(2005) Brides of year 2005

Hi Sweet! Welcome to the thread

Hi karen,
Why your FH don't like the Grand Plaza? Any specific reason he shared with ya? I agreed with your FH....thumbs down for Le Meridian. Although the food is not bad, but I'll give only 2/5 rating.

Hi Ung, Matthew
Ya seeya at the Grand Plaza show! Regarding the price, it's valid till Feb'05, so March'05 onwards will be different pricing.

And with regards to the PanPac promo, yup really need to see the Ocean Ballroom. I don't want the Pacific Ballroom. It's very close to the road, and I reckon a few years back, there's a thief who ran away with the Ang Pao box right?

Hi Jellytots

I took a liking to a CS on the same magazine too..is it the one pink in colour? Although wanted to wear a CS as EG but i thk i will make my CS very trendy looking....low back and with a train...so not so cheena after all...only the mandarin collar is...hehe

And i thk CS is in trend now as an EG, quite a number of brides had worn it

Oh ya..Everyone

Mandarin's 2004 price is valid for 2005 wedding too if you book now. Haha..i sound like I am a staff from Mandarin...keep promoting them....

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD> ROM</TD><TD> AD</TD><TD> Venue</TD><TD> BS</TD><TD> PS</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>alvinanna</TD><TD> 3 Sep 98</TD><TD>6 Mar 05</TD><TD>Conrad Hotel</TD><TD>Bridal Veil</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookies_gal</TD><TD> 10 Jan 04</TD><TD> 18 Jun 05</TD><TD> Raffles Hotel</TD><TD> Bridal Concept</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD> 9 Mar 04 </TD><TD> 19 Jan 05</TD><TD> ROM-china club AD-Conrad hotel</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fates</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> 12 Mar 05 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Icy </TD><TD>30 Nov 04 </TD><TD>3 Jun 05</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Z Wedding D'sign</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jellytots</TD><TD> 20 Mar 03 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Paris de Brides </TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jitpong</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>19 Feb 05</TD><TD> - </TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>josie</TD><TD>1 Oct 03 </TD><TD> 1 Oct 05</TD><TD> -</TD><TD>Golden Horse Award </TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Matthew </TD><TD> 31 May 04 </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> Noble House </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ssmilezz </TD><TD>- </TD><TD> Dec 05</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>starz_galaxy </TD><TD> - </TD><TD> -</TD><TD> - </TD><TD> Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD> -</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sweet</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> Oct 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ung</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jan 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD> </td></tr></table>

duffybuff ~ I just PM you my email address.
Hey, update us on your visit to J &amp; C tommorrow? You're very hardworking leh..almost immediately after your ROMed, you are hard at work for your AD. hehee...

Karen ~ hey, you planning for Dec 05 too?
I think it's never too early to book your BS once u decided on which one you like. For me, i only plan to do so end of this year cos i already have something in mind so i just need to visit the BS later on. :D How much weight are you planning to lose? hee...this topic gets me all excited yah? Cos Cookies Gal also very "on" abt this and she has lost quite alot of weight!

jitpong / jellytots ~ i think i know which CS u talking abt. :P Those sleeveless modern CS can look really sexy boy...hee....not so cheena like the old fashion designs. But then again, those classic designers can be made modern if diff fabrics are used.

Wah jitpong, low back with train CS? Happening man..hehee.....what colour do you want your CS to be?

Seems like Grand Plaza is out for me cos' it's booked on the day I wanted.....

Should I still go for the show? Unless I can compromise on other dates right? I going to a geomancer this Saturday..

hi there. my first post. gald to know you gals..
we are planning for ad in 4q05 unless we can't get things done then will postpone to 1q05. connie - bp? ;)
still no preps started... tot a bit early? or am i slow? we only did a budget and got a shock!!!

Hi jitpong... me saw the CS is from silhoueette is a golden lace one... so which one is the one that u took a liking.... so where will u be getting ur CS from... rent or from your BS.... bet u must be a slim, tall and shapee person... so envy....

Hi smilezzz.... so which BS u have in mind already... u should be quite R&amp;R cos u got no banquet rite????

