(2005) Brides of year 2005

Aiyoh...was just going to post then stupid lab computer hang...

Now on another one...nice to have own workstation but I work in lab (research), run expts...sharing 2 computer among 5 of us.

Hi Icy,
My ROM date will be same as AD. AD not set yet but thinking of 05/11/05. No venue and BS yet too.

I like very slack right... some of you girls making me kan chong at the rate you are getting things done. I kan chong then pressurize FH to get moving...i stress he lagi stress...

THE 2005 BRIDES FIRST GATHERING!

Venue: TBA
Date: 16th April '05
Time: 7pm

Confirmed:
1. Icy,
2. jitpong,
3. duffybuff,
4. Dinah,
5. fates
6. touraco (not sure)
7. ssmilezz
8. anna (try to make it ok?

Have a great weekend!

Karen, dun worry, u are still in time.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD> ROM</TD><TD> AD</TD><TD> Venue</TD><TD> BS</TD><TD> AD photoshot</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Claire</TD><TD>22 May 04</TD><TD>2 Jan 05</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD> Santiago</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD> 9 Mar 04 </TD><TD> 19 Jan 05</TD><TD> ROM-china club AD-Conrad hotel</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ung</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jan 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jitpong</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>19 Feb 05</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>alvinanna</TD><TD> 3 Sep 98</TD><TD>6 Mar 05</TD><TD>Conrad Hotel</TD><TD>Bridal Veil</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fates</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> 12 Mar 05 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>dinah</TD><TD>19 Mar 05</TD><TD>19 Mar 05</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>touraco</TD><TD>20 Apr 04</TD><TD> 2 Apr 05</TD><TD> The Sentosa Spa and Resort</TD><TD> Seletar Broadway</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icy </TD><TD>30 Nov 04 </TD><TD>3 Jun 05</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Z Wedding D'sign</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookies_gal</TD><TD> 10 Jan 04</TD><TD> 18 Jun 05</TD><TD> Raffles Hotel</TD><TD> Bridal Concept</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>josie</TD><TD>1 Oct 03 </TD><TD> 1 Oct 05</TD><TD> -</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award </TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sweet</TD><TD>30 May 04</TD><TD> Oct 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>BS with Milan</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karen</TD><TD>05/11/05</TD><TD>05/11/05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ssmilezz </TD><TD>- </TD><TD>31 Dec 05</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jellytots</TD><TD> 20 Mar 03 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Paris de Brides </TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Matthew </TD><TD> 31 May 04 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> Noble House </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>starz_galaxy </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> -</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD> -</TD><TD></td></tr></table>

I am at a total lost. My wedding day is set on May 05. Are there any May 05 brides that can share with me on their marriage preparations? What have you done thus far? Any good hotels to recommend?

Let's share....

leeds,
1st decide where u want to have it? Do u have a few plcs in mind?

For me I knew I wanted it to be at that Changi Yacht club cos that's where hb brought me for dinner on one of our 1st few dates
(I think that's whats its called.. ahahah gosh.. i have such bad memory it's a wonder how I remember stuff..
) anyway I just went there and told them i was having a get together for how many pax and wanted it to be quiet away from the rest of the customers there.. They arranged, showed me the menu.. and voila! settled! The rest like tealights etc were arranged by the plc..! So I didnt really worry abt it..

It's been yrs since I had it.. so not sure if everything's still the same...

For rasa sentosa if u dont want all those extras can u ask them to do away with it for a cheaper price? If not maybe u might have to source for everything yourself! Tho I think it isnt too difficult cos there isnt really alot of stuff to prepare unlike AD...

duffy ... i know they sound like high-end but when i did my calls and soft-sound the basic packages ... it wasn't as bad as i thought? hehehe so still go hope ... anyway i do want to go see tan yoong and ted wu to check out designs ... then if cannot afford, try to copy lor ... hehehe

more on my BS trip after tomorrow

Wow.. so many eating snakes ah?

I am lost after reading the postings... oh dear...

by the by the animations in lieu of photo montage is cool! Very kawaii...
Anyone asked for their quotes? Can email me at [email protected]?

hi icy, wat is it that u all gals are PM-ing ard ah? can send to me too? Email add as above...

Thanks n gd nitez!
yawn.gif

Hi Duffy

Guess you have to be more hardworking in your BS...esp if you are going to MTM your gown..my AD is in Feb..exactly one month later...i am oredi told that i have to select my design of gown in May and MTM june...furthermore they are very busy year end...too rash they may not be in time to give you the album...

