out for me. think i wud try a few places. Novo got nice shoes too. think i shd go there n have a look too

magical, me too..my WG is pure white therefore must get white heels as other colors will look abit weird.

moonlight, i just sent u the pics of my heels. check ur mailbox

hi jasda!
hm...lots of places have..but u have to have time n look around...tangs, metro, OG, taka, jwest, walking culture (millenia walk)..even charles n keith may have..
if higher end budget, (abv 200) MTM shoes at leaping lizards, paradox, hue...etc

hey gintonic!
great! we can keep a lookout for each other..
thought most brides prefer ivory gowns..
but i had to have white coz i got purple flowers..

hmmm...tat means I m the only one that can access?

anyway ladies, I jux went to my final fitting..
Now, I see my gowns not nice...
under normal white lights...its very plain..
I shld ve chosen the grand WG &amp; the classy blue EG.
U know wat? I saw the new batch of gowns..
So tempted to chg but cant unless I want to pay the penalty of $300.

<font color="aa00aa">sorry, but is Jasmine Tiong still doing makeup next yr? i've heard that she's taking a short break? would have gotten her if not for tat

<font color="0077aa">count, my bf's side also peranakan...

kerbaya is touchy issue.. initially i wanted to wear that too with the kerosang from bf's great grandma.. but then realise that his aunties all decided to wear kerbayas for our wedding.. in case i look like one of them, decided to abort the idea...

my fmil got a few contacts for tailor in singapoe for kerbayas.. i can get them if you keen.. but they are really pricey (>2k) and need at least 10 mths if you want hand embriodery.. alternatively, you may want to drive down to malacca..

for CS, you should definitely go for ted collection... the CS cut by them is superb.. oh, ted collection has kerbayas too.. but not as impressive by my fmil's std..

alternatively, you may want to do a kerbaya style EG with sil.. think sil can do it.. create a EG with kerbaya feel.. when i was doing my BS hunt, kai offered to do that and provide some "inspiration" then.. but too bad i din sign up with him..

tot jasmine tiong retired? she is a good mua.. like her style but coz heard that she retiring, din check her up.. but until next mar, wat if you dun like her?

i got sam ong thro divine.. not sure if i want to change.. initial choice was jyue huey from the make up room... main diff is that jyue huey only takes one bride a day and so i have her full attention.. sam ong may take a 2nd bride.. but at least both style are natural, they use shu umera and they clean their brushes after each bride.. kekekeke...</font>

Hi Wendy,
thanks for the bali info, will look into it. Snow city no longer has such event liao, so is out &amp; I'll have to look for other place. Oh yes, my email address uni_skyblue.com

<font color="aa00aa">aiyo! u still thinking of changing MUA ah ahahaha pls leh~ i think Sam is good enough.. but then, like wat you say, full attention.. hmm..

if i remember correctly, Jasmine is not doing anymore till end of this yr, but i think i heard someone saying that she might do once in a while, case by case... but i thought tat'll b too troublesome.. shall stick to Kenneth

<font color="ff0000">silent...ohhhhhh no worries lah.. still got time.. are u looking for PG now?? what is your budget like?? flowerssss ah... what flowers u wanna get leh?? ohhh great.. so have you got ur rom dress le??</font>

Jean, wow Jean.....2009 till your dream house? So in the meantime after marriage, where will you and hubby put up?

And same as me...I was getting withdrawal symptoms from not being able to get onto our threads....! A few of my other friends are able to get on and post on their normal threads though (even though the threads also appeared "lost" - weird right?

Hazel, oh dear.........don't worry. Sometimes it may be a case of "the grass is always greener on the other side". Sometimes we are critical of ourselves that we don't think we look nice in something even though to others we may - be positive lah!

Lipstar, don't overwork hor...still need to maintain...your PS is also still not too far away.

hey,
I spoken to my photographer.
I would be going to tanah Merah for the lallang shots, beach shots &amp; the CBD area for the building shots.
where else can I go?

