(2005) Brides of year 2005

ssmilezz .... if it was left to me, i don't have any preference for a particular time frame ... but you know how parents can be lah ....

if i am not mistaken, qing ming is usually march / april time frame ... but as the chinese calendar dates usually shift around, i can't tell you for next year when it would be .... hungry ghosts i think is july time-frame

hmm 31 dec? better check in with church first ... and also if you are doing the dinner that night too .... cos hotels may have other plans for NYE ....

Hey Josie,

You also got a flat in January WIS (Matured estate)? Same as me and I got one in Tampines and condition wise is quite good in fact. When will you be getting your keys? How many roons did you get? Will be collecting mine next week and got to start planning for the reno before ROM in late May and then AD early next year. All one shot come can die of heart attack man.

You looking at Concorde? The previous wedding co-ordinator left oredi and they will be looking for a new one. I was considering there but will have to put it on a Friday if interested. So now narrow my list to Noble House and Orchid Country Club, also putting around 35-40 tables.

Jellytots,
Fishes are guy's best friends hahaha! Given a choice, I will want to rear some provided that I can take really good care of them. Dun like Luo Han but those like Arowana and Japanes Koi.

All,
How come everyone is like staying in the West or somethoing?? Any Easterners over here?? HAHA!! Seems like I got to start my punishing schedule of losing weight asap if not wun look good for the PS oredi man! Still contemplating on the AD's location, more or less will make a decision by this weekend as I am going to negotiate with OCC. Keep the thread moving

Matthew

yo gals, u all mus b wondering y im posting so late rite? me working nite shift lah... tats y!

hi connie!

Hi5 back!

oppss.. i think gim tim is in chevron rite? think chevron club house got a few branch isnt it?
so u thinking of holding ur banquet there rite?

hi popie!!

yah, im also v happy to c so many posting here... at first tot im a bit too kia su to start tis dec 2005 thread but now i don regret it at all!!

u also planning to stay in e west? we plan to stay in west cos im currently staying in jw n HB is in woodlands.. tats y tis decision..

wah, toking bout e wis for jw n bkt panjang, it jus makes my blood boil lah!!

yah, i did participate in tat selection... but sway sway my q no. was 500+ so by e time my turn, all e flats we wanted were oreadi taken up
was upset for a few days...

anyway, r u following e wis now? im wating for e nex one to come... but til now no press release or news bout e nex wis... do u happen to hav any news bout e nex wis?!

u considering hotel new otani huh? i didnt hear any comments bout there so far... sorry..

btw, care to share wif us how old r u?

Hello everyone! I am a horse too!! realised that most of us are the same age!!

We got our flat at SK, but that is only part time flat, I agreed to stay part time with his parents in Hougang.

my BS is GHA, so far so good, no complaints, in fact, was satisfied iwth the Stans and the MU for that day. she was punctual though i request for 7am and she lives in Punggol while i stay in Jurong.

still have not got a date for AD, hope to get Pan Pac.

Hi Claire,

I went over to Fairy Inc to take a look liao,,,, abit pricy lor,,, the one at Felin is cheaper

Hi Jellytot

The shop only made kua for sale, they dun rent out...the cost of making one is $298.

Hi Dinah

My family is pan tang too...we too give our birthdate and time to the geomancer to get our AD. My mum even say that 3 months before and after our AD, we are not suppose to attend others' weddings.

Hi ssmilezz

Chinese ghost is lunar 7th month so usually will fall on Aug, but as dinah said it better to check on the calendar to see if there is any changs.

Some even say cannot get married in lunar 9th month cos it chong yang jie...something to do with ghost too...

Hi Josie

You can try Mandarin too...their weekend rate is 8$803 after triple plus...come with free flow beer, drinks and chinese tea...quite a good bargain...service is good too...

Most like i be holding my banquet there...may be paying deposit this weekend...holding 32tables..

