(2005) Brides of year 2005

hi fates ...

i agree with claire ... every hotel will have good and bad reviews .. i think sometimes it depends on who you deal with and luck of the draw i guess ...

are you looking at any other hotels?

Hi Claire,
heehee different coordiator talk to me at Sheraton.. she *sigh* very disappointing.
I agreed with u even venue depends on luck.

Hi fates and dinah,
Aiya, no Best hotel one.. depends what is ur needs? Food, Ambience, Cost even accessibility.
which one u see already have that "That is what I want" feeling.. Some are eurpoean style, some chinese style, some modern.

Perhaps I suay also.. we just rejected them and she is throwing me more stuff.. But I must really say that Hyatt Coordinator who served me is very very professional and good. Can look for her, if u are interested in Hyatt.

I dunno why, I just have that "wow" feeling in me when I see pan pac pacific ballroom. Now I continue to ponder abt cost and food.

claire,, no no no,,, not at all,,,

at first we wanted to buy something within our "little" budget,,, but then all those rings so miserable!! ha ha ha

Yeah yeah yeah ... I totally agree with you cutiebear!!!
My mum was complaining my taste was on the high side..and asked me to buy simple band cost ard 100-300 bucks. I was really furious..(where to find???) so I brought her with my FH to shop around. Guess what .. heheheh (women women) she chose a pair where my band alone costs $2000+(whole surface area surrounder with diamonds) .. hehehehhe my FH almost freak out!!! that pair of ring we saw was at Lee Hwa .. heheheheh

Dinah, I think Pan Pac has 2 or more ballroom. The bigger one (just newly renovated ) is ard $800++ per table. The good deal one is an older ballroom. I think $600+nett.

Icy ~ how did u end up with a cracked tailbone? Fell down issit? Must bao zhong hor...yah, i'm very exercise ON kind...:P but still big built. hee
Seems like your FH is about panpac...then why don't you go ahead?
Cos i think if you go ahead with your 2nd choice, you might end up regretting instead. No point right? hahaa...your FH is so afriad of your nagging? hmmm he's a smart fellow yah..making the comparison abt wife and mother.

Dinah ~ hee....he's a fish breeder? hee...isn't cleaning the water very troublesome? Erm, i find some goldfishes very freaky looking with their big round eyes....:D

Thanks for inviting me along..but i am working this Sat.
Cannot go with you guys. BUmmer.

I agree that good food is an important factor. No point in going for a 10 course dinner cos most people will be so tired of waiting by the time the last few dishes come along. Yum yum...so what have you included in your menu?

Anna ~ *waves* welcome welcome.....update us on your details ?

Queenie ~ hey! You are back from your BS trip. Now too many choices right? LOL!! Like what icy says, think u have to sit down and list the factors most important to you and then decide which BS is the best. Like...is the design/gowns a deciding fact? How abt the communication factor with the ppl at the BS? And pricing will come in too....

Will you be willing to bear with a black face designer/co-ordinator just because the gowns there are pretty? And are u willing to pay a high price (for the name of a respectable BS) but the gowns are so so? Ask yourself some questions and i think you'll have a much clearer perspective.

Hi dinah,
u are talking in terms of pricing? actually ok lah..fit my needs

But they are offering 8 course dinner, think most hotels offer 9 course dinner.

But i like their other stuff eg. Signature Poster... A2 size including our photos, the variety of wedding favour.. free use of projector and free flow beer... somethings which dun need to ask for like helper room.. etc changing dishes also quite flexible.

hi clarie,

yes ... but i think it was because of the size of my dinner ... cannot fit into the old ones ... sigh ...

but anyway i have already decided to go with the hyatt and am quite happy with things ....

hi ssmilezz

no .. it's his latest obsession ...*eyes rolling* ... and yes it is very troublesome to keep changing water ... so he has 'invented' certain things here and there .. in fact he got tired of keeping his bettas in different small tanks, so he got someone to custom make one for him ... he's quite funny like that ...

i leave him be usually ... hehehe ... cos i work late most days till about 7-ish or 8 ... and he knocks off on time every day ... so he usually goes home and keeps himself occupied with this fishy ... hehehe ... can't complain lah ...

oh what a shame .... are you working half day or all day on sat?

i haven't gotten the final final menu from them yet .. hehehe ... but will share with you once i decide ... but i did ask them to change the soup ... do not want sharks fin. and end of day i do want my guests to go home after a good meal not on a empty stomach because food wasn't great

icy, i think these days hotels have to be flexible .. it is a very competitive market .. hehehe ... trying to get our business ....

claire,

hehehe ... to be honest, what made me finally decide the hyatt was actually not the price, or dinner menu ... it was ... *drum-roll* ... the GARDEN.

me and my dreams of a garden wedding ... so FH and i are doing our solemnisation ceremony in the garden before the dinner ...

fingers crossed it doesn't rain that day!