Hi AXL,

I'll like to check wif u whether need to pay any $$ for food tasting or pay service charge,tibits,tea &amp; etc thingy??

Lipstar,
Still working OT?

Marnie,
dunno leh..my fren also ask me how come y I chose that WG, so plain..shld chose the grand one.

Its fine for me to have the gathering in Jan, :P

I'll like to check wif u gals...Itz a muz to have roast pig for the AD?? I'll b marrying off fr hotel.I dun it nice to bring the ROAST PIG passing by the hotel lobby where the tourist look here &amp; there!!or mayb will offend those tourist fr Middle east!! Somemore need to reture the head &amp; end back to the groom side.In the hotel room how to cut????? Tis question has given me a big headache &amp; my mum insist to have ROAST PIG............................

aiyo

thanks for those who really miss me. haha\

Ok i have done my best for my exam.. keke

I saw someone post that MUA is having 3 job a day

How can

My BS told me she will do 1 a day for my BS.. Must check with her again..

I really know nothing abt the material for gown so need all jie jie mei mei men help...

I already got my BS so i dun think i want to run around like apple...keke at least she is really looking for BS and Figure is good not like me dinouar wait they see me dun even got gown let me try haha

<font color="ff0000">hey duckling.. was wondering where u gone to.. glad u back.. we went to different BS to check cos curious why price difference is so big.. and what designer BS is good at.. i had my concern about the hygience of a MUA, if needed, I am willing to bring my own tools for MUA to use. For my ROM, even though the MUA is a freelance, she used a clean and new sponge for my trial n on ROM that day.. so suddenly this issue about MUA.. wah.. i think proffy n purple.. research on all aspects of wedding till deep deep...</font>

hi guys...

wow i onli away for 1/2 a day and there's so many posts already...this is really a busy thread...

just went to see the geomancer today and guess what, the date he gave me is 14th Oct or 9th dec...wanted to have my wedding in copthorne waterfront...but on waiting list...sigh

any of u gals intending to have your wedding there?

any suggestion for hotels that can accomodate abt 60tables???

Hi Bliss,

Err..That was only my second trip there, so I can't tell u much abt HK. Just walked around myself to shop coz HB was at work. Din visit Disneyland yet coz we'll be shifting to HK after the wedding, will have plenty of time to go when we are there.
The pace of life is much faster than in Sg...They speak fast, walk fast and work fast. I'm pretty amazed! But dun think it's a nice place for honeymoon leh, coz it's too fast-paced and not that romantic... Great place to shop though...

Hi Augustina,
How's ya gown fitting? Got any nice nice pics to show? I am going for my trial make-up on Thu, so excited abt it...

Hi ebell,
When's ya trial make-up at Divine? My make-up artiste is Joanne, is yours the same? How's ya gowns? I simply love my purple EG! Turned out to be exactly what I wanted. WG not much details during the 1st 2 fittings, so can't really tell...

Me back from my PS. Waaa ... so tired man. Weather is good to me today. Rain when I'm indoor and going back to studio after outdoor shots.

During photoshoot was fun. They made us pose many funny laughing shots. The best was at Sentosa. When we ran along the beach and when my FH picked me up and turn me upside down. So fun!

Of course there were some down sides. Firstly, the shirt that my FH tailored didn't turn up. Sigh ... good thing we brought enough shirts to go along with it. Quite piss. When I wore the two gowns (pink and yellow), I looked nice in the two, so I thought of topping up to have two evening gowns. So when I went to talk to the coordinator, she said I could exchange my teadress for the gown. So now I got no tea dress.

Sigh ... at Sentosa, my PG asked me to go into the water with my gown. Waaa ... so much seaweed. Think I stepped on oil. Got oil on my toes then stained my VINCCI shoes with oil. When I reached the studio, I scratched out the oil from my toes until my manicure came off. Sigh ... so many things. Now really tired. Going to Zzzzzzzzzzzzz...