Hi Icy

Go with your feelings..if you really like the pacific and your budget allows..then go for it...but are you particular about their service..cos i have read quite some comments that the co-ordinator services level is very poor..so if this is an issue maybe you wish to re-consider...

hi Catura: Thanks... At least there are many girls out there like me... if all of us stick to a certain plan.. I know I wont go wrong... Qin duo duo zi jiao.

Cutiebear: yeah fairy inc abit pricey... but when I saw the goldheart range... sigh.. its even more exp. Okok.. stick to Felin
I think its nice too.

Hi all: Realised my mistake. My AD is on 2 Jan 05 not 04.

Dinah: Pan PAc dun have the dates I wanted.Nope I am not in contact with Johnny anymore. After that I went sourcing frantically with all the hotels. My MIL wanted only that certain dates.. while my mum insisted it must be a Sun. Finally confirmed with Sheraton... Phew.. Thank goodness we got a venue. I was prepared to go Shanga-ri-la if I still cant get my dates. 9 Jan was one of them

Jelly Tots: my currently place ( me still staying with parents) is near JP! My new house is also near JP!!!

Smilez : Yeah ... I think my wedding prep very rush.. my rom in 2 mths time... my wedding early Jan, and I just got my house. Have to be renovated before my AD.. heheheheh... So I know how Matthew feels... thats why need help!!! heheheh

All: BTW, I am also looking at 35-40 tables. My guest list can kill me liow.... Maybe we can discuss an easy way to coordinate...

hi jitpong,

you too? my mother told me the same thing about not attending other weddings as well around for about 3 months before and after... and actually i am not really happy about that .... cos it just so happened that a few friends from Uni-days, we're all getting married a few weeks apart, and it means i can't attend their's and they can't attend mine ... sigh

Hi jellytots

Oops miss out your posting on this....eh i am not going to be huang lian po hor...just my FH quite tradition...hope that the wife can do this for me....luckily i have to cook for myself when i am in Australia..if not now i have to attend cooking lessson...

hi matthew

so far haven heard of easterners but quite a few from North Easterner.kekeke

Hi Dinah

Same here....sigh....I have 2 friends since Sec School days getting married one and two months earlier than me...and i am being ban to go...went to geomancer try to fix a date 3months after their wedding but geomancer say only feb got date suitable for both of us...no choice lor..somemore my mum say they dun have to give me any invi and vice versa...and ang pow also....then i go tell my friend when you give birth then i attend their baby's full month...

Hi Claire,

Are you handling the entire guest list on your own? What I have done is split my list 4-ways .... my parents have 1 worksheet, my MIL has one, FH has 1 and i have 1 ... all saved into the same excel file .... so in essence, each party is responsible for their own sections

that's my lazy way of handling it ... hehehehe

Hi claire,

Yah since we have to wear the wedding ring everyday, we better like it A LOT!
I'm thinking of getting eternity ring for myself, and a simple plain band for fiance. Hehehe... so altogether won't be too ex, plus he doesn't like flashy rings.

Don't worry about your gowns. The designers are there to help you, but it's always good to do research first so you know what you like. It'd be fun!!! Sigh... me now waiting for the gowns to be ready in July.

Hi cutiebear,

The rings sound lovely!!! So are you going to get them now? But even if you get them now, still cannot wear until your AD right....

wah the thread is overwhelming..need to do alot of catching up..

hi claire & dinah, welcome!

well, went j&c last nite for 1st visit...was very pleased with the designer, cynthia. she's patient and approachable. I fell in love with 2 displayed gowns immediately when i stepped in the shop. actually the deal is pretty much the same as elsewhr..i thk most impt is the design of gowns & the staff there..cos' price is almost the same.

but well, hb asked me to chk out at least 2 more so to do a better comparison. so now, gotta to do more research.

actually me quite pan tang, dun thk want to hv PS ard ghost festival..so tat's y hv to quickly book BS in order to hv PS probly in Jul or latest by Sep..cos' we planning to go outside of s'pore to take, must avoid monsoon season.

hi claire,
so now u r the earliest to get married! my AD is on 19jan..next following up after up. then u can share yr experience w us.