Hi Catura,

Yah lor it's sad that diamonds have no resale value. But of cos it's worth buying! The sparkles on our fingers just make us smile right...
That's why I think it's important we get something that we truly LOVE!

Hi claire,

Hahah... your mother so funny! Can imagine your fiance's face! haha... We women all love sparklies! Must let us know which ones you getting in the end hor... I haven't got my wedding rings yet, so must do a lot of research first before deciding... Btw, you said your e-ring very flashy make me curious how it looks like leh....

ha ha ha,, Claire,,,, yr mum's taste is even higher then your ah!!! ha ha ha

the other reason for me not getting an expensive ring is because i scared after i pregnant cannot wear liao leh,,, have to plan ahead mah,, hee hee

Hi Leeds,
totally agree with you... I hope I can end up buying something that I love!!!
My fH is my mummy's pet. If my mummy insisted he would really buy .. heheheh then nag later... hahahah But I told my mum the ring was too flashy.. I prefer something simplier.. like Goldheart's a simple band with a diamond in the centre.. a small one will do.

My FH got me a Lazare Diamond from Larry. Only 50 pointer but because of the cutting, made the ring looks bigger than those rings around its size ... I feel that its Flashy cos pple notice it I guess.

Hi Dinah, Claire, Icy, all..

Ya I agreed it depends on luck and who you meet, and actually I had good expectations of Traders loh. I went to meet this coordinator last night and what we had is a big disappointment...

My thoughts:
1) The Gallery ballroom's (the bigger one) entrace is in direct facing with a pub, and practically no room for guests to mingle and look at photos. They are putting the table inside the ballroom itself.
2) With two big pillars in that ballroom, about 4 tables will be blocked.
3) Coordinator v strict....this cannot that cannot....not flexible lar..

Got more, and if wanna hear....let me know

Hey leeds... I will need to confirm my bands by this week or next , cos ROM in May. Sure will inform you. If I get discount for the eternity band .. first then post in here!!

Hi cutie bear..Thanks for that piece of advice!!! Never think I might grow fatter/pregnant.. heheheh ... better plan too....

Hi ssmilezz,
I try to act koala bear bu jumping and grabing the tree truck(fh) from behind, but alas!! the tree not stable one and fell backwards and land right on the koala bear.. so the koala fell right on the bum and cracked the tailbone..

very funny right? fh scolded me like hell.. but i really thought he is prepared already cos I had been jumping up and down behind him and he knows.

Pan Pac side, i wait till I see Hotel Intercontinential then I decide. heehee

Hi dinah,
So happy for u that u get what u wanted on the venue. There is always some click factors that attracts us.. heehee

I think I feel in love with the candles theme for panpac.. hahaha.

I wanted to do solemnisation on the same day too but seemed not so flexible since mine is on a friday.. think some of my closer friends also cant attend and my fmil strongly object to that.. I think i just have to let her have it since there must be some give and takes.

claire,
I'm in Sydney!

leeds,
Hiak hiak!! GOOD! At least I know now I am not ALONE! :D Diamonds are afterall a girl's best friend!

cutiebear,
U know the corsage u made? I tried making but somehow it doesnt turn out as nice as yours leh... Think I got no handiwork FINGERS...

Dinah ~ u reeally very cute leh..decided on a venue all because of a garden? LOL!!! I will be praying that the weather is fine yah....:P

Yah, my FH also sama sama..he can go downstairs to stare at his fishy all night leh....dunno what's so nice. Sometimes i wonder if the fish can recognise him at all!! He loves to clean the tank and put dunno what nots into the water so that the water condition (DUH!!!) would be good for his fish. I told him the only fish i like is the one i eat on the plate (dinner table) yum yum...hahaha...

I'm working 1/2 day lar..but will be a little rushed i guess. Quite busy with some projects in the office so have to clear my work first. Nebermind lar, u update me hor?

