(2005) Brides of year 2005

nope i din pay a single cent yet. as long as no one book for that date, i'm safe. I told them I'll meet up wif them next quarter since my AD is in Dec 05, long way to go. They says it's ok. I double confirm wif them that they MUST call me b4 letting go my booking to others. I heard some says PP did not call them & cancel their bookings....

I am new around here, saw your previous threads and hope to join in as well to learn more. I am a blur blur bride-to-be. My AD is confirmed at Sheraton Towers, BS with Santiago@bugis and love nest at Jurong West, ROM in May 04. With all these going on all at the same time... I am pretty ....... blur. Do give me advices, I really need them.

Hi Claire,

Jan 05 is still a long time away, so don't worry too much, still got a lot of time. I also one of the less kiasu ones in this thread. hehe...
I've only settled BS and hotel.

You having a reception for ROM also? Choosing wedding bands is very FUN!! Goldheart is having a sale now. I'm very excited to choose my bands too, but too bad it won't be until July.... You can check out www.theknot.com for WG/EG design ideas. They have some really really nice ones!

Hi Claire ~ welcome!!
We are a friendly, kaypoh, lor soh and FUN bunch of people here. Maybe u can let icy update your details into our charts yah?

When is your AD? U didn't mention it in your post.

Hi Leeds,

Thanks for the hyperlink. I will check it out.
I know 2 Jan is still sometime away. But perhaps I looked too relax, some of my friends and colleagues keep harassing me, until I panic now
hahah. When is your AD?
I like some of Goldheart designs very much. But I was told by the salesperson that they dont have discount for wedding bands.
I havent decide if I want to hold a reception for ROM, cos my customary is just early next year. Still considering.

Hi Fates,
Here is the website: http://verywed.com/lunar/index.php
ROM still very far away, cant feel anything.. and more over not what I initially wanted.

hi duffybuff,
3Q, later i go check them out. :D
Regarding, the package right, I can roughly tell u what to bargain for lah..okie..

Hi Sweet,
heehee nice to see u here too.. hahaha

Hi jellytots,
U pm together with my comment or what?

So what are u going to do abt ur BS?

Hi karen,
I resent the email on Hotel Intercon, hope u received it. Regarding the BS stuff, I think $3k to $4k can get what u want.. dun worries.. unless u are looking at those ultra brands like Tan Yoong or Bridal Veil.

I think the differences between mine and jitpong is I have more 15" and 4R photos.. etc

Hi josie,
I will be living at PAsir Ris with my inlaws.. there will still be some renovations.

Hi ssmilezz,
I am going to live with inlaws too, good thing is dun need to worry abt housing loan but also no 2 pax world.

Hi jitpong and Fates,
I also live in SK.

Hi Claire ,
No worries... me update ur detail on the table as well. :D

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD> ROM</TD><TD> AD</TD><TD> Venue</TD><TD> BS</TD><TD> PS</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>alvinanna</TD><TD> 3 Sep 98</TD><TD>6 Mar 05</TD><TD>Conrad Hotel</TD><TD>Bridal Veil</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Claire</TD><TD>May 04</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD> Santiago</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookies_gal</TD><TD> 10 Jan 04</TD><TD> 18 Jun 05</TD><TD> Raffles Hotel</TD><TD> Bridal Concept</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD> 9 Mar 04 </TD><TD> 19 Jan 05</TD><TD> ROM-china club AD-Conrad hotel</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fates</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> 12 Mar 05 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icy </TD><TD>30 Nov 04 </TD><TD>3 Jun 05</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Z Wedding D'sign</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jellytots</TD><TD> 20 Mar 03 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Paris de Brides </TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jitpong</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>19 Feb 05</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>josie</TD><TD>1 Oct 03 </TD><TD> 1 Oct 05</TD><TD> -</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award </TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Matthew </TD><TD> 31 May 04 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> Noble House </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ssmilezz </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> Dec 05</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>starz_galaxy </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> -</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sweet</TD><TD>30 May 04</TD><TD>Oct 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Milan</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ung</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jan 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </td></tr></table>

Hi Yvonne and Leeds,
Thanks for the advise

Leeds,
I'm eyeing a pair at Felin Jewellery liao!!!

Hi Claire,
Dont panic, dont panic!! i'm one of those super KS type!! more or less have settled for most of the stuff liao!!! Go step by step ok!!
I think now u have to look for the designs and materials u like for yr growns. Go around hunting for your wedding bands. and prepare for your ROM!!

Hi Claire

Welcome to this thread. No worries, most of us are blur too that why we are here to share and take advise. Oh ya we have a chart in this thread showing our details:ROM date, AD, BS, PS, Banquet venue. Icy will help us update...she the genius in coming out with his chart.