Hi Catura,

Wahh... You ROM-ed long time ago! So you guys planning to come back to Sing for good after the wedding?

Haha... A good HINT to your hb would be good! Sometimes men just need a bit of reminding lor...
Eternity rings are NICE!! Btw are diamonds cheaper in Aussie than Sing?

Dinah : I am collating the entire guest list. You have given me an idea thanks!!! I really need to delegate.

Hi Duffybuff: Sure, I will share whatever I have.Although I may be the earliest to get married, but I think the ladies & guys here are more well prepared then I am .. ...

hi claire,
good choice of hotel! sheraton has wonderful food! attended a friend's wedding last mth and it was great! though i didn't try all the dishes cos' i was the MC for the occassion. but all friends commented that food is great!

since our dates are so near, we can exchange tips! haha haven't thought of guest list yet..roughly by when must confirm ah? i totally no idea abt how to get started.

hi dinah,
actually, alot pple said that it's not so auspicious to attend other's wedding 3 mths before..so rather believe than regret later.

Hi Leeds,

They told us that the rings are all custom made,, so required 2 months,, will get it before PS lor,, tot of wearing it for PS,,,,

Fairy Inc is at Delfi Orchard 3rd level

Hi Leeds: Fairy Inc Is #03-03 Delfi Orchard. Call 6235 5570 for a prior appointment so that they can serve you. They close at 7pm.

I think I will get the goldheart pair. altogether , even without anything flashy for my FH also will cost around $1500 for the 2 rings leh.... I am going to try to bargain. Even if they drop by $10 bucks I will buy ... heheheh .. wait for my good news. If can I will inform all of you.

hi duffybuff,

yah ... that is what everyone tells me, but still can't help but feel a bit sad about it. oh well ...

i am also planning to go to j&c sometime next week or so to take a look at their designs and services. a colleague used j&c about a year back and she was very very happy with them

Hi ssmilezz,

Me no like fishes. I prefer those pets which can relate and play with and not admire with.
Personal preference.

Wow, this thread is moving so fast that it took me quite awhile each day to do catching up.

Hi Dinah,
jus take your time and look ard. Go to each BS and try on their gowns. It may look nice on the model or mannequinn, but i think it's more to personal feeling on the gown and the designer that is more important. The texture, the design, the style... Dang got pretty nice gowns and they are one of our 2 shortlisted BS before my FW plunged for BV after their show last weekend. Paid the deposit on that same day itself. For Dang, speak to Cindy. She's a very nice lady. Talk to her, and roughly have an idea what you want, but you must be open and try out different styles as well. Sequinnes, Emb, laces, .. Have an open mind when you try out gowns. It will be good to have ur FH ard to give you ideas and views. For sil, I can't advise much cos nvr went inside to see.

Hi Matthew, nice to find another male in this female-dominating thread..
Me is also starting my workout schedule to lose some extra meat.

hi claire,

actually asides from the guest list, i am also planning to enlist the help of close friends to do the rsvps and other things ...

thing is that i do travel quite a bit for work and i didn't want to get over stressed out as well ....

i think delegating stuff and having close friends help you do some things, run some errands would go a very long way ... that way you wouldn't be too 'pek chek' and will be the beautiful radiant bride.

hi alvinanna,

yes ... it seems right now that almost every weekend is booked going to see gowns .. hehehehe

but am going on this first round hunt with other gfs ... not with FH ... will probably bring FH along when i have narrowed my choice down cos don't think he can bear going around like that with me when i don't have much of a clue as to what i am looking for ... he'll end up getting very 'mang-zang' ... hehehehe ... and besides i do want to use the 'must ask my FH first' excuse ...