So start cracking..there are still so many things to take care of nearer to AD you will be too stress by then

Good Morning Ladies!!! Working on a Saturday Morn.. so Sian

Feeling much better than yesterday .... btw I was out for meeting whole day ...

Wah ... what have I missed???? so many things have happened... I need time to catch up.

Hi anna, touraco and Smilezzz...
I feel much better to know my FH is normal.
You gals are right... once you read abt other pples' experiences, sometimes it just set you off thinking. I am the kind that thinks too much.

All of us should focus on happy things..
Our wedding (big day) is coming !!! Lets see what we can do to spice things up as much as possible...

Tmr I am going to try my ROM gown.. ( dunno lucky enuff to MTM or not ) ... and get my wedding bands.. heh heheh heheh ..

heheheh me alone flooded the thead ...kekekek.. need to catch up mah...

oh yeah .. if I left out anything, which was attention to me... tell again k!?

Claire ~ YO!!i'm working today too..hehee.seems like not many people ard. I'm sure Monday will be super busy and swarmed with everyone.

Erm, i also dunno what's TBA!! *scratches head*

Yah lor, don't think too much hor.
Where are u getting your ROM gown from? And how abt your wedding bands?? Excited abt that? hee

Claire ~ I have just PMed u. Your PM setting is ON. Not to worry, so when u check your email, u should get a msg from me.

If u wish to PM others, just click on the nickname. U will see a link that allows u to send a PM. makes sensE?

Helo...i work on alt Sat...

Haizz now I spent every weedend on my weddding stuff....going to Mandarin Singapore to view the decor of the ballroom for a wedding that will be held tonite..

How about you? Mahjong again....

This thread is very active! It has been quite sometime that i have pop into this thread.. hehee.. Im also working on alt sat, so borin to work on alt sat.. nothing much to do.

Im going to the Natas Travel after work, im interested in going to Mauritiaus, going there to check out the price. For my wedding, ive booked my banquet but not my bridal yet, im going to the style wedding showcase, will decide there. So far I have selected Jazreel Low Collection, White link. White link not bad, can bargain alot of things but JLC is quite standard.. nothing to bargain.

ive seen the list on of the brides N groom getting married on05,good compilation.. You may wish to add me in.. mine is 27 Feb'05, venue-Carlton hotel, BS-to be confirmed.

Hey Jitpong ~ i'm also on alt Sats. That means at least i have you and elaine for company every Sat!

Aiyoh..your weekends all burn ah? Me? I going back to FH's place to nua...been very busy this week. Super sian...yup, tonight going for seafood dinner with FH's family then MH. haha...

Hi Elaine ~ nice to meet you!!
So u can pop by on Sats yah? we have each other for company. Are u by chance also born in yr 1977?

I think the Natas fair is going to be super duper crowded! Mauritiaus is a beautiful place, my colleague went there for his honeymoon.
But it will be rather ex hor.....

Yup, Icy is in charge of the listing and she will update your details. not to worry...

come in here during weekdays yah? we usually have chit chat marathons going on during office hours.

hello smilezz, Jitpong and elaine,

I have just came back from my MJ session. Lost $30 bucks*sob sob*. So did you guys (who was playing) had a better luck than mine?

I worked on Alt sat too
Cheers ...

Hi hi Claire ~

hehee...didn't get to play MJ today. But went for a very good seafood dinner at No Signboard seafood (Kallang side). The pepper crab was superb. :P

Maybe tommorow might have a chance to play. :P But i play very small...the most i have lost is erm...$6 bucks.
Still learning lar..hehee

SO who did u play with?

oh yes, u also work the same sat as us! Yay! next time we have each other for company yah? :P

hi ladies ...

wow! there was actually activity on this thread today ...

anyway i did my rounds on the three BS today .... was quite tired after that ... but it was very interesting ....

will give you guys a full round-down / report later ... must go catch up on beauty sleep first ...

good morning!

hi jitpong,
i dun hv to contact for the person who do the animation..but i suppose the link i posted earlier shld hv her email..u can chk it out.

hi dinah &amp; ssmillezz,
ya lor i'm really running out of time..so panic. but well, went to a photographer last fri &amp; feel much better, he said i still hv time..anyway i'm chkg out ala-carte pkg &amp; it seems that w all the contacts i know..the total bill will be slightly cheaper..still need to discuss the details w the gown designer.. will finalise my decision hopefully by end of next wk..cos' i've booked appt with jawn &amp; silhoutte next wk as well.

hi dinah,
i'm paying silhoutte a visit next wk, if u hv any comments, pls let me know. thanks in adv!