Hi fates... huh so sad is booked on the day u 1.... so which means got alot more KS ppl beside us from this thread huh.... well so which geomancer are u going and where and how much do he charge??? is the date u chose a bery significante date that u dun1 to let go, if yes then u may consider not to go for the GP show... also since u going this weekend can get another new date also mah... if u dun mind.... well going to the show also can see what are the packages that they are offering too.... well is up to u anyway for the show... hope to @@ u there man....

Hi ssmilezz

Wearing CS as EG is only what I thk of, haven try on it to see if I look nice, I may look so ugly in it that I change my mind.

Hi Jellytot

The one I saw is not from Silouette..it is somewhere at the back of the mag...can't remember which BS it is from...it is pink in colours, another model is wearing a bllue CS just beside her.

No lah...dun envy me...I will pai seh leh cos i an not what you describe, very short..only 1.56m...have to compensate wearing a high heels...err..shape should have but not slim...still considered 'ba ba', lost another 3Kg and will be perfect....

I will see if my BS has any CS if not then I will MTM since my BS package has an option to MTM EG if OTR not available..

hi ladies! am so glad tat there r so many replies to my new thread! seems like most of u gals hav oreadi booked ur BS n moved in into ur luv nest...
me haven even done any of this yet... abit worried cos don wan everything to cramp together, afriad tat it wil cos a big financial burden for us..

so any of u gals here hav oreadi confirm ur exact date for AD in dec 2005?

<font color="ff6000">HI KAREN!</font>
im stil reading mags to get idea for banquet venue... but im v tempted wif e idea of holding it at raffles marina..now trying to get e qoutations... wat bout u? btw, u not intending to get ur own luv nest?

<font color="0000ff">HI POPIE!</font>

hopefully im not too slow cos i think holding a wedding need alot of time to source n prepare..

btw, which mth of 2005 r u looking into? mine wil b in dec but haven check out e exact date yet..any ideas on which day in dec 2005 is gd for marriage?

<font color="ff0000">HI BIBA!</font>

ur nick is v familiar... i think u r active in some other thread too rite? btw, WELCOME HERE! i was actually contemplating to start tis thread quite some time back but finally decide til last sat oni to satrt cos was uncertain of e response i wil get.. but im happy tat now we hav so many dec 2005 brides here so we can share ideas..

anyway, u r oreadi in e midst of ur preps oreadi rite? envy u... i am oni starting to source for flat..

<font color="119911">HI ANNA!</font>
welcome, welcome!

so when is ur shortlisted dates for ur AD? think u r not too slow slow cos im also in e same boat as u! nothing started yet! hehe...

Me also looking at AD during dec'05 or maybe oct'05. Well, it depends on the tongshu....l have not book a BS yet but have viewed a few venue already. I'm quite surprise to hear from the hotel coordinator that some of the dates in end 2005 have been booked. Am l very late?

hi jitpong... oh the one on pg 301 rite.... yap its a nice CS.... the one i fancy is on pg 292... like the colour and the design... however cannot rent the gown so sad....

germ - booked???
omg so soon...

maiden - we looking at oct/nov 05 or mar 06...
seems like we are late huh? we oso hv no house yet... fb says prices will fall further we shld wait??

Hihi maiden,

Ya, I'm hopping here &amp; there..hehe.. I remember
u too.

Really a gd idea to start this Dec 2005 thread, can share ideas &amp; countdown together, tho it'll be super long countdown-ing...
!!! So far respond not too bad ya, more gals along the way.

I only booked Panpac tentatively coz it's selling like hot-cakes. HB went to PB for D&amp;D, he says not bad. But we are also looking at other hotel too. Y I intend to go Irene's Creation is becoz I bot my ROM WG from them and their svc is very very gd. But unfortunately, some staff left. Well, can always scout ard as I'm still in contact wif the gd ppl there..

In fact, I gotten my flat last june, got no time to work on it. Drag until this quarter when we realised that our nest is hanging vacant!?!! Have engaged an ID, will start reno in early May. Quite a headache to source for ID &amp; compare quotations, ur head go
....U'll know wat i meant next time u r in my shoes ya...well, but kinda find &amp; exciting too.

Btw, have u decided which date in Dec for ur AD?

hi anna,

My ID is Cis**rn.(SB forum prompted, not allowing me to post the name..sob sob...) We juz finalised our total reno cost to 28k(our intended budget). It did not incl aircon,lightings. As for furniture, most ID will not incl in their quotation. I did a lot of hacking coz I wanted a walk-in wardrobe and my study room is an open concept linking to my living area.