Hi duffybuff: Thanks for the feedback!!!I really appreciate it. Although Sheraton was not my top piority, my only consolation is that they have good food and their services are good too. The coordinator was very friendly when we were discussing with him. I guess I prefer that sort of personal touch.... feel that I can entust them without me worrying too much.

Yeah yeah .. lets exchange tips. I dont know when I need to confirm guest list, but I am writing them down now cos I am quite forgetful. In my initial list, I almost forget to invite my best friend! heheheh. I guess just write down now and then, easier for later use.

Hi Dinah, Many of my friends are getting married in Dec 04(good month to marry).... all the elders have WARNED me not to attend ... (hehehhe cos I am the rebellious type) ... they threaten that its not good for the person who is marrying on that day as well, I think.

For guest list, it will be better to have a central list for better control. I know of a tool where you can have the central list and yet appoint other people to help you manage it. Email me at [email protected] if you are interested.

hi claire,

yes - apparently it is not good for both parties ... so well .. even if i wanted to risk it, guess better not jinx my friends ... hehehehe

Hi duffybuff! I saw your ROM pics! Your cake looks so yummy and yes you're very sweet and pretty

Josie too
Your ROM gown from Golden Horse Awards?

Yo ladies....I went to view two hotels last night and one of them is soooo disappointing
Have you girls checked out M hotel? Very nice!!!!!!

actually it seems to me tt hotels quote higher for 2005 tables than 2004 even in the current environment of downward pressure on wages... so i am wondering if its cheaper to book in 2005 when they will start to hv promos. what do you all think?

oh ya...re:intro.. i'm 27.

maiden
sorry but you mean chevron is an independent stand alone ballrm? or isit a restaurant?

Yo morning everyone!!

This thread is moves faster than MRT...hehe

Dinah ~ Not having dinner...:P So no worries abt dinner venue. I am more worried abt the church side. But then again, if really cannot arrange on that day, i will push to Jan 06.

let me know how it went on Sat yah? Cos i am also interested in Sil & Dang.
Have fun!!!

hee...sama sama..i also will be going with my sis during the first round. Don't want to drag my FH around. No point lar....:D

Matthew ~ i am staying in the EAST/central, so is my FH. :P Which part of Tampines is your lovenest at? Around St number wat?

Really arh, u also like fishes ?FH used to have kois...around 8 of them. We liked them a lot but we had to give them all to the church.
Cos they were growing too big and not enuff space for them to swim and grow. Arowanas are nice too...but they say not very good for fengshui? Dunno how true..hehee....

Yah, better start getting fit so u look good in the PS. Can chio your FW to go with u lar..exercise together!! jia you jia you ~

Claire ~ don't kan cheong ok? Must try to have a list and most importantly, DELEGATE!! it can save u a lot of headache later on. Yeah, i've heard abt the not attending wedding before your own AD myth. But since the older folks would feel better if you don't go, just arrange a gf get-together with them lar..no choice right?

Alvin ~ so no fishies for you. Hmm..u probably like dogs or something. Anyway, how was BV last weekend? Did many couples sign up? Are u guys going for the MTM or OTR package?

When is your PS supposed to be? Have you planned yet? Gotta start working out too right? :P

Duffybuff ~ hee..seems like u had fun at J & C! So where else do you plan to visit?

The rest of you all : Jitpong/jellytots/icy/fates erm..think i probably missed a couple more names..a big HELLO!!!

Hi dinah,
I was placing Hyatt as one of my choice too, i went to the bridal show on last sat but quite disappointed with the food.

Hi Claire,
Fortunately, I go for Juliana instead even tho' I got Johnny email.. research on the threads and found that she seemed more friendly. Ur Ad date is 05 or not 04 right? heehee mis-type.

Who is ur cooridator at Sheraton? I was quite disappointed with the one who talk to me.. so I cancel them out.