Hi Cookies gals

They told me will be ready in a month time after taking measurement. I wanted it to be ready for my PS in Oct, so I tell them I want it in Sep, they tell me to go for measurement in Aug.

No lah dun have good skills leh...in my Everbliss thread, almost all brides get similar things, only different is the number of photos we get.

Hi Josie

So fast...wow so there are more pple who are more kiasu than us..booked in advance for more than one &amp; half year. Guess you have to attend the wedding show, they will have more perks during show. Did you buy the lastest Her World Bride, they feature which hotel are having show.

i have a dog at home too...it a silky terrier..he has been with us since 5 years ago.

Hey ssmilezz
You beta start browsing around...Josie's AD in Oct but the slot already taken up for banquet.

Yo...found a kaki...same as you...inherited the habit from my mum...i am already thinking 3 months b4 i shift in...i am going to scrub my room and the commom bathroom...my FBIL not married yet mah..so still staying in the same house lor...

Hi Matthew
I thk PS is 3 months before AD. My AD feb 05, PS in Oct. Some even have to go much earlier as BS is usually very busy year end.

Hi Claire,

My wedding is 9 Jan. Yah I saw some of the eternity rings in Goldheart really really nice! Actually thats what I was told by the salesperson also, no discount for wedding bands. Doesn't make sense hor... They know wedding is once in a lifetime, so want to make us spend spend spend! Hmph!

Have fun choosing your bands and let me know what you decide on!

I also haven't decided when to ROM and whether going to have reception or not. Did you choose a special date for the ROM? Btw, do I have to book the date way in advance?

hi there ....

here's another newbie blur one to join this discussion ... am also a 2005 bride-to-be ... hope that from here, i can pick up great advice from you all....

Hi cutiebear,

How does it look like???? I'm very kaypoh one...
I been looking around for rings, but not allowed to get one until July... sigh

Hi dinah,
welcome welcome!! heehee

Oh ya everyone,
I just came back from pan pac.. *sigh* dun really know what I want.

hi icy

thanks ...

who did you speak with at the pan pac? i spoke to this guy called johnny ... but i wasn't all too pleased with them

Hi Leeds,

The ring hor!! how to describe!! abit huh,, abit like the Bvlgari B.zero1 ring,, but instead of the "Bvlgari" wordings,, is was replaced with small little dots of diamonds!!

and the fun thing is that if u place 2 rings near each other,, they will stick it up like magnets!!

Whoops, I realised that I am supposed to share some info with all too ...

Not ROMing ... will be doing my solemnisation on AD, which is 19th March 2005. Dinner venue is likely to be the Hyatt, have given them verbal confirmation, just need to go down to pay deposit. Am currently shopping for BS and PS. Not sure if I want to take the PS that comes with the BS package or go look for some other PS

jitpong ,

Ya lah ...many ppl are more kaisu than us .
I will be going to view the ballroom for concorde hotel and sat will be attending the wedding show at park hotel . I have view orchard hotel last week but the it is way above our budget ...sigh .
We have seen noble house by tung Lok ...is quite ok cos many ppl said the food is nice but cos there are pillars ...that is my last choice if we can`t get what we want .

How many tables do you ladies have ? I have about 38 to 40 tables .

duffybuff ,

hmmmm...your guy really have a boylish look ....
dun worry you both still a handsome couple .

Seem like many here staying with the in law

It is so tiring ...as every weekend been burn doing housework . Iam like jitpong ...i will make sure i scube the two bathroom even though there are onli two of us . I will everyday try to sweep the floor as i have a dog ....fur is everywhere .....!!Mop the floor once or twice a week .

Matthew ,

I got a repurchase flat from HDB during th WIS . The prev owner onli stay less than 1 year and sold it back to government . So when we got this falt is really a bargain as we dun not have any renovation ...cos many thing is in very new condition . That why we save alot on house .

Anyway we bought tis flat is for investment so after 5 years we intending to sell it

Icy ,

You just back from pan pac ...how was it ? Actually pan pac is my first choice ..but called them eariler on but mine date is taken up ...might want to consider other dates ....need to discuss wif my hubby .
Is the date that you req still available ?

jiptong and manjong ,

PS should be six month before your AD ...cos sometime they need more time to process your photos...if it is a peak period ...they will get problem doing out your photos.

I did come over a bride from the thread ...she got her photos onli one nite before your AD .

So better to be kaisu than sorry .....!

Hi icy

What you mean by you dunno what it want? Too many venue you like and hard to come to a decision?