Hi morning

I visited and view the ballroom for corconde hotel ...i think we going to sign up with them as it have many perks and quite happy with it except low ceiling ....but no choice within budget ...hahah kekeek ...will sign wif them by next month ... !

At least one thing off my mind ..now concentrate to find a photographer ...any suggestion ?

Wah ssmilezz.....pepper crab... *drools*....but is it better than LongBeach or the one near Telok Kurau? Mahjong queen some more! I lose more than I win in MJ...

Hi duffybuff! Good to c u this morning
Err your wedding is next yr so y are u running out of time? Is it because you're opting for the ala-carte pkg? Curious.....

Morning josie!

So long never see you here! What's the package like for concorde hotel? How much deposit are they asking?

As for photographer, I heard about this chap called'YK - Yewkwang' in the other forum so maybe you'll like to check him out? He got a thread below .....

hi fates,
my wedding next yr..but if i'm gng to mtm my gowns &amp; groom's suit then gor for PS..then it's abt time tat i settle the BS. so tat's y panic.. &amp; worse bcos' i haven't confirmed if gng for ala-carte or pkg yet.. but anyway, my plan is to confirm all hopefully by next wk.

Hi Fates ~ *waves* Yup, it's really good. No joke. I noticed that Long beach's peppercrabs is usually cooked in a dryer manner. And u can see a lot of black pepper bits on the crab. No Signboard style is a little diff, got a teeny weeny bit of "chup" on the crab. *slurp*

No neh, haven't had chance to play MJ *yet* hahaha....

Hey josie ~ Good for you! At least u have decided on the hotel yah? Can lar, even if the ceiling is a little lower...it's not that bad right? Hmm..at least it will make everyone look much taller..kekekee....:P

What's your budget for your AD photographer?

Yo duffy ~
So you're going for alacarte yah? Think if u have the lobangs, should be relatively cheaper hor..so lucky!!!

hi joise,
u can take a look at the thread for acutal day photographer..as for mine, i hv to chk with my photographer before i release his contact to u.

hi ssmilezz,
ya shld be relatively cheaper but most importantly is they my friends hv used the contacts for their wedding so at least i hv confidence in their standards. but now waiting for designer to get bk on price.

oh ya, went to allure &amp; chk out their gowns. tried a few &amp; liked 1 very much but tell myself not to buy in impulse since i'm stil waitin for teh other gown designer to revert. the gown is $599 &amp; like 1 eg very much too..but tat's ex ard $899..

hi ladies ....

looks like everyone is around today ....

duffy - who are you meeting at silhouette? i was quite happy with my visit yesterday - i met up with heath and he was really nice. he showed me a few options in terms of WG and listened to my concerns and my thoughts on what i liked, what was do-able. overall the package that he has quoted me for MTM WG, MTM EG, hair and make up (trial, studio, AD (day and night) is $3180 ... without PS, and flowers and guy's suit.

asides from the fact that heath is great, and the gowns are really gorgeous .... bugdet wise they are quite ok .... and best part for me is that they have this PS, whose work i really like - benny ang

hey josie .... great to hear that you have decided on your venue ... what's your budget for the AD photographer? and what sort of style do you like?

i am also browsing around now but i really like the style that the pond does .... check this out: http://www.thepond.com.sg

anyway, my quick update on the other two BS that i went:

Dang
good things - her WG is really not too bad ... nice beading etc but nothing wow-wee... her EG, esp cheongsams are so so gorgeous ... even for me, who has never ever put on a CS, and who thinks that the CS will accentuate my bad parts, i am so sold on the idea of wearing a CS, cos you really just look so good in it

bad things - i didn't really like dang .... firstly although i made an appt with her to see her, she turned up really late ... and she breezed in and out of the shop throughout ... also her attitude wasn't exactly friendly ... i mean, she is a chatty lady and seems ok, but they way she talks to customers etc - not very happening ... what kinda upset me was that when she walked in, i was trying on a backless blue CS, and she just looked at me and asked me, if i was marrying an ang-moh ... and said that i looked like the sort who is ... and walked away ... NOT GOOD!