Hi jellytots,
oic.. heehee Ya.. now more important task for u is to confirm the date, the rest can wait espeically BS.
PS is Photostudio to snap photos for outdoor location, an different option from BS's photoshoot... think also can refer to actualy day photography.

Hi ssmilezz,
U so on on exercising, recently I just got that OTO "electronsis" machine, and use on my tummy.. not bad leh.. heehee cant really excerising now, cos I crack my tailbone recently.

Hi Matthew,
i think I am considered as Easterner, living at SK now and moving to PAsir ris in future.

Hi jitpong and ssmilezz,
Yesterday, fh just talked to fmil abt the tables.. seemed like she is okie. fh says even she not ok, just do what i want.. cos fmil only can nag 50 years but i can nag 100 years.
Now just wondering abt the 2 ballrooms pros and cons.. whether paying abt $3000 extra is worth it or not. I am not sure abt the food... previously heard most people says it is good since it is Hai Tian Lo.. but of course will have some people say so so only.. I think I must specially instruct the coordinator that the food at VIP table must be good, espeically the fish must be fresh.

I am think working fine with that coordinator, perhaps think there are always good and bad ones around.. *pray hard*

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD> ROM</TD><TD> AD</TD><TD> Venue</TD><TD> BS</TD><TD> AD photoshot</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angelbaby</TD><TD>30 May 04</TD><TD> 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>BS with Milan</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>alvinanna</TD><TD> 3 Sep 98</TD><TD>6 Mar 05</TD><TD>Conrad Hotel</TD><TD>Bridal Veil</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Claire</TD><TD>22 May 04</TD><TD>2 Jan 05</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD> Santiago</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookies_gal</TD><TD> 10 Jan 04</TD><TD> 18 Jun 05</TD><TD> Raffles Hotel</TD><TD> Bridal Concept</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dinah</TD><TD>19 Mar 05</TD><TD>19 Mar 05</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD> 9 Mar 04 </TD><TD> 19 Jan 05</TD><TD> ROM-china club AD-Conrad hotel</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fates</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> 12 Mar 05 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icy </TD><TD>30 Nov 04 </TD><TD>3 Jun 05</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Z Wedding D'sign</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jellytots</TD><TD> 20 Mar 03 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Paris de Brides </TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jitpong</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>19 Feb 05</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>josie</TD><TD>1 Oct 03 </TD><TD> 1 Oct 05</TD><TD> -</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award </TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Matthew </TD><TD> 31 May 04 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> Noble House </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ssmilezz </TD><TD>- </TD><TD>31 Dec 05</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>starz_galaxy </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> -</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sweet</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> Oct 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ung</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jan 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </td></tr></table>

Hi Claire,
:D Dont like that say lar.. I bet I'll need u to zhi jiao me instead! :D So have u settled which BS u wanna go with?

Hi leeds,
YAh lor.. we are lao fu lao qi already

I did hear that diamonds are cheaper in Aust. But with the xchange rates and all.. perhaps it wont be too much cheaper... I havent really been to the jewellery stores here cos somehow it just isnt so enticing as the ones in SG!!

Speaking abt diamonds, since they are supposed to have no resale value, do u think they are worht buying tho? BUT the sparkle on my hand... sigh.. I just cannot resist! lol!

ssmilezz

not a problem - i will let you know how things go ... in fact, if you have nothing on, feel free to come on by to sil and dang ... i'll be there with a gf. my gf got married two years ago ... and she used emanuel b.

i asked FH if he wanted to go along ... he said no ... take as much time as you want ... heheheh and that he'll pick me up after that

oh gosh ... i can see a fish community growing here ...

my FH is so into fishes too ... he started with a few bettas, now he has started breeding them ... *eyes rolling*

most recently we gud out the entier front garden, put in three small ponds and he has decided to breed those top-view goldfish in there ....

wow!! I got lost, after I post my replies.. this is so fast!!