Hey sinkor,
Bought your shoes? Me wore it the whole day. Very comfortable. Really a good chioce. Didn't feel uncomfortable. Really value for money!

HI greta
I kinda officially annouce to mainly friends and colleagues (4tables) cos most of them work shift and have to request early like at least a month before...at the same time asked for their mailing addresses as well....as for relatives I'm leaving it to mom (4tables from my side) to call them and will ask her how many cards she wants later....FH's side (4tables) will leave it to him ...total we only got about 10-12tables and will be sending out the invites by end jan- 1st wk of feb.

Hi suzanne
where's Lady Xiang....I haven't brought my Mom to OG yet......what's the price range....as my mom is having a MRI later this month....the scan will cost about $800 already so I'll probably maybe spend another $300 for her dress....quite tight expenditure after the scan

Hi viz,
Ya, I'm making my own Ang Pow box. Bought the materials already but no time to get started. Busy with reno and will be shifting in next week..

I just finished my wrist corsage for jiemei, but think it looks a bit too cluttered. See if u all have any good suggestions to improve it...Otherwise i'll do a brand new one.

I agree that this thread is moving very fast...seems like all of us are highly excited and preparation is on the way.

Can i conclude that june brides should start sourcing for shoes, taking PS, finding PG and VG for AD, doing facials and losing fats?

How abt wedding bands? Have you gals bought it yet?

Basically, I haven't settle on my WG, EG, PS, WB, shoes, PG and VG... any june brides same scenario with me? Trying to find some comfort now... haa

Abt the 17 dec gathering, think we postponed since alot of the gals can't make it....How abt 7th Jan (sat)... think too early to say hor... but must book you all first cos everyone like very busy... hee...

i just went for their wedding show in nov...not very happy with their wedding planners and also the ballroom is still very old...

onli like their lobby...hee hee hee

hi tulipz,

u can try concourse @ beach road. there is a lot of wholesale shop selling party stuff... including those bottled bubbles.... think i saw those w a cute couples on top sometime ago

Augustina: I oso like the red better. Although the vine looks good but can be q plain. PLus I got another one in Zoo which is more a garden and safari theme so this one I wan the more oriental feel, more fun got different themes

Who is ur wed cord? MIne is Stephie, she is v gd
, V please with her service

Jocester:
I just went for my food tasting just now...soo yummy hope actual day will b as gd. Guess what My MIL forgot to bring up the money issue...piang...hehe How's urs?

Spring &amp; Greta: Today my first gown fitting...the gown half done only but soo beautiful...hehe my gf first time seeing, she say she in awe
... soo fun. Spring: ur detailing all completed? I think Helen super talented, agree?

Belle: y dun just use both ur names first then say together with our parents, ****??

frais,
didn't know that Kuang be that popular.. seems like i must decide soon, before he get taken on my date ya!

Chomecc, if u like the card, just grab it.. cos u dun get it, n dun find anything else that u fancy, then u'll regret... somemore u say its unique, so must be very nice...

anyways, to all the gals who went to dinner on Mon, i really enjoyed myself! hope we have another session, n more to come thruout the next yr... talk to u all when i get back from HK! going to miss chattin with u gals!

hi ebell,

i got no experience in printing but if i m not wrong the wedding cards we receive mostly (if not all) starts with PARENTS name first. Maybe as a form of respect? even if we put our names first..ultimately will still be groom's parent name then my dad's name lor..wat da ya think?

The 3 samples that my printer T-Dragon gave all starts with parents names only slight variation only..