Overall comment, they are neg.able, reasonable in quotation. I gave my ID my concept and he will give suggestions to my needs.

hi maiden!

i'm looking at end may - beginning june 05.

well, dun worry lah. guess it really depends on how elaborate u want ur wedding to be. i notice that some brides go to the detail of making their own wedding favours. i'm sure that will take up alot of time.

got a fren who is wedding in early may this yr. she said that she onli needs a couple of months to tie down all the loose ends. the most important is the dinner venue. the rest not so hurry.

i'm now enjoying flipping thru all the bridal magazines n dreaming abt looking beautiful. haha. i hvnt even got my house yet. haha. really relaxing leh...duno whether i too relax anot.

biba hi

...haha i like how you describe the name... 28k is wow!!!
for us, we are budgeting hopefully <10k cos i am expecting it to come with full kitchen, ac and wardrobe. dun wan to spend too much on reno...in case sg ends up as not a perm home...

Hi jellytots,
Yalorr.....at first I thought March'05 is still a long way but it seems that some ppl are more KS than me.

Yup the date I chose is very significant....it's my ROM date 3 yrs back
So would like our AD to be the same date. Unless the geomancer tell me 'No No' in my face.......

I dunno if I should call her a geomancer? Cos' she's from some temple near Orchard, and we bao her an ang bao only. 'Tian Yu' money.

Regarding the show.....hmmmm I see how is it after Saturday

Hi jellytots,
cheaper then urs by $200. keke. Think u can take those i email u as guidelines, so that if u go other BS also can ask for these stuff.

Hi Fates,
Better start ur action hehee. That is the date I want for my ROM£¡£¡ Cos it is so near my birthday.. but my fmil dun want. :"(

That was a good date for marriage unless ur parents or his parents is a cow.

I have not booked banquet venue. hard to find one place that can accomodate to my small guest list. currently targeting at Chevron, but haven really got the time to go down n talk to the manager. will do that in probably june.

like anna's mentality, we doing only the most basic. the reno is supposed to be completed 2 wks ago. but my contractor mishandled my permit for the bomb shelter so have to wait for it. but if u girls are gonna ask a contractor to do up reno, make sure it is RADAC certified.

anna: bp = bukit panjang.

Hi fates.... wow orchard also got temple one meh... how come i duno... oh... me so mountain tortise.... man.... k share with me next week after u see e so-called geomancer man.... me too will be going to see 1 this Sunday... hope he will give me a good date and also the hotel not booked on that particular day i want....

oh icy.... me BD also Nov leh.... hee hee

hi icy &amp; ssmileez,
sent yr the photos redi..
hehe..if u notice, my hubby is slightly shorter than me if i'm on heels.. kekek..

hi jitpong,
thanks for the address, will check it out! anyway, me oso thinkg of hvg CS as EG..hmm hv similiar idea as yrs but of cos can't be too low back cos' very flabby at the waist..keke

hi jellythots &amp; icy,
can i take a look at yr BS package too? since gng for J&amp;C visit tomw, better hv smthg as a guide.

hi biba!

u find me familiar too?! hehe... like u, im also hopping around!

yah, u r rite! we can def count down 2gether!!

wow, u oreadi got ur place but drag til now?! tats a pretty long time.. y such a long wait?!
i can understand wat u r going thru now... mus b alot of stress.. so u hav booked pan pac oreadi? i know a gal from another forum who wil also b holding her banquet in pan pac... gd choice!!

i hav not decided on an exact date for my AD but hav oreadi confirm wif my hubby tat we wil def hold it in dec 2005.. haven look up on e tong shu yet..
==================================================

hi germ!

WELCOME TO E THREAD!
u don scare me leh! u mean some hotels slots r oreadi full in dec 2005?! ME HAVEN DONE ANYTHING!!
so which venues hav u checked out so far? me also haven book BS but wil start scouting around now.. now sourcing for my love nest..

yo anna!!

yah, seems like we r v v late!! PANIC, PANIC!!
so r u looking for ur flat now? me currently looking out fervently for e latest wis... think tis mth there wil b one but so far no news yet!! i've been thru 2 session of wis n nearly vomitted blood!! v fed up wif e system actually... hopefully i wil get my flat by tis mth!

hi poppie!

so urs wil b in mid mth of 2005? hahaha... me also bought all e wedding mags n collating e hairstyle, make-up n gown designs tat i wan.. u also haven prepare anything?! pheww.... seems im not e oni one
but hav u shortlisted ur venue?