Hi anna!!! heehee planned anything yet?

hi icy

i actually had the hyatt re-work my menu for me ... hehehe .... i told them that i am happy to pay the same rate, but i didn't want a 10-course 'so-so' dinner ... i would rather have a good food 8-course ... so their chef actually re-worked the menu for me ...

hehehehe ... so in a way, that worked out for me in terms of food

Hi Catura: You are now living in Aust? Which part? I booked with Santiago@ bugis junction for BS.

heheeh ..we qie cuo qie cuo lar ... :D

I told my FH I just want a simple Wedding band cos my Engagement ring quite flashy. but I jussssst simply cannot resist bands with a small diamond in it .. heheheh

You all really very fast. So many posting everyday until I couldn't catch up.

I am an Easterner at Bedok. Bought a resale flat so that we can stay close to our parents.

Luckily, we had tentatively settle my wedding venue at Raffles the Plaza. So one less things to worry now.Quite like the ballroom there and its conveniency. Was quite impressed by the ballroom after seeing the last Female Bride Show there. Another option that we are looking would be Water Front Grand Corpthrone. More affordable but less convenient.

Actually it is true that dates at places like Pan Pac and Merchant Court are very hot. Some of the late 2005 date that my friends enquire are all taken up early this year.

Had finally did another round of my bridal shopping.
So many shops offers such beautiful gowns.
Was really confused now. Now got more shortlisted shops compared to the last time. Jawn happy.ever.after, Tan Yoong, Wedding Present and Silhouette and Dang

Had went back to jawn happy ever after to fit into some of their gowns and i should say they are really heavenly and wow .
Love the structures and the details. Very exquiste. Was very comfortable with the designers and the price structures.

Tan Yoong gowns are simply dreamy and beautiful. But very pricey too. Will not know how much to top up til you started the designing process.
Love the first gown on female bride.

Silhouette gowns are very unique and pretty too.Like the place and the designers.

Federick Lee evening gowns are very nice too but I think it may be too much for me to carry off although I do like it.
And it is too much to pay for just the evening gown too.

Kai gowns are soft and romantic. But he seems pretty cold during the meeting.

Wedding Present package is so impressive with the Her World vouchers to give it a miss.

Dang gowns are simple and elegant. Price is comfortable.

Headache ......

Can any of you help me. If You were me, Which one will you pick???

Sorry for the long posting....

Hi dinah,
that is good.. cos on their bridal show.. the waitors actually serve spoons of "food" around.. I find it too salty, perhaps becos it was cold.. but the dessert is super sweet.. *sigh*

I thought they could have done better to impress us at the show.

Hi queenie,
first of all, i think u should ask urself what kind of designs u like, I am sure every BS have their own speciality and style.. Would style is ur dream wedding gown?

And of course, which coordiator you feel that he understand ur needs and feel for u.. and not anyhow persist in his ideas.

Perhaps of course compare the pricing, if budget is ur concern.. put them out in a table.. it will be clearer.

Icy.....Hyatt so bad ar? What's the best hotel in your opinion now? I went to Traders Hotel..... *thumbs down*

hi queenie ....

i have the more or less same list of BS that i am looking at ... in fact, as i mentioned earlier, i am seeing silhouette and dang this saturday ...

tan yoong, kai, bridal veil, blush blush, lezen and j&amp;c are also on my list to visit ...

i think i am going to get a headache like you too ... hehehehe

Cutiebear .. yeah... even a fleck of diamond can be so mesmerising...It just make a huge diff on the bands... (am I exaggerating here?)kekekeke

Hi fates: every hotels also have bad feedback. I think its all depend on luck.... I think conrad is good... but I heard some bad feedbacks on them as well.

hi icy,

maybe it was the show that's why ... we were very very specific about what we wanted from them ... especially when it comes to the waitering for the AD
... but then again, i am probably biased because they have been very accomodating with me and my requests ..

and honestly i went for them also partly becuase of their level 4 balinese garden
hehehehe