pricing
for MTM WG, MTM EG, Hair and make-up - package price is $2888

Ted Wu
good things - beading and embroidery are so to die for ... absolutely gorgeous .... when you try on their WG, you feel absolutely like a princess .... designs of gowns really unique, esp with the use of different fabrics

bad things - not sure if the lady attending to me actually listened to what type of gown that i was looking for ... sigh .... while the gowns she brought out for me to try were beautiful, they were not really what i was looking for. there is also a lot of hidden costs involved when it comes to the beading and embroidery. the other thing i noticed was that ted's embroidery is starting to all look the same, the same type of flower, same size etc ... not much new on that front

pricing
can die ... no way am i considering ... if i add in all the hidden costs, just for the gowns, hair and make up ... it is more than $4k

lesson learnt
going to take some ideas of his gowns, like the play of fabric to the designer of the BS that i eventually go with.

ladies,

the above are really just my thoughts and my feelings on what went on yesterday and my experience

they are by no means a reflection of the BS or that it might happen to you or that you shouldn't consider ...

just wanted to share a few things ... no offence meant!

hi dinah,
thanks for yr feedback. i've made appt to go silhouette on wed evening. not sure who will be attending to me. but well, i'm oso looking at pkg w/o PS since i've my contact for that. at least more options than just gng to my contacts for gowns &amp; makeup since i'm taking ala-carte.

actually allure is worth considering..the lady boss, Annah was so patient..imagine i tried so many pcs and Yet didn't buy any. i oso pai seh. anyway, the new wg designs will only be out in jun/jul, but she said that eg new design wil be out next mth..

hi duffy ...

hmmm .... good point - i will try to go see allure at some point.

see if you can get an appt with heath - he is really nice and helpful, esp since i wanted to take 'x' out and 'y' out ...

hi dinah,
thanks! will call them &amp; check.

so u ready for the next round of shortlisting? looking at yr comments, i suppose u hv shortlised on silhouette drom the last 3 then?

haha i hv been to dang before, &amp; u know wat... my hb was not very happy in a way cos' as u know my hb is petite &amp; he look very young. she gave the comment that "tat's yr hb ah, i thot yr bro" aiyo.. wat a thing to say to customer.. but well, i hv no hard feelings abt it lah cos' this is the usual comments from friends but of cos didn't expect her to say tat cos' we are customers..

hi duffy,

of the three that i went yesterday, yes i have definitely put sil in the final few shortlist ... i am really quite confident and happy with them ... but will likely finish out the rest of the BS-shopping this coming week.

sigh ... maybe it is just her ... but FH said i was being too sensitive when i told him about it ... but seriously, end-day i am still a paying customer .... in fact while i was there, there was another walk-in customer ... a couple ... who were super blur, just ROMed and planning the AD maybe for 2006 ... and they didn't know what they want so they were shopping based on price and PS ... she was also not exactly very helpful with them and quite rude actually ... told them not to bother comparing her with the rest of the tanjong pagar strip ... *shocked*

duffy - do you have lobang for flowers? since i think like me, you are more or less going for basic package of gowns, and the rest probably look for your own

hi dinah,
my photographer said he'll provide me his contact for florist mayb tomw or tue..

personally i saw the contact from allure's recommended list is "stefi" thk a lot of BS use them..the entire package cost ard $400-500. can try..include bouquet, corsages, car deco..all in.
others will be Poppy at tangong Pajar &amp; the other Secret Garden (can't remember the location)

hi hi leeds,
for rom at beach is great but must really hv contignecy plan cos' never know the weather on tat day.. alternatively u can look for poolside or nice restaurant?

u can chk out conrad poolside. they hv private lounge )indoor aircon) beside the pool or they hv an open area if u prefer..thk it's ard $50 too.. oh btw heard tat there are some hotels who hv very nice poolside deco too.. worth considering. or if restaurant, u can consider china club like where i had mine; or jeremy's (french rest) at carlton..very posh &amp; nice.

hi hi claire,
nice to c u here *wave wave*

Hi Sunday ppl.... me jelly here.... juz pop by to see so many archives for the past few days when I'm away.... tomorrow will be more busy cos everyone is back to office....

Hv read everyone post u all sent since last Friday...

yap got gathering for us.... so fates, pls put me in... so happy can meet u all up...

yap icy... can PM me the animation too... i'm interested

Yap josie... can PM me about the Concorde Hotel u being... cos me also hving a tight budget

Hi Dinah... u need contacts for florist... my cousin is a florist at Orchard Far East... u interested... can PM to me to get the contacts if u 1...

hi jellytot

Maybe you would like to include your email address so that i can send it over to you
When is your date ...? and how many tables you are having ? Budget ?

duffy ~ thanks for that list ... i'll have a look around at florists as well and let you know what i come up with

hey jelly ~ aren't you on vacation?! hehehehe .... didn't expect to see you online today. i'll let you know closer to the date abt the florist