Hi jellytots. Fd that I did not enable PM...pai seh..I not very experienced with forums. Why don't u just send a email to me direct.

Hi jitpong. Martha Stewart Weddings can be bought at Borders (more ex here though but can browse free), or at mama shops at Holland V, sometimes those Indian money changers cum mag shops have them too. Presently the spring issue not out yet but should be soon. Got past issues (~8) if you interested.

Hi ssmilezz. I was 10 kg lighter when I first met my FH...hahhyah..see what love (and age) can do to you.. My collegue has offered to start exercising with me next week. I have not decided on whether it will be Oct/Nov/Dec 2005. I not 'pan tang' so any convenient date will do. I am planning ROM in evening, then tea to those relatives who come early then dinner. Our families quite chin chai so think may even forget about any traditional practices (quite fun to have but think I save hassle and money).

Hi Maiden!
My FH doing further studies so I not enough CPF(me only started working 1.5 yrs ago), anyway we cannot accept living in Punggol/SengKang after living in central areas all our lives. Leach on parents first lor, save money! Decided to ROM and dinner first as we were already together many years...a bit sian to keep explaining to relatives why not getting married yet. Anyway, do step by step not so 'siong'. 28K for reno?!? *faint*
Your nick sounds like name of my classmate, were u from AJC?

Hello! wah seem like a lot of people is with Pan Pac, I am thinking of having AD there too, but somehow cant commit the date. sigh.

Hi Sweet!!! Ye AngelBaby good to see you here

Yup jellytots, there seems to be one at Devonshire road. Behind ComCentre. Will let you know on Sat night okie?

Hi Karen, I'll love to check out the Martha Stewart mag you talking about. Hopefully they have it at SengKang MRT.

Hi Duffybuff ~ Thanks for the URL!!
I already admired all your pics. Must comment that your cake looks soooo yummy!! heee..where is it from? I didn't really notice the height difference lar...:P The place looks really classy boy...

Was your dress + makeup done on your own?
Eh, tommorrow going for your 1st BS visit right? update us yah?

Hey Karen ~ so u targetting to lose 10 kg yah? Go with your colleague, it should help motivate you provided u two don't end up chit chatting or going for makan dinner after your workout. :P My habit is to eat an early dinner in office (around 5pm) before i go for my exercise around 6.30. Then no more food after my exercise when i reach home around 9 or so.

yah, i also not pantang..just going for a sat i guess. The later the better, may want to push till Jan/Feb 06 too. :P See how it goes...our parents are very blur abt all these tradition too. My mother doesn't know what to ask for and all that. FH's parents are cantonese but they also dunno much abt those traditions. So what we dunno and don't do won't hurt us and also our pockets. hehe...

Think my AD should be quite simple...:P hee...we will be moving in with his parents first so at least no need to worry abt getting our new place or spending on reno yet.

would like to check whether are u gals wearing the engagement ring and wedding band together?

Hi Karen.... 1st u have to go to "Edit Profile" afterwhich "log in" as per stated. Once u are in your profile go to "Preference" from there take away (DO NOT SEND ME "PM" EMAILS FROM OTHER BOARD USER). Afterwhich u have to "Save Profile Change"... hope this help.... to ensure that u can sent Private Message (PM).... click onto my name and will allow u to view my profile and also state whether u 1 to send a PM to me.... try a test 1st and I will revert to u whether I have received it or not....

Hi smilezz.... me so envy.... no need to stress over the $$$.... me really worry cos.... too many relatives... so for dinner scare that their angbow not enough to cover my banquet.... me bery bery poor already... still have to pay house loan,etc.... thats why hv to source a nice and cheap banquet.... :c

hi icy,
can't get thru yr email, my email got bounced bk when send u my photo link. can send me again?

hi ssmilezz,
the cake is made by my friends, it's butter cake. my friend is really good at baking. &amp; look at the efforts in decorating it..i was so touched by it.

as for the dress, i bought it at celia loe at scotts &amp; the make-up i did it a Hollywood Secrets at scotts. the make-up &amp; hairdo costs only $65nett.. quite well done.

ya china club is classy, friend &amp; relatives hv never been there before so it's a gd experience for them; but burnt a big hole in our pocket..heehee

ya gng for my 1st BS today..will update u gals!

oh btw, jellytots, did not receive yr PM, can try again or u can send it to my email [email protected]

Hi Cutiebear,

I'm wearing my wedding band as for my engagement ring... i wear it on my necklace,acting as a pendant.