Eh, u don't want sharkfin soup? Then what are u replacing it with? Some melon kind of soup? I love talk abt food, the only thing i enjoy most at wedding dinner, is the food..erm..besides admiring the wedding couple of course lar..cos sometimes i'm not too sure who is the couple (not so close kind). hee..did your hotel give u a lot of menu options to play around? oops..now everyone here knows what a glutton i am. hahaa...eat eat eat...my fh commented that he's going to be poor just because of my gluttony. I eat as much as him. :D

Aiyo fates,

sometimes it is becos of the coordinator himself.. if u really like trader hotel then wait for the bridal fair on the 25 april.. then talk to a different coordinator.. think will have more freebie.

hi dinah,
she keep complaining that it will be very rush for her..I was wondering bride never complain and she complain. She was saying after the tea ceremony, the guest would only start leaving at abt 2-3pm.. so just few hours.. not enough time to makeup, dressed up etc.

Then even the dates I choose, she also.. *sigh*
So that why mine become so early in this year Nov. Initally I wanted 12 March 05.. cos 13 is my birthday.

hehehe ... yes ssmilezz

i was more or less 'persuaded' by the garden .. you know lah .. it's this dream of mine lah ... i originally wanted a complete garden thing but given the hot weather in singapore, a bit impractical ... so FH gave in on the garden solemnisation ... hehehe ... it's the whole idea of candles and flowers everywhere ... greenery ... hehehe ... soooo romantic

i think your FH and mine can be very good friends ... all day long sayang fishy .... sigh ... he even bought some kind of thermometer to test temperature, test water density etc ... from a hobby it has become a science .. heheheh ...

oh yah ... can be quite rushed ... never mind lah, i will bring camera along and see if i get a chance to take any sample picture then will let you know

not sure what soup yet .. they offered me some kind of melon soup which i didn't really like ... so they are re-looking at the soup thing, possibly some seafood boiled apple type lah, but no chinese herbs ... hehehe

they are giving us some options ... so i have been picking and discarding .. every other time they come back with something, i change my mind again ... hehehehe

i don't eat much lah ... i love my food but am small eater .. but i sure snack a lot .. and so does FH ... hahaha ... we keep this container by the bed so that when we are watching tv, we can snack on chips, chocolate, lah etc ... terrible right? FH and i were saying we are going to look like penguin and snowball if we don't curb our snacking habits

icy ...

happy belated birthday!!!

oh well .. i think in cases like that easier to give in to fmil ....

my parents initially did think that quite rushed to do everything in one day ... but FH didn't want to remember too many dates ... hehehe .. so we persuaded both sides to give in

fate : dun be sad. try others. I was really upset when I couldnt get Pan pac. cos the deal was good but no available dates. then no regent cos my MIL said the fish was not soon, hock/groupa and the menu not what she likes then almost got cheated by Orchard Hotel(wanted to sign with them already)...Raffles hotel/traders hotel too small to hold my wedding... fell in love with waterfront copthorn but too big to hold my wedding... (dun forget my limited dates and only sun) .... but eventually got Sheraton.
hehehheh ....

go on try others ... it could be a blessing in disguise.

If you really like traders so much then try other coodinator or must compromise lor... but you are paying for their services... should make them listen to your needs (i feel)

hi ladies ,

Ya Pan pac got beri good deal for their ocean room ...but most of the dates been taken up !!!
I am disappointed too ... got to source other hotel .

I was discussing wif my hubby last nite ...why not have our wedding on the 30 SEp 2005 which is my birthday ....more meaningful and fun if he got supraise for me will be good hahahah .... !

wah this thread is fast man!!! can barely catch my breath...

no preparations really much yet... not sure where to start, guess it shld be house first?

anyone staying in fils after marriage?
anyone buying a pte apt, condo or house?

hi josie, if you move it to 30 sep, can you get pan pac?

hi anna, yes i will be staying with my fils after marriage.

hi touraco,

why don't you email or IM me on yahoo - [email protected] ... i can give you the full details if you like

i am still paying the weekend package of 868 nett per table ... garden there is a rental cost but it includes a backup room and all the amenities as well ....

how much did they quote you for the rental cost of the garden ...?

Hi all, I am 26, new here .

Anna: I was told every year the hotels px will raise by 20-30 bucks. Unless there are phenomenon like SARs.. or else the px will only appreciate... hard to come down. cos inflation I guess. So many pple always say quickly get married. Next time more Exp.

Dinah ,

No i dun not check out on that cos ...my hubby say the cooridinator dun sound friendly and helpful .....that why keep on presuding me to put off my idea having our AD at pan pac...but my heart still wanna to be there .

I think my hubby will unhappy if their services turn out bad and he will blame me for these !!!
So i better not ..!!!

hi dinah,

have included you in my IM...