Hi Dinah

Welcome...huan yin....selamat datang...hehe

Hi Josie,

Just noticed that your AD is Oct 05 ... it is already taken up at the PanPac? What about other venues?

hi josie,

i am currently already at 50 tables, and I suspect that it might go up by another 4-5 ... sigh .... i know .. big number, but what to do ... have to keep parents somewhat satisfied

Dianh ,

Have not check with other hotels ...cos we got budget constrain ....sigh ...i feeling dishearted after hearing it . My hubby was making fun of me ...say why not postphone to 2006 ..... so angry . Cos many ppl saying stayin together for so long then have AD .....dun seem to be interesting anymore !

dinah ,

Wow you got so many tables ...hmmm ...40 tables is alot to me . Cos when i mentioned to my friends...all of them was going wow ...wow .
As me as the onli daughter and the hubby is eldest in the family ... we actually dun want this thing ..so many problem and $$ incurring ...but got no choice !

Hi Icy, thanks, got it.

Will try go walking 3 times a week...cannot run, get chest muscle aches easily, got serious sinus problems since young. Hope to be able to lose 1 kg a month and maintain . Is it more effective to get a trainer to work out the arms, tummy, and thighs compared to just running/aerobics?

Did not actually consider to look for a bridal package so soon as thot should slim down first then got more confidence to try on gowns. But seems that most here are sourcing and confirming both the venue and BS now. Better go do more research..

Hi dinah,
I tok to Juliana, she seemed quite tired and busy but I think she is quite ok.

Hi josie,
I think more or less the package is there, just ask for more people for food tasting, free projector. I booked both ballroom first, still dunno which one I want. I will have to go down again on sat to see actual setup. Just now there is meetings going on.. so cant really see at all at Ocean. But i like pacific ballroom a lot, very nice ceiling and carpet.. Ocean on the first impression ceiling very low.. but heard some BTB says after seting up it looks better.

I think i know someone from other thread who book that date. heehee

Hi jiptong and manjong ,
I agree with josie, PS 6 mths before better. moreover certain hotels like pan pac will want ur photos to do signature poster. And u can have the option of posting photos on website and place the url in the invitation card.. or printing additional inserts with photos and programme behind.

Hi jitpong,
it is like even after upgrading the menu for ocean.. it is still cheaper then pacific by abt $100 per table.. it is like paying more for the venue.. so I just dunno what to do.. really like pacific a lot.. ocean ballroom first impression.. see low ceiling.. feel like not so grand.. so all the good and bad pts on both rooms.

HI josie!

My initial AD day is oso 1st Oct 2005..haha..have made a tentative booking for that date in ocean (PP)..but alas, i m the 3rd in queue liao like 1 mth ago...so was the date confirmed being taken by a couple already?

Hi Clarie..where u having your ROM? me oso ROMing in May 04..

hi anna!

chevron has a few branches.. theres one near IMM.. i jus attended a wedding dinner there... food so so n e waiters attitude sucks! but e ballroom is v spacious n pillarless.. one plus point!

yo biba!

i romed in dec 15th 2003.. think i came across ur nick at one of e rom thread rite? so now u r considering shang? my SIL jus held her wedding at shang rasa sentosa last sun.. not as spectacular as i expected though... think my SIL was a little disappointed too..

btw, i think shang hotel wedding pkg v ex rite? shudder... too ex for me lah! hehe..

<font color="ff0000">ok gals, anna mentioned tat we should all intro ourselves.. so i'll start e ball rolling! im 26 tis year, born in e yr of horsey.. wat bout u gals?</font>

Hi Icy.... what PM together pleasee eleborate....

Wow so many post was really really busy today with my work no time to check man.... must read fast fast and catch up with u all man....

Hi Mat.... so got ur contractors already....

Hi josie... me too have budget cannot afford too high end banquet.... do u get the quotes fm Concorde.... if have can share with me.... we must really do some research cos our tables is alot and also budget tight... btw how much max is ur per table u looking for....

hi josie,

yeah i know 50 tables plus is quite a bit .... and like you i am the eldest only daughter and my FH is only son (not child, thank goodness) ... and we're both first in our families to start down this path, so it's really not much choice on that front, in terms of size.

yah i can understand abt budgetting part - you know, why don't you talk to the hyatt, where i am doing my dinner. their weekend rate is 868 nett ... weekday and sunday is lower i think ... and honestly i thought this was quite a good deal cos there wasn't the additional triple plus tax, so easier to calculate. also the people there are quite good to talk to ... and flexible.

i also do have other quotations ... let me know if you want them

Hi Leeds,

Yalor, the pair of rings that I saw from Goldheart belongs to the Eternity range. Still pondering whether to spend so much or not on rings. Then again its a lifetime thing. We should get something that we like right? hehehehe Before that I have been to many places to search for rings... Lee Hwa Fairy Inc etc. Oh fairy inc has very nice wedding bands. Just that I fancy Goldheart's particular range more.