Hi springbride,

Love the colour theme of ur wrist corsage alot. Though i find it abit too big? my head of jiemei will help me to make my corsage too i NO HOPE in doing these dainty things hee. Will source my ribbons in abt 2wks time ..

iceglacier, wat happen? who run after who? u run after the animal or the animal run after u tat cause u to fall ;-p juz joking...but seriously, if ur leg still swollen, pls go see doc or the chinese sin sen lor...if nt nex yr how to wear high heels and walk jio jio during ur big day...

whiteangelz, aiyo...u ok hor....got to drive carefully....car got scratches nvm...can repair...but if u hurt then how...

tingz...basically, the whole entertainment
system is there today lor...tink all 5 of us present today are able to speak/sing loudly and clearly wifout the mic lor...hee hee...tink we njoy chatting more than singing lah...hohoho

hi frais,

i think u still have many choices leh, how about mabel or lynn or eulee? they are girls but seems like they are good.. u can check them out..

hi chomecc,

my camp was great! haha played bridge overnight also..faint... ahhaha..$1.70 ah.. if u got money to get it lah =) ehhe a bit pricey though..

silent, u need to get flowers ah?
u found ur florist already?

Yes...it's definetely more talking than singing..haa....

Guess what..some things are just too coincidence :

1. I know Wenn colleague who happen to be my classmate!

2. Cecilia is my mama's name!

3. Diana and Ice are from the same office and I know Ice cos we booked the same BS!

4. Elsie, whom I know before this outing happens to be my classmate colleague!

The world is so small!!

Okay..man..I am going out for work..see you all after 11.00 pm..

<font color="0000ff">hi steph, if you want 60 tables, and it must be a hotel and you're not taking 9th dec, then you can consider shangri-la? Other hotels that can take up to 60 tables would be ritz (definitely!), meritus mandarin (i think), raffles the plaza... can't think of any other hotel but if you want, suntec can take 60 tables and above.</font>

Hi Chomecc ,

If u really like then get it lor, u be getting only the cards or even with the slots in?

So shiok, go hong kong, I never been to Hong Kong... .. . sobz..

<font color="ff0000">hi jacq.. duno if you will check this thread before you leave.. have fun in china and hk.. hope to catch up with u soon.. take care orr..</font>

<font color="ff0000">hey tulipz.. hehe..wahh ur camp very exciting leh.. i miss camping..
ohhh.. keke... think hor the cards will still amount to be cheaper than the 30L of beer tats why i will outsource orr</font>

<font color="ff0000">hey frais dear.. i heard that eulee is good too.. heard god reviews abt her too.. maybe u can see her works too.. </font>

finally can BREATHE.. after reading all the posts!!
I'm back again in cambodia on work so hor cant talk much here. shall reply to a few pple.
1st of all - WELCOME Stephanie!!

duckling, i did simple grouping of the various types gowns before quite sometime ago, so gonna repeat again.1st you need to determine what type of look you would wanna portray for your wedding. I am addressing on the types of fabric you can use that can reflect the look for WG only. Cutting is altogether a different matter. EG is not mentioned here as EG you can play around with colours and accessories.

If you want:
1) romantic look - look for soft fabrics such as chiffon, organza
usually. gowns are in duchess satin with chiffon or organza overlay. The organza overlay can be detailed with embriodery or just layered for a soft effect or detailed with lace appliques (lace cut outs).
2) classic look - look for fabrics such as duchess satin with no organza overlays. just simple duchess satin with details such as embriodery, crystals, beading, faux pearls, sequins, lace or combination.
3) Ballerina look - look for fabrics such as basic duchess satin layered with tulle (tulle is the material used for cans cans), usually the skirt will be knee length to create the ballerina look.
4) Modern look - think of modern materials such as velvet, leather, even T-shirt material cut in a certain way to give you that edgy look. Alternatively, opt for pants suit so its different.

hope this helps, me not expert but its better if you shop around the BSes and try the different materials and ask. hopefully, you will be able to shortlist the search for the perfect gown. ;)

<font color="0000ff">hey vonn.. GOOD MORNING
think i shld be getting it.. its $1.70 with hot stamping and enevelopes.. so quite worth it i tot.
.. rem to email me the link orr.. send to my yahoo mail
hehe... hongkong very near.. and they usually have like promos for cathay in early part of the year.. so u may want to look out for it.. </font>