Hi duffybuff

I think you miss me out on your photos...my email add is [email protected]. Like to see you photos.

Hi Karen

Thanks for your info, i thk I will wait for the spring edition. My FH already nag at me for buying so many bridal magazine.

Hi Jellytots

I went back to browse the magazine and you are rite it in page 301, the one that you fancy look nice too esp the colour. I am so short and fleshy, and dare to wear it...you defintely can do it too...if you never try u will nvr know if it looks nice on you...

Hi Fates

Do you live in Sengkang?...me too

Hi ssmilezz

Same as you, will be shifting in with my MIL after marriage, so still not so tight with $$$..still got 5yrs to save before my new home is ready...i thk that is the only advantage of kiving with MIL...oredi start to worry how relationship with MIL will turn out after shifting in.

Hey Jellytots,

Understand your predicament on financial issues. So where will your new love nest be though??

Me will be getting my keys next week and got to start on reno, ROM coming up soon and etc etc.

So where you are thinking of putting your dinner at??

Matthew

Hi Duffybuff ~ Your friend is really talented. Her/his baking skills are super "tekong" very very cute. I like the way you used the cake to start off the ROM album. heee.....looking forward to your BS visit today? ?

Hey jitpong ~ yah, me going to move in with them first then take our time to look for somewhere we really like (and also got time to save up more!). I don't want to be rushed into buying a new home just because we are getting married.

hee..my FH's parents are quite ok lar. Nice ppl and we get along pretty well. Er, i'm already at their house so often just short of moving in. :P Plus, that means we have mahjong kakis next time cos both of them enjoy playing MH too. hahahaa!

Don't worry abt your r/s with MIL yah? Got to really learn to give n take lar....as long as she's not too "one kind" should be ok lar! How's your MIL? Is she hard to get along?

jellytots ~ actually, we do have quite a lot of relatives lar...but we don't want to make it such a big event lor. Dunno leh, as long as our parents are fine, we will make it a private event lar....:P

How many tables are you planning to have? I think the dinner and house is often the most ma fan thing abt getting married. *sighz*

Hi Mat.... me stay at Jurong West so what abt u... me dinner hvn decided cos date still haven choose.... will be going to see the geomancer this Sunday....

Hello duffybuff! Can I take a peek at your photos too? ~ [email protected]

ssmilezz - You're very lucky no need to spend $ yet on your new house. For me, I ROMed 3-yrs back and just finished renovating our new Punggol house which came last year. So now gotta save up for the banquet next year

Yo jitpong ~ me stay Punggol, and it's near to Sengkang eh! hehe..So you'll be staying with your MIL first? I don't want to that's why waited for our house......

Hi Jellytots,
Just sent you the Beaufort quotes.

Hi Ssmilezz,
Found that we have lots in common...no actual date yet but planning Dec 2005, not pan tang, ...no new home yet, taking our time...

Hi Jitpong,
Will let you know if I see that spring issue is out.

Read from other threads that bridal packages cost about $4-5K, and most only have about 20 8R pics (choose 1 outdoor location only), and AD photography still got to charge per roll. Can I ask if the packages you all have are like these? I want lots of pics and I want to go more than 1 outdoor location (preferably 2 places). Is it going to be very ex then?

Hi cutiebear,

I only wear my wedding band... Once in a while when I go for dressier occasions do I wear my engagement ring..

This thread suddenly so quiet...

Hey fates ~ I have no choice lar....me and my FH are poor.
He has not started working yet though. So based on my CPF + savings, it's just not prudent to overcommit ourselves. Anyway, we pa tok for 7 yrs already, can afford to wait a little longer. hahaha.. :P

Hi Karen ~ yah, we quite similiar yah?
*high 5* Have you ROMed yet? Actually, getting married seems to be so mafan cos many ppl are involved instead of just the couple alone. Alot of other factors and people come into play....really big headache hor.