868nett? i thought it's 888nett?
they quote me $5000+++.

so you are staying with your FILs after marriage? not scared got conflicts?

hi josie,

hmmm ... scout around for something else lah ... i was also initially all for pan pac ... and i was quite upset with their service.

where does he prefer?

hey ladies here,

I'm oso a 2005 bride but in Dec.Hv been under the new 'Dec 2005 thread'.

I needed some advise. Anyone bot electrical stuff like washer/fridge/dryer? Heard that if we get it from neighbouring electrical shop is much cheaper than BEST/COURTS etc. I intend to have Fisher & Paykel's stuff. Can anyone tell me where can I check or the contact to any gd deal shop?

catura,

what happen to your corsages??? u bought 1 set only right??? then detached it and resew again lor,,,try until u can make it!! dont give up!!! ha ha ha

touraco

ohmigosh ... that is ridiculous price ... they quoted me $1500 ... and i am still trying to get that lowered!

yes am staying with FILs ... at least for a while ... cos there is only fmil and fsil ... ffil passed off two years back ... so we didn't want fmil to feel like we are deserting her or something

hihi claire... welcome.

hihi anna. i agree with u. even for bridal package also like that. i booked my bridal package last year. for some of the brides who book this year, i realise that their package is higher priced than mine. by abt $400. so those who hv not booked, better book soon. else book next yr think the price will increase, like the price of banquet tables.

hihi maiden.

wah. u stay jurong west ah? me too leh. my FH also stay JW. haha. that y we decided to take JW.

i din go n queue the last WIS cos a little early. i hvnt even ROM leh. n most flats left are low floors one. me n FH dun like. so wait for the next launch lor. in the mean time still keeping watch on the flats left. like looking at shares like that. haha. u dun b sad lah. JW still got at least 2 plots not yet open.

btw, think i am the youngest among all of u...dun b shocked when i tell u my age... haha.

i'm 23 this year.

wah, just 1 morning, the thread is swamped! hahah
i dunno whr to start..

hi ssmilezz,
my next potential BS visit will most likely be wedding present but thk the package is quite ex. but well, will hv a look. then next hmm..still thkg..haha..really dunno which to go??

hi queenie,
u hv been to all these BS? well, like what the rest said..1st u must know what kind of style u like and of cos' work within yr budget. that's what i doing too..heheh

Hello biba!!! Heh heh. F&P ah? Where you stayin now ar? If you stay in the East, go Loyang Point and buy from Iberna Electronics. If you stay in Hougang, go to Goh aH Bee and buy. If you stay around Yishun, go to Paris Silk. Good deals in these shops

No la girls. I am fine

My hubby and myself don't like Traders so that's out. Hee Hee... I am looking at Merchant Court next! hehe

Hi dinah,
Thanks you!!

Hi Claire,Do u know the difference between all these fishes? soon hock, black groupa, red groupa?? Which is good and which is bad?

Hi anna,
I will be living with in-laws permanently.

Hi josie,
Yap, i think most weekends till 2005 are booked for pan pac, mine on fridays so more lucky. For pan pac case unless u want to talk to another coordinator. But there is always a better one around, too.

I'm 26. Nice to see u gals here, sharing the preparation.

Maiden,
In fact, my 1st priority is Shang. I din like rasa tho its oso under shang but heard some -ve feedback & the travelling will be a hasle for my guests. PanPac is one of the shortlisted but honestly, its not my top choice, juz a back-up. The Shang package ranging from $838- almost 1.5k per table. But I won't splurge on 1.5k package unless I'm fed wif golden spoon type...hahaha.Base on current package, I'll take silver which is $838/table & meet the 35table requirement. Still thinking lar.Heard that PanPAc's weekend dinner for 2004 has all been taken up but dunno if the Ocean Ballroom. Maybe Pacific Ballroom still got vacancy. Think if they push me to pay deposit now, I'll give up the booking as I got no time to consider now.
I asked my shang co-ordinator if i shd commit to them now but they says too early since my AD in Dec 2005. They suggest I go to them 4th quarter this yr. think they r changing something in their package so no point viewing the package now oso lar.

U ROM 15.12.03 ah? I'm 10days after urs!! So nice to hv wedding in Dec, very chrismassy....

Hi ssmilezz ~ Regarding food, we might be giving the sharksfin a miss too, cos wana SAVE the Sharks
Not worth it hor? hehe...

One of the hotels I spoke to can replace it with simi '8 Treasures Soup'