No particular date for my ROM. Chosen by my MIL. I am quite easy going with all these. But if you have certain special dates, good to book early. This year seems like a good year to ROM... many people rushing to book dates. Book online lar... very convenient.

Hi cutiebear: I know which pair you are talking abt
... its very cute pair of rings. If you still want to look around... can recommend fairy inc... got very nice designs and they customise for you.. but then the pair you saw are really sweet ...

I have no idea what to use (material) for my WG or what I want for my EG. Guess thats what they BS's consultant are for.. hehehhe .. .to advise me on all these...

hi icy,

lucky you ... and lucky the rest of you who managed to secure pan pac

i was initially also thinking of taking up pan pac ... and the pacific ballroom was available for my AD, but i was not very happy with their banquet sales people ... so in the end, i chose to go with hyatt (my 2nd choice)

Hi 5 maiden, i'm also a horsey. Chevron got many branch? do you mean gim tim or chevron?? ya i went to their ballroom. it looks very nice esp with the wedding decoration.

hi hi all!

wah. jus one day and so many new posts! so excited to see all of you here!

hi maiden,
haa. u sure are not the onli one. well, me n FH got some idea of wat we want already. thinking of new otani actually, but like not many ppl want to sign with that place.
wah, u planning to live in the west ah? me too leh. did u go for the WIS for jurong west?

ladies, wat do u all think abt new otani? any comments?

Thanks for making me feel so at ease. My AD is on 2 Jan 04.

I have spoken with Johnny before... cos pan pac has got good deals and everyone is going for it... he was not really very friendly. Can understand how Dinah felt...

Hi Sweet.. my ROM is on 22 May.

Hi Duffybuff... me too staying near to J.P leh....

Hi smilezz.... mine is only 1 year diff.... of cos dun hv ur long long love maraton compare 2 u... leh....

Hi jitpong.... wow got the potential to be a typical housewife huh... iron clothes and do cooking.... me alot of things dun know how to do one... cooking and ironing is one of the worst... dun even know how to do.... hee hee.... luck my FH not so particular... phew!

Hi cookiesgal... so where your lovenest going to be...

Yap jitpong... how much u pay for the kua... cos my friend go and rent one @ abt $250 leh... so yours there only sell got rent one or not...

Hi josie... its good to have a home of urs but at times quite tiring cos hv lots of housework to do... ur FH is so hard working studying and working at the same time.... agree with u everything need $$$ me too very broke already after getting the house and reno it.... so have to save save save inorder to get marry next year...

Hi cookiesgal... wow must be bery discipline huh... for going dieting... so base on your diet planning how much can u loss in a month...

oh young and old man all like fishes.... so is my dad... my house look like fish shop with quite a no of fish tanks... lucky my FH is not a pet lovers... phew no need to take care of so many body... hee hee....

Hi Mat... its like that... i experience the same thing last year when i got my keys early 2003... hv to check on the reno... then comes the CNY... after CNY is our ROM... bery tiring... lucky its over.... have rested a year + so now hv to start source for the AD.... no ending man,,, For reno I believe u hv to look at ur budget @@ how much u are willing to spend... nowadays ppl look for simple and minimum reno cos... less housework to do mah....

Wow keep on saying alot of housework to do... sound like a lazy woman... hee hee... lucky my FH not so particular...

Hi Claire.... welcome to our gang... me too staying at J.W.... so u staying which part....

Hi icy... I did not PM ur comments.... as for my BS.... still considering whether to drop or not... but will go and bargain for more things b4 I decided... anyway still a long way... I'm more concer with the banquet... cos going to see the geomancer this sun... hope he give me more dates to choose then I can have alternative then...

Oh its moutain tortoise jellytots again.... can anyone tell me what is PS...

Hi josie... * High 5 * too.... weekend is burnt for housework

Hi Dinah... wow u really got alot of tables huh... so u got any plans.... which hotel u 1 and the budget u have for per table....

ohh.... wrote too much.... stop here

Hello everyone!!

Welcome Dinah ~ hee...i see you have been posting around looking for BS in the forum. Hope u manage to find one soon yah? What's your budget like? Have you been to any BS yet?

Icy ~ Hey..take it easy alright? Hmm...well if it's still within your budget and your FH is also agreeable, then go ahead to take Panpac then. I can see you're really keen on the location lor.. how abt the food wise? any difference? which is better?

Karen ~ I am working with a personal trainer now once a week. I'd say it's very effective but super expensive. I think if you are on a tight dateline and want to achieve the best results, worth the "investment". But once a week with a trainer is not sufficient, i still go to the gym/classes another time on my own and do my own basic exercises at home. I also have sinus, have been take Vit C 1000mg for quite some time and watching my diet. Seems to help leh....

Oh yah, since i started with my trainer 8 weeks back, the major changes would be my tummy area. It's gone..heheee..now much flatter than before (but no 6 pack kind lar..). Also the waist is definately more defined. I am happy with what i've achieved so far and will continue to "tong". :P

Jitpong ~ yo! good to know we are so particular abt our cleanliness. My FH's sis (not married) is also staying together lor..but luckily, she's quite neat. hahaa....:P I'm not having a dinner! So no need to book any dinner venues mah....i just need to confirm with the church maybe 1 year to 6 months ahead of time.

Claire ~ hey!! i think u are the earliest 05 bride!! 2 Jan right?? Icy, am i right? :P

Starz ~ yoo hooo...are you around? Wondering how your first fitting went.....

Hey everyone ~ can tell me roughly when is usually the busiest period for BS? :P I'm quite blur...don't even know when is a good or bad month for marriages...not so pan tang lar..

Hi girls!

I already ROM-ed 5 yrs ago...
U think it's appropriate for me to politely "ask" for another ring from hb?

I've been eyeing the eternity rings tooooooo!! Question! Does it only stick to the one it's meant to stick to? OR does it stick to any other eternity rings like magnets?

Hi Claire,
Dont need to panick! Actually leeds and me are less prepared than the other girls here.. :D So join the club! eheheh!

jellytots ~ PS is photoshoot lar...hehee....yah hor why do guys like fishes? maybe we should ask Matthew or Alvin here if they also like fishes!! haha...

hi jellytots,

yes the number of tables are really on the high side ... FH and i were initially quite concerned because of size, we were quite limited in the places that we can use to hold the dinner .... and given that our chosen date is a weekend, we knew it was going to be expensive

but in the end i have decided to go with the hyatt, as their weekend rates were $868 nett ... no tax involved, so that made budgeting much easier, cos a friend in the hotel industry did tell me that the triple tax adds up to about 17% additional. and furthermore, hyatt people were really nice and easy to work with - i wanted to take out certain items and what they did was to give me additional other things like extra barrel of beer etc.

FH and i are going down to make the deposit sometime next week

hi ssmilezz

yes .. been posting everywhere ... you know how it can be ..

i haven't found my BS yet ... starting my hunt this weekend .... on saturday i am going to see silhouette, dang, J&amp;C .....

fingers crossed i'll find something

i haven't worked out the budget for that part yet cos i thought i want to see what's available out that, cross-compare then figure out .... FH is leaving it to me anyway ... so that makes it easier ... heheheh

hi ssmilezz,

normally the 'bad' timing for weddings is during qing ming period .... and of course hungry ghost festival

at one stage FH and i were joking that maybe we should do AD then .. cos since a number of people pan-tang, maybe we can get good rate
hehehehe

but my parents are rather pan-tang .... in fact they went to see feng-shui man with our birthdates (in the chinese calendar) and time of birth to get a good date for our AD

hey dinah~

Yah, have to do a lot of research right?

Remember to make appointment if you are going on weekends yah? I think duffybuff is going to J &amp; C today. Maybe she can update us tommorow on her visit.

I am also interested in Dang &amp; Sil. hheee....ya ya, my FH also leaves it to me. His only comment is..."not too cheena pls...." both of us don't look too chinese and we don't like taking pics! hahaa We are also more comfortable in conversing with English so i think we need to find someone that we can "click".
Else may have communication problems which can be very frustrating!

Dinah ~ eh, u think very pan tang to do PS during Qing Ming and Hungry Ghosts? :P I guess unless u go on night outdoor shots, should be quite safe? *scratches head*

Sorry but which part of the year does these two period fall usually? I'm very forgetful and u know lar, this periods pass us year after year....can't recall. hee

I was actually planning for 31 Dec 05 to be my AD. Dunno whether do-able or not....worried the church may be booked. Hmmm..

hi ssmilezz

yes .. a LOT of research involved.

i have made my appts already .... sil on sat morning at 11, dang in the afternoon at 2 ... hehehehe ... so am quite set for those two at least ....

so far FH has been like ... 'whatever' ... but i know him, he'll have a lot of comments later ... so maybe once i have decided on the BS, then will get him involved